Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 15 Jul 2019, 20:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-710 beta [28 August 2016] [CLOSED]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 10 [144 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
jake29

Joined: 24 Jul 2015
Posts: 207

PostPosted: Sun 09 Oct 2016, 07:32    Post subject:  

step wrote:
@jake29, are you clicking sfs files in rox? If so then right-click the sfs file and choose "load SFS" to activate it. The default left-click action is to open the sfs file as a folder, so you can explore it. Left-clicking the sfs file again closes the folder.

"load SFS" and "unload SFS" options are not available. There is no default left-click action assigned. I can however use terminal:
Code:
load_sfs.sh --load kodi-16.1-x86_64.sfs


It seems like 'sfs_load' is not properly installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 1186

PostPosted: Sun 09 Oct 2016, 09:52    Post subject:  

Is it just load_sfs not being properly installed? You should see all the top four menu entries in your rox right-click menu for an sfs file...
xscreenshot-00007.png
 Description   
 Filesize   17.13 KB
 Viewed   409 Time(s)

xscreenshot-00007.png


_________________
Fatdog64-802|+Packages|Kodi|Findnrun|+forum|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1746

PostPosted: Sun 09 Oct 2016, 10:12    Post subject:  

Just want to say that installing GTK 3 and updating Firefox worked without problems for me. Once again I have a choice of secure browsers. Now running Firefox 49.0.1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jake29

Joined: 24 Jul 2015
Posts: 207

PostPosted: Sun 09 Oct 2016, 10:38    Post subject:  

step wrote:
Is it just load_sfs not being properly installed? You should see all the top four menu entries in your rox right-click menu for an sfs file...

None of those options are available to me. I'm running: rox-filer-jun7 2016.08.

Could this be a permissions issue? When installing Fatdog, I formatted the drive; no old system files remained.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 341

PostPosted: Sun 09 Oct 2016, 11:11    Post subject:  

Cannot understand why some old pets I use on many other pups do
not work on fatdog64. They appear to install, and there are menu
entries, but nothing happens when they are clicked.

One pet is inkgui-.2.pet and the other is candi-1.4-.pet (by rcrsn51
for canon printers). In the case of candi "Canon scangearmp scanner"
appears in the Graphic menu (indicating the candi install) but the
scanner is not invoked. In the case of inkgui it appears in the System
menu but it never activates.

The Canon printer installed without a hitch and the Xsane scanner
works. The Canon scanner (designed by Canon) is much better, and
I'd like very much to use it, as well as to have a ink level indicator.
So any help would be appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1746

PostPosted: Sun 09 Oct 2016, 12:07    Post subject:  

@artsown,

Just the elementary stuff first. Are you running with 32-bit libraries installed? I always wonder about this when people refer to things "working on other Pupplets". Fatdog is strictly 64-bit, out of the box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 341

PostPosted: Sun 09 Oct 2016, 12:16    Post subject:  

@prehistoric

Yes, both 32bit-libs-slacko.sfs and 32bit-slacko.sfs
Then after loading I did a ldconfig in the terminal.
Tried rebooting to no avail.

Actually, I thought this unnecessary since I read that the 32 bit libs are
preinstalled in Fatdog64?

Edit: No, james was writing about wine handling both 32 and 64 bit, not
fatdog64 as such.

Searching led me to a requirement for fd64-32bit-libs-7.sfs but I
couldn't locate it .... only the -6.sfs which I tried to no avail. What
a mess Sad

Last edited by artsown on Sun 09 Oct 2016, 13:04; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 1186

PostPosted: Sun 09 Oct 2016, 12:26    Post subject:  

jake29 wrote:
step wrote:
Is it just load_sfs not being properly installed? You should see all the top four menu entries in your rox right-click menu for an sfs file...

None of those options are available to me. I'm running: rox-filer-jun7 2016.08.

Could this be a permissions issue? When installing Fatdog, I formatted the drive; no old system files remained.


earlier jake29 wrote:
I don't see any mention of this so far and therefore suspect it's something I have done incorrectly. I've install Fatdog64-710 beta to HDD and everything appears fine other than that sfs files are not executable / recognised in ROX Filer. Some SFS files can be loaded via Control Panel > System SFS Loader.

I've updated all packages via Fatdog System Updater if that is a factor.


Perhaps that system updater messed up mime types, which link to right-click associations. Can you please tell how you installed FD beta exactly, what steps?

_________________
Fatdog64-802|+Packages|Kodi|Findnrun|+forum|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jake29

Joined: 24 Jul 2015
Posts: 207

PostPosted: Sun 09 Oct 2016, 13:17    Post subject:  

step wrote:
Perhaps that system updater messed up mime types, which link to right-click associations. Can you please tell how you installed FD beta exactly, what steps?

