Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 27 Apr 2018, 01:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Xenialpup64 CE 7.5 / 25 Nov 2017
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 42 of 46 [676 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46 Next
Author Message
Brown Mouse

Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 503
Location: Canary Islands

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jan 2018, 06:10    Post subject:  

666philb wrote:
battleshooter wrote:
Brown Mouse wrote:
I've tried several different Android devices and none of them seem to work in MTP mode making it impossible to gain access to the internal storage.


p310don wrote:
How are you trying to connect them? I have found that the "connect your android phone" thing under filesystem does nothing, but Pupcamera under graphic works well for me.


There should be a little pop up notification saying one needs to install go-mtpfs. This is the one I downloaded and added to XFCE Xenial with dependencies if you want to give it a go.

go-mtpfs.pet

I'm not sure what version it is, it's just the one available from the PPM. The only time it hasn't worked for me is when I was using a bad usb cable. Phil's made it quite a cool automatic system, once go-mtpfs is installed, XenialPup will sense when your phone is plugged in and automatically ask you if you want to mount it.


cheers battleshooter & brownmouse fixed in quickpet


Thanks Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2855
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jan 2018, 09:07    Post subject:  

RetroTechGuy wrote:
s243a wrote:
RetroTechGuy wrote:
What is everyone's overall impression? I'm still running Lupu (which I like due to the compatibility with Debian code -- but it's starting to show its age -- and the "old" Debian code is often no longer "old enough" for compatibility).

And my question gets me a tracker, so I can find this thread again... Wink


Is your computer newer then 2008. If not you might want to try the kernel tweak proposed by musher0 (see thread).

Will you be installing it a fast storage media (e.g. USB 3.0 or SATA). If not I would then say use something older like tahrpup (see thread)


Thanks 243!

So I booted the Xenial-64 CD, that works fine. Connects to the network, yada yada, yada... No tweaks, no hangs.

Then I went to install it to my USB HDD (which is already bootable, and already has several versions of Puppy... Lupu, Sulu, Slacko, ...)... First it wanted to muck with my already working boot sector, then it appears that it intends to do a full install (since it never offered me an opportunity to install into a subdirectory) -- does the Xenial-64 not support frugal installs?

I'm not too keen on potentially losing my working drive, to try this version. I like the frugal installs (particularly for cloning the system to a new machine Wink )

BTW, Dell Latitude E5400, 4GB RAM (internal has Win10 -- which doesn't play well with Linux, so I run from an external USB HDD)


So installing to a flash drive, then dragging the content to a folder on my USB HDD worked (then editing the menu.lst)

It is a little concerning that when it wants to "fix" the boot sector, that it doesn't have an option "do nothing" -- I don't recall which tool I used to set up the boot sector, but with it working I certainly don't want some new system screwing that up...

Also installed Precise (along with my other collection). First impression is that Precise is quite snappy. Haven't had a chance to play with Xenial yet.

_________________
Add swapfile
WellMinded Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2855
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jan 2018, 11:38    Post subject:  

So I typically use Thunderbird as my email client. Unfortunately, Xenial-64 can't seem to install it. I downloaded .pets from the Xenial collection on Ibiblio, which didn't work. And PPM couldn't find one that would install. Did I miss something (this is probable -- what did I miss?).

I also tried Firefox 57, which also didn't work (couldn't install).

_________________
Add swapfile
WellMinded Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10325
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jan 2018, 11:49    Post subject:  

666philb,

Here is a strange issue about boot up and shutdown.
Dealing with a ext4 partition.
Other operating systems have no issues with it.
Xenialpup64 7.5 can even read and write to it.
However, it seems to affect the boot up and shutdown.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=112448
Quote:
Used the same puppy usb in other pc, and it boots, reboot and shut down perfectly.

Quote:
What is more strange is that this partition writes and reads normally, and can be mount and unmount as well, even when running xenial. The issue happens just when rebooting or shuting down

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10325
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jan 2018, 12:03    Post subject:  

RetroTechGuy wrote:
So I typically use Thunderbird as my email client. Unfortunately, Xenial-64 can't seem to install it. I downloaded .pets from the Xenial collection on Ibiblio, which didn't work. And PPM couldn't find one that would install. Did I miss something (this is probable -- what did I miss?).

I also tried Firefox 57, which also didn't work (couldn't install).

Sure the save has free space for the installs?? Idea

Have you tried to install them from Quickpet?

Uninstall whatever you do have installed by using PPM uninstall.
I would even reboot after the uninstall.
Then try installing from Quickpet.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lassar

Joined: 08 Jul 2014
Posts: 215

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jan 2018, 12:48    Post subject: Puppy Package Manager Needs Fixing.  

I tried to install wine in xenialpup64 using the PPM.

I think I might have installed the 32 bit libraries, before installing it.

Wine64 worked, but 32 bit wine was not working.

