Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 14 Dec 2017, 00:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
psav=....conquering/understanding puppy boot command(s)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [40 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1356

PostPosted: Wed 01 Feb 2017, 07:43    Post subject:  psav=....conquering/understanding puppy boot command(s)  

Hi all,

First, want to link to a thread that got me to post this thread (didn't continue it there as it was sort of off-topic in that thread):

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=109560

Scroll down to the 4th msg, and read Drunkjedi's question & then read jlst's answer right after.

I'd like to continue that discussion here.

Many times after frugally installing any puppy-related OS, I still find myself scratching my head trying to understand certain boot parameters & why I have to resort to tricks sometimes to get the puppy's to see and read the savefile and/or savefolder.

So let's just start with the basics:
--A Tahr64 6.0.5 frugal installation
--all copied into a folder named "tahr64"
--the whole drive (sda) has one partition, thus sda1
--it is governed by grub4dos
--your 'savefolder' (or savefile, can both apply here?) has been setup too

Here's my question based off of two Tahr64 grub4dos entries, one to have the 'savefolder' used' the other to run in 'ram':

Code:
title Tahr64 6.0.5.3 with Savefolder (sda1)
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /tahr64/puppy_tahr_6.0.5.3.sfs
  kernel /tahr64/vmlinuz pmedia=usbflash psubdir=tahr64 pfix=fsck
  initrd /tahr64/initrd.gz

title Tahr64 6.0.5.3 RAM-only (sda1)
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /tahr64/puppy_tahr_6.0.5.3.sfs
  kernel /tahr64/vmlinuz pmedia=usbflash psubdir=tahr64 pfix=ram
  initrd /tahr64/initrd.gz


The question:

They both boot fine, but I would like to be able, on the 2nd entry, to have it not only boot in RAM, but also boot the savefolder too (before or as it goes into RAM), so I can use Tahr64 in RAM fully with my settings from the savefolder (but I don't want the USB to stay plugged-in as I don't want to save anything after everything loads into RAM). Possible??

If it is possible, how? I've been reading this link jlst provided:
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/puppylinux-woof-CE/woof-CE/testing/initrd-progs/0initrd/README.txt but I honestly am still confused how to get either a pup-created 'savefile' and/or 'savefolder' to load when you want to run in RAM mode (and thus be able to pull the USB completely out of its socket after everything loads into RAM, which many times I am forced to do).

This question applies across all of pup-land for me. I've figured it out how to do it in DebianDogs (thanks to Fred's explaining) and anything debian-related, but I am still unclear how to do this (and indeed if it is it even possible with a 'savefolder' as opposed to the ubiquitous 'savefile') in puppy-land? What should I be entering in grub4dos to make this possible? Should I be using the 'psave=' command in the kernel line of grub4dos? Or something else??

Thanks for any help with this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 2928
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Wed 01 Feb 2017, 07:58    Post subject:  

Just use PMEDIA=USBIDE instead?? (I think - that is what I do)
_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1356

PostPosted: Wed 01 Feb 2017, 08:14    Post subject:  

Burn_IT wrote:
Just use PMEDIA=USBIDE instead?? (I think - that is what I do)


Hi BurnIT,

In my 2nd grub4dos entry above, like this then:

Code:
title Tahr64 6.0.5.3 RAM-only (sda1)
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /tahr64/puppy_tahr_6.0.5.3.sfs
  kernel /tahr64/vmlinuz pmedia=usbide psubdir=tahr64 pfix=ram
  initrd /tahr64/initrd.gz



...and then puppy will load either a 'savefile' and/or 'savefolder', whichever it finds? Or does puppy only do it for 'savefile'??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 2928
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Wed 01 Feb 2017, 08:20    Post subject:  

I don't use savefolders, but it certainly finds my savefile.
What's more if there isn't one on that drive it will search as usual.

_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1356

PostPosted: Wed 01 Feb 2017, 08:26    Post subject:  

Burn_IT wrote:
I don't use savefolders, but it certainly finds my savefile.
What's more if there isn't one on that drive it will search as usual.



I'll give it a try. I know drunkjedi uses pmedia=satacd sometimes, but I am totally unclear if this works when you have maybe 10-20 frugally-installed pups on just one partition, all enconsced in their own (named) folder.

Just would like to be able to run some of them in RAM, with the savefolder or the savefile (whatever may be the case for that partifular pup) loaded, and then be able to "pull" the USB out and enjoy that pup fully in RAM.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 2928
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Wed 01 Feb 2017, 08:30    Post subject:  

I use several Puppies from that device: each in its own folder.

I am at work at the moment and can't keep plugging in the stick to look as it is not allowed.

_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1362
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Wed 01 Feb 2017, 08:34    Post subject:  

Me interested too ........

Good Questions belham !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 2928
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Wed 01 Feb 2017, 09:30    Post subject:  

