Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 23 Sep 2017, 03:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Xenialpup64 7.0.8.4
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 17 of 25 [372 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Author Message
gychang


Joined: 29 Nov 2008
Posts: 195
Location: Davis, CA

PostPosted: Sun 23 Apr 2017, 08:57    Post subject: Re: Xenialpup64 7.0.8.4
Subject description: beta (31/03/2017)
 

666philb wrote:
Xenialpup64 7.0.8.4 beta
built with woofCE testing

this is xenialpup64 CE built with 64bit ubuntu xenial xerus 16.04 libs.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
iso devx here http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/test/xenialpup/
for the kernel sources type sfsget into a terminal
for 32bit compatibility libs type sfsget into a terminal
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

happy testing


is there a non-uefi version, just straight 64bit?, is there a 32bit?

thanks,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9264
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 23 Apr 2017, 12:09    Post subject:  

Xenialpup 7.0.8.1 32bit
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=106479
Quote:
is there a non-uefi version, just straight 64bit?

Why do you need this?
The UEFI version should boot on computers that do not have UEFI bios and are 64bit computers.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1232

PostPosted: Sun 23 Apr 2017, 13:49    Post subject: Re: b43 problem on hp2530p elitebook  

charlie6 wrote:
Hi Phil,
b43 story continues... Wink
....

One might need «...the PIO-enabled version of the b43 driver» How can one get it?

HTH, Charlie

I normally just use and rename the 3.14.54 tahr_64 kernel here. I don't think the 4.9.15 one there actually has b43 (or it didn't when I downloaded it ?, I could have sworn the one I downloaded was 115MB though... hmmm... or maybe I magically downloaded something else heh).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 673
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sun 23 Apr 2017, 18:06    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Xenialpup 7.0.8.1 32bit
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=106479
Quote:
is there a non-uefi version, just straight 64bit?

Why do you need this?
The UEFI version should boot on computers that do not have UEFI bios and are 64bit computers.

Thanks, bigpup. I have such a system.
On this Dell E6410, I put it on the secondary drive, which has more space,
Code:
ls -l /mnt/sdb3/xenial/
total 317220
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   2353530 Apr  7 15:58 initrd.gz
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 246489088 Apr  7 16:04 puppy_xenialpup64_7.0.8.5.sfs
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   5564704 Mar 17 11:57 vmlinuz
drwxr-xr-x 13 root root      4096 Apr 14 06:09 xenialpup64save-apr2
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  70082560 Mar 20 13:08 zdrv_xenialpup64_7.0.8.5.sfs

Code:
timeout 4
default 0

title tahr 6.0.6 (sda1/t215)
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /t215/initrd.gz
  kernel /t215/vmlinuz  pmedia=ataflash psubdir=t215 pfix=fsck,nocopy
  initrd /t215/initrd.gz

title xenialpup64 7.0.8.5 (sdb3/xenial)
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /xenial/initrd.gz
  kernel /xenial/vmlinuz  pmedia=atahd psubdir=xenial pfix=fsck,nocopy
  initrd /xenial/initrd.gz

_________________
Dell E6410: Slim Slacko 6, LuPu Super 2, Tahr
Dell D610: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
Intel D865GBF: Tiny Windows 7, Puppy Linux 5.2
Acer Aspire One: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9264
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 23 Apr 2017, 20:04    Post subject:  

Why are you using the nocopy boot option?
Code:
kernel /xenial/vmlinuz  pmedia=atahd psubdir=xenial pfix=fsck,nocopy

That computer should have enough ram to be able to load the xenialpup sfs into memory.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1019

PostPosted: Thu 27 Apr 2017, 04:01    Post subject:  

Hi Phil & all,

Just yesterday I did a woof-CE build of Xenialpup64, to see if anything was updated (like the bug fix from Tahr to Xenial), and I come to find out what is in the "woof-CE" build repo is a bit different than what Phil released here. See the pics below. Pics 1/2 are what Phil released here---notice the '7.0.8.4' and pics 3/4 are from the woof-CE build I did yesterday, listing as only '7.0.8'. I choose everything exactly as Phil had done his build, using latest kernel 4.9.15, which under Xenial works flawlessly in all my dual screen setups along with xorg & redshift (when will Slacko ever fix their problems here??).

