Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 25 Aug 2016, 14:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
how to copy complete Puppy install to another laptop?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
nyamuk

Joined: 19 May 2016
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jun 2016, 19:41    Post subject:  how to copy complete Puppy install to another laptop?
Subject description: Including installed apps, files I've saved, everything
 

hy guys, i have puppy installed in my laptop
it's all take long time to install everything i need, android studio, genymotion dll

my puppy disk only 75GB, and it already take 50GB with my files

i am already try to remaster but it's just make < 5GB .iso
just application who listed in puppy not include android studio ( i installed in /root/Android, not include genymotion too which i install in /root/genymotion
*i try install remaster but it just give me basic application,

so what i want is, to (install puuppy) copy everything in my laptop to another laptop (include file, video, apps) = everything

*install to another laptop with all item

anyone know how to do it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 602

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jun 2016, 13:12    Post subject:  

The easiest way is just to format the new drive to ext3 and set the boot flag, copy everything from the old drive to it (make sure to "show hidden files" if you use ROX for this), then connect it to the computer. Boot a puppy LiveCD and run Grub4Dos to make the new disk boot.

Grub4Dos should find the installation on the new disk and automatically make it bootable.

YMMV.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 2262
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jun 2016, 15:38    Post subject:  

That is one advantage of a "frugal" install as it should just work.
With a full install you may need to replace some of the device drivers.

_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nyamuk

Joined: 19 May 2016
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue 21 Jun 2016, 23:23    Post subject:  

jafadmin wrote:
The easiest way is just to format the new drive to ext3 and set the boot flag, copy everything from the old drive to it (make sure to "show hidden files" if you use ROX for this), then connect it to the computer. Boot a puppy LiveCD and run Grub4Dos to make the new disk boot.

Grub4Dos should find the installation on the new disk and automatically make it bootable.

YMMV.


hope that work

Burn_IT wrote:
That is one advantage of a "frugal" install as it should just work.
With a full install you may need to replace some of the device drivers.


but i am already install in full install, is that still work if i just copy all then paste in another computer then install grub4dos?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 2083
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jun 2016, 01:35    Post subject:  

Sayang sy tdk punya puppy yg full hdd install ... semoga sukses
_________________
My apps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 2262
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jun 2016, 08:01    Post subject:  

Quote:
but i am already install in full install, is that still work if i just copy all then paste in another computer then install grub4dos?
Wouldn't that be nice!!!

That is the reason support exists. When you INSTALL an OS it tailors itself to the specific hardware that you are installing it on. You cannot reliably just copy an installation to another machine unless it is absolutely identical.
The difference with a frugal install is that it checks the hardware every time it starts up, which a full install doesn't do.

_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 2083
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jun 2016, 13:31    Post subject:  

Wait ... i think i can help you .... try duplipets. . Link at my signature.
_________________
My apps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0762s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0099s) ][ GZIP on ]