Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 30 Mar 2017, 16:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Thanks for all the help. Puppy won't run with battery power
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 7 [91 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
number77

Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Thu 02 Mar 2017, 14:09    Post subject:  Thanks for all the help. Puppy won't run with battery power
Subject description: XP runs fine with just the battery
 

Hello
I have a strange problem with a dell latitude d620, 2.1 ghz,1.5 gb ram.
I have installed puppy tahr 605, 602 and puppy 431 frugal and live cd, and all work perfectly when on mains power but almost as soon as I remove the mains power they black out the screen and hang, not recoverable. I have xp installed and it works both on mains and battery with no problems. I bought a new battery as I thought it was the problem, it's not.
Any ideas please.

Last edited by number77 on Sun 26 Mar 2017, 11:33; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 624

PostPosted: Thu 02 Mar 2017, 19:44    Post subject:  

You might try pfix=nox, then try it again. See if the screen blanks from a console login.

If it does, then it has something to do with a window manager setting ..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 12441
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 02 Mar 2017, 23:37    Post subject:  

Will the computer boot a live CD with just the battery?

Also, were all the installs frugal? (except the live CD of course) and how did you configure Puppy before you attempted to run with the battery?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 8471
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 03 Mar 2017, 02:51    Post subject:  

First only talk about using one specific version of Puppy to figure this out.
I suggest Tahrpup 6.0.5

Have computer only powered by battery.
Boot Tahrpup 6.0.5
What happens?

When you remove main power.
Are you just pulling the power plug, from the computer, while running Puppy?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
number77

Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Fri 03 Mar 2017, 11:35    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
Will the computer boot a live CD with just the battery?

Also, were all the installs frugal? (except the live CD of course) and how did you configure Puppy before you attempted to run with the battery?

Using tahr 605.
The computer wont boot to live cd on battery power, it gets as far as updating network drivers, pix buffer....., loading kernal modules. Than goes blank and is hung.
I always install frugal but the live cd gives me the choice of personal file to load: 0 none, 1 sda2 /tahrsave, or 2 sda2 /tahr605 frugal/tahrsave.

I have tahr 605 on two partitions, sda2 and sda3.
Should I delete them both and start again. ie format sda2 and 3 and remove menu first, and any others from sda1.
Puppy tahr 605 was configured puppy ide=nodma,acpi=off
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
number77

Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Fri 03 Mar 2017, 11:36    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
First only talk about using one specific version of Puppy to figure this out.
I suggest Tahrpup 6.0.5

Have computer only powered by battery.
Boot Tahrpup 6.0.5
What happens?

When you remove main power.
Are you just pulling the power plug, from the computer, while running Puppy?

Yes I pull out the power plug from the psu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
number77

Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Fri 03 Mar 2017, 17:22    Post subject:  

I formatted both partitions with tahr 605 and deleted all menu 1st mentions on sda1. I reinstalled 605, frugal puppy pfix=ram,ide=nodma,acpi=off. It installs perfectly but as soon as I switch off psu or 30 secs later the screen goes off.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 8471
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 03 Mar 2017, 17:59    Post subject:  

Remove the "pfix=ram". That tells Puppy to boot and not use the save.

In Tahrpup 6.0.5
menu->System->Puppy Event Manager->Power
Have this set to "0"

Maybe some kind of bios setting in the computer is causing this.
Something to do with acpi=off Idea

ide=nodma,acpi=off
Tried to boot with not having this in the boot process?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7749
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Fri 03 Mar 2017, 18:08    Post subject:  

Two thoughts.. 1 and 2.
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 12441
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 03 Mar 2017, 22:51    Post subject:  

If Puppy won't boot from a live CD on just battery power then you got a problem somewhere that needs to be solved. I don't know what it could be. If you can afford it, I suggest burning a few different Puppy isos to CD to see if any of them will boot on battery power. CD-RW works fine for that, by the way. So does DVD-RW. Use burniso2cd in Puppy to burn isos to either CD or DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peterw