Anyhow, among the differences I immediately notice is Phil used 'JWM 2.3.6'. But weirdly in the woof-CE build from yesterday, woof-CE gives you 'JWM 2.3.5'. Anybody know what else in the xenial-builds woof-CE is different with? (Phil, what else did you change, leave out, or what----am surprised the woof-CE stuff is not the same as what you released.) As a side note, it sure would be interesting (and a great development) when doing 'woof-CE' builds to have the build process offer alternative choices in DE/WMs (like Porteus used to do with WMs and Browser and Email choices) where a person could choose something like Radkky's FbBox as the default, or even full Openbox, over JWM, instead of having to perform major surgery on the 'woof-CE' process steps, extricating JWM and painstakingly replacing everythng JWM does & is responsible for, with FbBox.
Xenialpup64-7.0.8.4.png
 Description   
 Filesize   233.7 KB
 Viewed   889 Time(s)

Xenialpup64-7.0.8.4.png

xenialpup64-7.0.8.4.png
 Description   
 Filesize   223.24 KB
 Viewed   886 Time(s)

xenialpup64-7.0.8.4.png

xenialpup64-7.0.8.png
 Description   
 Filesize   144.53 KB
 Viewed   891 Time(s)

xenialpup64-7.0.8.png

Xenialpup64-7.0.8.png
 Description   
 Filesize   53.72 KB
 Viewed   890 Time(s)

Xenialpup64-7.0.8.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9264
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Apr 2017, 14:42    Post subject:  

Anyone tried to use Lock?

It does not seem to work for me.

The first time I click on the desktop Lock icon, the password setup screen opens. Does not seem to record any input.
Clicking on Lock icon has no affect.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Brown Mouse

Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 497
Location: Canary Islands

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2017, 04:02    Post subject:  

I'm still having issues where both Xenial and Tahr 6.0.6 cant seem to recognise some usb sticks and sd cards.The effected usb sticks are Kingston brand but other Kingston sticks do open even though all are formatted vfat and are seen in all other OS's that I have tested in.
Can anyone else confirm a similar issue?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1019

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2017, 05:48    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Anyone tried to use Lock?

It does not seem to work for me.

The first time I click on the desktop Lock icon, the password setup screen opens. Does not seem to record any input.
Clicking on Lock icon has no affect.


Hi Bigpup,

I tested Xlock on the Xenials (in my previous message above) and I also set up another fresh frugal xenialpup64 (pics below), and xlock worked on all (obviously cannot use tas to take a screenshot when xlock triggers). Both with savefile not yet created and with savefile created & xenial rebooted, I set xlock passwd multiple times (remember, it will not show the passwd as you're typing it), re-entered it again for verfification, then changed xlock-backgrounds, fired it up, it worked each time. Even cleared passwd on all 3 frugals, changed them all again, and there were still no problems with xloxk firing up and running whatever xlock background chosen:.
pic1-fresh-frugal-xenal-7.0.8.4.png
 Description   
 Filesize   34.3 KB
 Viewed   711 Time(s)

pic1-fresh-frugal-xenal-7.0.8.4.png

pic2-xlock-create-keypasswd.png
 Description   
 Filesize   12.26 KB
 Viewed   713 Time(s)

pic2-xlock-create-keypasswd.png

pic3-right-click-controls-to-run-xlock.png
 Description   
 Filesize   15.36 KB
 Viewed   717 Time(s)

pic3-right-click-controls-to-run-xlock.png


Last edited by belham2 on Fri 28 Apr 2017, 06:04; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1019

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2017, 06:03    Post subject:  

Brown Mouse wrote:
I'm still having issues where both Xenial and Tahr 6.0.6 cant seem to recognise some usb sticks and sd cards.The effected usb sticks are Kingston brand but other Kingston sticks do open even though all are formatted vfat and are seen in all other OS's that I have tested in.
Can anyone else confirm a similar issue?


