Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 25 Sep 2017, 20:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-710 Final [4 Dec 2016]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 27 of 38 [566 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, ..., 36, 37, 38 Next
Author Message
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1634

PostPosted: Sat 22 Apr 2017, 13:22    Post subject:  

rufwoof wrote:
Dropped the iso into a VirtualBox and booted. Painfully slow to boot, perhaps a couple of minutes of dots before finally seeing a desktop (I know that's down to huge initrd, but other new users might not be patient enough and simply think something went wrong and reboot).

I'm unable to reproduce it...
Booting FD from ISO in VBox (also running in FD) with 1G of RAM takes less than 40s down here (Intel i3 @2.13 GHz, 4G RAM + 2G SWAP, VBox-5.0.32).
Booting in QEmu is somewhat slower, but it's still below 90s.
I even booted into my ancient Slacko-5.7 installation and it (FD in VBox) still loads in reasonable time...

Yes, it's a known issue that some BIOSes can't load the huge initrd at reasonable speed, but AFAIK (unless I'm wrong) VMs are emulating BIOS on their own, so this shouldn't be the case here.

rufwoof wrote:
Tried booting the iso using qemu-kvm .... with no luck

I'm using practically the same options and no probs.
Do you have another OS installed to try VBox/QEmu+FD on?

rufwoof wrote:
Added a VB HDD and ran the install program. Didn't work (had to recreate a GPT using gparted first). Re-ran the install program after creating GPT and formatting and it worked OK.

Didn't work how? Any errors popped up?
Btw, when you select a disk/partition on the first tab in Fatdog Installer, a button "Modify Partitions" appears on the right. It launches GParted for this specific disk.

rufwoof wrote:
Clicked initrd to open it up, moved fd64.sfs to / and used the rebuild initrd script.

Rebooted .. to command prompt (tried xwin, startx ...etc after logging in as root using woofwoof password, but they didn't work either).

From FAQ (the 'Help' icon on the pinboard), emphasized by me:
FAQ -> Humongous initrd wrote:
Or, if you only want to get a smaller version (not the smallest):
• Extract only the fd64.sfs by clicking on your installed initrd (this should open it up).
• Move fd64.sfs outside to a place accessible by the bootloader (perhaps the same location of vmlinuz and initrd itself)
• re-pack the initrd by clicking repack-initrd.sh..
• Please remember to use the basesfs parameter on your bootloader to tell Fatdog where to find the basesfs.

Did you use that boot param?
If so, could you post how exactly it looks like?

rufwoof wrote:
Haven't read the entire thread maybe this review has already been mentioned.

Yes, I've seen it. Some of the issues mentioned there are addressed in FAQ and some statements are simply not true (e.g. that FD is based on Slackware), but some look like real problems.

The thing about Fatdog is that - although there are many similarities - it's not a Puppy, so an average Puppy user (actually: any user) who's not yet familiar with FD, should really pay attention and carefully read all the stuff.
That comes from my own experience - before I read the docs I also had many issues, e.g. with not finding fd64.sfs, etc.
I'm not saying I haven't had problems that were genuine bugs, though.

rufwoof wrote:
Sorry guys. I appreciate the effort involved and could just politely have remained quiet. Sometimes however critique can be a positive and that is my intent here (I'm most certainly not having a dig).

Don't be sorry and don't be quiet. Every non-hostile and well-founded criticism is appreciated and helps.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dr. Dan

Joined: 20 Apr 2015
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sat 22 Apr 2017, 16:46    Post subject:  

@SFR: 1- Thanks for the fatdog-scripts warning. Good weather had me doing other tasks yesterday, so my system is not broken.

2- snapmergepuppy gave me the following error:

Code:
rsync: write failed on "/aufs/pup_save/root/.cache/thunderbird/fqpzau56.default/Cache/_CACHE_001_": Structure needs cleaning (117)
rsync error: error in file IO (code 11) at receiver.c(393) [receiver=3.1.1]


This is part of the shutdown procedure, right? Does it run at other times?

When I have composed my thoughts, I hope to comment about power options: A rough bit of this good system, and probably the cause of my current issue.

Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1634

PostPosted: Sat 22 Apr 2017, 17:27    Post subject:  

dr. Dan wrote:
@SFR: 1- Thanks for the fatdog-scripts warning. Good weather had me doing other tasks yesterday, so my system is not broken.

