Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 29 May 2017, 19:11
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko32/64 700 BETA 2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 32 of 33 [494 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 30, 31, 32, 33 Next
Author Message
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1342
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu 09 Mar 2017, 06:50    Post subject:  

I'm using it. All basics are working. Ready for release?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2664
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 09 Mar 2017, 22:26    Post subject: puppyapps(Default Applications Chooser) fails  

puppyapps(Default Applications Chooser) fails hen you select category ALL button.
Tow lines to be fixed:
Code:
# diff -u puppyapps.old puppyapps
--- puppyapps.old   2016-09-18 16:40:26.000000000 +0900
+++ puppyapps   2017-02-25 16:35:37.000000000 +0900
@@ -232,7 +232,7 @@
 update_defaults () {
    LANG=C
    # change the default*** files, using the 'change_default' util
-   for I in $DEFAULTAPPS ; do
+   for I in $appz ; do
      case ${I#default} in
       archiver)      change_default 'archiver' "$ARCHIVER" ;;
       audioeditor)   change_default 'audioeditor' "$AUDIOEDITOR" ;;
@@ -679,7 +679,7 @@
   
 supported TYPEs:
 ----------------'
-default_apps | tr ' ' '\n'
+echo ${default_apps} | tr ' ' '\n'
 
          exit
          ;;

The first chunk is to fix this. The second is to avoid command line error(puppyapps --help).

_________________
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
boolean

Joined: 31 Oct 2009
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sat 11 Mar 2017, 11:32    Post subject:  

How to hibernate??

i am recompiling the kernel to add hibernate function

my problem is in init script

in previous puppies ( the last one i used was slacko 5.3 32bit), i would add

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=59336
Code:

##############END MODULE LOADING TO ACCESS DRIVES####################

# piratesmack: Resume after hibernation
#
# Note: boot parameter 'resume' must be set
# e.g. resume=sda3, where sda3 is the swap partition you hibernated to
#
RESUME="$(tr ' ' '\n' < /proc/cmdline | grep '^resume=' | cut -d= -f2 | sed -e 's:^/dev/::')"
if [ -n "$RESUME" -a -e "/sys/power/resume" ]; then
  PTRN="$RESUME$"
  # get major and minor number of resume partition
  MAJMIN="$(grep "$PTRN" /proc/partitions | tr -s ' ' | cut -d' ' -f2,3 | tr ' ' :)"
  echo -n $MAJMIN > /sys/power/resume
fi
########################################

#######################FINDING PUPPY FILES###########################


but this puppy( slacko 6,9) have an unusual init script

does any body know where exactly to add the above script?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 721
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Wed 15 Mar 2017, 22:26    Post subject: Insite  

@mick01

How about some insite as to the future of slacko64-6.9.6.4-uefi.iso?

Any updates coming... Is a new version in progress... or is what we have the final version?

It certainly appears the 'testing' on this is at its end! For sure, so far what we have is the making of a beautiful distro, would like to see it go just a tad-bit further.

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
norgo


Joined: 13 Nov 2015
Posts: 89
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 19 Mar 2017, 17:16    Post subject: Localization issue  

Slacko32 - 700 Beta

checked yesterday some applications in Slacko 700 Beta and noticed a localization bug.
Launching of a GUI application via terminal shows always an error message like this:

Code:
#geany
(process:20759): Gtk-WARNING **: Locale not supported by C library.
      Using the fallback 'C' locale.


So I checked the locales and got following output:

Code:
#locale -a
locale: Cannot set LC_CTYPE to default locale: No such file or directory
locale: Cannot set LC_MESSAGES to default locale: No such file or directory
locale: Cannot set LC_ALL to default locale: No such file or directory
C
POSIX


The next step I did was to check the folder where the locales should be stored.
but /usr/lib/locale did not exist !!!