Brown Mouse,

Am curious----for vfat on the Kingston sticks, are each of them formatted and setup vfat-wise using the same program (i.e gparted) on the same OS? And "then' all are tested on Tahr/Xenial to see if they are each recognized? Just a thought, and something to try. Learned my lesson with USB sticks long ago....stick to Linux (pups and/or otherwise) when first setting them up for any file format, and if some give problems still, pass them on to the kids & get new ones (haha) Wink .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Brown Mouse

Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 497
Location: Canary Islands

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2017, 07:26    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
Brown Mouse wrote:
I'm still having issues where both Xenial and Tahr 6.0.6 cant seem to recognise some usb sticks and sd cards.The effected usb sticks are Kingston brand but other Kingston sticks do open even though all are formatted vfat and are seen in all other OS's that I have tested in.
Can anyone else confirm a similar issue?


Brown Mouse,

Am curious----for vfat on the Kingston sticks, are each of them formatted and setup vfat-wise using the same program (i.e gparted) on the same OS? .


No,of course they are not.
I've had some of them for a long time and obviously they may or may not have been formatted more than once.
And that wouldn't explain why they all work in any other OS I plug them into.Including Tahr 6.0.5.
That suggests to me its an issue with the latest kernel being used.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9264
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2017, 10:29    Post subject:  

belham2,

Thanks for testing Xlock.

Now I have to figure out why it is not working for me on my computer.

Update:
OK, I was not doing the password setup correctly.
However, that password setup screen is not very informative on what to do.

Have to enter a password.
Hit the enter key.
Enter the password again to verify.
Hit Enter key.
Now the password is set and Xlock works.

Tell me how this lets you know theses steps Rolling Eyes

I know, you should just know to hit enter after inputting a data entry. However, I always test like I know nothing about Linux or Puppy.
capture12851.png
 Description   
 Filesize   2.93 KB
 Viewed   659 Time(s)

capture12851.png


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1232

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2017, 13:27    Post subject:  

@bigpup: I didn't find the lock screen password thing confusing the first time I tried puppy. In all these years, I have never heard anyone else say they found it confusing either. It seems similar to how you would type in a password in your browser when setting up something.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3199
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 02 May 2017, 19:30    Post subject: Xenialpup64 7.0.8.4  

I did a new manual frugal install of Xenialpup64 to the hard drive:

root# inxi -b
System: Host: puppypc3627 Kernel: 3.16.43 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.6 Distro: xenialpup64 7.0.8.4
Machine: Mobo: Gateway model: FX6860 serial:
Bios: American Megatrends v: P01-A3 date: 04/19/2011
CPU: Quad core Intel Core i7-2600 (-HT-MCP-) speed/max: 1600/3401 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF110 [GeForce GTX 560 Ti OEM]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.4 driver: nvidia tty size: 124x39 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Ralink RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe driver: rt2800pci
Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 3000.6GB (3.0% used)
Info: Processes: 167 Uptime: 1:00 Memory: 305.3/16032.0MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.2.35
root#

I updated PPM and Palemoon and installed some applications.

Works good so far,

Thanks.
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   43.17 KB
 Viewed   491 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3199
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 04 May 2017, 21:31    Post subject: Xenialpup64 7.0.8.4  

I did a manual frugal install to the hard drive of my Acer laptop:

root# inxi -b
System: Host: puppypc36812 Kernel: 4.4.66 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.6
Distro: xenialpup64 7.0.8.4
Machine: System: Acer (portable) product: Aspire V5-571P v: V2.17 serial:
Mobo: Acer model: Aspire V5-571P v: V2.17 serial:
Bios: Phoenix v: V2.17 date: 02/27/2013
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i3-3227U (-HT-MCP-) speed/max: 900/1901 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller
Display Server: X.org 1.18.4 driver: intel
tty size: 97x28 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
driver: r8169
Card-2: Broadcom BCM43228 802.11a/b/g/n driver: bcma-pci-bridge
Drives: HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (5.4% used)
Info: Processes: 186 Uptime: 37 min Memory: 563.0/5766.8MB
Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.2.35
root#

I updated PPM and install application + updated the Palemoon browser.

It's working well so far,
Thanks.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   87.37 KB
 Viewed   334 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 17 of 25 [372 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0707s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0116s) ][ GZIP on ]