2- snapmergepuppy gave me the following error:

Code:
rsync: write failed on "/aufs/pup_save/root/.cache/thunderbird/fqpzau56.default/Cache/_CACHE_001_": Structure needs cleaning (117)
rsync error: error in file IO (code 11) at receiver.c(393) [receiver=3.1.1]


This is part of the shutdown procedure, right? Does it run at other times?

Snapmergepuppy saves the session. Well, technically it also runs at shutdown.
I think the partition on which your savefolder is needs a good fsck. Wink
It's dofsck boot param.
If you have anything important on that disk, it's better to copy it to another disk before proceeding, just in case.

dr. Dan wrote:
When I have composed my thoughts, I hope to comment about power options: A rough bit of this good system, and probably the cause of my current issue.

Do you mean some unexpected/hard shutdowns?
You could also check S.M.A.R.T. then:
Code:
smartctl -A /dev/sda

for some reallocated sectors and other errors.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2111

PostPosted: Sat 22 Apr 2017, 18:07    Post subject:  

SFR wrote:
From FAQ (the 'Help' icon on the pinboard), emphasized by me:
FAQ -> Humongous initrd wrote:
Or, if you only want to get a smaller version (not the smallest):
• Extract only the fd64.sfs by clicking on your installed initrd (this should open it up).
• Move fd64.sfs outside to a place accessible by the bootloader (perhaps the same location of vmlinuz and initrd itself)
• re-pack the initrd by clicking repack-initrd.sh..
• Please remember to use the basesfs parameter on your bootloader to tell Fatdog where to find the basesfs.

Did you use that boot param?
If so, could you post how exactly it looks like?

Re-trying using basesfs=local and it was fine. Must have been a typo/mistake on my original path to fd64.sfs

I've taken both fd64.sfs and kernel-modules out of initrd and extracted both into the save folder and it now boots REALLY quick (obviously init/VBox doesn't need any of the modules on my kit). No fd64.sfs at all and a lean initrd (less than 5K filesize). That's the same sort of way I boot Debian Frugal ... everything is in the save partition and a empty filesystem.squashfs (equivalent to fd64.sfs).

I've applied all updates (except for upgrading the kernel as I've no idea if that is appropriate or not). With GuestAdditions installed its full-screening nicely on my 1280x720 TV monitor/sound is all good and its running very well



Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bpuppy2
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 24 Apr 2017, 18:05    Post subject:  

@SFR
I applied the patch manually and the drive icons update when the drives are mounted but they don't update when i unmount them.

Also, i did a Fatdog update from the control panel. There were a lot of them (some 80M) but none for linux-utils. Mount and unmount are binaries and not links even after the update.
Back to top
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1634

PostPosted: Tue 25 Apr 2017, 04:12    Post subject:  

@Bpuppy2: Ok, since mount & umount are binaries, it's the same issue as Keef's and the same procedure should fix it.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dr. Dan

Joined: 20 Apr 2015
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue 25 Apr 2017, 21:48    Post subject:  

@SFR: I booted without savefile, used the graphical check disk option, and all seems well.

Part of my goal with using Fatdog64 is to be able to set up others, typically with limited technical skills and limited finances, to have an easy, effective, low-maintenance computer setup for older hardware. With that in mind, I use the command line somewhat, (stumbling along as I go) but prefer GUI options and solutions, and hope to eventually do a remaster with tweaks and preset options to get to that end. There may be a better base than Fatdog, but I like where I am, and hope to continue in this path. All that to explain what I am usually seeking when I post: simple and graphical for the former Windows user.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bpuppy2
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 26 Apr 2017, 19:48    Post subject:  

@SFR

Mount/Unmount drive icons work perfectly now.
Thanks a lot!

All requested issues have been solved for now.

*hugs*
bpuppy
Back to top
bpuppy2
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 27 Apr 2017, 20:40    Post subject:  

I launched sandbox.sh to test some pet packages (32-bit) after loading the 32bit-fd64_710.sfs and i get this error message (see attached).

Note that i renamed the mount binary as mount-FULL and made the symlink as suggested above.

The only feedback given in the messages file is this one:
fatdog64-07a kern.err kernel: aufs opt_add:809:mount-FULL[6002]: lookup failed Error (-2)

bpuppy2
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Fatdog 710|TahrPup 605|Ubuntu 14.04 LTS|Windows 8
Shot-sandbox.png
 Description   
 Filesize   10.84 KB
 Viewed   287 Time(s)

Shot-sandbox.png

Back to top
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1634

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2017, 08:18    Post subject:  

@Bpuppy2:

It looks like an error in dialog's checklist statement; here's what I've retreived from your screenshot:
"Error: Expected at least 6 tokens for --checklist, have 4. Use --help to list options."
Probably the sandbox's code can't handle one of the mounted devices'/SFSes' name.

