Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 16 Jul 2019, 04:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-710 beta [28 August 2016] [CLOSED]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 9 of 10 [144 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 249

PostPosted: Mon 10 Oct 2016, 08:02    Post subject:  

Hi, step !
Running seamonkey-spot in a terninal gives only :
[calBackendLoader] Using libical backend at /usr/lib64/seamonkey-2.40/extensions/{e2fda1a4-762b-4020-b5ad-a41df1933103}/components/libical-manifest
which , I think , is related to Lightning only . Nothing more .
Testing a bit more , I've noticed Seamonkey and Firefox start also normally , that is fast , before I connect to Internet . Only after , they slow down and rox too ...Installing the last rox from the repo fixes rox but those two browsers are still slow to open . Google Chrome , Transmission and Pidgin are OK .In all previous versions of Fatdog ( up to FD710-alpha3 - that is with older rox ) this never happend .
In FD710 beta - trying to open one of these browsers , the CPU monitor shows activity as if trying to execute , only after long pause , a second CPU monitor activity is seen and the browser opens . It behaves the same if I open it as spot or as root . Also , it doesn't matter if I'm connected wireless or wired ., or if eztables is on or off .
I'm curious if it happens only to me ... Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1746

PostPosted: Mon 10 Oct 2016, 09:37    Post subject:  

artsown wrote:
@ SFR and prehistoric

I deleted my save file in order to start from scratch. I loaded the
32-bit-fd64_710.sfs and did a ldconfig. Rebooted. No joy and still
no clues as to what the problem might be.
Unfortunately, Fatdog is very different internally from most Pupplets. It is built via the Linux From Scratch recipes.

To find out what is going on you will need to run those commands that are giving trouble from a console window so you can see the error messages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1725

PostPosted: Mon 10 Oct 2016, 10:09    Post subject:  

jake29 wrote:
Okay, thanks. Unless it would be of genuine benefit to you or the other developers - I would prefer to live with things as they are for now. I have no other problems.

Nah, if it doesn't bother you that much, it's ok.
___________

artsown wrote:
I deleted my save file in order to start from scratch. I loaded the
32-bit-fd64_710.sfs and did a ldconfig. Rebooted. No joy and still
no clues as to what the problem might be.

I built ink + its deps (libinklevel & libieee1284).
I don't have a printer, so can't check if it really works.
Just unpack the attached ZIP, install all 3 pkgs and let me know if it works, so I'll upload it to contrib repo.

Btw, I didn't bother with packaging InkGUI (it also uses gxmessage, unavailable in FD), so try it from CLI, e.g.:
Code:
ink -p usb

Oh, and do not install InkGUI after installing the above pkgs, because it would overwrite 'ink' binary with its own, 32bit version that doesn't work in FD.

Greetings!
ink+deps.zip
Description  MD5: 3382f779d3bb7c1146a2b255df6ab043 ink+deps.zip
zip

 Download 
Filename  ink+deps.zip 
Filesize  69.02 KB 
Downloaded  134 Time(s) 

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 1186

PostPosted: Mon 10 Oct 2016, 12:20    Post subject:  

Gobbi,

I really doubt rox has anything to do with slow seamonkey. The new rox you downloaded is faster because it doesn't query DNS unnecessarily. If you have slow DNS servers they will slow down all programs that make DNS queries, browsers included. I don't know if this could be your problem. The description you gave makes me think that a problem in the network environment, such as slow servers, is more likely to be the cause, but I can't be sure.

I have problems with Seamonkey but of a very different nature. When I start it from the console I see lots of errors that slow it down to a crawl, "failed to connect to the D-BUS daemon". It's something in my save folder, because if I boot the fatdog.iso without a savefile it doesn't happen.

If you boot fatdog.iso without a savefile is seamonkey slow to start?

Gobbi wrote:
Hi, step !
Running seamonkey-spot in a terninal gives only :
[calBackendLoader] Using libical backend at /usr/lib64/seamonkey-2.40/extensions/{e2fda1a4-762b-4020-b5ad-a41df1933103}/components/libical-manifest
which , I think , is related to Lightning only . Nothing more .
Testing a bit more , I've noticed Seamonkey and Firefox start also normally , that is fast , before I connect to Internet . Only after , they slow down and rox too ...Installing the last rox from the repo fixes rox but those two browsers are still slow to open . Google Chrome , Transmission and Pidgin are OK .In all previous versions of Fatdog ( up to FD710-alpha3 - that is with older rox ) this never happend .
In FD710 beta - trying to open one of these browsers , the CPU monitor shows activity as if trying to execute , only after long pause , a second CPU monitor activity is seen and the browser opens . It behaves the same if I open it as spot or as root . Also , it doesn't matter if I'm connected wireless or wired ., or if eztables is on or off .
I'm curious if it happens only to me ... Rolling Eyes

_________________
Fatdog64-802|+Packages|Kodi|Findnrun|+forum|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 249

PostPosted: Mon 10 Oct 2016, 15:01    Post subject:  

step wrote:

If you boot fatdog.iso without a savefile is seamonkey slow to start?

Yes, step . I always use fatdog without savefile .
About your guess that it might be because of local slow servers , I think it makes sense ... Once the browser opens ( with a 10 seconds delay ) , it is as fast at it should be . And if , during the time it's open , I open another instance ( or even several ) from the terminal the browser opens in less than a second , just like Google Chrome or other programs that use internet .
I wonder what has changed with the network approach in FD710b with respect to FD710 alpha ... And what can I do about it ...
Another odd thing is that the same Seamonkey 2.40 works normally in previous Fatdogs... And an older Seamonkey presents the same issue in FD710b . And my local network and my servers are the same , obviously .
I don't think is related , but I've noticed there is no message bus service and now there is mdns service in /etc/init.d/ folder . Things evolve and in my case I found this glitch with my favourite browser .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 341

PostPosted: Mon 10 Oct 2016, 15:08    Post subject:  

@ sfr

Your ink package worked ok. Ink levels are reported. Just to verify that
32 bit libs aren't required, I started from scratch again. It's really
great to not have to mess with 32 bit libs! Thanks much for your
efforts.

