Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 25 Sep 2017, 09:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
I click reboot or shutdown computer & nothing happens
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
wert

Joined: 31 Mar 2015
Posts: 184
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 11 Aug 2016, 05:33    Post subject:  I click reboot or shutdown computer & nothing happens  

When I click reboot computer or shutdown computer nothing happens. Even the 'reboot' command in terminal does nothing. I have to press and hold the desktop's power button for 10 seconds to turn it off. I have tried to fsck the save file and partition many times using different live cds but they all say fs is clean.
I'm running tahrpup 6.0.2 updated. Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2176
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Thu 11 Aug 2016, 06:31    Post subject:  

Boot in RAM mode or from cd and see if you have the same problem. I think there is something wrong with your savefile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9265
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug 2016, 00:59    Post subject:  

tahrpup 6.0.2 updated.
Installed how?
On what?
What format is partition?

Always a chance you got a bad download of the tahrpup 6.0.2 iso file and/or bad install.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 1351
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug 2016, 01:48    Post subject: Re: I click reboot or shutdown computer & nothing happens  

wert wrote:
Even the 'reboot' command in terminal does nothing
Really nothing? Not even an error message? I don't know tahrpup but in my slacko there is a script /sbin/reboot. I tried to run 'reboot' from the console - and Puppy crashed Crying or Very sad

The commands you should try first are 'wmreboot' for rebooting and 'wmpoweroff' for shutdown.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wert

Joined: 31 Mar 2015
Posts: 184
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug 2016, 07:57    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
tahrpup 6.0.2 updated.
Installed how?
On what?
What format is partition?

Always a chance you got a bad download of the tahrpup 6.0.2 iso file and/or bad install.


It used to work fine but only recently it has this issue. I installed it using the fill entire partition method on an internal hard drive ext3 partition. The save file is called tahrsave.2fs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wert

Joined: 31 Mar 2015
Posts: 184
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug 2016, 08:06    Post subject: Re: I click reboot or shutdown computer & nothing happens  

MochiMoppel wrote:
wert wrote:
Even the 'reboot' command in terminal does nothing
Really nothing? Not even an error message? I don't know tahrpup but in my slacko there is a script /sbin/reboot. I tried to run 'reboot' from the console - and Puppy crashed Crying or Very sad

The commands you should try first are 'wmreboot' for rebooting and 'wmpoweroff' for shutdown.


Here's what the terminal returns for reboot
Code:
sh-4.3# reboot
kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] pid | jobspec ... or kill -l [sigspec]
sh-4.3#

Here's what the terminal returns for wmreboot
Code:
sh-4.3# wmreboot
kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] pid | jobspec ... or kill -l [sigspec]
sh-4.3#

And here's what the terminal returns for wmpoweroff
Code:
sh-4.3# wmpoweroff
kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] pid | jobspec ... or kill -l [sigspec]
sh-4.3#


I doesn't crash at all, just behaves as if nothing happened when i tell it to shut down or reboot. E.g. I've actually typed the above commands in terminal as I'm replying and posted it while the system is not poering off at all more so, I clicked Shut Down 5 hours ago and I'm posting this now. Sorry for bad english helper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wert

Joined: 31 Mar 2015
Posts: 184
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug 2016, 08:07    Post subject:  

This tahrpup I've used it for almost 5 months without any problem. Only now it has the refusing to shut down probem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 1351
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug 2016, 09:07    Post subject: Re: I click reboot or shutdown computer & nothing happens  

wert wrote:
Here's what the terminal returns for reboot
Code:
sh-4.3# reboot
kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] pid | jobspec ... or kill -l [sigspec]
sh-4.3#
..means that the kill command in wmreboot couldn't kill your window manager.
Open a console an type
Code:
cat /etc/windowmanager
If you get a response like 'jwm' type
Code:
pidof jwm
You should see a number, do you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 395
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Wed 17 Aug 2016, 20:29    Post subject:  

what other software and or packages have been installed before the shutdown problem began?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
wert

Joined: 31 Mar 2015
Posts: 184
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 04 Sep 2016, 10:17    Post subject: Re: I click reboot or shutdown computer & nothing happens  

MochiMoppel wrote:
wert wrote:
Here's what the terminal returns for reboot
Code:
sh-4.3# reboot
kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] pid | jobspec ... or kill -l [sigspec]
sh-4.3#
..means that the kill command in wmreboot couldn't kill your window manager.
Open a console an type
Code:
cat /etc/windowmanager
If you get a response like 'jwm' type
Code:
pidof jwm
You should see a number, do you?

Here's the results
Code:

sh-4.3# cat /etc/windowmanager
openboxsh-4.3# pifof openbox
sh: pifof: command not found
sh-4.3# pidof openbox
sh-4.3#


I don't use openbox which is what's returned there. My windows manager is jwm as far as I know which is the default in tahrpup 602. Thanks for your help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wert

Joined: 31 Mar 2015
Posts: 184
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 04 Sep 2016, 10:19    Post subject:  

rockedge wrote:
what other software and or packages have been installed before the shutdown problem began?

Not that I know of. I rarely install any packages in since tahr packs everything I could need.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sun 04 Sep 2016, 10:45    Post subject:  

This an older box? Is that the only partition on the drive? How big?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 1351
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 04 Sep 2016, 11:02    Post subject: Re: I click reboot or shutdown computer & nothing happens  

wert wrote:
I don't use openbox which is what's returned there.
..and you are definitely not running openbox, but your Puppy *thinks* that you are running it and now can't terminate the non existent openbox.

As a quick fix you can edit the file /etc/windowmanager and replace openbox by jwm. Now you should be able to shutdown/reboot normally. This still doesn't answer the question how the wrong wm found its way into /etc/windowmanager. Maybe a tahrpup user can answer that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sun 04 Sep 2016, 11:24    Post subject:  

htop shows JWM as running, even though the file you reference in /etc says "openbox."

I'm running 605 with a frugal ext3 on an ext3 partition. No issues with shutdown or reboot from the menu..

==

Wert, did you install with a CD, via USB or some other method?

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9265
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 04 Sep 2016, 14:56    Post subject:  

Have you updated Tahrpup?
Quickpet->Info->Tahrpup updates

A lot of bug fixes from Tahrpup 6.0.2 to 6.0.5.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0520s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0038s) ][ GZIP on ]