Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Aug 2017, 22:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Quirky Xerus 8.3 for x86_64, released July 29, 2017
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 46 of 47 [700 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 44, 45, 46, 47 Next
Author Message
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 10657
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Mon 31 Jul 2017, 10:23    Post subject: Re: Quirky Xerus 8.3 for x86_64, released July 29, 2017
Subject description: Modern Browser
 

ETP wrote:
@Rodney Byne:

It seems that you would like a modern self updating browser for 8.3
Here it is Waterfox64 (posting from it now with 8.3)

Direct download link for pet follows:

https://drive.google.com/uc?export=download&id=0B_iVVJCd9q09WFBVcUVaSlptbnc

It will automatically update to 54.0.1 Smile
Plus a classic favourite track to test:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NH5wbYP5xkQ

"Waterfox" ??? Looks suspicious !!!
Keep your hands on the wheel where I can see them and
show me your driver's licence please. Laughing

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
« Un insensé sur le trône n'est qu'un singe sur le haut d'un toit. » / "A madman
on the throne is just a monkey on top of a roof." (Bernard de Clervaux)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rodney Byne

Joined: 31 Jan 2014
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Mon 31 Jul 2017, 12:59    Post subject: Waterfox  

To ETP (& musher0)

Thanks for the Waterfox link.
I am now at 54.0.1

Well now, we have a Firefox & a Waterfox.
Will there ever be an Airfox to complete
the three elements I wonder.

Re your classics link, I watched it but sorry that
particular group must have passed me by.
I'm getting on a bit, but the band that caught my
imagination then was The Police LP heard the first
time in 1973 while working in Indonesia
(Roxanne, Walking on the moon etc)
and of course Abba in the eighties.

Thanks again, best regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 987
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 31 Jul 2017, 13:49    Post subject: Waterfox  

Hi Rodney Byne & musher0,

@ musher - I kid thee not, totally kosher. Laughing

But a funny thing did just happen. A high pitched beeping sound suddenly started
to emanate from my PC with ever increasing volume and urgency.

Taking it to be the motherboard sounder, I panicked thinking that the memory had failed
and held the power button down. Shocked

The PC shut down but the sound continued. Shocked

Only then did my eyes alight on the alarm clock sitting on a bookcase next to the PC.
Some fool of a house maid.... (O/K it was me!) must have accidently hit the on switch when dusting. Embarassed Embarassed Rolling Eyes
Panic over. Laughing

Waterfox with 8.3, press F11 to toggle into full screen then click on link:

https://drive.google.com/uc?export=view&id=0B_iVVJCd9q09VWtiS242cEpnVVE

_________________
Regards ETP



Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rodney Byne

Joined: 31 Jan 2014
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Mon 31 Jul 2017, 16:27    Post subject: ETP your 8.3 full screen  

Hi ETP,

Nice desktop,
why have so many 25 drive icons - are some separate partitions
on the same drive & for what purpose, what is qpm, how is that shelf
of shortcuts created?
There's so much about Linux I don't know.

Regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 221
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 31 Jul 2017, 17:49    Post subject: Speed test for frugal to partition  

@Barry,

I have added 'date' to line 112 and line 157 to see how long it will take for the 2GB 2.6GHz 2x Intel Celeron board.
frugal.png
 Description   
 Filesize   32.93 KB
 Viewed   491 Time(s)

frugal.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1230
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Mon 31 Jul 2017, 22:23    Post subject: grub won't boot?  

Hm, come across a wierd problem. Could someone else check if it works ok for them please.

Booted up a box with nothing on the hard drive (mbr type) with the 8.3 iso cd.
Partitioned to two partitions as ext2 (for /) and 4gig (for swap).
Installed with the onscreen installer to the correct partition.
Installed through QPM grub-legacy, i've been using it just about forever and can script it in me sleep (I thought).
It said it installed correctly.
Went in and altered the menu.1st to suit.
Shutdown the box after removing the cd.
Powered up the box, expecting it to grub-up it's menu.
It didn't!
Rebooted with the iso and had a look.
The grub 'stuff' was all there in the correct places and checking the drive the partition was set to boot.
Tried with the grub-install command (grub-install -v --no-floppy --root-directory=/dev/sda1/boot/grub) to make sure it installs to the right drive and partition.
Same result.

Changed drives and tried it with a slacko iso and it all worked straight.

Blew the slacko drive clean and did it all again with the 8.3 iso with the same non-booting results again.
checked the /temp logs but nothing there to explain it.
?-?-????

Any ideas anyone please!

-----------------------------------

EDIT: 9 aug 2017 sorted out this (we hope):
I had a message fest with a couple of WD's people for a while and this seems to be the resultant theory.
It seems that a drive that has been changed from origonally being set as mbr and used with a partition set as boot, then changed to gpt, stuffs up the first partition table when reset to mbr again. I think it's may also be stuffing up other parts too.