Code:


title Puppy Linux Precise 5.71 frugal
find --set-root /precise57/vmlinuz
kernel /precise57/vmlinuz pmedia=idehd psubdir=precise57
initrd /precise57/initrd.gz

title Puppy Linux Precise 5.71 frugal Fresh
find --set-root /precise57/vmlinuz
kernel /precise57/vmlinuz pmedia=idehd psubdir=precise57 pfix=ram
initrd /precise57/initrd.gz


title Puppy Linux Lucid 528 frugal
find --set-root /lupu5000/vmlinuz
kernel /lupu5000/vmlinuz pmedia=idehd psubdir=lupu5000
initrd /lupu5000/initrd.gz


title Puppy Linux Lucid 528 frugal  CF
find --set-root /lupu5000CF/vmlinuz
kernel /lupu5000CF/vmlinuz pmedia=idehd psubdir=lupu5000CF
initrd /lupu5000CF/initrd.gz


title Puppy Linux 420 Frugal
find --set-root /puppy420/vmlinuz
kernel /puppy420/vmlinuz pmedia=idehd psubdir=puppy420
initrd /puppy420/initrd.gz

title Puppy Linux 420 Frugal fresh
find --set-root /puppy420/vmlinuz
kernel /puppy420/vmlinuz pmedia=idehd psubdir=puppy420 pfix=ram
initrd /puppy420/initrd.gz


title Puppy Linux Lucid 528 Frugal fresh
find --set-root /lupu5000/vmlinuz
kernel /lupu5000/vmlinuz pmedia=idehd psubdir=lupu5000 pfix=ram
initrd /lupu5000/initrd.gz


This is from my hard drive.
The only change for my USB is the IDEHDs are changed to USBHD

_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1362
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Wed 01 Feb 2017, 09:51    Post subject:  

Made a Test with SaveFolder .

As far as i can see ......did not load SaveFolder

menu.lst:

title Puppy tahr 6.0.5 (sdb1/TAHRPUPCE)
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /TAHRPUPCE/initrd.gz
kernel /TAHRPUPCE/vmlinuz pmedia=usbide psubdir=TAHRPUPCE pfix=ram
initrd /TAHRPUPCE/initrd.gz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1326

PostPosted: Wed 01 Feb 2017, 10:00    Post subject:  

If you turn the savefolder into an adrv it should all run in ram. It's not perfect (some settings are reset) but it works
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=882505#882505
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1356

PostPosted: Wed 01 Feb 2017, 10:15    Post subject:  

Hi Backi and Sailor,

@Backi, yeah, me too, tried many different variations with the pmedia=usb### thing, and no joy. Seems like I just found my reason never to use "Savefolders" again. Why is it nearly every pup recommends 'savefolders" then? Confused I mean, it's not that hard to resize a savefile, but it sure is a pain in the ass when you want to run in RAM and can't enjoy your savefolder while doing it.

@Sailor, an adrv? What about the adrv(s) that are already present in some pups as they boot up? Can you have two differently named adriv(s) and still have them boot (without conflicting with each other) during initial start to go into RAM? This again seems like a pain in the butt (making an 'adrv' and all), haha, when all a poor user wants to do is----if wanting to enjoy RAM only and unplug the USB---to be able to have either the savefile and/or the savefolder loaded. Not sure of the technical challenges behind this, but it sure seems like something the woof-ce Gods could consider, no???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1326

PostPosted: Wed 01 Feb 2017, 10:38    Post subject:  

Haha yeah squashing the savefolder into an adrv is like a remaster but a lot quicker. Try it and see if you like the idea Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drunkjedi


Joined: 24 May 2015
Posts: 684

PostPosted: Wed 01 Feb 2017, 10:59    Post subject:  

Savefolder works great with Fatdog.
Here's my syslinux.cfg entry for Fatdog to load the folder from my hdd to RAM, the base sfs is also loaded in ram but in expanded state which makes it slower to boot but faster in work, Libreoffice, gimp start in an instant and work fast.
Code:
label fatdog
linux /fd64/vmlinuz
initrd /fd64/split/initrd
append rootfstype=ramfs waitdev=0 basesfs=expand:device:sda7:/FD64-710/fd64.sfs savefile=ram:device:sda7:/fd64save
menu label Fatdog64
text help
Start Fatdog normally with small initrd.
endtext



While I tried what jlst showed for tahr64.
Here's it's entry
Code:
label tahr64-savelocation
linux /tahr64/vmlinuz
initrd /tahr64/initrd.gz
append psave=sda7:/tahr64save/
menu label Tahr64-savelocation
text help
Start Tahr64 puppylinux
endtext

Doesn't work.
I have to add pmedia=satacd for it to find my savefolder.

I will ask him again on previous thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1362
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Wed 01 Feb 2017, 11:16    Post subject:  

Hi belham !

Maybe be Puli could give some hints on loading a Puppy completely in Ram ....and removing usb Stick .
A lot of complex methods to load....


http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96964
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1356

PostPosted: Wed 01 Feb 2017, 15:13    Post subject:  

drunkjedi wrote:



While I tried what jlst showed for tahr64.
Here's it's entry
Code:
label tahr64-savelocation
linux /tahr64/vmlinuz
initrd /tahr64/initrd.gz
append psave=sda7:/tahr64save/
menu label Tahr64-savelocation
text help
Start Tahr64 puppylinux
endtext


Doesn't work.
I have to add pmedia=satacd for it to find my savefolder.

I will ask him again on previous thread.



Hi drunkjedi,

I have tried to take this (for my tahr64 frugal install):

Code:
label tahr64-savelocation
linux /tahr64/vmlinuz
initrd /tahr64/initrd.gz
append psave=sda7:/tahr64save/
menu label Tahr64-savelocation
text help
Start Tahr64 puppylinux
endtext


...and I have put "pmedia=satacd" in every line, then trying to boot, and it fails each time trying to boot it for RAM-only.. How the heck are ya getting this to work to see your savefolder? Where do I enter in the grub4dos config you posted above? Should I be excluding something (I take out the 'psave=sda#:/tahrsave/', right? And substitute in the pmedia=satacd, yes? Man, I am one wildly confused person right now Laughing

Can you post EXACTLY what your grub4dos entry is that you got the savefolder recognized on a RAM-only boot? Gracias Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [40 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1113s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0082s) ][ GZIP on ]