Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 15 Dec 2017, 00:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
XenialDog 64bit (Ubuntu 'Xenial Xerus' LTS, 64-bit)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 17 of 19 [281 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1362
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Thu 03 Aug 2017, 10:33    Post subject:  

Hallo Wolfgagang !
Du brauchst/darfst keinen changes folder manuel anlegen ....müsste automatisch geschehen.
Lösche den manuell angelegten changes folder wieder und starte einfach mit dem oben genannten Startmenue . Falls du damit zum Desktop booten kannst .....
ändere einfach mal die Wallpaper (HintergrundBild ).....und mach einen reboot ...
beim runterfahren müsstes du gefragt werden ob die Änderungen speichern oder nicht speichern willst .

Alles sehr seltsam.Normaler weise angegeben wie oben .....narrensicher.
Hast du vielleicht noch einen freien Usb-Stick den du nur mit Xenial Dog bestücken könntest .(Formatiert als ext4 mit grub4Dos mit oben genannten menu.lst Einträgen )

Ich habe selber mehrere "Dogs" auf meiner HardDisk frugal installiert (auf unterschiedlichen ext4 Partitionen ) .....auf dieser HardDisk ist auch eine ntfs Partition.Sowas habe ich niemals gesehen .
Macht mich echt ratlos .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1362
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Thu 03 Aug 2017, 10:38    Post subject:  

Andere Frage .
Hast du das XDOG ISO extrahiert und den live Folder auf den Stick kopiert oder hast du den Installer benutzt ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1362
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Thu 03 Aug 2017, 10:57    Post subject:  

Ich glaube ich weiss jetzt wo der Fehler liegt .

Mach mal folgendes :
Die Zeile :

kernel /casper/vmlinuz from=/ noauto changes=EXIT:/

Häng mal casper/ dran :

kernel /casper/vmlinuz from=/ noauto changes=EXIT:/casper/

Das Ganze muss so aussehen:

title XenialDog - porteus-boot - save on EXIT changes=/changes folder
find --set-root /casper/vmlinuz
kernel /casper/vmlinuz from=/ noauto changes=EXIT:/casper/
initrd /casper/initrd1.xz

Ich entschuldige mich jetzt schon mal für meine Schusseligkeit .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
der-schutzhund

Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 1040
Location: Blomberg / Germany

PostPosted: Thu 03 Aug 2017, 11:04    Post subject:  

Teste ich gleich mal aus....

backi wrote:
Ich glaube ich weiss jetzt wo der Fehler liegt .

Mach mal folgendes :
Die Zeile :

kernel /casper/vmlinuz from=/ noauto changes=EXIT:/

Häng mal casper/ dran :

kernel /casper/vmlinuz from=/ noauto changes=EXIT:/casper/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
der-schutzhund

Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 1040
Location: Blomberg / Germany

PostPosted: Thu 03 Aug 2017, 11:30    Post subject:  

Hallo Dr. Backi!

Booten mit Speicherdatei geht nach deinem letzten Vorschlag!
Ein Problem gelöst! Super Danke!

Jetzt zum zweiten Problem.
Nach einem "apt-get update" und einem "apt-get install xserver-xorg-video-radeon-lts-xenial" sind ja nun die aktuellen Treiber geladen.
Nach dem neuen booten ändert sich am Desktop nichts.
Vermutlich muss man von Hand irgendwie den passenden Treiber aktivieren.
Das kann dann aber nur von der Console aus funktionieren oder es gibt im Desktop auch eine Tastenkombination?

---------------------------------------------

Booting with memory file goes after your last suggestion!
A problem solved! Super thanks!

Now to the second problem.
After an "apt-get update" and "apt-get install xserver-xorg-video-radeon-lts-xenial" are now the current drivers loaded.
After the new boot, nothing changes on the desktop.
Probably one must activate by hand somehow the appropriate driver.
This can then only work from the console or there is also a keyboard shortcut in the desktop?

Wolfgang
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1362
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Thu 03 Aug 2017, 15:10    Post subject:  

Hi Wolfgang !
Ich kenn mich mit dem Krempel überhaupt nicht aus ........aber ......
Ist es möglich einen Video Treiber durch einen Eintrag im Boot-Menue (oder sonstwo ) beim Startup zu laden/aktivieren ?
Vielleicht gibts dafür irgeneinen Parameter .
Vielleicht solltest du dein Problem NOCHMALS genau schildern ( in englisch) und speziell danach fragen .

Vielleicht muss man
radeon.modeset=0
oder
nomodeset
mit in das Boot-Menu einfügen ( WO?)

Hier hab ich einen link der sich mit dem Problem befassen KÖNNTE :

Fixing the black screen after grub boot-up (screen/video settings mismatch)

Problem: You got a black screen in place of the friendly graphical login screen at the end of the Linux Mint boot sequence.

Display misbehaving presentation includes:

Blincking cursor at top-left corner
Centered garbled lines of colorful squares
A plain black screen (but this may be related to other issues)
A kind but sticky message that X11 has re-started n times in n minutes
The Linux Mint rotating 'in process' icon

https://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/842
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
der-schutzhund

Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 1040
Location: Blomberg / Germany

PostPosted: Fri 04 Aug 2017, 06:30    Post subject:  

Hi!

After I can save changes, I now have to fix the graphics error.
If I xenialdog boats then the wallpaper is displayed correctly. As soon as the buttons and menus appear, triangles are displayed and the texts can only be guessed. Xenial works in the background and menus etc. can be opened. But everything is somehow illegible and superimposed with triangles.
An update I have made with "apt-get update" and then loaded the driver with "apt-get install xserver-xorg-video-radeon-lts-xenial" and then saved and rebooted.

