Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 17 Oct 2017, 06:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
XenialDog 64bit (Ubuntu 'Xenial Xerus' LTS, 64-bit)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 18 of 18 [265 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18
Author Message
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 2514
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 05 Aug 2017, 14:57    Post subject:  

Hi backi, wolfgang,

Quote:
Did load the locales.squashfs (for Xenial Dog 32).......but can not find any menu entry .Where to change locales ?How to make it work ?
A while ago did manage to make them work .
But can not exactly remember how .


Here's what I would do:
The locales squashfs download for 64-bit:
https://github.com/DebianDog/xenialdog/releases/download/v2.0/99-locales-XenialDog64-2017-01-18.squashfs
After downoad, mount it (by clicking on it)
From mounpoint "/mnt/+root+Downloads+99-locales-Xenialdog64-2017-01-18.squashfs/usr/share/locale/" copy folders de and de_DE
and paste in to /usr/share/locale folder in the filesystem.
Install locales package and configure:
Code:
apt-get install locales
dpkg-reconfigure locales


And choose de_DE.UTF-8 UTF-8 (press 'Space' key)
Last step choose as default: de_DE.UTF-8

Reboot with save

The openbox menu is probably not translated then, there's some trick for it but can't remember.

Wolfgang wrote:
How can I prevent this info from appearing every time you restart.


RE: cairo-dock message at start
At the right of "Remember this choice" there is checkbox (kind of invisible, but it's there) (theme bug ?)

EDIT: Changing menu items language (partial), go to Advanced settings > Obmenu-generator > Menu Config
Find almost at the end the line starting with "name_keys" replace the whole line with:
Code:
  "name_keys"           => ['Name[de]', 'GenericName[de]', 'Name'],

Category names still in english, (most) official Ubuntu application names should be in German

EDIT2: Category names can be changed manually in Menu Schema (from obmenu-generator advanced), see this block:
Change the "LABEL" names as desired to your language
Code:
    #          NAME            LABEL                ICON
    {cat => ['utility',     'Accessories', 'applications-utilities']},
    {cat => ['development', 'Development', 'applications-development']},
    {cat => ['education',   'Education',   'applications-science']},
    {cat => ['game',        'Games',       'applications-games']},
    {cat => ['graphics',    'Graphics',    'applications-graphics']},
    {cat => ['audiovideo',  'Multimedia',  'applications-multimedia']},
    {cat => ['Modules',     'Module Tools','application-x-squashfs2']},
    {cat => ['network',     'Network',     'applications-internet']},
    {cat => ['office',      'Office',      'applications-office']},
    {cat => ['other',       'Other',       'applications-other']},
    {cat => ['settings',    'Settings',    'applications-accessories']},
    {cat => ['system',      'System',      'applications-system']},
     {cat => ['audio',      'Audio',      'applications-multimedia']}, 


Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
der-schutzhund

Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 1040
Location: Blomberg / Germany

PostPosted: Sun 06 Aug 2017, 09:48    Post subject:  

HI Fred and backi!

Thank you for the instructions! Worked. My dog now speaks German (in any case partial).
Slowly it becomes more and more as I imagine it!
I noticed now that no sound is heard.
How can I activate the speaker?
EDIT: Believe the sound goes now!

Quote:
RE: cairo-dock message at start
At the right of "Remember this choice" there is checkbox (kind of invisible, but it's there) (theme bug ?)

There are only the two buttons for yes and no. There is no matter what I click! A selection button is not there and where should I then click?

For my Variomenü I have to edit the file in the is defined where on the desktop is a button. Can someone tell me how the name of this file and where to find it?
There is certainly a command to rebuild the desktop without going to the console?

wolfgang
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 2514
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sun 06 Aug 2017, 10:33    Post subject:  

Hi Wolfgang, nice you have language set to German working now !

Quote:
Quote:
RE: cairo-dock message at start
At the right of "Remember this choice" there is checkbox (kind of invisible, but it's there) (theme bug ?)

There are only the two buttons for yes and no. There is no matter what I click! A selection button is not there and where should I then click?