I did not use the OS much prior to running the system updater so cannot confirm the issue existed before doing so.

Below is a screenshot of current HDD partition layout. Windows is on SDA2/3. I formatted SDA1 and went through the Fatdog64 installer. No Bootloader was installed. ISO was used for step 3.

After this, any time I want to load Fatdog64, I use the live cd - it detects the fd64save.ext4 on SDA1 - a method I'd previously used with the 710 alpha with no obvious issues.

Also I note 'GParted' is not in the system menu - maybe it was my imagination but I thought it was there in the 710 alpha.
screenshot1a.png
 Description   
 Filesize   20.55 KB
 Viewed   329 Time(s)

screenshot1a.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1725

PostPosted: Sun 09 Oct 2016, 13:46    Post subject:  

jake29 wrote:
I've updated all packages via Fatdog System Updater if that is a factor.

That could be the culprit, indeed; there's much going on with packages now.
I'd suggest to make another, clean install and see if it's ok.

artsown wrote:
Searching led me to a requirement for fd64-32bit-libs-7.sfs but I
couldn't locate it .... only the -6.sfs which I tried to no avail.

It's here: http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/iso/710beta/

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 341

PostPosted: Sun 09 Oct 2016, 15:08    Post subject:  

@ SFR and prehistoric

I deleted my save file in order to start from scratch. I loaded the
32-bit-fd64_710.sfs and did a ldconfig. Rebooted. No joy and still
no clues as to what the problem might be.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jake29

Joined: 24 Jul 2015
Posts: 207

PostPosted: Sun 09 Oct 2016, 17:56    Post subject:  

SFR wrote:
jake29 wrote:
I've updated all packages via Fatdog System Updater if that is a factor.

That could be the culprit, indeed; there's much going on with packages now.
I'd suggest to make another, clean install and see if it's ok.

Okay, thanks. Unless it would be of genuine benefit to you or the other developers - I would prefer to live with things as they are for now. I have no other problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5471
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 10 Oct 2016, 04:09    Post subject:  

Not everyone agrees, apparently, but I find it inconceivable that anyone would mix any Linux on the same disc as a Windydoze in this day and age! So many options at such low cost. I find the best way is with caddies and incredibly cheap HDs, but other options include USB, SD booting or running a liveCD. FD may have grown massively in size since BK's Puppyv1.1, but it's still a moderately compact distro which would run satisfactorily on a last year's (5yr old, even) box. You can find a 64-bit compatible 754/939, even late P4 boxes in skips/dumpsters/charity shop/local amenity recycling facility - if not entirely free, perhaps a charitable donation. Recertified HDs are as good as new for a few shekels more if you need greater peace of mind. Let's all beat this crazy spiral driven by the Wintel cartel and stop further landfill; recycling is cool. Let's avoid unnecessary intellectual SW puzzles?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jake29

Joined: 24 Jul 2015
Posts: 207

PostPosted: Mon 10 Oct 2016, 05:46    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
Not everyone agrees, apparently, but I find it inconceivable that anyone would mix any Linux on the same disc as a Windydoze in this day and age! So many options at such low cost. I find the best way is with caddies and incredibly cheap HDs, but other options include USB, SD booting or running a liveCD. FD may have grown massively in size since BK's Puppyv1.1, but it's still a moderately compact distro which would run satisfactorily on a last year's (5yr old, even) box. You can find a 64-bit compatible 754/939, even late P4 boxes in skips/dumpsters/charity shop/local amenity recycling facility - if not entirely free, perhaps a charitable donation. Recertified HDs are as good as new for a few shekels more if you need greater peace of mind. Let's all beat this crazy spiral driven by the Wintel cartel and stop further landfill; recycling is cool. Let's avoid unnecessary intellectual SW puzzles?

Sage - I can't help feel your comments are directed at me. Perhaps I did bring disgrace and shame into this forum with my post and it's revelation. But just as you should not attribute to malice what can be accounted for by stupidity; do not attribute ignorance to what could be necessity and practicality and the choice between paying the rent and eating. Yes, even in the western world; incredible poverty still exists.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5471
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 10 Oct 2016, 06:40    Post subject:  

jake: You completely misunderstand.
Money is NOT necessarily needed!
You could start by indicating in which country you reside. If it is anywhere near me I will GIVE you a spare system, including caddies. But you can obtain what you need by keeping your eyes and ears open, making good friends and politely asking for cast-offs. Many folks are only too glad to off-load their surplus stuff rather than sending to landfill. And, please don't complain about me before you check out my record.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 10 [144 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0952s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0192s) ][ GZIP on ]