"dpkg --add-architecture i386" does not work in puppy.

Code:
root# dpkg --add-architecture i386

Can't locate Dpkg/Arch.pm in @INC (you may need to install the Dpkg::Arch module) (@INC contains: /etc/perl /usr/local/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/perl/5.22.1 /usr/local/share/perl/5.22.1 /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/perl5/5.22 /usr/share/perl5 /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/perl/5.22 /usr/share/perl/5.22 /usr/local/lib/site_perl /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/perl-base .) at /usr/share/pkg-config-dpkghook line 14.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /usr/share/pkg-config-dpkghook line 14.
dpkg: error: error executing hook 'if { test "$DPKG_HOOK_ACTION" = add-architecture || test "$DPKG_HOOK_ACTION" = remove-architecture; } && test -x /usr/share/pkg-config-dpkghook; then /usr/share/pkg-config-dpkghook update; fi', exit code 512



Puppy pet manager needs to be fixed to enable 32 bit architecture.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2855
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jan 2018, 14:23    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
RetroTechGuy wrote:
So I typically use Thunderbird as my email client. Unfortunately, Xenial-64 can't seem to install it. I downloaded .pets from the Xenial collection on Ibiblio, which didn't work. And PPM couldn't find one that would install. Did I miss something (this is probable -- what did I miss?).

I also tried Firefox 57, which also didn't work (couldn't install).

Sure the save has free space for the installs?? Idea

Have you tried to install them from Quickpet?

Uninstall whatever you do have installed by using PPM uninstall.
I would even reboot after the uninstall.
Then try installing from Quickpet.


There should have been plenty of room -- it was a brand new save file (I saw no indication that it ran out of space -- I am running a frugal install). I just started the process of setting it up -- if I can't get my main tools running, there's not a lot of point in tweaking other stuff (the GUI parts are always the fussy ones, so I start there -- most of my other tools are command line).

I'll give Quickpet a try.

Edit: Quickpet successfully loaded Firefox and Thunderbird (though I did need to remove Firefox, so I could change the settings to "not update automagically" so I don't get hammered with Quantum, which breaks all of my various tools...)

_________________
Add swapfile
WellMinded Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Yoliano

Joined: 27 Feb 2012
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jan 2018, 20:20    Post subject: ISO CD
Subject description: Boot failures
 

@ bigpup

Tested your code posted on Jan. 3, on my Toshiba L/T, with new, second CD, (which boots OK on the HP Notebook), but with no success. The same messages were returned and then, a few seconds later, a kernal panic occurred. This, before I had pressed any key to proceed. It seems like the kernal does not want to know anything about that word "puppy" and is getting irritated! I am sorry to report failure again. I assume you read my post to "foxpup", under my post to you on Jan 3?

Thanks for your continuing interest.

@ foxpup

Thanks for your new comments. Correction: yes, the graphics card is Radeon R5. Sorry for the error. It is the sole card. There is no other, as far as I know. How do I find out which driver it needs? Xorg Wizard: yes, I have previously made 2 different configs. But no change to boot behaviour resulted. I will try some more permutations, as soon as possible. My wife sends her thanks to you for urging me to make a new CD, which got xenial pup up and running on her HP Notebook! She is very pleased with it.

Your thought about the driver for the R5 is very helpful, as it could very easily be the key to the problem. I must investigate that as my next priority. Many thanks for the pointer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 408
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jan 2018, 21:43    Post subject: boot failures  

Yoliano

I am glad your wife is pleased. Smile
Let's try to give you a laptop on Puppy as well.

First a small question: why are you still burning CD's? On this new machines you can boot from a usb stick. It's quicker and it is easy to change your Puppy or it is even possible to add one and to have several Puppies to choose from. You do not need a big usb, mine is just 4G.

Have you run any Puppy or linux from CD/usb on your Toshiba yet? If not, I wonder if your boot failure could have to do something with the uefi? Do/did you look at the settings in your BIOS yet? You may have to enable booting from usb, or change boot order. And did you turn off secure boot and hibernation in windows?
You may find this page from our dear member Limbomusic interesting:
http://helledussen.com/linux/files/UEFI_boot/make_uefi-bootable_usb.html
and this from Barry Kauler, the man who made Puppy:
http://bkhome.org/linux/prepare-your-computer-for-booting-linux.html

For the Radeon R5 you will have to look on the website of amd/radeon, just google it. For more details of your graphic card(s) you can look in Windows for system information. Maybe the driver is already in the Puppy. If not, you can ask here to add it. But hopefully one of the more generic drivers will work and then you can try to install it yourself, if you want.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1494
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 07 Jan 2018, 04:44    Post subject: Re: Automatic timezone setting  

Apologies for this off-topic stuff.
mavrothal wrote:
gyro wrote:
Brazen plug:
In my current "init" rewrite project I will use this methodology in a "mk-timezone-file" utility. The resultant "TIME_ZONE" file is pushed into the "initrd.gz" of the target puppy and used by the new "init" script to set the timezone for "init" processing and in the booted Puppy.

