Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 16 Oct 2018, 10:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Xenialpup64 CE 7.5 / 25 Nov 2017
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 39 of 50 [741 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, ..., 48, 49, 50 Next
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11124
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 19 Dec 2017, 08:19    Post subject:  

I think it has to do with the video clip being a Tweet embedded on non-Twitter website.

Firefox support has this about it.
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1189443

However, I still could not get the video to play unless I to did this:
Quote:
The second video on the page will play for me automatically, but the first one won't unless I click on the link.
capture7297.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   101 KB
 Viewed   1045 Time(s)

capture7297.jpg


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1551

PostPosted: Tue 19 Dec 2017, 08:41    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
I think it has to do with the video clip being a Tweet embedded on non-Twitter website.

Firefox support has this about it.
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1189443

However, I still could not get the video to play unless I to did this:
Quote:
The second video on the page will play for me automatically, but the first one won't unless I click on the link.


Hi Bigpup,

Thank you for that! Never occurred to me to click on that little Twitter blue bird. It pops right up and plays nicely.

I wonder what Moon is doing over at Palemoon that he gets these embedded vids to play straight away? I mean, he's using Firefox/Mozilla's stuff, right? Oh well, no matter...I will always look to try and click something to get the embedded video out of the main page Firefox first loads. Love Mozilla, but dang, they take 2 steps forward, then 1 step back. Sigh... Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11124
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 19 Dec 2017, 13:38    Post subject:  

Thank battleshooter for that tip!!
Thanks!


PaleMoon is being developed by people that did work on Firefox.
They got feed up with the direction Firefox was taking and decided to make their own version of a browser.
They seem to really care about producing a browser that just works.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lassar

Joined: 08 Jul 2014
Posts: 221

PostPosted: Tue 19 Dec 2017, 19:27    Post subject: Add timezone automatically to xenialpup64  

How about adding the timezone & time automatically to xenialpup64?

Put this in /root/xinitrc before the background commands


Code:

timezone=$(wget -q -O - "http://ip-api.com/csv/" | cut -f10 -d ',')
rm -f /etc/localtime
ln -s /usr/share/zoneinfo/$timezone /etc/localtime
rdate -s time-a.nist.gov
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1381
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 19 Dec 2017, 20:20    Post subject:  

Thanks for that Bigpup, good to know it's not a Puppy only issue.

I had a go brief go at some of their suggested solutions such as disabling adblock and had a look at tracking protection but adblock didn't seem to make a difference and tracking protection is already disabled.

Will keep my eyes open for a solution to pop up.

_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
escucha


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Thu 28 Dec 2017, 06:04    Post subject:  

Hi, try a question:

Is there any pet or package for VLC player suitable in Xenialpup64?
I miss this videoplayer who let record excerpts from a file because I used many many times in tahrpup.

Good work!

_________________
Definitely moved to 64bit. A great step for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11124
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 28 Dec 2017, 11:21    Post subject:  

Can try this one.
Not sure if it has all you need, but it plays music for me OK.
I have not tried everything.
http://www.smokey01.com/Bill2/vlc-2.2.4-x86_64.pet

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
escucha


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Thu 28 Dec 2017, 14:53    Post subject:  

Thanks for reply bigpup.

I have unsuccessfully tested this and others from various repository, no success because the lack of codecs, I don't know from and where manage this missing codecs.
The sound is really working.
Any clue about?
error codec vlc.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  error codec vlc.png 
Filesize  118.71 KB 
Downloaded  87 Time(s) 

_________________
Definitely moved to 64bit. A great step for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
riedzig

Joined: 01 Oct 2015
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Thu 28 Dec 2017, 16:01    Post subject:  

Initially, I made my own vlc.sfs, now I use appimages from
https://github.com/darealshinji/vlc-AppImage/releases
or
https://bintray.com/probono/AppImages/VLC#files

However, unlike most of the appimages on these extensive lists vlc needs to be modifed for root use:

Extract the appimage using the command
yourappimage --appimage-extract
It'll make an executable AppDir in your /root.
You can inspect it and proceed according to
https://unix.stackexchange.com/questions/125546/how-to-run-vlc-player-in-root
You may also want to purge useless languages in /usr/share/locale etc.
Finally, download the newest appimagetool-x86_64.AppImage from
https://github.com/AppImage/AppImageKit/releases and run the command
yourappimagetool -n yourAppDir
It remakes a new vlc.appimage which runs as root.

