Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 05 Dec 2016, 22:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Schedule an mhWaveEdit recording session?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
Bushbuck

Joined: 25 Jan 2013
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jul 2016, 00:19    Post subject:  Schedule an mhWaveEdit recording session?  

Does anyone know if mhWaveEdit can be made to start up in recording mode, as though it had got the UI sequence "record-button", and then "Start" on the dialogue?

Is there a command-line option?

I'd like to fire it off at ridiculous o'clock, to capture things off the radio, instead of getting a big wav file, and chucking away the lead-in.

Haven't scheduled anything yet, but I'm guessing "crontab" will do that part.

_________________
Tahr64 6.0.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mostly_lurking

Joined: 25 Jun 2014
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jul 2016, 09:38    Post subject:  

Code:
# mhwaveedit --help
Syntax: mhwaveedit [files]

Doesn't look like it has any command-line options for anything other than opening a file.

I wonder if ffmpeg could be used for the recording instead? That one is a command-line tool, after all... I'm afraid you'll have to google around or ask someone else how to do it, though; I have no idea.

Edit: I just remembered that Puppy - mine, at least - has another recording program called precord. It has command-line options (type precord --help) and seems to be using arecord to do the actual recording.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bushbuck

Joined: 25 Jan 2013
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jul 2016, 14:20    Post subject:  

Thanks, mostly_lurking.

I'd forgotten about precord, as it didn't appear in the menu (in Tahr 64), but it installed OK.

I'll have a play with that. I wondered if Audacity would do it, but can never find my way around in that program.

_________________
Tahr64 6.0.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4440
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jul 2016, 19:40    Post subject:  

baconrecorder will schedule several recordings in background..
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69237

______________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bushbuck

Joined: 25 Jan 2013
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jul 2016, 20:12    Post subject:  

Thanks, don570. Another one I'll try.

Re stability, my mhWaveEdit recording sessions sometimes crash -- exiting to command prompt. Never used to get that in 32-bit Tahr 6.0, but do now I'm using Tahr 64-bit.

Not clear what's doing it. It seems to happen more while I'm using the Pale Moon browser, but since I'm doing that most of the time anyway, that's probably a false conclusion.

_________________
Tahr64 6.0.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 12272
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jul 2016, 20:43    Post subject:  

You need to tell us more about what you mean by "recording session."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bushbuck

Joined: 25 Jan 2013
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jul 2016, 21:26    Post subject:  

Recording WAV format from the 3.5mm mic in socket.
Hardware = Sony VAIO laptop, circa 2008, VGN-AR61E
2 GB RAM.

Save directory on sda2, but the mhwaveEdit configured temp directory, and my WAV save location both on a large external USB drive, ext2, plenty free space.

Overnight recording bouts (~ 8 hours) with a freshly booted system, and just mhWaveEdit run, usually work.

Recording, and simultaneously having the browser loaded, seems to be more likely to fail, and I don't need to be actively doing stuff, or on the web, just leaving the browser loaded (I think).

_________________
Tahr64 6.0.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0464s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0042s) ][ GZIP on ]