Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Jan 2018, 03:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
Github and SmartGit
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [23 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8405
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2016, 04:40    Post subject:  Github and SmartGit
Subject description: Git GUI for WoofCE and other github projects
 

I thought that I would start a thread, in case anyone else is interested in this.

My knowledge of git is rudimentary, and I have read other posts in this forum from people who would like to contribute to WoofCE but find git daunting.

There are GUIs for git, and SmartGit seems to be one of the best. Closed-source commercial, free for non-commercial projects.

I searched, only one mention of SmartGit by mavrothal in this forum:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=868101#868101

SmartGit is easy to install, and unlike some others I tried, runs without any apparent problems. I made some notes on installing, with links, on my blog:
http://barryk.org/news/?viewDetailed=00355

It was easy to setup and clone a github repository. In my case, I cloned Sabotage, which I am currently playing with:
http://barryk.org/news/?viewDetailed=00354

After that, it seems I will need to create a local branch, make some changes, and eventually get my changes merged back into the remote master branch.

Exactly the same situation applies to another repo such as WoofCE.

These steps are what we could discuss, if anyone is interested.

And maybe one of our git maestros can contribute, so that this thread can be become a super-easy-to-contribute-to-woof*-guide

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 1042
Location: Cairns marina

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2016, 07:37    Post subject:  

Partner tried putting a comment on your home page but could not find it again .

Comment was " I notice Open Office and DeadBeef put their installations into /opt and I tend to put my stuff like Arduino and Brother files in there too . I can find them when I want them then"

_________________
My Family and my Property are not Government Issues.
Three types of people use Puppy
Those who make things happen
Those who watch things happen and
Those who wonder what happened.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8405
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2016, 08:17    Post subject:  

I am doing another install of SmartGit, taking snapshots as I go.
Hope to take it right through to cloning woofCE.

Step1: installation
----------------------------
Download: http://www.syntevo.com/smartgit/
Download: http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/jre7-downloads-1880261.html

expand jre-7u80-linux-x64.tar.gz and smartgit-linux-7_1_3.tar.gz

# tar -xf jre-7u80-linux-x64.tar.gz
# tar -xf smartgit-linux-7_1_3.tar.gz

Create /root/.smartgit/smartgit.vmoptions
with one line:
jre=<path>/jre1.7.0_80

# cd smartgit
# ./bin/smartgit.sh
...launches GUI.

Step 2
----------
What will follow, snapshots:
step4-ssh-client.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  step4-ssh-client.png 
Filesize  10.37 KB 
Downloaded  135 Time(s) 
step3-user-information.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  step3-user-information.png 
Filesize  9.72 KB 
Downloaded  126 Time(s) 
step2-license.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  step2-license.png 
Filesize  13.84 KB 
Downloaded  144 Time(s) 

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8405
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2016, 08:24    Post subject:  

Why didn't those images display inline?

Step 5: hosting providers
---------------------------------------
I chose "github", and unticked the checkboxes.
The next thing to do is click the 'Generate API token' button.
step5-hosting-provider.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  step5-hosting-provider.png 
Filesize  13.45 KB 
Downloaded  123 Time(s) 

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8405
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2016, 08:29    Post subject:  

Step5b: master password for API token
-------------------------------------------------------------
step5b-master-password-for-api-token.png
 Description   
 Filesize   11.2 KB
 Viewed   528 Time(s)

step5b-master-password-for-api-token.png


_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8405
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2016, 08:34    Post subject:  

Step5c: authenticate token at github
----------------------------------------------------------
step5c-authenticate-token.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  step5c-authenticate-token.png 
Filesize  10.7 KB 
Downloaded  124 Time(s) 

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8405
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2016, 08:39    Post subject:  

Step6: crash reports
--------------------------------
I suppose it is ok to leave the box ticked.
step6-crash-reports.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  step6-crash-reports.png 
Filesize  13.33 KB 
Downloaded  121 Time(s) 

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8405
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2016, 08:43    Post subject:  

Step7: clone repo
----------------------------
SmartGit starts up, window pops up, choose radiobutton to clone a repo.
step7-clone-repo.png
 Description   
 Filesize   6.49 KB
 Viewed   537 Time(s)

step7-clone-repo.png


_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8405
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2016, 08:48    Post subject:  

Step7b: clone WoofCE
---------------------------------
step7b-clone-woofce.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  step7b-clone-woofce.png 
Filesize  8.51 KB 
Downloaded  118 Time(s) 

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8405
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2016, 08:53    Post subject:  

Step7c: failure
----------------------
Why? Exact same steps worked OK for Sabotage on git.
step7c-fail.png
 Description   
 Filesize   5.13 KB
 Viewed   513 Time(s)

step7c-fail.png


_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8405
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2016, 09:15    Post subject:  

This is the URL I used for Sabotage:

https://github.com/sabotage-linux/sabotage.git

This works, I was able to clone the repo.

