Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Nov 2017, 15:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Quirky Xerus 8.3 for x86_64, released July 29, 2017
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 44 of 48 [711 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48 Next
Author Message
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 221
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 13:32    Post subject: frugal install will freeze the screen  

Using my lenovo desktop dual core with 2GB of ram will fail to do a frugal install on sda3 (ext4).

The install script creates xerus64-8.3 (dir) and copies initrd.q, qsfs and vmlinuz to it.

After the copy process the screen becomes frozen.

The partitions are primary ones with Grub4dos at sda1.

Prior versions worked a1 for me.

Add up:
The frugal installation was started via the 'install' icon on the desktop.

Last edited by FeodorF on Sat 29 Jul 2017, 17:50; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1304

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 14:22    Post subject: Re: frugal install will freeze the screen  

FeodorF wrote:
Using my lenovo desktop dual core with 2GB of ram will fail to do a frugal install on sda3 (ext4).

The install script creates xerus64-8.3 (dir) and copies initrd.q, qsfs and vmlinuz to it.

After the copy process the screen becomes frozen.

The partitions are primary ones with Grub4dos at sda1.

Prior versions worked a1 for me.


Hi Feodor,

Don't use the "install script" if you are doing frugal install. Make a folder (name it whatever you want), mount the Quirky 8.3 ISO you downloaded, copy from it the initrd.q, qsfs and vmlinuz into your folder, then use your grub4dos (or install it) and make the appropriate entry like this:

---- if it is the sole thing on the device, then this is fine:


title Puppy slacko 5.7.1 (sd#1)
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /"yor-folder-name"/puppy_slacko_5.7.1.sfs
kernel /"your folder name"/vmlinuz pmedia=usbflash pfix=fsck
initrd /"your-folder-name"/initrd.gz



...or, if it is sharing with other frugal installed pups on that partition, make your grub4dos entry like this:

title Quirky-Xerus-8.3 (sd#1)
kernel /"your-folder-name"/vmlinuz install_specs=UUID="find-your-UUID-for-that-partition":ext4:"your-folder-name"
initrd /"your-folder-name"/initrd.q



Follow this and you'll be good to go...I've been frugal installing and running Quirky 8.1.94 thru 8.3 across a wide range of devices.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11168
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 15:08    Post subject:  

Hello all.

I noticed that there is a typo in file MRUF-lst.desktop that prevents the
desktop icon from running it.

To rectify, please use the following command line in terminal:
Code:
# To do the required edit
replaceit --input=/usr/share/applications/MRUF-lst.desktop "MRUF-lst" "mruf-lst" "{Exec"
If you wish to check (optional), type
Code:
# To check (optional)
more /usr/share/applications/MRUF-lst.desktop

Once that's done, it will run fine.

BFN.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1304

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 15:47    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
Hello all.

I noticed that there is a typo in file MRUF-lst.desktop that prevents the
desktop icon from running it.

To rectify, please use the following command line in terminal:
Code:
# To do the required edit
replaceit --input=/usr/share/applications/MRUF-lst.desktop "MRUF-lst" "mruf-lst" "{Exec"
If you wish to check (optional), type
Code:
# To check (optional)
more /usr/share/applications/MRUF-lst.desktop

Once that's done, it will run fine.

BFN.



Musher, did you maybe overlook this??:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=106460&start=630

3/4s of the page down....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3266
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 15:50    Post subject: Quirky Xerus 8.3 for x86_64, released July 29, 2017  

Booted from the live DVD and installed to a 32gb usb-3.0 flash drive:

# inxi -b
System: Host: puppypc14107 Kernel: 4.11.12 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM git-976 Distro: Quirky 8.3 xerus64
Machine: System: Hewlett-Packard product: p7-1246s serial: MXX232077R
Mobo: Foxconn model: 2ADA v: 1.00 Bios: AMI v: 7.12 date: 06/07/2012
CPU: Quad core Intel Core i5-3550 (-MCP-) speed/max: 1600/3301 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.4 driver: nvidia tty size: 146x27 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Ralink RT5390 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe driver: rt2800pci
Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 2031.9GB (0.3% used)
Info: Processes: 153 Uptime: 1:29 Memory: 268.9/12040.8MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.2.35
#
video-info-glx 1.5.3 Sat 29 Jul 2017 on Quirky Xerus64 8.3 Linux 4.11.12 x86_64
0.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF108 [GeForce GT 430] (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: GF108 Board - 1071v1p1 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.18.4
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (707x392 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GT 430/PCIe/SSE2
OpenGL core profile version string: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 375.82

Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3550 CPU @ 3.30GHz
Core 0: @1600 1: @1600 2: @1600 3: @1600 MHz

Works well, thanks.

