Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Feb 2017, 14:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to update Firefox?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Author Message
OldAcer

Joined: 22 Jul 2016
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jul 2016, 14:29    Post subject:  How to update Firefox?  

Have used Puppy for a few months, works great running from CD.
A version of Firefox was installed with no problem, but has developed problems. Wanting to install a different version, the Mozilla site recognized the existing version and downloaded a new .tar.bz2 file. Affer extracting it to a new directory next to the existing firefox directory, I find a file "firefox" with properties "ELF 32-bit LSB executable", and a similar file "firefox-bin".
A symbolic link to that "firefox", whose properties look the same as the working link to the current working old Firefox version, does nothing, with no response or error message.

Opening a terminal and navigating to that new directory, "LS -l" shows "firefox" as executable, but typing "firefox" gives "command not found". Typing "exec firefox" gives "exec: firefox: not found".

Do files or links need to be installed in specific directories, or something registered?

PS. It would be nice if there was some way to download MAN files for standard commands, instead of relying on an (unavailable) browser.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 8310
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jul 2016, 15:23    Post subject:  

What version of Puppy are you using?
The old Firefox what version?
Usually Firefox can be update by an option in Firefox menu help Idea

With Puppy it is better to install Firefox from pet package found in the forum section Additional Software->browsers and internet.

Not being totally sure what you did download from Firefox web site, specific info needed.
Name of Firefox package?

The Puppy Package Manager (PPM), that comes with Puppy, will usually provide a firefox package to download and install.
Do a data base update of PPM, using the PPM config, to make sure it is getting the most recent stuff it can offer.

You can download a deb package from Firefox and left click on it like a pet package to install.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 8310
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jul 2016, 15:27    Post subject:  

Quote:
PS. It would be nice if there was some way to download MAN files for standard commands, instead of relying on an (unavailable) browser.

Puppy does not have all possible Linux commands, but the ones it does use can be found here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=46435

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 938

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jul 2016, 16:00    Post subject: Re: How to update Firefox?  

OldAcer wrote:
Opening a terminal and navigating to that new directory, "LS -l" shows "firefox" as executable, but typing "firefox" gives "command not found". Typing "exec firefox" gives "exec: firefox: not found".

Try ./firefox in that directory. Also worth noting is that mozilla builds of Firefox 46+ need gtk3 by default
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=906360#906360
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OldAcer

Joined: 22 Jul 2016
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jul 2016, 17:40    Post subject:  

Using Lucid version 5.2.8.
Thanks, "./" was the command I didn't know, I tried looking for PATH variable but didn't find the right command to display that yet.

First time it ran, it said "libmozgtk.so: libgtk-3.so.0: cannot open shared object file" but I found a directory gtk2 in the download with a different (bigger) libmozgtk.so. Swaping the files eliminated that error. Now it says: "libxul.so: libcairo-gobject.so.2: cannot open shared object file:" but I don't see any alternate versions of libxul.so in that download. Swapping the libxul.so from a previous version of Firefox results in "Segmentation fault".

A quick google search indicates "libcairo-gobject.so.2" is a Linux thing, not a Firefox thing, but not clear where to get it or why its needed if it wasn't before.

Thanks for pointing out that reference-card file. But what has to be done to get the MAN command to work locally?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 938

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jul 2016, 18:26    Post subject:  

OldAcer wrote:
First time it ran, it said "libmozgtk.so: libgtk-3.so.0: cannot open shared object file" but I found a directory gtk2 in the download with a different (bigger) libmozgtk.so. Swaping the files eliminated that error. Now it says: "libxul.so: libcairo-gobject.so.2: cannot open shared object file:" but I don't see any alternate versions of libxul.so in that download. Swapping the libxul.so from a previous version of Firefox results in "Segmentation fault".

I didn't know about the gtk2 directory. Interesting. For me, libcairo-gobject.so.2 is a symlink to libcairo-gobject.so.2.11200.16.
Screenshot.png
Description  Slacko 6.3
png

 Download 
Filename  Screenshot.png 
Filesize  19.11 KB 
Downloaded  49 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1442
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jul 2016, 18:30    Post subject: Re: How to update Firefox?  

OldAcer wrote:
Do files or links need to be installed in specific directories, or something registered?

Yes, you are on the right track when you think about PATH. In this scenario you could create a symlink to your executable. Name the symlink as "firefox" and place it in one of the standard existing PATH locations (normally this will be /usr/bin). This means you don't need to add new locations to PATH. This new symlink might overwrite one that links to the old firefox executable. Once this has been done then just calling "firefox" in terminal will launch the new firefox (gtk3 dependency will need to be satisfied for 46 or later as others have said) rather than needing to navigate to the directory and calling "./firefox".

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 8310
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jul 2016, 00:22    Post subject:  

you know people ask questions for a reason.
We need the correct info to get to the correct answer.
The old Firefox what version?
The new Firefox what version?
Not being totally sure what you did download from Firefox web site, specific info needed.
Name of Firefox package?

