Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 17 Dec 2018, 02:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Xenialpup CE 7.5 / 25 Nov 2017
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 49 of 51 [763 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 47, 48, 49, 50, 51 Next
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11395
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 08 Sep 2018, 14:43    Post subject:  

TwoPuppies,

I think this is what you want for the Quickpet desktop icon.

In the puppy_xenialpup_7.5.sfs /root/startup
There is a Quickpet file.
This file script runs on first initial boot of Xenialpup 7.5.
It fixes the missing Quickpet icon on the desktop.
After the script runs it deletes this Quickpet file from the /root/startup directory.
So, the installed Xenialpup 7.5 no longer has this Quickpet file in /root/startup.

What you will probably need to do is remove this Quickpet file from the puppy_xenialpup_7.5.sfs /root/startup when you remaster.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TwoPuppies


Joined: 29 Dec 2010
Posts: 72
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Sep 2018, 01:52    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
TwoPuppies,

I think this is what you want for the Quickpet desktop icon.

In the puppy_xenialpup_7.5.sfs /root/startup
There is a Quickpet file.
This file script runs on first initial boot of Xenialpup 7.5.
It fixes the missing Quickpet icon on the desktop.
After the script runs it deletes this Quickpet file from the /root/startup directory.
So, the installed Xenialpup 7.5 no longer has this Quickpet file in /root/startup.

What you will probably need to do is remove this Quickpet file from the puppy_xenialpup_7.5.sfs /root/startup when you remaster.

Yep, that does the trick. Excellent!

I suspected that such a script must exist somewhere, and I had already searched the file system trying to find it. I now realize that my mistake was to carry out the search after the new icon had been applied, by which time the script had already deleted itself. I guess you live and learn.

Thanks very much for your help.

EDIT: I guess it would probably not be a bad idea if the script /root/startup/quickpet had a couple of new lines added at the beginning so that it first checked /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin for the presence of the word "quickpet" and, if found, the script did not run.

_________________
What you really need is two puppies:
Puppy Linux, and the sort with four legs and a tail.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11395
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 09 Sep 2018, 21:20    Post subject:  

Quote:
EDIT: I guess it would probably not be a bad idea if the script /root/startup/quickpet had a couple of new lines added at the beginning so that it first checked /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin for the presence of the word "quickpet" and, if found, the script did not run.

That Quickpet script was a quick bug fix, because the needed entries got left off in the release Xenialpup 7.5 main sfs.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 230
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Sun 09 Sep 2018, 22:02    Post subject:  

I have a Dell Vostro 1510.

There's a pause before X starting when booting XenPup64_75.
Please see links for background/history.

I have same issue with Debian Stretch Starter Kit and Bill (rcrsn51) helped me there (resolved).
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=112784&start=170
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=112784&start=172

I suspect this is same issue.... (?)
Note- spec details in the link.

My apology for cross-linking threads. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11395
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 10 Sep 2018, 18:08    Post subject:  

dcung,

Quote:
There's a pause before X starting

How long a pause?

This probably is an Intel graphics driver issue.

If it does actually boot to the desktop.

Try using the Puppy Package Manager(PPM)
In PPM first update the database by going to configure>Update database.
In PPM do a search for intel-microcode
Download and install that.
Reboot.

Any help?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 230
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Mon 10 Sep 2018, 23:21    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
How long a pause?
This probably is an Intel graphics driver issue.
In PPM do a search for intel-microcode
Download and install that.
Reboot.

Any help?


Hi Bigpup,

Pause approx 15 seconds or so (long enough for me to know that this is not 'normal').
Yes, already established that it is graphic driver issue.
intel-microcode didn't help.
I saw that Vesa driver already installed, so it's probably fallback to Vesa driver already.

Never mind, just have to put up with it.... Smile

Thanks Bigpup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
infromthepound

Joined: 12 Jun 2009
Posts: 197

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2018, 02:15    Post subject:  

A geat distro.
The only problem I have found with it is shutdown.
Very quick on startup but terribly s l o w when I want to turn off the computer.
It's installed on a USB stick and it does not matter which computer I use, it's always slow.
Is this normal? thanks,
JB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
a_salty_dogg


Joined: 15 Dec 2013
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2018, 14:32    Post subject:  

Yes, normal, afaik. Think you'll find it's all down to the installation/save medium used.

Example from my comp when shutting down Xenial 7.06:
Booted from and saving to usb 2.0 flash drive, shutdown takes 4 mins 25 secs,
Using the identical installation and save folder on internal hard drive, shutdown takes about 4 seconds!

Of course, saving to internal drive doesn't give the same instant portability to other machines, so it's a question of what you need from your Puppy.

Btw, I do find Xenial by far the slowest to shutdown saving to flash drive of all the Puppies I know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11395
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2018, 16:34    Post subject:  

infromthepound,

Write speed of the USB is what controls this, as stuff is written to the save, at shutdown.

You can do some setting changes to how the save is used. This can speed things up.

menu>System>Puppy Event Manager>Save Session

If you set the save interval to zero (0)

Check ask at shutdown whether to save or not.

You can control when anything is saved.

Use the save icon on the desktop to write to the save, when you feel something needs to go into the save.
Installed a program, setting changes, anything you want to keep, etc......
or
Say save or not save, when asked at shutdown.