Did I understand well that you said you don't want to display the message about opengl everytime ?
In that case, just on the right of "Remember this choice" (which probably now is in German for you) click with the mouse and you'll see small 'v' (checked) clicking again it will be unchecked, it's a bit inconvenient, I admit.
After you did check the checkbox, I'd recommend clicking No (no opengl), and you should not see the message again.

Quote:

For my Variomenü I have to edit the file in the is defined where on the desktop is a button. Can someone tell me how the name of this file and where to find it?
There is certainly a command to rebuild the desktop without going to the console?


Sorry, don't understand what you mean, can you elaborate some more ?

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
der-schutzhund

Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 1040
Location: Blomberg / Germany

PostPosted: Sun 06 Aug 2017, 11:01    Post subject:  

No problem!

I have a completely separate menu organization.
With the Variomenu the buttons in the WBar stand for groups.
Each group can then have many programs.

For example, In the WBar the button for Internet pressed so I delete all buttons on the desktop except the buttons for the drives.
Then the new buttons for the Internet group are displayed on the Desktop.

Thus, many programs can be displayed in a structured manner. Otherwise, there are only two other ways to manage many programs:
1. You have all buttons for all Programs on the desktop which is very confusing
2. In a text menu where you must always search and work with sub-levels
In my Variomenu there are only two levels:
1. The group button
2. The program

Via the groups buttons I start a script for example scriptinternet.sh
This script overwrites the file in which the shown buttons are defined with the file which has the position and name of the buttons for Interent. Then I let the desktop rebuild. The extremely clear menu system is finished!

Of course there are still a few things like the installation of new programs on a page such as a new browser which also goes automatically.
But this is not a big problem!
Perhaps the Variomenü would be something as a module for the dogs?

Wolfgang
groub-mechanic.jpg
Description  group-mechanic
jpg

 Download 
Filename  groub-mechanic.jpg 
Filesize  166.86 KB 
Downloaded  25 Time(s) 
groub-internet.jpg
Description  group-internet
jpg

 Download 
Filename  groub-internet.jpg 
Filesize  152.38 KB 
Downloaded  22 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
der-schutzhund

Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 1040
Location: Blomberg / Germany

PostPosted: Sun 06 Aug 2017, 14:26    Post subject:  

Quote:
In that case, just on the right of "Remember this choice" (which probably now is in German for you) click with the mouse and you'll see small 'v' (checked) clicking again it will be unchecked, it's a bit inconvenient, I admit.

Found Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
der-schutzhund

Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 1040
Location: Blomberg / Germany

PostPosted: Tue 15 Aug 2017, 13:15    Post subject:  

Is there really no one who can tell me where the buttons with names and position are defined on the desktop?
That can not be that hard!

wolfgang
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 2514
Location: holland

PostPosted: Tue 15 Aug 2017, 15:19    Post subject:  

What did you choose as setup, I assume "Cairo-dock and Desktop provided by rox pinboard" ?
If so, look in /root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/pinbd-OB

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eowens2

Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 169

PostPosted: Mon 02 Oct 2017, 17:03    Post subject:  

A couple of questions:

1) Does XenialDog64 allow browsing as a non-root user, such as spot in Puppy Linux or Fatdog64?

2) Does XenialDog64 boot in 'legacy' or UEFI mode?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 2514
Location: holland

PostPosted: Mon 02 Oct 2017, 18:38    Post subject:  

eowens2 wrote:
A couple of questions:

1) Does XenialDog64 allow browsing as a non-root user, such as spot in Puppy Linux or Fatdog64?

2) Does XenialDog64 boot in 'legacy' or UEFI mode?

Thank you.


Yes, you can login as user 'puppy' (or login from other user that can be new created), or run e.g. firefox as puppy with simple script (only tested on Debiandog, I'm not on Xenialdog now):

Code:
#!/bin/sh

xhost +local:puppy
su - puppy -c firefox


Not UEFI, only legacy boot mode supported.

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4706
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 02 Oct 2017, 19:35    Post subject:  

When I checked out xenialpup64-7.0.8.5-uefi
I noticed that it doesn't contain wacom.ko which is the driver that
most wacom graphics tablets need.

This seems to be a problem with kernel 4.9???

BarryK distros are able to include it and
slacko64-6.9.6.4-uefi.iso
____________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 18 of 18 [265 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0725s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0106s) ][ GZIP on ]