Could you post the output of:
1. cat /proc/mounts
2. losetup-FULL -a
3. ls -v /sys/fs/aufs/*/br[0-9]*
so maybe I'll be able to repro this error, however the portion of the code that handles it is written in awk and I'm not an expert...
___________

Regarding messed timestamps in messages file.
It's most likely due to /bin/busybox-logger being built using uClibc.
This should fix it, though:

0. Type:
Code:
echo before > /dev/kmsg

The timestamp of this message in /var/log/messages should be off (UTC).

1. Go to /etc/init.d/ and edit 00sys_logger to make 'start_logger()' function look like this:
Code:
start_logger() {
   # static uclibc syslogd/klogd only understands POSIX tz, convert
   export TZ=GMT$(date +%z | sed 'y/+-/-+/; s/.../&:/')
   mv /var/log/messages /var/log/messages.old 2> /dev/null
   syslogd -m 0
   klogd
}


2. Restart the service:
Code:
service 00sys_logger restart


3. To check if there's any difference:
Code:
echo after > /dev/kmsg

and see if the timestamp in /var/log/messages is correct now.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bpuppy2
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2017, 10:41    Post subject:  

Greetings,

Timestamping of the system messages is showing my desktop clock time fine now. It makes it more realistic. Thanks.

I am posting the output here:

bpuppy2
Shot-1025.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Shot-1025.png 
Filesize  58.72 KB 
Downloaded  31 Time(s) 
Back to top
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1634

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2017, 12:01    Post subject:  

Alright, thanks for confirmation!

Anyway, the output of ls -v /sys/fs/aufs/*/br[0-9]* turned out to be not enough. Can you post the output of:
Code:
ls -v /sys/fs/aufs/*/br[0-9]* | xargs sed 's/=.*//'

Oh, and this time as a text, not a screenshot, if you could.

Thanks &
Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2111

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2017, 16:38    Post subject:  

sda1 ext3 partition cleared except for menu.lst and grldr (grub4dos) bootloaders.

Installed FD by extracting the main sfs from initrd and extracting the main sfs to a savefolder (/fd64save). Dropped initrd (that excludes the main sfs) and vmlinuz into /boot

... booted, installed all outstanding updates and configured to UK locale/keyboard/timezone.

Changing the resolution had my monitor (I use a TV as a monitor) having to be readjusted each time (using the TV remote to Adjust Position). At FD startup it would frame/jig around ... and then just click to a incorrect position.

Running cvt and dropping the modeline into xorg.conf didn't help. Adding another xrandr command into Startup folder however did. It starts up off centre and then when that Startup file runs it correctly repositions the screen nicely.

Tried out skype sfs (figured out you also have to install the 32 bit sfs) and that's working well.

Using a grub4dos menu.lst of

title FatDog
find --set-root /menu.lst
kernel /boot/vmlinuz basesfs=none savefile=ram:device:sda1:/fd64save
initrd /boot/initrd

it boots nice and quickly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bpuppy2
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2017, 16:49    Post subject:  

[quote="SFR"]
Anyway, the output of ls -v /sys/fs/aufs/*/br[0-9]* turned out to be not enough. Can you post the output of:
Code:
ls -v /sys/fs/aufs/*/br[0-9]* | xargs sed 's/=.*//'


I get this, this time:

sed: can't read /sys/fs/aufs/si_ef4eb0245344c929/br0: No such file or directory
sed: can't read /sys/fs/aufs/si_ef4eb0245344c929/br1: No such file or directory
sed: can't read /sys/fs/aufs/si_ef4eb0245344c929/br2: No such file or directory
sed: can't read /sys/fs/aufs/si_ef4eb0245344c929/br3: No such file or directory
sed: can't read /sys/fs/aufs/si_ef4eb0245344c929/br4: No such file or directory
sed: can't read /sys/fs/aufs/si_ef4eb0245344c929/br5: No such file or directory

bpuppy2
Back to top
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 917

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2017, 16:54    Post subject:  

@rufwoof, an unpacked basesfs as the saveforlder... it's a neat idea. Did you have a specific application in mind for this setup, or is it just for experimenting?
_________________
Fatdog64-710|+Packages|Kodi|Findnrun|+forum|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 27 of 38 [566 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, ..., 36, 37, 38 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1149s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0107s) ][ GZIP on ]