Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 18 Jul 2018, 03:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-710 Final [4 Dec 2016]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 18 of 43 [641 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, ..., 41, 42, 43 Next
Author Message
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3149
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Mon 13 Feb 2017, 10:05    Post subject:  

@Dr. Dan: you could have attempted to download fatdog-update when I was updating it. Please try again.

@stemsee: That seems to be a weird xorg bug. You can see it happening by running this in terminal "setxkbmap pt" and then check the result by typing "setxkbmap -query". I use a "us" layout and after running the above, I got "layout: us,pt" instead of the correct "layout: pt". I have a workaround however, but I need to test how robust the workaround is.

@chiefengineer: I have Epson XP-200. It worked with DNSD protocol back in 702, but in 710 for inexplicable reasons it stopped working. I now use LPD protocol for the same printer, and it works. This is my connection: lpd://EPSONEC16A8.local:515/PASSTHRU

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2253
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Mon 13 Feb 2017, 16:39    Post subject:  

Jamesbond

after installing one of icakes chinese packages I was able to correctly change keyboard layout.
Code:
# setxkbmap pt
# setxkbmap -query
rules:      evdev
model:      pc105
layout:     pt
options:    terminate:ctrl_alt_bksp
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
dr. Dan

Joined: 20 Apr 2015
Posts: 59
Location: Oregon, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 13 Feb 2017, 22:56    Post subject:  

@jamesbond: Just tried, same result, on two computers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2253
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Tue 14 Feb 2017, 03:16    Post subject:  

As regards locale switching, I have found a situation where after changing locale and restartx then change locale again and restartx all input devices are locked up! Then I must perform a hard reset (hold power button 4 seconds).

The context is fd-ls.sfs installed, icakes yong installed and a chinese system pet. I didn't try this out on a pristine fd4-710 insall; it may well be a bug in the base.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3149
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Tue 14 Feb 2017, 14:23    Post subject:  

@Dr.Dan: anyone else can confirm Dr.Dan's problem? I can't duplicate the problem on my side.

Alternatively, Dr.Dan - just to download the file directly from http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/packages/710/fatdog-update-710.0-noarch-2.txz, and then check the checksum. List of checksums can be found here: http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/packages/710/CHECKSUMS.md5. If the checksum matches, you can install it. If not, then please don't install.

@stemsee: there is a way to make "pt" to behave correctly, but it is rather unexpected. The fact that you can get it right when you install the chinese pet could be an co-incidence rather than a fix.

RE: your "hang" - can you please try it in pristine mode. I have encountered similar crash before, when I have XIM configured but I don't run XIM server. It could be that icake's pets only run XIM server when it detects that the locale is Chinese.

@jake29: Your wine 2.0 package and SFS have been uploaded to the official repo. Thank you for your contribution.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 241

PostPosted: Tue 14 Feb 2017, 15:22    Post subject:  

No problem here .
Gslapt installed well fatdog-update-710.0-noarch-2.txz .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jake29

Joined: 24 Jul 2015
Posts: 161

PostPosted: Wed 15 Feb 2017, 02:35    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
@jake29: Your wine 2.0 package and SFS have been uploaded to the official repo. Thank you for your contribution.

Glad I could help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb 2017, 09:34    Post subject:  

Just a note for people trying to troubleshoot wifi connection problems. It might help to peek at the system console, because the wpi_gui process (the "brains" behind the radar tray icon) logs its error messages there. You can dump system console output by opening a terminal window and typing to the shell: conspy -d 1 then scroll up the window until you get to the wpa_supplicant section. Example (your invalid lines - if any - will look different):
Code:

50-Wpagui - auto dhcp for eth0                                                                                                                                 
50-Wpagui - loading wpa_supplicant for wlan0                                                                                                                   
Successfully initialized wpa_supplicant                                                                                                                         
Line 54: Invalid BSSID '"c4:6e:f1:40:8a:90"'.                                                                                                                   
Line 54: failed to parse bssid '"c4:6e:f1:40:8a:90"'.                                                                                                           
Line 62: failed to parse network block.                                                                                                                         
Line 78: Invalid BSSID '"30:a2:8f:98:46:bd"'.                                                                                                                   
Line 78: failed to parse bssid '"30:a2:8f:98:46:bd"'.                                                                                                           
Line 85: failed to parse network block.
                                     
Failed to read or parse configuration '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'.

In this example the last line tells us that the wlan0 interface isn't configured, hence it won't even show up in the pull-down list of adapters when you click the radar tray icon.