Anyway, even if gparted says it's ok again, it seems it's now using the second partition table as the first one and writing a new second one into the following blocks. And of course grub wants the real first table to setup in and work with. I killed a couple of 'superannuated 80gig drives' (smallest I still had) testing the concept as well as a 240gb and 1tb in the origonal problem.

I've been promised 'two' new drives for finding the problem.

They were very interested in it and apparently something will change in the firmware to stop it being able to happen. They knew about linux too, which was a nice change and had pleasant things to say about it as a lot of their in-house stuff uses it.

-------------------------------------------

Oh, and what about adding SFR's Uextract into Quirky, http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=87864, well worth it.

_________________
Puppy T290 - BarryK's Racy but with T2 Version 9.0. First Beta planned out end of August 2017.

Last edited by scsijon on Wed 09 Aug 2017, 07:58; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3165
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 31 Jul 2017, 23:18    Post subject: Quirky Xerus 8.3 for x86_64, released July 29, 2017  

I booted the live DVD and installed to a 32gb SDHC card,computer is an Acer laptop.
# inxi -bw
System: Host: puppypc22230 Kernel: 4.11.12 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM git-976
Distro: Quirky 8.3 xerus64
Machine: System: Acer (portable) product: Aspire 7740 v: Rev serial: LXPNX02012004098672000
Mobo: Acer model: Aspire 7740 v: Rev serial: LXPNX02012004098672000
Bios: Phoenix v: V1.15 date: 12/25/2009
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i5 M 430 (-HT-MCP-) speed/max: 1199/2267 MHz
Graphics: Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Park [Mobility Radeon HD 5430/5450/5470]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.4 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
tty size: 105x25 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Broadcom NetLink BCM57780 Gigabit Ethernet PCIe driver: tg3
Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR928X Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) driver: ath9k
Drives: HDD Total Size: 532.0GB (1.3% used)
Weather: Conditions: 70 F (21 C) - Mostly Cloudy Time: July 31, 11:00 PM EDT
Info: Processes: 148 Uptime: 2:39 Memory: 144.9/3821.1MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.2.35
#
video-info-glx 1.5.3 Mon 31 Jul 2017 on Quirky Xerus64 8.3 Linux 4.11.12 x86_64
0.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Park [Mobility Radeon HD 5430/5450/5470]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: PARK 01.00
X Server: Xorg Driver: radeon
X.Org version: 1.18.4
dimensions: 1600x900 pixels (423x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: X.Org
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on AMD CEDAR (DRM 2.49.0 / 4.11.12, LLVM 3.8.0)
OpenGL core profile version string: 3.3 (Core Profile) Mesa 12.0.6

Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 430 @ 2.27GHz
Core 0: @1199 1: @1199 2: @1199 3: @1199 MHz

I installed applications with QPM.

I have Quirky 8.3 installs on computers with Nvidia,Intel,and ATI graphics,
all are working well.

The SDHC card is a Sandisk, slower than the lexar but works okay.

# dd if=/dev/zero of=/dummyfile bs=1M count=1024 conv=fdatasync
1024+0 records in
1024+0 records out
1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB, 1.0 GiB) copied, 148.204 s, 7.2 MB/s
#
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   74.72 KB
 Viewed   428 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 10657
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Mon 31 Jul 2017, 23:36    Post subject:  

Billtoo? You just outdid yourself. Beautiful!
_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
« Un insensé sur le trône n'est qu'un singe sur le haut d'un toit. » / "A madman
on the throne is just a monkey on top of a roof." (Bernard de Clervaux)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 987
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 01 Aug 2017, 04:40    Post subject: Re: ETP your 8.3 full screen  

Rodney Byne wrote:
Hi ETP,

Nice desktop,
why have so many 25 drive icons - are some separate partitions
on the same drive & for what purpose, what is qpm, how is that shelf
of shortcuts created?
There's so much about Linux I don't know.

Regards.

Hi Rodney,
There are 2 SSDs in that PC sda & sdb. (Both with a GPT layout)

sda just has Win10 on it with it's standard 6 partition layout. So sda4 is the "C:" drive & sda6 the "D:" drive or data partition. That SSD is 120GB.

sdb is a 250GB SSD which just houses Linux systems. It is split up as follows:

sdb2 - a 10GB NTFS partition to transfer data between Linux & Win10

sdb3 - a 30GB ext4 partition with a full install of Manjaro.

sdb4 to sdb16 are all 10GB f2fs partitions containing Pups either as full installs or frugal installs.

(I prefer separate partitions to folders within a single partition as it simplifies backup & restore.)

sdc1/sdc2/sdc3 is a 32GB USB3 stick with a full install of 8.3 on it's third partition (sdc3) which is an f2fs partition.

sdd1 is a 4GB class10 vfat SD card which is used to select between and to boot all the Linux systems. All Linux kernels are held on that and it is permanently plugged in.

sde1 is a 32GB vfat USB2 nano stick housing my media repositry. It is permanently plugged into a rear port on the PC and
is automatically mounted by all Pups using it's UUID when possible.