I wonder. For the above steps, I did a complete new installation, running Quirky 8.0 and a different partition.
Maybe the authentication token clashed with the previous one?

If that is the case, then if you do a first install following my step, it should work.

Right now, I am back in Quirky April 7.2.1, where I have the first install of SmartGit, and it is working.

Running SmartGit, the original installation, I close Sabotage, choose to clone a new repo (Repository -> Clone...)

I inserted the url:
https://github.com/puppylinux-woof-CE/woof-CE.git

It asked for the Master Password (back when I created the authentication token), so do NOT FORGET IT.

Step7e: choose when to save cloned repo:
step7e-save-cloned-woofce.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  step7e-save-cloned-woofce.png 
Filesize  5.35 KB 
Downloaded  116 Time(s) 

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8405
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2016, 09:23    Post subject:  

Step8: open cloned woof-ce
-------------------------------------------
See snapshot, it doesn't make any sense to me.
I thought that I should see directories in the left pane, but there are none.
In Sabotage, I do see the directories. Hmmm.
step8-woofce-opened.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  step8-woofce-opened.png 
Filesize  26.63 KB 
Downloaded  137 Time(s) 

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11495
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2016, 10:46    Post subject:  

Hello Barry.

Thank you kindly for your illustrated tutorial.
I'm sure i'll find it handy someday.

TWYL.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8405
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 01 May 2016, 09:16    Post subject:  

I would like to report some success with using SmartGit.

After staring at the UI with considerable bafflement, and not knowing how to proceed, the next day I started doing a few things, and found the pieces of the jigsaw coming together.

Having cloned the Sabotage repository, I then created a branch, that I named "f2fs-tools-new-pkg", in the local repo.

Reason for this, is I want to contribute the f2fs-tools package, or rather the recipe for compiling it, to the Sabotage repository.
So, I created the branch to get it working, and after it is, I can merge 'f2fs-tools-new-pkg' branch back into the local 'master' branch, then I can push it to the remote repo -- that's the theory anyway, I haven't got that far.

The local Sabotage repo is setup to be at /mnt/sdb5/projects/sabotage
In that directory, I made the changes required to introduce the new package f2fs-tools.
Then, looking at the SmartGit GUI, I saw that these new files showed up, marked as uncommitted, and I chose to commit them to the local f2fs-tools-new-pkg branch.

Having got through the initial confusion, using the GUI is becoming quite nice.

With Sabotage, for doing a native compile (the host system has the same CPU architecture as the target), the instructions are given here:
http://sabotage.tech/README.html

That is, create sabotage/config, with some variables to set, including path to the build-directory -- which I set as /mnt/sdb5/projects/sabotage_builddir
Then, in sabotage directory, run "./build-stage0"
Then, run "./enter-chroot"
Then run "./butch download stage1"
Then "./butch install stage1"

That last one compiles the packages in stage1, basic stuff like gcc, bison, m4, libz, kbd, musl.

Now, the thing is, what affect does all this activity have in the SmartGit GUI? Nothing, because the build is taking place outside the local repo.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8405
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 01 May 2016, 21:58    Post subject:  

OK, I have got to the point of creating a "pull request" at https://github.com/sabotage-linux/sabotage/pull/420

I did something wrong at the very start. I cloned https://github.com/sabotage-linux/sabotage, but I don't have "push" right to that repo. Therefore was unable to upload my local changes.

What I should have done at the very start, was fork https://github.com/sabotage-linux/sabotage, then clone my fork.
Then I have push right to my fork, so I was able to upload my changes.

Then, over at https://github.com/sabotage-linux/sabotage, I was able to do a "pull request", to merge my changes on my fork.

I have now made the pull request, and it will be up to rofl0r, the main guy at sabotage-linux/sabotage, to accept or reject my request.

I presume that the same principles apply to woof-CE. Fork it first, to your own account. Then clone it.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [23 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1270s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0235s) ][ GZIP on ]