P.S.

I did the speed test with a 32gb Kingston Data Traveler 3.0 plugged
into a usb-3.0 port:

# sync
# #echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches
# dd if=/dev/zero of=/dummyfile bs=1M count=1024 conv=fdatasync oflag=direct
1024+0 records in
1024+0 records out
1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB, 1.0 GiB) copied, 13.504 s, 79.5 MB/s
#
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   86.82 KB
 Viewed   556 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11168
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 15:58    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
musher0 wrote:
Hello all.

I noticed that there is a typo in file MRUF-lst.desktop that prevents the
desktop icon from running it.

To rectify, please use the following command line in terminal:
Code:
# To do the required edit
replaceit --input=/usr/share/applications/MRUF-lst.desktop "MRUF-lst" "mruf-lst" "{Exec"
If you wish to check (optional), type
Code:
# To check (optional)
more /usr/share/applications/MRUF-lst.desktop

Once that's done, it will run fine.

BFN.

Musher, did you maybe overlook this??:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=106460&start=630

3/4s of the page down....

Hi, belham2.

Sorry, can't find what you mean.

What happened is that Barry regrouped the files of my MRUF in a
more condensed hierarchy -- which makes sense since this is
published as a stand-alone app in Quirky. I'm fine with it.

Except the exec in /usr/bin is mruf-lst and in MRUF-lst.desktop, it had
been entered as "Exec=MRUF-lst". So of course the script didn't
launch from the *.desktop file.

It's lucky that I checked. Anyway, no big deal, it was just a typo --
everybody does them once in a while -- and now it's corrected.

~~~~~~~~~~~

On another subject, I ditched Xine in Quirky and installed mpv +
SMplayer. This combination has to be the smallest GUI media player.

BFN.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1304

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 16:08    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
belham2 wrote:
musher0 wrote:
Hello all.

I noticed that there is a typo in file MRUF-lst.desktop that prevents the
desktop icon from running it.

To rectify, please use the following command line in terminal:
Code:
# To do the required edit
replaceit --input=/usr/share/applications/MRUF-lst.desktop "MRUF-lst" "mruf-lst" "{Exec"
If you wish to check (optional), type
Code:
# To check (optional)
more /usr/share/applications/MRUF-lst.desktop

Once that's done, it will run fine.

BFN.

Musher, did you maybe overlook this??:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=106460&start=630

3/4s of the page down....

Hi, belham2.

Sorry, can't find what you mean.

What happened is that Barry regrouped the files of my MRUF in a
more condensed hierarchy -- which makes sense since this is
published as a stand-alone app in Quirky. I'm fine with it.

Except the exec in /usr/bin is mruf-lst and in MRUF-lst.desktop, it had
been entered as "Exec=MRUF-lst". So of course the script didn't
launch from the *.desktop file.

It's lucky that I checked. Anyway, no big deal, it was just a typo --
everybody does them once in a while -- and now it's corrected.

~~~~~~~~~~~

On another subject, I ditched Xine in Quirky and installed mpv +
SMplayer. This combination has to be the smallest GUI media player.

BFN.



Hi Musher,

The page before this one (Number 43), three-quarters of the page down, I posted this:

"belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 818


PostPosted: Today, at 11:51 Post subject:



Hi Musher,

Downloaded your urxvt-9.2 for Quirky (thank you Wink Wink), and I cannot remember how to get the fading/transparency to work. I know its probably something simple, but right now I am too stupid to figure it out and/or remember it, lol. As a side note, I do have "qiv" installed, with your modifications inserted into "xinitrc", and thus my conky looks absolutely beautiful & transparent Smile Smile . But how do I get your urxvt to do the same thing with its fading and transparency capacities? Dar# it!, I did it before in our Dpup-Stretches we both made, but now I cannot remember. Getting old Sad
"


I still can't figure it out, and I know when you tell me I am going to curse myself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11168
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 16:47    Post subject:  

Hi belham2.

I had very little sleep last night so my perception is not the best
today, sorry.

About the fading and transparency in urxvt:

to get transparency, we use the -tr parameter.
-tr turns it on, +tr turns it off.

We can shade it with the -sh parameter.
-sh 0 means opaque (no transparency),
-sh 99 means full transparency,
but you can go to 255 (except well before that you won't be able to
read anything !)
-sh 50, -sh 25, -sh 75 are all good, depending on the effect you want
to achieve.