QPM = Quirky Package Manager
PPM = Puppy Package Manager

The shelf is "wbar" available via QPM or PPM. (It is the Linux equivalent of "Rocket Dock" for Windows)
I hope that sheds some light on the 25 partitions and you are not sorry you asked. Smile

_________________
Regards ETP



Kennels

Last edited by ETP on Tue 01 Aug 2017, 15:35; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4652
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 01 Aug 2017, 11:50    Post subject:  

I installed Xerus 8.3 on USB stick and it works well,
however I came across an old issue I mentioned before.

Rox filer has the 'Open With' feature --> list of apps that will open the file

The apps are located in SendTo folder
(see image)

The problem is that the wrong pmusic desktop file is linked.
The proper one will add the music file to the playlist and play the music.

Instead a radio station is added.

Perhaps upgrading pmusic from version 5.2.4 to current 5.4.1
will solve the problem

http://www.01micko.com/zigbert/pmusic/pmusic-5.4.1.pet

________________________________________________
screenshot-pmusic.png
 Description   
 Filesize   71.93 KB
 Viewed   303 Time(s)

screenshot-pmusic.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ottod

Joined: 21 Sep 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue 01 Aug 2017, 13:15    Post subject: International keyboards works erratically  

For a long time Quirky has been lacking latam keyboard so initially I have to do with es keyboard, which is close enough. Afterwards, I select latam keyboard from the advanced Xorg keyboard configuration and everything works ok.
Right now in Quirky 8.3, this procedure works erratically. Some times it does execute the requested configuration and some times it stays setup to some variant of english, I suppose us or en-gb. I have not been able to identify the successful sequence. When I finally get the latam keyboard to work, it does not survive a reboot.
I'm using Quirky Xerus 8.3, USB flash stick image.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 10657
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Tue 01 Aug 2017, 14:18    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:
I installed Xerus 8.3 on USB stick and it works well,
however I came across an old issue I mentioned before.

Rox filer has the 'Open With' feature --> list of apps that will open the file

The apps are located in SendTo folder
(see image)

The problem is that the wrong pmusic desktop file is linked.
The proper one will add the music file to the playlist and play the music.

Instead a radio station is added.

Perhaps upgrading pmusic from version 5.2.4 to current 5.4.1
will solve the problem

http://www.01micko.com/zigbert/pmusic/pmusic-5.4.1.pet

________________________________________________

Hi don 570.

Simple: remove the symlinks and don't use PMusic. It's the slowest of
music readers and the most complicated to understand. You won't suffer!
Use deadbeef or one of the about 99 other music players available on
Linux.

BFN.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
« Un insensé sur le trône n'est qu'un singe sur le haut d'un toit. » / "A madman
on the throne is just a monkey on top of a roof." (Bernard de Clervaux)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 221
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 01 Aug 2017, 14:58    Post subject: Running Quirky 8.3 on an Intel G31 board  

Running Quirky 8.3 on an old Intel G31 board from 2007-2008. I think this was the first Intel board with 64-bit graphic support (GMA 3100) by Linux.
Intel-G31-2008.png
 Description   
 Filesize   31.03 KB
 Viewed   247 Time(s)

Intel-G31-2008.png


Last edited by FeodorF on Tue 01 Aug 2017, 16:28; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lp-dolittle

Joined: 25 Apr 2016
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue 01 Aug 2017, 15:26    Post subject: Intel graphics chipset
Subject description: Swiss German keyboard-layout issue
 

Hi Barry,

meanwhile, I managed to figure out an awkward, provisional workaround for my keyboard-layout issue.
After booting from a xerus64-8.3.iso CD and a frugal installation on the HD of a Dell Vostro 1720 laptop (Nvidia Chipset), I copied the xerus64-8.3 folder (containing s_sfs, Q_ID, q.sfs, and s.sfs) to the HD of the Dell Latitude 6500 (Intel graphics chipset) which previously had proved to be resistant to the appropriate Swiss German keyboard-layout settings. Booting the latter also via the xerus64-8.3.iso CD resulted in the previously described partially wrong/right keyboard-layout, yet, this time, the XkbConfigManager 'worked' if I precisely proceeded as follows:

After booting, first, a restart of X seems to be required. Then the XkbConfigManager can be used to successfully set the Swiss German layout; I cannot say whether an apparently unavailing attempt at configuring the third level chooser had an effect or not, but now I have a workable keyboard-layout ...... that alas, despite being saved, again needs to be reconfigured after every restart of X or reboot!

By the way, as shown by the today post of ottod, other users also seem to have to cope with similar keyboard-layout issues. It would be interesting to know the graphics chipset of ottod's computer.

kind regards, and apologies for having misspelt your name in the preceding post!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lp-dolittle

Joined: 25 Apr 2016
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue 01 Aug 2017, 15:33    Post subject: keyboard-layout issue  

Hi ottod,

we seem to share similar keyboard-layout issues. It would be interesting to know your computer's graphics chipset. Intel? You will understand the question when you have a look at my previous posts.

kind regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 46 of 47 [700 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 44, 45, 46, 47 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0964s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0117s) ][ GZIP on ]