_________________
Fatdog64-721|+Packages|Kodi|Findnrun|+forum|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fr33land

Joined: 25 Jun 2015
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb 2017, 10:02    Post subject:  

.
Last edited by fr33land on Sun 19 Feb 2017, 07:29; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2253
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb 2017, 15:24    Post subject:  

Wifi problems.

Try Wifi-Connect, with Wifi-Profiles, Wifi-Eduroam, Wifi-Scanner and Wifi-HotSpot.

wpagui only displays one wifi interface, when started with default configura.

Wifi-Connect, currently only at Alpha stage,
lets you use any or all! It's what I use on FatDog.

here is a shot of scanner admin mode.
select.png
 Description   
 Filesize   23.24 KB
 Viewed   491 Time(s)

select.png

wifi-scanner.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  wifi-scanner.jpg 
Filesize  137.01 KB 
Downloaded  47 Time(s) 

Last edited by stemsee on Fri 17 Feb 2017, 04:17; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3149
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 17 Feb 2017, 01:02    Post subject:  

Thanks for the info. Diversity is good, and of course use what works for you .

@step - your error looks like a misconfiguration in wpa_supplicant.conf. This should not happen unless you edit the file manually.

@stemsee: where's the link to Wifi-Connect?
Also, "wpagui only recognises one wifi interface." - this needs to be corrected. You can have it manage multiple wifi cards. It's an unusual configuration and is not supported out of the box, but it can be done (very easily). In fact what you change is how you start wpa_supplicant. There is no change on how you run wpa_gui.
out.gif
 Description   wpa_supplicant managing multiple wifi cards.
Watch different IP addresses on different wifi interfaces.
Both cards connected to the same router (not a good idea,
but this is only an example).
 Filesize   157.06 KB
 Viewed   447 Time(s)

out.gif


_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drunkjedi


Joined: 24 May 2015
Posts: 897

PostPosted: Fri 17 Feb 2017, 12:39    Post subject:  

Hi Jamesbond,
How did you make that gif screencapture?

I used our Screencaster app to make avi, then used ffmpeg to make gif.
I didn't use any options, so the resulting gif was of poor quality and high on size.

Please share your method.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1520

PostPosted: Fri 17 Feb 2017, 13:13    Post subject:  

drunkjedi wrote:
Hi Jamesbond,
How did you make that gif screencapture?

I used our Screencaster app to make avi, then used ffmpeg to make gif.
I didn't use any options, so the resulting gif was of poor quality and high on size.

Please share your method.



Haha, I am glad somebody asked, because ever since he posted it, I've been staring and wondering how in heck he did that. I didn't know if it was proper manners/form to bug one of our leaders with such trivia. But Drunkjedi is Nobility, fears no God nor mortal men, so thus my slaver-skin will soon have an answer to "how did he do dat?". Gracias Drunkjedi!! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3149
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2017, 05:38    Post subject:  

Haha, no worries at all.

Actually I do that exactly like what drunkjedi said.

I used screencaster, and selected the screen area I want to capture. Then I set capture quality to high --- this is important, high quality capture means lesser artefacts, and lesser artefacts means better GIF compression. If the default "high-quality" setting is not enough (you capture a larger area), go to custom quality setting and increase the video bit rate. And capture with mp4 - it has **much** better quality than AVI for the same bit rate.

Then I just use ffmpeg to convert it to gif: "ffmpeg -i video.mp4 output.gif". The final GIF quality isn't great, but the file size is small (good for forum upload). If the file size is still too big, you can scale the image by using ffmpeg option "-vf scale:200:-1" (set horz resolution to 200 pixels wide, with aspect ratio preserved for vert resolution; change 200 to whatever value you like).

There are options to produce a much better GIF quality by doing two-pass convesion (look here), but it increases the file size between 2-5 times in my test (definitely bigger than the mp4 video you get from screencaster).

This, scripted, may be an idea I can contribute for the next release of puppylinux newsletter that has been recently launched.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2253
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2017, 10:32    Post subject:  

@Jamesbond

How to start wpa_supplicant so that any wifi interfaces connected can be selected?

What is your work-around for setting portuguese keyboard?

Here is Wifi-Connect-beta.sfs. First use of Wifi-HotSpot requires devx loaded, for compiling and installing create_ap AP creation tool.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8-coZIB7ajFNnNqWFprRVhUOWM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 18 of 43 [641 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, ..., 41, 42, 43 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0681s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0051s) ][ GZIP on ]