Also, check in the browser history and cache settings.
If you have it set to keep everything.
All of that has to go into the save.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 2849
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Tue 11 Sep 2018, 20:48    Post subject:  

My Xenialpup64 on a USB-Stick takes 15 Seconds to shut down. That's because I've Menu>System>Puppy Event Manager, Save Sessions Tab & set the Save interval to 0(Zero) but put a check-mark in the "Ask at Shutdown" box. I use those 15 seconds to try to remember if I have a reason to reboot in order to install some new application or SFS-Load (or unload) an Application.

But with Save Interval set to Zero, I can literally 'pull the plug' or the Stick and press the power button.

When a Save takes place (manually or automatically as when the Save Session is NOT set to Zero) what is written to your SaveFile or Folder is not only what you want to Save, but everything then in Random Access Memory -- the junk you picked up surfing the internet, the files you forgot to delete, the pets which didn't work and you meant to uninstall, everything (with the exception of files in /tmp). Once a file is written to a SaveFile/Folder, deleting it doesn't recover all the space it took. Why do you want your system operating that way?

On recent Puppies, in order to remove the Automatic Save, you have to change the Save Interval as explained above and, if your Puppy is not on a USB-Key you have to trick Puppy into thinking it is. That is done by changing the kernel line in Grub4Dos' menu.lst from

kernel /xen64/vmlinuz psubdir=xen64 pmedia=atahd
to
kernel /xen64/vmlinuz psubdir=xen64 pmedia=ataflash.

Ask if you're using a different bootloader, or you have any other questions.

See this post for further changes you may want to make after doing that: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=974066#974066. Which changes you make are your choice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3639
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 12 Sep 2018, 08:48    Post subject: Xenialpup CE 7.5 / 25 Nov 2017  

I installed to the hard drive of my Acer Revo nettop pc:

System: Host: puppypc20074 Kernel: 4.9.126-pae i686 (32 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.7 Distro: xenialpup 7.5
Machine: System: Acer product: Aspire R3610 serial: PTSCX0205302001AC12700
Mobo: Acer model: FMCP7A-ION-LE serial: U020102009703
Bios: American Megatrends v: P01-A4 date: 11/03/2009
CPU: Dual core Intel Atom 330 (-HT-MCP-) speed/max: 1599/1600 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA ION VGA
Display Server: X.org 1.18.4 driver: nvidia tty size: 153x26 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: NVIDIA MCP79 Ethernet driver: forcedeth
Card-2: Ralink RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe driver: rt2800pci
Drives: HDD Total Size: 160.0GB (2.5% used)
Weather: Conditions: 63 F (17 C) - Overcast Time: September 12, 8:37 AM EDT
Info: Processes: 174 Uptime: 15 min Memory: 194.0/1505.5MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.2.35

Changed kernel, added usual applications, installed proprietary Nvidia
driver.

Connected to a 32" TV via HDMI cable, audio via HDMI also.

Dual booting with xenialpup64 7.5 - both work well with this atom
processor.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   53.05 KB
 Viewed   366 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
infromthepound

Joined: 12 Jun 2009
Posts: 197

PostPosted: Thu 13 Sep 2018, 07:08    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
infromthepound,

Write speed of the USB is what controls this, as stuff is written to the save, at shutdown.

You can do some setting changes to how the save is used. This can speed things up.

menu>System>Puppy Event Manager>Save Session

If you set the save interval to zero (0)

Check ask at shutdown whether to save or not.

You can control when anything is saved.
Use the save icon on the desktop to write to the save, when you feel something needs to go into the save.
Installed a program, setting changes, anything you want to keep, etc......
or
Say save or not save, when asked at shutdown.

Also, check in the browser history and cache settings.
If you have it set to keep everything.
All of that has to go into the save.


Thanks for that. I will alter my settings now.
JB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2912
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 13 Sep 2018, 09:39    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
infromthepound,

Write speed of the USB is what controls this, as stuff is written to the save, at shutdown.


And, of course, the size of the save file. The whole save file needs to be written on shutdown, so help it by keeping the size small (e.g. 256M or 512M for example).

You'll run out of space internally -- but you can drag those offenders outside onto the flash drive, then symlink them back in (I find that my browser cache, email cache and files, and so forth are big offenders -- outside they go). Then your save file just contains your specialized personal settings, and needn't be that large.

_________________
Add swapfile
WellMinded Search

Last edited by RetroTechGuy on Thu 13 Sep 2018, 10:04; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2912
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 13 Sep 2018, 09:49    Post subject:  

'File transfer rates vary considerably among devices; typical fast drives from this generation claim to read at up to 30 MB/s and write at about half that rate,"

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/USB_flash_drive

"Half that rate" would be 15 MB/sec for a FAST USB-2 drive (some are substantially slower).

At 15 MB/sec, it takes 10 seconds for a 150 MB write, or about 30 seconds for your 512MB save file. If the drive is slower, or has sectors that don't respond well, your write speed will be slower yet.

How big is the save file that takes 4 minutes? (there could also be some issues in the manner by which that version of Puppy writes it out -- I've noticed that some are faster than others).

This shutdown speed issue is why I typically make my external USB drive a hard drive, rather than flash memory (keep a flash version for rescue/backup operations)

I have one old laptop that has a USB1.1, you can bet that when I boot flash on it, that I keep the file size down small... Wink

_________________
Add swapfile
WellMinded Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11395
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 13 Sep 2018, 09:59    Post subject:  

Quote:
And, or course, the size of the save file. The whole save file needs to be written on shutdown

Not sure where you are getting this idea, but it is wrong.

After you first make the original save.
The only thing that gets written to the save, is anything that is not already in the save.
Stuff is just added to the save that is already there.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 49 of 51 [763 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 47, 48, 49, 50, 51 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0743s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0141s) ][ GZIP on ]