So I launched /usr/sbin/quicksetup to create new locales ( so I thought )
But creating failed with error message:
cannot write output files to 'de_DE.utf8': No such file or directory

It seems that the /usr/lib/locale folder has to exist mandatory because quicksetup doesn't check presence

So I created manually the missing locale folder and launched quicksetup once again.
Now quicksetup created under /usr/lib/locale a folder de_DE.utf8 and the belonging LC_*** files

After that the error messages during launching of an application are not present anymore.

@Sailor Enceladus
most probably you've already again the newest version running Wink
Could you check this bug for confirmation please
Thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1085

PostPosted: Mon 20 Mar 2017, 14:10    Post subject: Re: Localization issue  

norgo wrote:
@Sailor Enceladus
most probably you've already again the newest version running Wink
Could you check this bug for confirmation please
Thanks in advance

Hi norgo!

I think they fixed the locale issue in Woof-CE on January 23rd? This is what I get now (attached), but I'm only using en_US. Smile
Screenshot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   4.76 KB
 Viewed   1462 Time(s)

Screenshot.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
norgo


Joined: 13 Nov 2015
Posts: 89
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 20 Mar 2017, 20:04    Post subject: locale issue  

Hello @Sailor Enceladus

You are absolutely right, this issue has been fixed on January 23rd.
Unfortunately I did not read this, sorry.
But now I know my version of January 17th is totally outdated Wink

Thank you very much for quick response
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3103
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 23 Mar 2017, 22:49    Post subject: Slacko32/64 700 BETA 2  

I did a new woof-CE auto build today and did a manual frugal install to
the hard drive:

System: Host: puppypc4094 Kernel: 4.4.56-4G i686 (32 bit) Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: Slacko Puppy 6.9.6.4
Machine: System: Compaq-Presario product: AU194AA-A2L CQ5123F serial: MXX9300M0F
Mobo: MSI model: Boston v: 1.0 Bios: Phoenix v: 5.24 date: 06/19/2009
CPU: Dual core Pentium E5200 (-MCP-) speed/max: 1200/2500 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 driver: nvidia tty size: 133x44 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (8.1% used)
Info: Processes: 153 Uptime: 2:05 Memory: 301.8/3153.9MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.0

I'm using radky's FbBox-4.1

Works good so far.

******************************************************************

Edit: I compiled the 4.10.5 kernel with the woof-CE kernel kit and have
done a manual frugal install of the new iso to the hard drive of my hp desktop:

System: Host: puppypc9918 Kernel: 4.10.5-4G i686 (32 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.2 Distro: Slacko Puppy 6.9.6.4
Machine: Device: desktop System: Hewlett-Packard product: HPE-410f serial: MXX0370KF3
Mobo: FOXCONN model: 2AB1 v: 1.00 BIOS: American Megatrends v: 6.02 date: 07/21/2010
CPU: Hexa core AMD Phenom II X6 1045T (-MCP-) speed/max: 800/2700 MHz
Graphics: Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Redwood PRO [Radeon HD 5550/5570/5630/6510/6610/7570]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa)
tty size: 163x55 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Ralink RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe driver: rt2800pci
Card-2: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 1000.2GB (2.3% used)
Info: Processes: 204 Uptime: 1:56 Memory: 304.9/3281.0MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.8

PPM gave an error about a missing kodi-1.6 file but I was able to find
and download it with a DuckDuckGo search.
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   43.2 KB
 Viewed   1144 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   66.25 KB
 Viewed   1273 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3103
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 26 Mar 2017, 18:30    Post subject: Slacko32/64 700 BETA 2  

I did a manual frugal install to the hard drive of my Compaq desktop:

System: Host: puppypc20266 Kernel: 4.10.5-4G i686 (32 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.2 Distro: Slacko Puppy 6.9.6.4
Machine: System: Compaq-Presario product: AU194AA-A2L CQ5123F serial: MXX9300M0F
Mobo: MSI model: Boston v: 1.0 Bios: Phoenix v: 5.24 date: 06/19/2009
CPU: Dual core Pentium E5200 (-MCP-) speed/max: 1600/2500 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 drivers: nouveau (unloaded: fbdev,nv,vesa)
tty size: 130x43 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (8.6% used)
Info: Processes: 167 Uptime: 2:16 Memory: 466.2/3153.3MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.0