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 221
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 04 Mar 2017, 05:00    Post subject: Service the laptop  

Hi
When weird things happen such as this it is necessary to rule out as many possibilities as you can. It sounds like a hard ware issue and I would recommend that you take the laptop apart, clean fans, re-seat CPU with a little grease, and re-seat ram and reconnect the hard drive. And then see how it goes from there. This action will cover some of the thoughts above. Whist it seems a drastic action once you have done this once or twice with various laptops it takes less than 45 minutes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
number77

Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Sat 04 Mar 2017, 10:30    Post subject:  

Thanks mates, I will have a go at suggestions tonight. A slight thought xp doesnt give any problems mains adapter or not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2418
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 04 Mar 2017, 11:22    Post subject:  

number77 wrote:
Thanks mates, I will have a go at suggestions tonight. A slight thought xp doesnt give any problems mains adapter or not.


Well, that doesn't take a lot of figuring out, when you think about it....especially when you consider that all the major manufacturers were initially approached by M$ (not the other way round), and essentially bribed into 'making sure' that their products worked properly with Redmond's piss-poor excuse for an operating system.....

Money talks; especially in the quantities M$ have thrown around over the years.

The flip-side of the coin (which is not Linux's fault), is that because most MyCrudSoft suppliers and hardware vendors have taken a leaf out of M$'s book and kept all their code 'proprietary', and closed-source, every single driver and essential piece of system code has had to be reverse-engineered.....and this, by volunteers. Not members of a well-paid professional team of software engineers. By people who do this out of the goodness of their hearts.....without any recompense of any sort. To them, it's a labour of love. To the others, it's just another 9-5 job.....for which they'll still get a nice fat wage cheque, regardless of what the end result turns out like. Rolling Eyes


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
number77

Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Sat 04 Mar 2017, 12:08    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:
number77 wrote:
Thanks mates, I will have a go at suggestions tonight. A slight thought xp doesnt give any problems mains adapter or not.


Well, that doesn't take a lot of figuring out, when you think about it....especially when you consider that all the major manufacturers were initially approached by M$ (not the other way round), and essentially bribed into 'making sure' that their products worked properly with Redmond's piss-poor excuse for an operating system.....

Money talks; especially in the quantities M$ have thrown around over the years.

The flip-side of the coin (which is not Linux's fault), is that because most MyCrudSoft suppliers and hardware vendors have taken a leaf out of M$'s book and kept all their code 'proprietary', and closed-source, every single driver and essential piece of system code has had to be reverse-engineered.....and this, by volunteers. Not members of a well-paid professional team of software engineers. By people who do this out of the goodness of their hearts.....without any recompense of any sort. To them, it's a labour of love. To the others, it's just another 9-5 job.....for which they'll still get a nice fat wage cheque, regardless of what the end result turns out like. Rolling Eyes


Mike. Wink

Im very happy with tahr605 on my dell vostro 1320 which I use all the time, thanks everyone who helped with it along the way.
Probably what I didnt mention about the dell d620 or thought was significant was that I was given it free of charge and obviously they have hardware problems. I will pull it to bits and check obvious connections.
May be some time as captain oates said or was reported to have said at the south pole. Could have been fake news.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2418
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 04 Mar 2017, 13:30    Post subject:  

Hi, number77.

By & large, the Latitudes are good, solid workhorses, as reliable as the day is long. But they've mostly been used by travelling reps over the years, which inevitably means they don't get treated sympathetically.

('It's not mine; why should I bother to look after it? It goes tits-up, the firm'll chuck me a new one....')

A strip-down, cleanout and reseat of most of the major components will work wonders, trust me..! Smile That first tip of Semme's has got quite a lot of merit to it, especially in light of their traditional user-group.

Let us know how you get on, please.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 7 [91 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1376s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0135s) ][ GZIP on ]