Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 19 Oct 2017, 11:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
No sound Acer Aspire 5253G Precise 5.7.1 [Solved]
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Author Message
RickGT351

Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 191
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 19 Apr 2016, 23:50    Post subject:  No sound Acer Aspire 5253G Precise 5.7.1 [Solved]  

If I go into Retrovol, I can choose either sound device and get no volume. Volume on tray shows 65295%
Quote:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 14h Processor Root Complex
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Wrestler [Radeon HD 6310]
00:01.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Wrestler HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 6250/6310]
00:11.0 SATA controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 SATA Controller [AHCI mode]
00:12.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:12.2 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller
00:13.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:13.2 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 USB EHCI Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 42)
00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) (rev 40)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 LPC host controller (rev 40)
00:14.4 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge (rev 40)
00:15.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB700/SB800/SB900 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 0)
00:15.2 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB900 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 2)
00:15.3 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB900 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 3)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 12h/14h Processor Function 0 (rev 43)
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 12h/14h Processor Function 1
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 12h/14h Processor Function 2
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 12h/14h Processor Function 3
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 12h/14h Processor Function 4
00:18.5 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 12h/14h Processor Function 6
00:18.6 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 12h/14h Processor Function 5
00:18.7 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 12h/14h Processor Function 7
06:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR8151 v2.0 Gigabit Ethernet (rev c0)
07:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM43227 802.11b/g/n[quote*]

Last edited by RickGT351 on Sun 05 Jun 2016, 11:19; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9378
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 20 Apr 2016, 01:50    Post subject:  

Try this:

Right click on speaker icon in taskbar.
Select full window.
Make sure PCM is checked and turned up.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RickGT351

Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 191
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 21 Apr 2016, 01:28    Post subject:  

Bigpup, there is no check box for PCM in the full window
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9378
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 21 Apr 2016, 21:50    Post subject:  

Yes there is.
capture5410.png
 Description   Precise 5.7.1 retrovol full window
 Filesize   13.69 KB
 Viewed   893 Time(s)

capture5410.png


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9378
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 21 Apr 2016, 21:57    Post subject:  

Use menu->Setup->Multiple Sound Card Wizard to select the correct device.
It may list other stuff that is not your actual sound card.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RickGT351

Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 191
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 23 Apr 2016, 21:20    Post subject:  

Here's what I get
capture16178.png
 Description   
 Filesize   6.18 KB
 Viewed   864 Time(s)

capture16178.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9378
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr 2016, 02:17    Post subject:  

I would start over fresh.
I would do a complete delete and reinstall of Precise 5.7.1.

Check to make sure you got a good download of the Precise 5.7.1 iso file.

Make sure the location you are installing Precise, has a clean good file system, with no errors, and does not need to be defragged.

Best to do a fresh new format of the partition you are going to install Precise on.

If you are installing Precise to a folder, on the hard drive, that is also being used by Windows.
Make sure to run Windows chkdsk and defrag on it to make sure it has no file system problems.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 956

PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr 2016, 05:11    Post subject:  

I'd try these commands in a terminal first:
Code:
lspci |grep audio
Code:
alsactl init
Code:
alsamixer
press f6 to select your sound card, (esc to close that little window), move sliders up/down, mute/unmute (by pressing m), and press esc to exit. Once/if you get the sound, type in a terminal:
Code:
alsactl store
read more here:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SoundTroubleshooting
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SoundTroubleshootingProcedure
alsamixer.jpeg
 Description   
 Filesize   42.69 KB
 Viewed   861 Time(s)

alsamixer.jpeg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RickGT351

Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 191
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 29 Apr 2016, 17:12    Post subject:  

Anikin, I followed the steps you suggested but when I typed
Code:
alsactl init
I got a message that the file /usr/share/alsa/init/00main didn't exist so I created the file and got this message
Quote:
alsactl init
alsactl: parse:1655: Unable to open file '/usr/share/alsa/init/00main': Invalid argument

When I ran alsamixer, I adjusted the master volume up to 100%. I can now get a beep when I am using urxvt but haven't had any luck anywhere else
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RickGT351

Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 191
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 29 Apr 2016, 17:15    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
I would start over fresh.
I would do a complete delete and reinstall of Precise 5.7.1.