gyro

I'm a bit unclear on this.
The mk-timezone-file of a running puppy will push TIME_ZONE into the initrd.gz (ie repackage it) so it can be used in the following boots to setup time zone in the running puppy?
No, the mk-timezone-file utility just creates a TIME_ZONE file in the current directory.
mavrothal wrote:
Or everything is going to be within initrd.gz and run from there to setup timezone in the first boot?
Yes, this is all done as part of a script to setup a fresh frugal install to use the new "init".
See the release post http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=110636&start=96

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Thoranaga

Joined: 16 Nov 2016
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jan 2018, 01:59    Post subject:  

Something is not working with pure-ftp sever . Server starts with default user and password but when I try to connect to it all I get is 530 login error.
Under Tahr 6.0.6 or Xenial 7.0.6 i get no such error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10325
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jan 2018, 02:28    Post subject:  

Yoliano try the code without puppy in it.
Code:
radeon.modeset=0

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Yoliano

Joined: 27 Feb 2012
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Fri 12 Jan 2018, 20:19    Post subject: ISO CD
Subject description: Boot Failures
 

@bigpup

Thanks for your new alternate code. Tried it, but boot failed as before. But the message given this time was: "xwin not recognized"! I think "foxpup" (see below), has put his finger on the problem and that is, xenialpup64 does not have the driver for the Radeon R5 graphics card in my Toshiba L/T. I am looking into that right now and will report back later.

@foxpup

Thanks for your thoughts on this matter. Yes I am aware that the use of an ISO CD is a little obsolete now and for my own use, I have adopted the new alternative. I have been running fd64--710 from a USB-SSD, on my Toshiba, since it was first launched, which was configured according to the instructions of "jamesbond". In a few days I shall be making a new SSD when I upgrade to version 721. Also, when I dallied with Quirky, I did the same thing, using BarryK's instructions. In both cases, I encountered no problems with this method. But it seem's to me that, if xenialpup64 does not have the driver for the Radeon R5 graphics, booting from a USB-SSD will encounter the same problem as the CD. So my first priority is to investigate the driver question.

I chose to make an ISO CD for the HP Notebook for one special reason. My wife is a rather nervous, tentative and insecure owner, user and learner of that machine and does NOT like changes, that cause her new uncertainties and to which she has to adjust! As she has been running tahrpup64 on it, from a CD, I deemed it prudent to stay with a CD for the transition to a new O.S., such as xenialpup64, to minimise the weight of change. When she has become familiar with the new O.S., I will introduce her to the novelty of running from a USB-SSD stick.

I have started investigating the driver issue and found that windows has the AMD Radeon R5 Graphics Driver for Win10 and presents date and version number, which could be helpful. Also, fd64-710 has a long list of AMD Drivers. But with my lack of knowledge, the descriptions given make it difficult for me to identify the graphics driver(s). fd64-710 presents fab graphics on the Toshiba, so it is obviously well equipped with drivers. My next pass is to look at the driver list in xenialpup64, on the HP Notebook, to see if I can analyse the situation there. After that , I will google for more information.

Thanks for your help. I will keep you posted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10325
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jan 2018, 04:30    Post subject:  

Yes it is an AMD driver issue.
That code I gave you is suppose to get around the issue.

Quote:
But the message given this time was: "xwin not recognized"!

That is a strange message to get.

xwin is what starts the desktop.

If it gives you a prompt that takes inputs.

Try typing
Code:
xwinjwm
and press enter.
_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 851
Location: Ann Arbor MI USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jan 2018, 14:18    Post subject: Scrambled video on HP dv6500 (Slacko 63 Tahr 605 Xenial 75)  

Lucid Puppy 2016 (oldest kernel) works perfectly on this 2009 laptop without installing a special nvidia driver. It has worked on other laptops where earlier lucids had video problems, and I think it comes with nouveau driver.

The three later puppies all have unusable video. The window that appears at first boot is in three pieces, and the icons are stretched horizontally.
I can read part of the word nouveau.

How can I fix this problem? Tahr behaved similarly on a 2004 DELL 8500.

On this laptop palemoon will not play youtube videos in lupu or Win7.
(It does in Firefox.) I click and nothing happens. On other laptops it plays but only at 360p.

Youtube recently made changes that broke older versions of smtube. Smtube 18 needs libqt5 and other libraries not found in lupu. I got it working with Tahr on my zv5000.

Xenial works well on my 2004 HP zv5000 (Intel) and plays youtube in palemoon at all resolutions.

I would like to use Xenial on the dv6500 with smtube and palemoon for playing youtube videos and for other things that stop working in lupu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 42 of 46 [676 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0904s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0153s) ][ GZIP on ]