Wireless card not detected...?

Booting, installing, newbie
giiba

Wireless card not detected...?

#1 Post by giiba »

So I am relatively new to linux, meaning I only just purchased "Linux for Dummies" in the hopes of learning linux. I am intrigued about the idea of an in-RAM operating system and what it could do for battery life on my laptop.

I am using a Panasonic CF-w2 laptop with a first generation Centrino board (855GM, ipw2100, 512Mb, 900mhz, etc...). I've been using Kanotix out-of-the-box with wireless for the last 6 months, so I know the wireless is working and I know linux can use it. However puppy does not seem to detect my card...

iwconfig (kanotix)
lo0 -------- no wireless extensitons
lan0 ------- no wireless extensitons
wireless0 - random conection data

iwconfig (puppy)
lo0 --- no wireless extensitons
eth0 - no wireless extensitons

btw, I'm trying to install officepuppy 2.03ce

when I run Rutilt (sp?) I'm told that there is no wireless devices present. what gives? My experience more than runs out at this point, any help would be greatly apreciated.

odd side note: when I tried puppy 1.09ce WAG works and finds a wireless device (even says that it is operational) but I cannot connect through it. iwconfig lists two devices, neither which have wireless abilities... a mystery to me

zigbert

#2 Post by zigbert »

There is a "wireless network wizard" under the menu "setup".

Try this, and ask if troubles.

RPM

#3 Post by RPM »

Newbie to newbie, try this first before jumping through hoops. Download mean-puppy 2.02 -opera. If the wireless wizzard says good found your card, your in business, a quick RutilT Wireless Gaget setup and your on-line, else the experts will get you going. This is the only puppy I've found easy to set up with wireless.

http://www.my-plan.org/storage/puppyLinux

not listed on download page.

Bob

giiba

#4 Post by giiba »