Now here's something interesting: if you use, say, -sh 111
the shading color (the parameter -tint; more about it in a minute)
puts a kind of "frost" over your window. Depending on what your
background picture is, it can produce a beautiful effect.

Now the shading color, called by the -tint #some-color parm.
You can use the color names in /usr/share/X11/rgb.txt (they are the
same as in the box at the bottom of gcolor2), e.g. -tint cornsilk
or
hex colors such as #f0e9a5. The hex colors you have to put in English
quotation marks (see PS at bottom of this post), e.g. "#f0e9a5".

The fading is achieved by the -fade and -fadecolor parameters.
For example: -fade 70 -fadecolor "#f0e9a5"

-fade 70 means "fading at 70 %". Fading goes into effect when you
leave your urxvt window to focus on another window, say, your editor.
When not in focus, with the -fade parm, the console window will pale
a bit, so you know it's not in focus.

I hope this answers your question.

BFN.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

As an example, if you want to sink your teeth in a script that opens a
urxvt terminal: voilà mon ami !
Code:
#!/bin/sh
# $MBINS/console-hdr2.sh
#### set -xe
# Variables
GEOM="g 85x22+240+140" # position
COLR="bg black -fg snow" # couleurs
# ICN="icon /usr/share/pixmaps/puppy/terminal.svg" # icône # Sert à quoi ?
CADR="b 18 -sr ";TITR="Terminal urxvt"
WDWMNGR="`cat /etc/windowmanager`"
TRNSP="tr -tint AntiqueWhite1 -sh 40" # -$TRNSP
# transparence pas active avec les taquets perl, on dirait.
FNT="fn xft:Monaco:pixelsize=14:antialias=true:autohint=true" # fonte
FadE="fade 70 -fadecolor "#94A495""
#
#if [ "`urxvt -pe &>/dev/nul;echo $?`" = "0" ];then
   TAQT="pe tabbed -tab-fg 15 -tab-bg 9 -tabbar-bg 6"
# Si on a un urxvt avec une capacité de perl.
# Couleurs des taquets : 1 rouge # 4 bleu # 7 gris
# -tab-bg 0" # taquets
   PARAM="$CADR -$GEOM -$FNT -$COLR -$TRNSP -$FadE"
#else
# Sinon :
#   PARAM="$CADR -$GEOM -$FNT -$COLR -$TRNSP"
#fi
#
psawk () { ps | awk '$6 ~ /tabbed/ { print $1 }' | head -1; }

# Action
case ${WDWMNGR:0:3} in
   wmx)kill -s 15 `psawk` &>/dev/null || urxvt -$TAQT -cd $PWD -T "$TITR" -$PARAM &>/dev/null & ;;
# ps a | awk '$0 ~ /Terminal urxvt/ && $5=="urxvt" { print $1 }'`
   *)wmctrl -c "$TITR" || urxvt -cd $PWD -T "$TITR" -$PARAM &>/dev/null & ;;
# wmctrl plus "doux" mais inefficace sous wmx
esac

####
# Ne pas oublier de remplacer xterm dans ROX-Filer par
# urxvt -b 18 -fn xft:Monaco:pixelsize=15:antialias=true:hinting=true -g 80x22+240+140 -bg black -fg snow -tr -tint AntiqueWhite2 -sh 101 &>/dev/null
# set +xe

