Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Nov 2017, 09:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Some SD cards and USB sticks not seen in Tahr 6.0.6. 64 bit
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [23 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4297
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 25 Feb 2017, 17:35    Post subject:  

I've been using 64-bit hardware for about 5 years or more, but...
Although I think I have 64-bit Puppies set up for use...
I'm more impressed with the performance of the 32-bit Puppies I have [and have tried]...
And my number-1 is Slacko-5.7.0-pae [32-bit].
I aught to update it, but don't know how to do it easily.
And anyway, it just keeps performing. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Brown Mouse

Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 497
Location: Canary Islands

PostPosted: Sat 25 Feb 2017, 20:20    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
I've been using 64-bit hardware for about 5 years or more, but...
Although I think I have 64-bit Puppies set up for use...
I'm more impressed with the performance of the 32-bit Puppies I have [and have tried]...
And my number-1 is Slacko-5.7.0-pae [32-bit].
I aught to update it, but don't know how to do it easily.
And anyway, it just keeps performing. Very Happy


Yes,I remember Slacko well but its unfriendly browser put me off along with other things.
.
Precise 571 and its reliability suits me for everyday play use but even that along with most Puppy's are not supported or updated apart from Tahr,for which I thank Phil for doing his utmost best with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9526
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 26 Feb 2017, 02:40    Post subject:  

Quote:
bigpup wrote:
Settings in "Puppy Event Manager" controls what shows on the desktop.
Check the settings in it.
These tabs:
Activate
Desktop Icons.


Thanks for the idea bigpup
I checked those settings and all the necessary boxes were checked.


When running "Puppy Event Manager".
Desktop icons->Show icons
Check "refresh / Realign existing icons".
Select OK.

Anything different?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Brown Mouse

Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 497
Location: Canary Islands

PostPosted: Sun 26 Feb 2017, 04:27    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Quote:
bigpup wrote:
Settings in "Puppy Event Manager" controls what shows on the desktop.
Check the settings in it.
These tabs:
Activate
Desktop Icons.


Thanks for the idea bigpup
I checked those settings and all the necessary boxes were checked.


When running "Puppy Event Manager".
Desktop icons->Show icons
Check "refresh / Realign existing icons".
Select OK.

Anything different?


Unfortunately not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 1265
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Sun 26 Feb 2017, 20:58    Post subject:  

Try this...

MENU ---> Filesystem ---> PFind

Then type PuppyPin exactly as written and press FIND

One file should show up

Left-Click... then Right-Click and select Show Loccation

In the window that opens Right-Click on PuppyPin and select Open as text

From here you can move stuff around the screen... First number is X axis from the left of screen, 2nd is Y axis from the top of screen

When done click on Save, then close all windows.

In MENU select Shutdown then either Restart X or Restart Graphical server (depending upon exact distro) When the screen refreshes, its all done... unless you wanna twweak it some more.

Hope this helps
8Geee

_________________
Linux user #498913
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Brown Mouse

Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 497
Location: Canary Islands

PostPosted: Mon 27 Feb 2017, 05:04    Post subject:  

8Geee wrote:
Try this...

MENU ---> Filesystem ---> PFind

Then type PuppyPin exactly as written and press FIND

One file should show up

Left-Click... then Right-Click and select Show Loccation

In the window that opens Right-Click on PuppyPin and select Open as text

From here you can move stuff around the screen... First number is X axis from the left of screen, 2nd is Y axis from the top of screen

When done click on Save, then close all windows.

In MENU select Shutdown then either Restart X or Restart Graphical server (depending upon exact distro) When the screen refreshes, its all done... unless you wanna twweak it some more.

Hope this helps
8Geee


Hi 8Geee

The problem I have is not to do with wanting to move the existing icons around.
Some SD card/USB media is not being seen so therefore doesn't add the icons to the desktop.

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Mon 27 Feb 2017, 06:00    Post subject:  

He hasn't realized he's posted the wrong thread.
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mini-jaguar

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 574

PostPosted: Tue 28 Feb 2017, 13:22    Post subject:  

By the way, reformatting as well as creating a new partition table will sometimes do the trick, not always though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [23 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0402s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0033s) ][ GZIP on ]