You are proving this statement is true.
Quote:
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 887
Location: Burning up on the Great Barrier Reef (Mostly Dead or Dying(me too))

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jul 2016, 17:49    Post subject:  

OldAcer wrote:
I tried looking for PATH variable but didn't find the right command to display that yet.


Try "env" remember environment
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2343
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jul 2016, 19:54    Post subject:  

Hi, OldAcer.

One way round the current GTK3 requirements is to run the latest ESR version; 45.2.0 ESR, which still uses GTK2. Go to here:-

http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/

This is the full list of FireFox releases, going all the way back to the very first alpha & beta releases of version 1, when it was originally codenamed 'Phoenix', and then 'Firebird' (back in late 2002!):-

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Firefox_release_history#Release_history

.....and all the way up to the current, hot-off-the-press, brand spanking new versions. The Wikipedia article is listing the future officially-supported releases all the way as far ahead as FF 55..! Navigate down to '45.2.0esr', which takes you to this page:-

http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/45.2.0esr/

Choose either the i686 directory, or the x86_64 one, depending on whether you're 32-bit or 64-bit. Ignore the stuff down the bottom; it's not what you're after. In the directory you choose, select the language you want to use, and that will give you the actual download, as a tar.bz2 file.

What I do, if I'm installing this to a Pup that already has FF installed, is I extract this to /opt (a nice catch-all directory for all sorts of things.) When you've extracted it, go into the new directory, locate 'firefox', and drag it to the desktop/pinboard. I then dress this up with an icon from my rather large collection.....and there's your launcher.

Admittedly, this way doesn't give you a Menu entry launcher; as bigpup says, the usual way to get that is to either use a .pet package from the 'Browsers & Internet' section, or install from the PPM (after first updating the databases). Alternatively, you can modify the existing .desktop entry in /usr/share/applications yourself, to point to your new version of FF in /opt.....but that's probably best tackled when you've gained a bit of experience.

It is, perhaps, a slightly unconventional way of approaching it, but it's yet another demonstration of just how flexible Puppy (and Linux in general) really is.

Hope that helps.

--------------------------------------------------

@OscarTalks:-

OscarTalks wrote:
Yes, you are on the right track when you think about PATH. In this scenario you could create a symlink to your executable. Name the symlink as "firefox" and place it in one of the standard existing PATH locations (normally this will be /usr/bin). This means you don't need to add new locations to PATH. This new symlink might overwrite one that links to the old firefox executable. Once this has been done then just calling "firefox" in terminal will launch the new firefox (gtk3 dependency will need to be satisfied for 46 or later as others have said) rather than needing to navigate to the directory and calling "./firefox".


Now I know why you construct your browser packages that way! Never thought about /usr/bin containing basically all executable files.....but of course, that's the whole point of it.

Thanks for that crystal-clear explanation, mate. Nice one. Cheers!

(* Takes a Brit to explain things properly..! Laughing *)


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OldAcer

Joined: 22 Jul 2016
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jul 2016, 04:55    Post subject:  

Sorry Mike, I should have posted last Friday as I installed 45.2ESR then. My question was never intended to be simply "How to update Firefox" and don't know where that came from. The "./" reply answered my real question, and the post by Enceladus pointing out the new gtk3 requirement led me to give up for now on version 47 and settle for 45.

I tried to set up separate profiles for an older version 43 and the new 45 to see if the crashing is any different, but I am not sure I succeeded. Both versions run but they both seem to remember all the same things.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2343
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jul 2016, 06:04    Post subject:  

Hi, OldAcer.

OldAcer wrote:
Sorry Mike, I should have posted last Friday as I installed 45.2ESR then. My question was never intended to be simply "How to update Firefox" and don't know where that came from. The "./" reply answered my real question, and the post by Enceladus pointing out the new gtk3 requirement led me to give up for now on version 47 and settle for 45.


No worries. It's been throwing quite a few folks out, that one.

OldAcer wrote:
I tried to set up separate profiles for an older version 43 and the new 45 to see if the crashing is any different, but I am not sure I succeeded. Both versions run but they both seem to remember all the same things.


That's because any version of FireFox will, by default, always read the same cache & config stuff stuff from the default settings profiles in /root/.cache and /root/.mozilla/firefox. I'm not an expert with FireFox by any means (I'm a long-term Chrome man, myself), but I believe it is possible to set up separate profiles for different installs of FF, by naming a separate, secondary profile in /root/.mozilla, then pointing the second install at that profile. Don't ask me how you do it, though; I'm quite sure somebody else can answer that one for you!


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OldAcer

Joined: 22 Jul 2016
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jul 2016, 16:43    Post subject:  

Sounds like a good idea.

I thought I could use the FF option to specify the directory for profiles, where I put in a /mnt/sdaX path, but nothing has appeared there.

However, I did try a new lupusave file, with only touchpad and wireless settings saved, no new apps on desktop, and when then opening the directory where the FF45 is stored and clicking on it, FF ran as a new application with no profile remembered.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0908s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0061s) ][ GZIP on ]