Enjoy!

~~~~~~~~~~~
PS.
English quotation marks : " ".
French quotation marks: « ».
German quotation marks: ' '.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1304

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 17:32    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
Hi belham2.

I had very little sleep last night so my perception is not the best
today, sorry.

About the fading and transparency in urxvt:

to get transparency, we use the -tr parameter.
-tr turns it on, +tr turns it off.

We can shade it with the -sh parameter.
-sh 0 means opaque (no transparency),
-sh 99 means full transparency,
but you can go to 255 (except well before that you won't be able to
read anything !)
-sh 50, -sh 25, -sh 75 are all good, depending on the effect you want
to achieve.

Now here's something interesting: if you use, say, -sh 111
the shading color (the parameter -tint; more about it in a minute)
puts a kind of "frost" over your window. Depending on what your
background picture is, it can produce a beautiful effect.

Now the shading color, called by the -tint #some-color parm.
You can use the color names in /usr/share/X11/rgb.txt (they are the
same as in the box at the bottom of gcolor2), e.g. -tint cornsilk
or
hex colors such as #f0e9a5. The hex colors you have to put in English
quotation marks (see PS at bottom of this post), e.g. "#f0e9a5".

The fading is achieved by the -fade and -fadecolor parameters.
For example: -fade 70 -fadecolor "#f0e9a5"

-fade 70 means "fading at 70 %". Fading goes into effect when you
leave your urxvt window to focus on another window, say, your editor.
When not in focus, with the -fade parm, the console window will pale
a bit, so you know it's not in focus.

I hope this answers your question.

BFN.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

As an example, if you want to sink your teeth in a script that opens a
urxvt terminal: voilà mon ami !
Code:
#!/bin/sh
# $MBINS/console-hdr2.sh
#### set -xe
# Variables
GEOM="g 85x22+240+140" # position
COLR="bg black -fg snow" # couleurs
# ICN="icon /usr/share/pixmaps/puppy/terminal.svg" # icône # Sert à quoi ?
CADR="b 18 -sr ";TITR="Terminal urxvt"
WDWMNGR="`cat /etc/windowmanager`"
TRNSP="tr -tint AntiqueWhite1 -sh 40" # -$TRNSP
# transparence pas active avec les taquets perl, on dirait.
FNT="fn xft:Monaco:pixelsize=14:antialias=true:autohint=true" # fonte
FadE="fade 70 -fadecolor "#94A495""
#
#if [ "`urxvt -pe &>/dev/nul;echo $?`" = "0" ];then
   TAQT="pe tabbed -tab-fg 15 -tab-bg 9 -tabbar-bg 6"
# Si on a un urxvt avec une capacité de perl.
# Couleurs des taquets : 1 rouge # 4 bleu # 7 gris
# -tab-bg 0" # taquets
   PARAM="$CADR -$GEOM -$FNT -$COLR -$TRNSP -$FadE"
#else
# Sinon :
#   PARAM="$CADR -$GEOM -$FNT -$COLR -$TRNSP"
#fi
#
psawk () { ps | awk '$6 ~ /tabbed/ { print $1 }' | head -1; }

# Action
case ${WDWMNGR:0:3} in
   wmx)kill -s 15 `psawk` &>/dev/null || urxvt -$TAQT -cd $PWD -T "$TITR" -$PARAM &>/dev/null & ;;
# ps a | awk '$0 ~ /Terminal urxvt/ && $5=="urxvt" { print $1 }'`
   *)wmctrl -c "$TITR" || urxvt -cd $PWD -T "$TITR" -$PARAM &>/dev/null & ;;
# wmctrl plus "doux" mais inefficace sous wmx
esac

####
# Ne pas oublier de remplacer xterm dans ROX-Filer par
# urxvt -b 18 -fn xft:Monaco:pixelsize=15:antialias=true:hinting=true -g 80x22+240+140 -bg black -fg snow -tr -tint AntiqueWhite2 -sh 101 &>/dev/null
# set +xe

Enjoy!

~~~~~~~~~~~
PS.
English quotation marks : " ".
French quotation marks: « ».
German quotation marks: ' '.



Thanks, Musher! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8312
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 20:06    Post subject: Re: frugal install will freeze the screen  

FeodorF wrote:
Using my lenovo desktop dual core with 2GB of ram will fail to do a frugal install on sda3 (ext4).

The install script creates xerus64-8.3 (dir) and copies initrd.q, qsfs and vmlinuz to it.

After the copy process the screen becomes frozen.

The partitions are primary ones with Grub4dos at sda1.

Prior versions worked a1 for me.

Add up:
The frugal installation was started via the 'install' icon on the desktop.


Hmmm, I did test that frugal install works. I booted 8.3 live-cd and clicked the "install" icon on desktop, chose "Frugal". It installed ok and I made the change in grub4dos, as per the bottom option in the final window of the installer.
The frugal install started up ok.

Actually, I didn't use the "install" icon, I opened a terminal and ran "installquirky", so as to see if there are any error messages.
maybe you could try that way also?

_________________
http://barryk.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11168
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 21:49    Post subject:  

@belham2:

My pleasure!

