Solved! Gmail doesn't like Chromium in Puppy 6.3.2

Booting, installing, newbie
Gnimmelf

Solved! Gmail doesn't like Chromium in Puppy 6.3.2

#1 Post by Gnimmelf »

Hi there :-)
Im a Newbie to puppy.
the problem is the annoying message when i log onto gmail from chromium and google chrome browsers. since a couple of month there a message saing something like "this version of crome is no longer supported" it used to work fine with this version but mot anymore.

https://sourceforge.net/projects/lxpup/ ... s/download

is it possible to just shut of the message? im fine with the browser above!

kindly Gnimmelf

"SOLVED" - im now using the new inbox from google. doenst have the same message :-)
Last edited by Gnimmelf on Sun 19 Feb 2017, 18:57, edited 1 time in total.

spiritwild

#2 Post by spiritwild »

I know the yellow banner pops up usually when the version is 2 or so upgrades behind the current version.

I don't use chrome, eventually they will make it obsolete. I switched to Iron and palemoon.

With pepper flash, wrappers and all that.

Not sure if the same is true of linux.

According to Google, “Gmail users that are still on Windows XP and Windows Vista are the most likely to be affected, because v49 was the last released version which supported those operating systems. As previously announced in April 2015 and November 2015, these systems are no longer maintained by Microsoft, and we strongly encourage you to migrate to more secure and supported systems.

Mike Walsh

#3 Post by Mike Walsh »

Hallo, Gnimmelf.

Well, now. We switch the 'infobar' off in the browser itself (or at least I do, with the Chrome64 builds I do for the community); I'm not sure if peebee does the same for his Chromium builds.