Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 18 Dec 2017, 18:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
No network after making savefile
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 5 [70 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
bruno

Joined: 08 Mar 2012
Posts: 139
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2016, 09:01    Post subject:  

I'm sorry, I'm stuck here, I cannot copy from the terminal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2016, 09:04    Post subject:  

Wow! Noob, huh?

Here, dwnld this file >> click to unpack >> then rt-clk "permissions" >> hit Yes!

Launch it!
bruno.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  bruno.gz 
Filesize  67 Bytes 
Downloaded  58 Time(s) 

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bruno

Joined: 08 Mar 2012
Posts: 139
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2016, 09:11    Post subject:  

lsmod
Module Size Used by
coretemp 4764 0
iptable_filter 984 0
ip_tables 11736 1 iptable_filter
cfg80211 149648 0
rfkill 6818 1 cfg80211
psmouse 62121 0
snd_pcsp 5225 0
firewire_ohci 23776 0
r8169 39884 0
firewire_core 34522 1 firewire_ohci
mii 2792 1 r8169
radeon 1000888 2
ttm 49768 1 radeon
drm_kms_helper 25792 1 radeon
drm 173992 4 ttm,drm_kms_helper,radeon
hwmon 1760 2 coretemp,radeon
i2c_algo_bit 3884 1 radeon
i2c_i801 7728 0
lpc_ich 12600 0
snd_hda_codec_realtek 35176 1
snd_hda_codec_generic 31992 1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_codec_hdmi 25849 1
snd_hda_intel 25776 0
snd_hda_codec 50000 4 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel
snd_pcm_oss 26544 0
snd_mixer_oss 10200 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm 54448 5 snd_pcm_oss,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_pcsp
snd_seq_dummy 825 0
snd_seq_oss 17652 0
snd_seq_midi 3312 0
snd_seq_midi_event 3384 2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
snd_rawmidi 12384 1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq 31176 6 snd_seq_midi_event,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_device 3500 5 snd_seq,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_midi
snd_timer 12882 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd 39968 14 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_pcm_oss,snd_timer,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_pcm,snd_seq,snd_rawmidi,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_device,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcsp
intel_agp 8872 0
intel_gtt 8848 1 intel_agp
parport_pc 19220 0
parport 22512 1 parport_pc
acpi_cpufreq 4824 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2016, 09:21    Post subject:  

Sounds like the save file is unable to access a gzipped driver pkg,. Not sure.

==

OK now, save my script somewhere you can grab it from your save file boot.

Save the output, again from somewhere you can access it.

With two instances of Geany open, compare the two.

The save file boot is missing a driver that can be loaded with:
Quote:
modprobe <module>

You may need more than one loaded. Just compare..

Or eventually post the output here from the results generated by your save file.

==

On a hunch, it look as though "mii" is using your driver.

Make sure lsmod shows it as loaded when running my script.

If not, you: modprobe mii

Then reload the connection wizard.

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2016, 09:23    Post subject:  

It looks like this >> "rfkill 6818 1 cfg80211" should be among the results as well.
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bruno

Joined: 08 Mar 2012
Posts: 139
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2016, 09:29    Post subject:  

booted with the savefile now
lsmod gives no output at all
just: module size used by
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2016, 09:35    Post subject:  

You probably didn't make it executable.
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2016, 09:37    Post subject:  

Ah, run my script or use a "lowercase" L when running lsmod.
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2016, 09:40    Post subject:  

Is that a save "file" or "folder" you made?
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bruno

Joined: 08 Mar 2012
Posts: 139
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2016, 09:41    Post subject:  

transferred it with usb stick to the puppy machine, made executable..restarted console... still no output
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2016, 09:43    Post subject:  

File or folder?

As for lsmod, type it in: lsmod > ~/lsmod.txt and mind your spacing..

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bruno

Joined: 08 Mar 2012
Posts: 139
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2016, 09:44    Post subject:  

yes with lowercase "l"
it's a savefile on usb stick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2016, 09:45    Post subject:  

Save file? Clk on it.. Does it open and show directories?
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bruno

Joined: 08 Mar 2012
Posts: 139
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2016, 09:46    Post subject:  

I cannot seem to type that horizontal S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 14 Sep 2016, 09:47    Post subject:  

It's a tilde. Must be your Belgium kb..
Last edited by Semme on Wed 14 Sep 2016, 09:47; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 5 [70 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0540s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0070s) ][ GZIP on ]