BTW, in my prior investigations on inkgui I discovered that part of
the problem was the lack of gxmessage in FD (as you mentioned).
However, FD has xmessage, and when I changed the script to use
that instead I started seeing gui messages. But that was just part of
the problem. The ink file was not being recognized. The terminal
error report was "no such file or dir". This was with 32 bit libs
installed.

If you recall, I initially was also interested in getting rcsrn51's candi
working so as to have the Canon scanner app available. Maybe if
I point him to this thread he will take an interest and come up with
solutions not requiring 32 bit libs Smile

Let me know if you want any more testing of your ink package.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jake29

Joined: 24 Jul 2015
Posts: 207

PostPosted: Mon 10 Oct 2016, 16:59    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
jake: You completely misunderstand.
Money is NOT necessarily needed!
You could start by indicating in which country you reside. If it is anywhere near me I will GIVE you a spare system, including caddies. But you can obtain what you need by keeping your eyes and ears open, making good friends and politely asking for cast-offs. Many folks are only too glad to off-load their surplus stuff rather than sending to landfill. And, please don't complain about me before you check out my record.

Apologies Sage. Definitely no disrespect intended on my part. I was just a bit too enthusiastic to make a point. It's obvious you only have the best of intentions. Thanks for the generous offer. Maybe we can continue this via PM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1725

PostPosted: Tue 11 Oct 2016, 06:09    Post subject:  

artsown wrote:
Your ink package worked ok. Ink levels are reported.

Ok, thanks for confirmation. Packages uploaded to contrib repo.

artsown wrote:
If you recall, I initially was also interested in getting rcsrn51's candi
working so as to have the Canon scanner app available. Maybe if
I point him to this thread he will take an interest and come up with
solutions not requiring 32 bit libs

Yeah, that would be best if Rcrsn51 could look into it personally.
From what I saw in candi.pet, there's a lot of stuff that probably wouldn't work in FD, unless re-written specifically for it.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 1186

PostPosted: Tue 11 Oct 2016, 16:44    Post subject:  

@Gobbi, we'll need to wait for jamesbond to tell us what's changed in the network between alpha and beta. I think he's travelling these days, but eventually he'll be back and review this thread.
_________________
Fatdog64-802|+Packages|Kodi|Findnrun|+forum|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jake29

Joined: 24 Jul 2015
Posts: 207

PostPosted: Tue 11 Oct 2016, 18:26    Post subject: Networked Printer not found  

I just set up my Epson PX700W printer. It's networked - connected directly to router. In the Fatdog64-710 Alpha, I'm fairly sure CUPS > Admin > Find new printers - was able to detect the PX700W. This does not happen in the Beta.

I had to manually configured CUPS to use socket://hostname:9100. I do have a different router for initial setup in CUPS this time; that could well be the cause.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 341

PostPosted: Wed 12 Oct 2016, 11:10    Post subject:  

@ SFR

I noticed candi is in the repo. It works fine in FD64.

FD64 is shaping up for me as a "workhorse" distro. It "feels" solid
and "mature", at least for my wants and needs. Can't help feeling
thankful to the devs and expert contributors.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 341

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2016, 11:24    Post subject:  

I couldn't find a time sync app in FD or in the repos. I found Psync-2.7-64.pet
by tasmod which is said to work on FD. I installed it and it does appear to
work in 710b.

Seems to me FD should include this or some other app that adjusts
system time to accurate sources from remote servers. At least it should be
included in optional package repo. Of course, I may be missing some
app that does this which I don't recognise by its name.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1725

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2016, 14:30    Post subject:  

artsown wrote:
I couldn't find a time sync app in FD or in the repos. I found Psync-2.7-64.pet
by tasmod which is said to work on FD. I installed it and it does appear to
work in 710b.

Seems to me FD should include this or some other app that adjusts
system time to accurate sources from remote servers. At least it should be
included in optional package repo. Of course, I may be missing some
app that does this which I don't recognise by its name.

Art

Yes, it's already there, see Control Panel -> System -> Manage Servers and Services -> ntpd-boot/ntpd-client.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1746

PostPosted: Thu 13 Oct 2016, 16:17    Post subject:  

SFR wrote:
...
Yes, it's already there, see Control Panel -> System -> Manage Servers and Services -> ntpd-boot/ntpd-client.

Greetings!
It took me a while to find this, so there should at least be some words about it in initial set up. Ideally, you would just have a checkbox for "Do you want to sync the system clock with a network time server at each start-up?"

Also, most users really won't understand the reason for the two different service options. Pick one that is very likely to work for most people, and leave the other to be found by those for whom the first option fails, when they ask for help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 341

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2016, 11:17    Post subject:  

prehistoric wrote:

Quote:
It took me a while to find this, so there should at least be some words about it in initial set up. Ideally, you would just have a checkbox for "Do you want to sync the system clock with a network time server at each start-up?"


My suggestion is to sync also at 'Restart X' so the user has a "on-demand"
option as well. I dunno why the time sync function is disabled by default.
The fact that a time sync exists should be mentioned in the FAQ, IMO. The
FAQ could mention that Restart X also invokes time sync.

Be nice if a momentary pop up appeared announcing that time sync has
been successfully (or not) accomplished.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 10 [144 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0909s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0272s) ][ GZIP on ]