Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Jan 2018, 12:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Xenialpup CE 7.5 / 25 Nov 2017
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 38 of 41 [605 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41 Next
Author Message
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 710
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jan 2018, 22:36    Post subject: on an Acer Aspire One?  

Replicators Iin part) wrote:
I am trying to instal this on a acer one zg5 and i cannot seem to get wifi to work o
Hi, I have an Acer Aspire One ZG5, will try Xenial and report back.
---------------
Replicators, possibly this may be of help; let us know.
I copied these files from musher0's xenial706 to a partition on this Acer Aspire One ZG5:
Code:

ls -l /mnt/sda2/xenial706/
total 286176
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   2279774 Oct 21 08:09 initrd.gz
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 254353408 Oct 21 08:29 puppy_xenial_7.0.6.sfs
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   4423760 Jul 15  2015 vmlinuz
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  31674368 Oct 23 06:13 zdrv_xenial_7.0.6.sfs
 

Then booted from that, and was able to set up wireless.
Code:
lsmod|grep ath
ath5k                 109544  0
ath                    13508  1 ath5k
mac80211              250537  1 ath5k
cfg80211              171310  3 ath,ath5k,mac80211
led_class               2836  1 ath5k

But it looks as though the wireless card is not the same as yours?
Ethernet controller : Qualcomm Atheros AR242x / AR542x Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) (rev 01)

_________________
Dell E6410: Xenial, etc
Dell Mini 9, Acer Aspire One, EeePC 1018P, PowerBook G4
Intel D865GBF, Intel DQ35JOE

Last edited by sheldonisaac on Wed 03 Jan 2018, 16:41; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9887
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jan 2018, 01:38    Post subject:  

mikeslr wrote:
Hi Replicators,

The atheros_kernel_modules-4.4.95noPAE-xenial32.pet was created for the earlier Xenialpup which used a different Kernel. Drivers are kernel specific.

WRONG

Xenialpup 7.5 does use the 4.4.95 kernel
That driver pet is the correct one.

Quote:

From Pup-Sysinfo
Linux Kernel: 4.4.95 (i686)
Kernel Version: #1 SMP Mon Nov 13 17:15:42 GMT 2017
PAE Enabled: No

Kernel Command Line:
psubdir=xenialpup75uefi pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck

Distro: xenialpup 7.5
Window Manager: JWM v2.3.7
Desktop Start: xwin jwm



Replicators,
Your problem could be how you are trying to do the network setup.
You do what?
You see what?

Note:
After installing the driver pet.
You need to reboot to load the drivers.
Need to have a working save so the drivers install sticks after the reboot.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Replicators

Joined: 02 Jan 2018
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jan 2018, 18:25    Post subject:  

After installing xenial 7.5 i would install the atheros pet file, and then restart and the wifi still won't work. I have tried everything, it's like the pet did nothing, not even putting the atheros in the driver list.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9887
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jan 2018, 21:47    Post subject:  

If this is a laptop.
Are your sure wifi is turned on?
A lot of laptops have an on/off switch for wifi.

Did you make a save so the driver pet you installed is still installed?

menu->Setup->Internet Connection Wizard->Wired or wireless LAN->Network Wizard

Network Wizard wireless connection steps.

1. Select Network Wizard
2. Select wlan0 (your network card may have a different description)
3. Select Wireless in the Configure wireless network box.
4. Select Scan and your ESSID should come up.
5. Select your ESSID and OK
6. Give a name to your profile. It should already be what you selected in step 5.
7. Most people use WPA/TKIP - select it or WPA2.
8. A box will open for you to write the WPA password. It is called a Shared Key. Enter the password.
9. Leave the other boxes as they are. Rarely do these need adjustment.
9. Select Save
10. Select Use This Profile
11. A box will appear showing Puppy trying to connect
12. A box will come up “REPORT ON TEST 0f wlan0CONNECTION”
13. Select Auto DHCP in the Configure interface box and it will go through a handshake routine. and declare itself successful
14. Select done

If something does not work.
What step?
You do what?
You see what?


Also make sure your system's time zone setting is correct - if not, many website's certificates then act as if they are expired, and the webpage won't display.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Replicators

Joined: 02 Jan 2018
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jan 2018, 22:46    Post subject:  

I used a older version of xenial and wifi worked out of the box, i know how to operate the wifi, but the new version doesn't even show wlan, just eth0 even after installing the pet, and i am saving it to the internal hard drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9887
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jan 2018, 23:27    Post subject:  

Help us out.

The older Xenialpup that works.

menu>System>Pup-Sysinfo>Devices>Network>

Post what this shows for the wireless device.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Volhout

Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 513

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jan 2018, 10:34    Post subject: dislocker  

The world has become so complex.......

Dear 666Philb,

I have chosen you! I am having a hard time to determine who is leading mainstream Puppy development now, as there are many heading their own development, but no-one steps up for mainstream.

01Micko seems to work mainly ad hoc and in the background
Barry is doing his own thing
Fatdog team only focus on their baby.

So I don't know where to go with this idea, and maybe it is you.?

The micro$oft world is pushing bitlocker for increased security (remember the scandals with USB sticks found in trash). For Linux there is "dislocker" that can decrypt the bitlocker encrypted volumes.

A PET, that I have working on Slack 5.7.0, XSlacko, XSlacko Slim, has been made by Goinnuts:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=1099130277&t=102976

I think it would enhance puppy Linux a lot if this could be integrated standard, and made user friendly.