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3266
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 23:44    Post subject: Quirky Xerus 8.3 for x86_64, released July 29, 2017  

I booted from the live DVD and installed to a 32gb SDHC card:

# inxi -b
System: Host: puppypc8054 Kernel: 4.11.12 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM git-976 Distro: Quirky 8.3 xerus64
Machine: Mobo: Acer model: Aspire X3950 serial: U02C120500059
Bios: American Megatrends v: P01-A3 date: 05/05/2010
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i3 540 (-HT-MCP-) speed/max: 1200/3067 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller
Display Server: X.org 1.18.4 driver: intel tty size: 202x36 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 532.1GB (1.1% used)
Info: Processes: 144 Uptime: 48 min Memory: 168.7/5901.1MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.2.35
#
The SDHC card is a lexar 600x that claims up to 95MB/s, the speed test
shows:

# sync
# #echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches
# dd if=/dev/zero of=/dummyfile bs=1M count=1024 conv=fdatasync oflag=direct
1024+0 records in
1024+0 records out
1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB, 1.0 GiB) copied, 85.6042 s, 12.5 MB/s
#

I think they were fibbing a bit, quite a bit. ('Rolling Eyes')
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   107.51 KB
 Viewed   408 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1251
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jul 2017, 02:48    Post subject:  

Just a short note for BarryK as a follow up:

Tablet and Pen settings (as well as a lot of others) are nowadays apparently done via the gnome Control-centre. Had a quick look at it and the supposed only mising dep you have is libgudev which has split from gudev since that went system-d into it's own package. May be worth a test to see if with these two you could harness the control centre for your use as both can be built non-system-d according to the arch repositry if they are not already available that way in the Xerus repositories.

Oh and I have the T2 builder running like an angel, only four packages having to rerun stage4, obviously needing something to be tweeked in the build order number to fix. I shall hopefully be starting my first woof alpha build tuesday if the current (and last) T2 build completes sucessfully.

regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 221
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jul 2017, 05:15    Post subject: Re: frugal install will freeze the screen  

BarryK wrote:
FeodorF wrote:
Using my lenovo desktop dual core with 2GB of ram will fail to do a frugal install on sda3 (ext4).

The install script creates xerus64-8.3 (dir) and copies initrd.q, qsfs and vmlinuz to it.

After the copy process the screen becomes frozen.

The partitions are primary ones with Grub4dos at sda1.

Prior versions worked a1 for me.

Add up:
The frugal installation was started via the 'install' icon on the desktop.


Hmmm, I did test that frugal install works. I booted 8.3 live-cd and clicked the "install" icon on desktop, chose "Frugal". It installed ok and I made the change in grub4dos, as per the bottom option in the final window of the installer.
The frugal install started up ok.

Actually, I didn't use the "install" icon, I opened a terminal and ran "installquirky", so as to see if there are any error messages.
maybe you could try that way also?


Hi Barry!

I did a installquirky in the terminal. Did a full install by mistake. Damn it is not Monday! - Well, the full install works fine, but frugal is still broken. The installation will halt at 73% 30936 of 33184 inodes. Using cd or .iso as source makes no difference. Is 2 GB of ram causing a problem while doing a frugal install in 8.3 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8312
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jul 2017, 06:07    Post subject: Re: frugal install will freeze the screen  

FeodorF wrote:
BarryK wrote:
FeodorF wrote:
Using my lenovo desktop dual core with 2GB of ram will fail to do a frugal install on sda3 (ext4).

The install script creates xerus64-8.3 (dir) and copies initrd.q, qsfs and vmlinuz to it.

After the copy process the screen becomes frozen.

The partitions are primary ones with Grub4dos at sda1.

Prior versions worked a1 for me.

Add up:
The frugal installation was started via the 'install' icon on the desktop.


Hmmm, I did test that frugal install works. I booted 8.3 live-cd and clicked the "install" icon on desktop, chose "Frugal". It installed ok and I made the change in grub4dos, as per the bottom option in the final window of the installer.
The frugal install started up ok.

Actually, I didn't use the "install" icon, I opened a terminal and ran "installquirky", so as to see if there are any error messages.
maybe you could try that way also?


Hi Barry!

I did a installquirky in the terminal. Did a full install by mistake. Damn it is not Monday! - Well, the full install works fine, but frugal is still broken. The installation will halt at 73% 30936 of 33184 inodes. Using cd or .iso as source makes no difference. Is 2 GB of ram causing a problem while doing a frugal install in 8.3 ?


That is interesting.
Would you mind helping a bit more, try something.

Open /usr/local/install_quirky/install-quirky-to-frugal in geany,
and uncomment lines 114 and 132.

These are 'sync' operations, that were taken out to make install faster.
However, just maybe, with 2GB of RAM, Linux is running out of RAM space. If that is the case, putting those 'sync' lines back in should fix it. But install will be much slower.

I only tested on a laptop with 4GB RAM.

_________________
http://barryk.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 44 of 48 [711 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0910s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0090s) ][ GZIP on ]