The error has not changed.
Then in the desktop as far as it was possible the resolution and the frequency changed. The error has not changed.
Under Windows is set: ATI Radeon X1200 Series with a resolution of 1200 x 800.
The approach with the setting in the boot menu of Grub4dos I have looked and tested. The TAB function does not work as described.
The question is, how can I activate the appropriate driver?

greetings

Wolfgang
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 375
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Fri 04 Aug 2017, 07:40    Post subject:  

It may be that xserver-xorg-video-radeon-lts-xenial is the wrong driver.

After running command:

Code:
apt-get update


you could try:

Code:
apt-cache search xserver-xorg-video-radeon


and also:

Code:
apt-cache search xserver-xorg-video-ati


to see other likely relevant opensource driver possibilities to try out.

EDIT: I suggest trying either:

Code:
apt-get install xserver-xorg-video-ati


or

Code:
apt-get install xserver-xorg-video-radeon


or 'perhaps' (less likely maybe):

Code:
apt-get install xserver-xorg-video-amdgpu


Maybe best to purge previous one installed (such as radeon-lts-xenial) and then apt-get install the new one followed each time by a reboot.

The following site suggests xserver-xorg-video-ati might be the correct open source package required:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RadeonDriver

Whatever you try, you should check the /var/log/Xorg.0.log file to see if there are error messages or anything to tell what is going on.

Unfortunately, I don't have a computer with your radeon card so can't test.

wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
der-schutzhund

Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 1040
Location: Blomberg / Germany

PostPosted: Fri 04 Aug 2017, 15:51    Post subject:  

Hello Dr. wiak!

Success! Success!
With xserver-xorg-video-ati I have a clean picture!
Are the 600 lines from /var/log/xorg.0.log still interesting?
The keyboard layout is converted to german. So far OK!
Now I would like to know how the menus can be transferred into the German.

I have loaded language-pack-de and language-pack-de-base but this, however, obviously does not change anything.
Does the language still need to be changed somewhere?
Probably there is then additionally for each program a language translation?
A little problem I still have right with the congy on the right.

Wolfgang
2017-08-04-214623_235x460_scrot.png
 Description   error
 Filesize   131.48 KB
 Viewed   260 Time(s)

2017-08-04-214623_235x460_scrot.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1362
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Fri 04 Aug 2017, 16:05    Post subject:  

Hallo !
Quote:
A little problem I still have right with the congy on the right.


All: the conky config files need a fix for the "NET: EXT:" display (website "http://ip.tupeux.com" for to show IP is down, probably forever)
Extract the attached archive "xenialdog-conky-fix.tar.gz", then open folder "xenialdog-conky-fix" and copy the files .conkyrc-live and .conkyrc-port to /root (overwrite existing)
Or: if you don't need the "NET: EXT:" display just delete only this string in the existing conkyrc-.. files:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=108706
Hier wird das Thema besprochen:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=901549#901549
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1362
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Fri 04 Aug 2017, 16:15    Post subject:  

Hallo !
Die in xenialdog-conky-fix.tar.gz Dateien .conkyrc-live und .conkyrc-port sind hidden (deswegen siehst du sie eventuell nicht.Du musst den Filebrowser hidden Dateien anzeigen lassen) .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
der-schutzhund

Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 1040
Location: Blomberg / Germany

PostPosted: Sat 05 Aug 2017, 10:08    Post subject:  

Hi Dr. Backi!

Problem in conky is solved!
Next i have to change the Infos and Menu to german!
How can i do this?

How can I prevent this info from appearing every time you restart.
There is no point dock in the application menu!

Wolfgang
2017-08-05-155703_783x573_scrot.jpg
 Description   Info
 Filesize   64.98 KB
 Viewed   219 Time(s)

2017-08-05-155703_783x573_scrot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1362
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Sat 05 Aug 2017, 10:22    Post subject:  

Hallo Wolfgang !
Hast du hier diese Locales schon probiert :

https://github.com/DebianDog/xenialdog/releases/download/v1.0/99-locales-XenialDog-2016-05-21.squashfs
Sind allerdings für Xenial-Dog 32 bit .

Die Xenial Dog 64 Locales .....der Link funktioniert nicht .
Schau mal hier .....bißchen weiter unten ...
https://github.com/DebianDog/xenialdog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
der-schutzhund

Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 1040
Location: Blomberg / Germany

PostPosted: Sat 05 Aug 2017, 11:44    Post subject:  

Hallo backi,

99-locales-XenialDog-2016-05-21.squashfs habe ich geladen wobei ich glaube es schon von Anfang an geladen zu haben.
Irgendwie ändert sich dadurch garnichts!

Muss noch irgendwo deutsch aktiviert werden?
Bei Trinity gibt es dafür ja einen Menüeintrag!

Wifi-Netzwerk ist übrigens auch eingerichtet!
Geht nun über autostart.

Wie bekomme ich diese blöde Infotafel zu ObenGL weg?

Ach übrigens, ich verwende jetzt erst mal die 32bit-Version!

LG

Wolfgang
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1362
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Sat 05 Aug 2017, 12:49    Post subject:  

Hallo Wolfgang !
I am using in the moment Xenial Dog 32.......don`t have a 64 bit Machine .
Did load the locales.squashfs (for Xenial Dog 32).......but can not find any menu entry .Where to change locales ?How to make it work ?
A while ago did manage to make them work .
But can not exactly remember how .
Info ObenGL .....no clue .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 17 of 19 [281 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0547s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0061s) ][ GZIP on ]