Puppy running on 32MB RAM without swap?

Booting, installing, newbie
moesothermail

Puppy running on 32MB RAM without swap?

#1 Post by moesothermail »

I have the following device: ISS-102R-300 with 32MB of RAM.

I installed Puppy 2.02 on a 128 MB Compact Flash card. The card has the following partitions: 80MB fat16 for Puppy and 48MB in ext2.

After initially having trouble, I finally got Puppy to boot (thanks to Jesse’s solution)

Why does Puppy run when I only have 32MB of RAM? The 48 MB partition on my Compact Flash card is not Linux Swap. Does Puppy automatically use it as swap anyway?

I don’t want to use my CF card for swap as I am afraid all the reads and writes will cook it. How can I run Puppy on my device?

CPU: NS Geode GX1-300MHz
RAM: 32MB
Boot device: 128MB Compact Flash Card
Hard drive: none
CD drive: none

Flash
Official Dog Handler

#2 Post by Flash »

I'm no expert but I suppose that since it can't load entirely into RAM, Puppy defaults to loading into RAM only enough to do whatever you're doing at the time. As long as this does not involve writing something back to the flash memory then no problem. Barry has intentionally designed Puppy to minimize writes to CD or (USB) flash memory. Basically Puppy only saves to them when you tell it to.

raffy

as IDE, yes

#3 Post by raffy »

If your CF is identified as IDE, then what you described (swap being used) can happen. There is a value in your cfg file that tells Puppy about the device to expect. See the boot-time parameters. Check on it at boot-up. Press any key to pause the boot process. There must also be a command there for not using swap.

In general, adding at boot-time "puppy pfix=ram" will keep Puppy in RAM.

Hey, that PC you're using is interesting! Tell us more how it performs. Is there a way to add memory to it? Given that its speed is quite low (but requires low power, too), you will benefit from added memory.