Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Jul 2019, 11:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to run Qjackctl in Fatdog?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
PappyPuppy

Joined: 30 Sep 2016
Posts: 409

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2017, 13:39    Post subject:  How to run Qjackctl in Fatdog?  

But when I run it, it hangs up the computer, and I need to reboot.

Most of the apps I build are fine. The above Qjackctl uses QT (I built it with Qt 5.6.2).

I haven't started troubleshooting yet (eg. by build a gdb version or whatever).

Just curious, if Qjackctl has been a bugger for other Fatdoggers.

I'll start looking into it.

Stuff like ALSA, arecord, etc.. work ok (although the loopback is not yet working on my graphics card).

I don't want to install Pulseaudio because I don't want my boot up messed around with riight now as it's stable. I think I'lll do ok with the other tools I have like ffmpeg, alsa, oss, etc.. For the most part, they are working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PappyPuppy

Joined: 30 Sep 2016
Posts: 409

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2017, 14:09    Post subject: Perhaps I need to start the Jack server first
Subject description: I'll have to see if the server needs to be running
 

I did NOT have the Jack Connection Kit server running, perhaps that needs to be up?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PappyPuppy

Joined: 30 Sep 2016
Posts: 409

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2017, 10:41    Post subject: I have the GUI up now
Subject description: I clicked autogen.sh this time
 

And I ran it out of QtCreator - and at least I'm getting all the messages for stuff that's not starting or whatever. Just have to debug those messages. Probably it will work now.

I'm not familiear yet with QtCreator - I pretty much just built the whole applciation outside of QtCreator since I didn't see much information about how to use it with Github which generally has a ./configure, followed by a make, then optional make install. I left off the make install this time.

something I did got it running.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3354
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2017, 13:28    Post subject:  

You don't need jack server to run before running qjackctl, in fact, qjackctl's job is to control the jack server, including to start/stop it.

No pulseaudio needed. Qjackctl from the repo works fine here. You only need to install qt4-common package; or load the qt4-4.8.7.sfs.

It seems that you're trying to build your own version of Qjackctl. Good luck. Perhaps there are others who can help you more.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PappyPuppy

Joined: 30 Sep 2016
Posts: 409

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2017, 13:45    Post subject: Qjackctl
Subject description: starts up normally now
 

Now it looks like this on startup, and the message doesn't popup unless I choose it.

I found it better to modprobe snd-seq-midi or whatever it was. And I also
jackd ... first.

Then I start qjackctl

Now my startup of jack control is :

12:41:43.823 Statistics reset.
12:41:43.825 ALSA connection change.
12:41:43.884 JACK connection change.
12:41:43.897 Client activated.
12:41:43.897 Patchbay deactivated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PappyPuppy

Joined: 30 Sep 2016
Posts: 409

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2017, 13:47    Post subject: Sorry to jamesbond, I hadn't noticed your message
Subject description: even though I had looked for responses - strange?
 

It seems to work ok now.

I need to get a virtual loopback working, preferably with ALSA.

Yes, I agree that the jackd should not have to be running. I will try to start qjackdtl without it runnign and see.

But now, when I start qjackctl, it automatically starts. I only notice the Stop button. Perhaps because it notices that jackd was already running.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0306s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0033s) ][ GZIP on ]