How to recover a damaged partition?

Using applications, configuring, problems
eclecticist

How to recover a damaged partition?

#1 Post by eclecticist »

Background
I have been working to recover my wife's hard drive for coming on 3 months now, and I have not had any success, so I figure it's time to reach out to others.

The drive had Windows 7 installed and was where she backed up her files. It's a 320 GB internal drive that I put in a USB case so that we could use it as an external drive. One day she deleted the files from the source, so that the backup files were then the only copy, and then out of the blue the drive couldn't be accessed through Windows anymore. A drive letter would show up, but trying to access it prompted to format the drive. We didn't format the drive, and now we've learned a very valuable lesson about backing up files :roll:

What I've tried
In all seriousness, the files are very important. The disk wasn't making any strange clicking or whirring sounds, or any other abnormal onomatopoeias, so I started with EaseUS. EaseUS could not recognize the drive, so I moved on to Recuva. Quick search took less than a day. Deep search went for 3 weeks and was around the 20% mark before I stopped it. It "recovered" many files, but they were 95% DLLs that I didn't recognize (presumably from the Windows OS, or possibly garbage).

Disappointed with the results from Recuva, I tried TestDisk. I should have recorded the exact results, but TestDisk didn't recover any files. Then I tried PhotoRec, and it recovered over 3 million files, mostly DLLs, and only 8 files were recognized by me and my wife as originally being on the drive.