The proprietary nvidia driver failed to compile with the new kernel but
notes on the kernel say the nouveau driver is improved over previous
versions.
Vlc will only run using the cvlc command but it works well with
Smtube.
Kodi was missing one file but I have the missing file saved to a flash
drive so that works Smile
*******************************************************************

Edit: The 4.10.6 kernel was released so I compiled it with the kernel
kit and did a new manual frugal install:

System: Host: puppypc18619 Kernel: 4.10.6-4G i686 (32 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.2
Distro: Slacko Puppy 6.9.6.4
Machine: System: Compaq-Presario product: AU194AA-A2L CQ5123F serial: MXX9300M0F
Mobo: MSI model: Boston v: 1.0 Bios: Phoenix v: 5.24 date: 06/19/2009
CPU: Dual core Pentium E5200 (-MCP-) speed/max: 1600/2500 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 drivers: nouveau (unloaded: fbdev,nv,vesa)
tty size: 89x51 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller
driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (9.0% used)
Info: Processes: 163 Uptime: 3:25 Memory: 471.5/3153.3MB
Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.0

PPM barely works, it was slow before, it's even worse now.

Apart from that the new install is working okay.
Screenshot2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   86.08 KB
 Viewed   1044 Time(s)

Screenshot2.jpg

Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   103.87 KB
 Viewed   1137 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1085

PostPosted: Wed 29 Mar 2017, 17:05    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
Sailor Enceladus wrote:
It seems that the battery icon show colors for me on the 64-bit version, but on the 32-bit version it always shows as empty (on at least 6.9.6.3, 6.9.6.4, and r4711). Does this difference happen for anyone else, or possibly something specific to my laptop?


Hi Sailor E,

The blue is ok on my laptop w/ Slacko 32-bit 6.9.6.4, and provides all the feedback as you show above. Here's a closeup of it:

Great news! I switched from kernel 3.14.79 to 4.1.39 in my latest 32-bit build, and now the battery icon finally shows colors! (at least, I think that's the reason Smile )

edit: Yup, tried a 3.14 kernel in it and the battery icon shows up as empty/dead again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3103
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 29 Mar 2017, 22:47    Post subject: Slacko32/64 700 BETA 2  

I did a new Slacko64-6.9.6.4 woof-CE build that's using the pre-configured 4.9.18 kernel:

System: Host: puppypc18028 Kernel: 4.9.18-x86_64 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.2
Distro: Slacko64 Puppy 6.9.6.4
Machine: System: Compaq-Presario product: AU194AA-A2L CQ5123F serial: MXX9300M0F
Mobo: MSI model: Boston v: 1.0 Bios: Phoenix v: 5.24 date: 06/19/2009
CPU: Dual core Pentium E5200 (-MCP-) speed/max: 1600/2500 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 driver: nvidia tty size: 135x47 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
Card-2: D-Link System AirPlus G DWL-G122 Wireless Adapter(rev.C1) [Ralink RT2571W] driver: rt73usb
Drives: HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (9.5% used)
Info: Processes: 153 Uptime: 2:06 Memory: 334.7/3951.1MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.0

I added some applications with PPM, also compiled the proprietary
nvidia driver.

It also has the new Firefox ESR 52.0.2

The eth0 isn't supported but the usb wireless adapter is working fine.