Just tried it with the latest vlc 2.8.8, it works!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
escucha


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Fri 29 Dec 2017, 05:41    Post subject:  

Thanks for your infos.

I'm unable to manage this kind of apps, I know how to start a .sfs or .pet files... but this tech modes are beyond my capacities.

Had not found 2.8.8 VLC version!
Thanks newly.

_________________
Definitely moved to 64bit. A great step for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1551
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 29 Dec 2017, 06:04    Post subject: Re: Add timezone automatically to xenialpup64  

Lassar wrote:
How about adding the timezone & time automatically to xenialpup64?
Thanks for the code in your post.
I don't think it should be in xenialpup64, I think it should be in Woof-ce, in "rc.sysinit" or "init" or "firstrun".
I'll investigate this as part of my "init" rewrite project.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2979

PostPosted: Fri 29 Dec 2017, 07:58    Post subject: Re: Add timezone automatically to xenialpup64  

Lassar wrote:
How about adding the timezone & time automatically to xenialpup64?

Put this in /root/xinitrc before the background commands


Code:

timezone=$(wget -q -O - "http://ip-api.com/csv/" | cut -f10 -d ',')
rm -f /etc/localtime
ln -s /usr/share/zoneinfo/$timezone /etc/localtime
rdate -s time-a.nist.gov

There is a group of puppy users that freak out on non-user-initiated (ie automatic) connections.
I image this will be more so if they see the output of http://ip-api.com/csv/ Rolling Eyes
Connecting to a US Government site I image will also raise objections though this could be replaced by "ntpdate pool.ntp.org" which with its 4000+ time servers should be less "trackable"

If auto-timezone makes it in, should be user configurable maybe as the default option in the puppy first boot setup screen (/usr/sbin/quicksetup), but certainly there is no need to run on every boot. Puppy already has Psync for time synchronization and I imagine not many puppy users are changing timezone frequently enough to justify it.

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1543

PostPosted: Fri 29 Dec 2017, 09:10    Post subject:  

@Lassar: That site and code didn't work for me. I found that it is automatically blocked by Pup-Advert Blocker. Smile

/etc/hosts line 14647 wrote:
127.0.0.1 ip-api.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 2682
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Fri 29 Dec 2017, 11:21    Post subject:  

@ escucha,

Contents of post deleted. Puppies run applications as Root. I forgot that vlc, by default, can not run as Root. There may be other workarounds. But doing so would not be simpler than what riedzig suggests in his post following this.

mikeslr

Last edited by mikeslr on Fri 29 Dec 2017, 18:12; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
riedzig

Joined: 01 Oct 2015
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri 29 Dec 2017, 15:20    Post subject:  

Hi, Escucha
the link to vlc 2.2.8 is
https://github.com/darealshinji/vlc-AppImage/releases
(the first link in my previous post).

It's not that hard to make the changes to the extracted appimage - the AppDir (its default name is "squash-root" but you can rename it) in /root. There's a file /usr/bin/vlc inside which modify running the command

sed -i 's/geteuid/getppid/' /usr/bin/vlc

(enter the full path to /usr/bin/vlc).
Already then you'd have a working vlc in xenialpup64 and you should be able to launch it.

The last step - reverting it to an appimage - is only made to convert the AppDir to a single file and to decrease its size.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 39 of 50 [741 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, ..., 48, 49, 50 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2274s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0914s) ][ GZIP on ]