Check to make sure you got a good download of the Precise 5.7.1 iso file.

Make sure the location you are installing Precise, has a clean good file system, with no errors, and does not need to be defragged.

Best to do a fresh new format of the partition you are going to install Precise on.

If you are installing Precise to a folder, on the hard drive, that is also being used by Windows.
Make sure to run Windows chkdsk and defrag on it to make sure it has no file system problems.

I did as you suggested. I had to make a flashdrive as the cd drive on the laptop doesn't work. I got the same result as before
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jlst

Joined: 23 Nov 2012
Posts: 571

PostPosted: Fri 29 Apr 2016, 19:18    Post subject:  

hi rick

try this Multiple Sound Card Wizard

1) Download and install the pet
2) Reboot.
3) Play a media file (check retrovol)

Then answer to this question: is sound working?

If the answer is no, then i'll give your more instructions on how get some info about your issue...

By the way, you should be using the latest puppy version available, as it may have a fix ... or not.
mscw-20160429-noarch.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  mscw-20160429-noarch.pet 
Filesize  9.61 KB 
Downloaded  197 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 956

PostPosted: Fri 29 Apr 2016, 22:33    Post subject:  

Normally, alsactl init command will return a message like this:
Code:
root@debian:~# alsactl init
Found hardware: "HDA-Intel" "Realtek ALC269" "HDA:10ec0269,1043834a,00100004" "0x1043" "0x834a"
Hardware is initialized using a generic method
root@debian:~#
Something is missing there. To make sure everything is in place, let's go to ubuntu packages and download n' install the following debs:

http://packages.ubuntu.com/precise-updates/linux-sound-base

http://packages.ubuntu.com/precise-updates/alsa-base

http://packages.ubuntu.com/precise-updates/alsa-utils

http://packages.ubuntu.com/precise-updates/libasound2

and for good measure, maybe this one:
http://packages.ubuntu.com/precise/module-init-tools

edit
... just remembered about *glibc vulnerability*, if you haven't done so already, first install these two essential packages:
http://packages.ubuntu.com/precise-updates/libc-bin
http://packages.ubuntu.com/precise-updates/libc6
Quote:
eglibc (2.15-0ubuntu10.13) precise-security; urgency=medium

* SECURITY UPDATE: glibc getaddrinfo stack-based buffer overflow
- debian/patches/any/CVE-2015-7547-pre1.diff: fix memory leak in
resolv/nss_dns/dns-host.c.
- debian/patches/any/CVE-2015-7547-pre2.diff: fix memory leak in
include/resolv.h, resolv/gethnamaddr.c, resolv/nss_dns/dns-canon.c,
resolv/nss_dns/dns-host.c, resolv/nss_dns/dns-network.c,
resolv/res_query.c, resolv/res_send.c.
- debian/patches/any/CVE-2015-7547.diff: fix buffer handling in
resolv/nss_dns/dns-host.c, resolv/res_query.c, resolv/res_send.c.
- CVE-2015-7547

Last edited by anikin on Fri 29 Apr 2016, 22:59; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jlst

Joined: 23 Nov 2012
Posts: 571

PostPosted: Fri 29 Apr 2016, 22:50    Post subject:  

What is missing is the directory /usr/share/alsa from the alsa-utils package

http://packages.ubuntu.com/xenial/i386/alsa-utils/filelist

The alsa-utils package is processed in woof, and many files including the alsactl init stuff gets deleted. Puppies don't come with those files, it's a design issue.

More info is here:
https://github.com/puppylinux-woof-CE/woof-CE/pull/746

But /etc/ini.d/10alsa does the job nicely (intialize soundcard), a better version is included in my MSCW pet.

The issue could be a HDMI audio output by default, it's happening many times nowadays
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RickGT351

Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 191
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 05 Jun 2016, 11:17    Post subject:  

Thanks guys. I installed all those files from Ubuntu and I now have sound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0544s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ]