Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 26 Jun 2017, 17:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
SlimJet 64-bit SFS packages
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 9 [124 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
orrin


Joined: 05 Sep 2016
Posts: 97
Location: sparks, NV

PostPosted: Mon 17 Apr 2017, 21:20    Post subject:  

mikeslr wrote:
Thanks orrin and the other Mike,

I'll try both. Smile

Orrin, you live in one of the most beautiful areas of our country; and nicest even if it's in a "Red State". Wink I've frequently suggested to my wife that relocate there. At first, I was serious. Now, it's mostly to tease her. She's an inveterate "New Yorker" who, when we first met, joked about needing a passport to come to New Jersey. Or maybe she wasn't joking. Confused

mikesLr


We are originally from Long Island.... its a heck of a lot nicer here than
there! Check out this slideshow:

http://gallery.orrin.org/video/nw_nevada.htm

_________________
Orrin - Engineer/Photographer/Webmaster

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2636
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Tue 25 Apr 2017, 13:53    Post subject:  

*** NEW Version 14.0.2.0 now available***

Evening, all.

The current stable release, 14.0.2.0, is now available for download. These can be found at the usual location in post #2. This includes the current version of Pepper, 25.0.0.148.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

As stated in the last couple of posts, I don't usually bother with one release straight after another, but, once again, I'm making an exception.....we are, after all, marking the release of a new series!

New stuff in this release:-

https://www.slimjet.com/en/whatisnew.php

The previously-mentioned modified version of libffmpeg.so is, once again, included in both locations. 14.0.2.0, just like its predecessor, refuses to work with the included versions of libnss3.so & libnss3utils.so, so.....they've been dispatched again. Slimmie seems happy to pick up the system versions anyway, so I can't quite figure out why Flashpeak have gone to the trouble of adding extra 'weight'.

Once again, NetFlix works fine with this release, so.....enjoy.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Iguleder's (peebee-modified) libpuppygc.so module has been pressed into service with this release, since Flashpeak have jumped straight from 55 to 57; Chrome 56 was where all the 'root' aggravation re-surfaced, so; it's not like I wasn't expecting it...! Rolling Eyes Smile

It may not be as elegant a solution as Phil B's 'bbe' thingy that Oscar has been using to great effect with the sandboxes in the 32-bit releases, but hey! It works.....and that's the whole point of the excercise, after all. (And it only adds an extra 7 kb to the total. I can live with that!)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Which brings me to the final point. I've included a small modification with this release. The previously-mentioned 'silent-launch' feature has been added to /root/Startup; if you look in /root/Startup, you'll find a new script, entitled 'silent_launch_slimjet'. What this effectively does is to launch SlimJet at boot, without 'opening' it; rather along the same lines as how modern Windoze works with hibernation and Fast Startup; it essentially holds it in 'standby-mode' until you launch from either desktop launcher or Menu entry. Upon doing so, it starts almost instantly.

If you don't want to make use of this, or wish to disable it, simply delete it from /root/Startup (or comment out the second line).

That's it! Any probs, give us a shout.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------


Last edited by Mike Walsh on Wed 26 Apr 2017, 17:00; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
orrin


Joined: 05 Sep 2016
Posts: 97
Location: sparks, NV

PostPosted: Wed 26 Apr 2017, 12:47    Post subject:  

Hi Mike,

Is MP4 supported in 14.0.1.0? If not, I will stick with the older version!

_________________
Orrin - Engineer/Photographer/Webmaster

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2636
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 26 Apr 2017, 15:37    Post subject:  

Nah; wouldn't bother, mate. Just tried Bloomberg and Fox in 14.0.2.0, which came out just a few hours ago;. It'll play the live Fox stuff.....but Bloomberg sits there grinning at you with a big blank space where it ought to be showing you a video feed. Doesn't want to know...

I did hear somewhere that Bloomberg were cozying up to MyCrudSoft, so it's quite on the cards that there'll be a strongly-worded 'love-letter' somewhere in the works that'll be suggesting only Edge should be 'allowed' to play their stuff.....


Mike. Twisted Evil

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
orrin


Joined: 05 Sep 2016
Posts: 97
Location: sparks, NV

PostPosted: Wed 26 Apr 2017, 15:44    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:
Nah; wouldn't bother, mate. Just tried Bloomberg and Fox in 14.0.2.0, which came out just a few hours ago;. It'll play the live Fox stuff.....but Bloomberg sits there grinning at you with a big blank space where it ought to be showing you a video feed. Doesn't want to know...

I did hear somewhere that Bloomberg were cozying up to MyCrudSoft, so it's quite on the cards that there'll be a strongly-worded 'love-letter' somewhere in the works that'll be suggesting only Edge should be 'allowed' to play their stuff.....


Thanks for the reply... everything plays OK in 13.0.7.0 so I will stick with it.
The latest version of Chrome also plays everything!

_________________
Orrin - Engineer/Photographer/Webmaster

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2636
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 26 Apr 2017, 16:59    Post subject:  

Oh, well, there you go! As long as something's behaving itself... Laughing

I say, I just realised it couldn't have been the live streaming feeds for Bloomberg or Fox that I was watching. For one, you have to be a US resident.....and for another, with some digging around on their sites, it appears you have to 'purchase' an app that will allow you to down-stream their live feeds.

So I've NO idea what I was watching, but I'm guessing it definitely wasn't the live feed..... Rolling Eyes Embarassed Laughing


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
orrin


Joined: 05 Sep 2016
Posts: 97
Location: sparks, NV

PostPosted: Thu 27 Apr 2017, 12:53    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:
Oh, well, there you go! As long as something's behaving itself... Laughing

I say, I just realised it couldn't have been the live streaming feeds for Bloomberg or Fox that I was watching. For one, you have to be a US resident.....and for another, with some digging around on their sites, it appears you have to 'purchase' an app that will allow you to down-stream their live feeds.

So I've NO idea what I was watching, but I'm guessing it definitely wasn't the live feed..... Rolling Eyes Embarassed Laughing


The live feed for Fox requires that you have a US Cable subscription.
Bloomberg on the other hand, does not. I generally look at the
Asian feed from Bloomberg here https://www.bloomberg.com/live/asia
On that page there is a selection for other feeds!

There is also short test files for a few video formats at:
http://techslides.com/sample-webm-ogg-and-mp4-video-files-for-html5

_________________
Orrin - Engineer/Photographer/Webmaster

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2636
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 27 Apr 2017, 16:22    Post subject:  

Hi, orrin.

I've just tried those test slides in 32-bit Slimmie 14.0.2.0, and MP4, WebM and Ogg all played okay.....as did the HTML5 variant. I wasn't fussed about the 3GP and FLV variants, but clicked on them anyway; for some reason, they wanted to download rather than play in the browser.

When I next go into Tahr64 or Slacko 64, I'll run them through again in 64-bit 14.0.2.0, and let you know the result.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2636
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2017, 17:29    Post subject:  

Hi again, orrin.

To give you a definitive answer, yes; MP4 is very definitely supported in the 64-bit '14'-series. I've just run those test slides through in 64-bit 14.0.2.0.....and the same ones play as played in the 32-bit variant.

So now you know..! Very Happy


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
orrin


Joined: 05 Sep 2016
Posts: 97
Location: sparks, NV

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2017, 22:54    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:
Hi again, orrin.

To give you a definitive answer, yes; MP4 is very definitely supported in the 64-bit '14'-series. I've just run those test slides through in 64-bit 14.0.2.0.....and the same ones play as played in the 32-bit variant.

So now you know..! Very Happy


I installed version 14 and so far it works OK.... but is there a way to change that 'left-hand' pointer? It also exists in the latest Chrome!

_________________
Orrin - Engineer/Photographer/Webmaster

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2636
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 29 Apr 2017, 05:56    Post subject:  

You've lost me.

'Left-hand' pointer..? Not sure what you mean..... Confused

Are you referring to the cursor?


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
orrin


Joined: 05 Sep 2016
Posts: 97
Location: sparks, NV

PostPosted: Sat 29 Apr 2017, 13:17    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:
You've lost me.

'Left-hand' pointer..? Not sure what you mean..... Confused

Are you referring to the cursor?


If that's what you call it Smile
When the mouse pointer hovers over a link, it changed to a tiny left
hand. Is there a way to change it to some other image?

_________________
Orrin - Engineer/Photographer/Webmaster

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2636
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 29 Apr 2017, 19:52    Post subject:  

Ah. Okay.

It sounds as though you're using the stock cursors. What you need is some cursor 'themes'..!

If you download this .pet from here:-

http://www.mediafire.com/file/i95s2ju81mkk6p2/cursor_themes-1-1.pet

...it'll give you coupla dozen different cursor themes to choose from. You're in Slacko64 6.3.2, aren't you? Install it, then go to Menu->Desktop->Desktop Settings; then, under 'Theming', you'll find a sub-section for 'Mouse Pointer'.....that's where you'll find them. I use 'Polar Cursors'; it's a nice, neat theme that's actually standard on a fair number of Linux distros. Have a play around with 'em, and see what you like. There's the option to return to the 'original' Puppy theme if you want to.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
orrin


Joined: 05 Sep 2016
Posts: 97
Location: sparks, NV

PostPosted: Sat 29 Apr 2017, 23:17    Post subject:  

I looked a bit at the 'theme' section and tried another theme. I do not like it but can't find a way to return to the default theme!

Update: I got back to my original desktop.....
I tried to delete this post, but saw no way to do it!

Update #2: I installed the cursor file and selected a mouse pointer that I
like.... don't remember which one it was...!

Thanks Mike.

_________________
Orrin - Engineer/Photographer/Webmaster

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2636
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Tue 09 May 2017, 20:04    Post subject:  

*** NEW Version 14.0.6.0 now available***

Evening, all.

The current stable release, 14.0.6.0, is now available for download. These can be found at the usual location in post #2. This includes the newest version of Pepper, released yesterday afternoon; 25.0.0.171.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

New stuff in this release:-

https://www.slimjet.com/en/whatisnew.php

NetFlix is still working fine with this release, so.....enjoy. Very Happy

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The previously-mentioned 'silent-launch' feature has been added to /root/Startup; if you look in /root/Startup, you'll find a new script, entitled 'silent_launch_slimjet'. What this effectively does is to launch SlimJet at boot, without 'opening' it; rather along the same lines as how modern Windoze works with hibernation and Fast Startup; it essentially holds it in 'standby-mode' until you launch from either desktop launcher or Menu entry. Upon doing so, it starts almost instantly. Smile

If you don't want to make use of this, or wish to disable it, simply delete it from /root/Startup (or comment out the second line).

Any problems, let me know.....and we'll see what we can do.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 9 [124 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0758s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0132s) ][ GZIP on ]