As puppy stands now, the bitlocker encrypted volume is visible as a volume on the desktop. But when you open this volume it is shows a large set of encrypted files.
It would be really nice if you could open the volume (right click) and after typing the password, it would show the actual files.

dislocker puts them in /tmp/dislocker (the above post shows how it works).

I have tuned above script so it is workable for me, but I have absolutely no knowhow of puppy core so this would be integrated as suggested above.

Since dislocker pet is small in size I can imagine this becoming a part of standard puppy, seemless integrated with the mount and unmounts actions for volumes at the desktop.

I hope I have reached the right person for my idea. Or maybe you can forward this to whoever could be motivated to make this part of woofCE (zigbert ? bigpup ? ) so it may become a basic part of puppy.

Volhout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Replicators

Joined: 02 Jan 2018
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jan 2018, 18:10    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Help us out.

The older Xenialpup that works.

menu>System>Pup-Sysinfo>Devices>Network>

Post what this shows for the wireless device.


Ethernet controller [0200]: Qualcomm Atheros AR242x / AR542x Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) [168c:001c] (rev 01)
• Kernel Driver: ath5k
• Memory Used: 119.28 KB
• Path: /lib/modules/4.9.13/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/ath/ath5k/ath5k.ko
• Description: Support for 5xxx series of Atheros 802.11 wireless LAN cards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Replicators

Joined: 02 Jan 2018
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jan 2018, 18:51    Post subject:  

Ok, i tried again with 7.5 and this time i installed pet on usb flash, and didn't install to internal hard drive this time and made a small save file and after i rebooted, the wifi worked. I want to install it on the internal though and it doesn't ask me to save when rebooting or shutting down so it doesn't restart with the save, so that';s been my whole problem is i don't know how to save the settings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9887
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jan 2018, 01:22    Post subject:  

How exactly are you doing the install?
Details???

After you install to an internal hard drive.
You need to run Grub4dos Bootloader config to install a boot loader to boot from the hard drive.
Select the hard drive as the install device and just use the default settings for everything else.
OK.
OK.
OK.
Done.

Also, do not have the Xenialpup USB plugged in, so you make sure it is actually booting from the internal hard drive install.

Are you trying to install to internal hard drive and still have Windows and Xenialpup on the drive?

If Windows is going to stay on drive or you are keeping the drive formatted in a Windows format.
Run Windows defrag and chkdsk to get the ntfs or fat32 file system defragged and any errors corrected, before you do the Xenialpup install.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Replicators

Joined: 02 Jan 2018
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jan 2018, 15:01    Post subject:  

I know how to install to hard drive, i used the one-click installer scripts i found somewhere which worked. The problem i am having it seem's is it seem's to not be saving after i reboot to load the driver's from the pet file on startup. I try to install the pet file again and say's it is already installed, but it seem's to not load on startup.

This is a pure linux install btw, no windows on it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9887
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jan 2018, 17:24    Post subject:  

Quote:
i used the one-click installer scripts i found somewhere which worked.

Those scripts could be written for how older Puppies work and may not apply to how Xenialpup works.

If you are having problems.
They must not be working and doing a correct install to the hard drive.

Is it a full install?
A frugal install?

Installing a pet on any correct Xenialpup install will work.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 344
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jan 2018, 18:23    Post subject:  

Replicators wrote:
it doesn't ask me to save when rebooting or shutting down so it doesn't restart with the save, so that';s been my whole problem is i don't know how to save the settings.
Pets you install and changes you make are saved in the savefile when you have a frugal install. When you run Puppy frugally, the first time you shut down it will ask you if you want to make this savefile (and save everything you did in it) or not. At next boot of your frugal Puppy, the savefile will be searched and loaded and Puppy will save everything you do in it without asking. So your pupsavefile has to be large enough; but if you know it will get to small, you can make it bigger.
I wonder if you still have the usb in. Perhaps Puppy finds the pupsave there and uses it, although Puppy starts up from the hdd.
Quote:
Ok, i tried again with 7.5 and this time i installed pet on usb flash, and didn't install to internal hard drive this time

What do you mean by that? It doesn't matter where the .pet is. The pet, that is its content, has to be "installed"; after that the pet is useless.
You install a .pet by clicking it and the puppy package manager (PPM) will install it for you. Its content will end up in the pupsavefile. You do not install a .pet, by placing it somewhere, maybe extracting it.
It is different when you make a full install of Puppy, but still you have to click the .pet and the PPM has to run. In a full install there is no savefile and the installation of the .pet ends up into the full installation, +- like in windows. However, full install is NOT the best way for Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1427

PostPosted: Sat 06 Jan 2018, 09:14    Post subject:  

Replicators wrote:
Ok, i tried again with 7.5 and this time i installed pet on usb flash, and didn't install to internal hard drive this time and made a small save file and after i rebooted, the wifi worked. I want to install it on the internal though and it doesn't ask me to save when rebooting or shutting down so it doesn't restart with the save, so that';s been my whole problem is i don't know how to save the settings.

It seems there are more reports lately of people having problems creating a savefile on hard drive. Affected systems seem to be Xenialpup 7.5 and Dpup Stretch 7.5 RC-2 so far, I think. mavrothal has added some scripts to help figure out what's going on here for the brave debuggers: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=979423#979423
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 2137
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Sat 06 Jan 2018, 09:58    Post subject:  

And musher0 has published a SaveFile kit with instructions for use if for any reason you Puppy isn't able to create a SaveFile, http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=850799#850799

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 38 of 41 [605 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1440s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0305s) ][ GZIP on ]