***********************************************************
Also did a manual frugal install to my Acer laptop:

System: Host: puppypc21557 Kernel: 4.9.18-x86_64 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.2
Distro: Slacko64 Puppy 6.9.6.4
Machine: System: Acer (portable) product: Aspire V5-571P v: V2.17 serial:
Mobo: Acer model: Aspire V5-571P v: V2.17 serial:
Bios: Phoenix v: V2.17 date: 02/27/2013
Battery BAT0: charge: 20.0 Wh 97.4% condition: 20.5/25.0 Wh (82%)
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i3-3227U (-HT-MCP-) speed/max: 779/1901 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller
Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 driver: intel tty size: 109x35 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Card-2: Broadcom Limited BCM43228 802.11a/b/g/n driver: bcma-pci-bridge
Drives: HDD Total Size: 508.1GB (3.7% used)
Info: Processes: 186 Uptime: 2:52 Memory: 294.2/5766.0MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.0

The built-in wireless is supported, the touchscreen isn't.
Screenshot2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   80.47 KB
 Viewed   906 Time(s)

Screenshot2.jpg

Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   102.87 KB
 Viewed   924 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3103
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 31 Mar 2017, 11:00    Post subject: Slacko32/64 700 BETA 2  

I did a new Slacko-6.9.6.4 woof-CE auto build using the 4.10.7 kernel which was compiled with the kernel kit:

System: Host: puppypc17708 Kernel: 4.10.7-4G i686 (32 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.2 Distro: Slacko Puppy 6.9.6.4
Machine: Device: desktop System: Hewlett-Packard product: HPE-410f serial:
Mobo: FOXCONN model: 2AB1 v: 1.00 BIOS: American Megatrends v: 6.02 date: 07/21/2010
CPU: Hexa core AMD Phenom II X6 1045T (-MCP-) speed/max: 800/2700 MHz
Graphics: Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Redwood PRO [Radeon HD 5550/5570/5630/6510/6610/7570]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa)
tty size: 143x48 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Ralink RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe driver: rt2800pci
Card-2: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 1008.2GB (6.1% used)
Info: Processes: 207 Uptime: 51 min Memory: 201.6/3280.3MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.8

Working well so far.

******************************************************************

I also installed it to my Acer laptop:

System: Host: puppypc6855 Kernel: 4.10.7-4G i686 (32 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.2 Distro: Slacko Puppy 6.9.6.4
Machine: System: Acer (portable) product: Aspire V5-571P v: V2.17
serial:
Mobo: Acer model: Aspire V5-571P v: V2.17 serial:
Bios: Phoenix v: V2.17 date: 02/27/2013
Battery BAT0: charge: 19.8 Wh 96.7% condition: 20.5/25.0 Wh (82%)
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i3-3227U (-HT-MCP-) speed/max: 800/1901 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller
Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 driver: intel tty size: 112x38 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Card-2: Broadcom Limited BCM43228 802.11a/b/g/n driver: bcma-pci-bridge
Drives: HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (2.5% used)
Info: Processes: 198 Uptime: 1:44 Memory: 206.0/3341.2MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.0

The built-in wireless and the touchscreen work.
Screenshot2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   116.94 KB
 Viewed   734 Time(s)

Screenshot2.jpg

Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   53.49 KB
 Viewed   829 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Fri 31 Mar 2017, 16:22; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1085

PostPosted: Fri 31 Mar 2017, 13:54    Post subject:  

There's an updated puppy_icon_theme and busybox and parcellite template available. They have not been made into pets in the repository yet for woof-CE to grab them though so I guess we need to compile them to see them (or something like that Smile ):

https://github.com/puppylinux-woof-CE/puppy_icon_theme and http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=949089#949089
https://github.com/puppylinux-woof-CE/petbuilds/commits/slacko_142
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1286
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 03 Apr 2017, 23:01    Post subject:  

Epic multiscreen wallpaper you got going there Billtoo hah
_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1085

PostPosted: Thu 20 Apr 2017, 15:21    Post subject:  

I noticed that even though Slacko 6.9.x doesn't have unrar (and the one in Slackware doesn't align the fields in Xarchive correctly), you can use 7z to extract rar archives. I wonder how hard it would be to make a 7z wrapper for rar instead...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 32 of 33 [494 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 30, 31, 32, 33 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1129s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0287s) ][ GZIP on ]