Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 24 May 2017, 11:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Who's running Puppy on the oldest hardware?
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [45 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 1352
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Sun 12 Mar 2017, 14:04    Post subject:  

Quote:
Installing a Puppy update on a Colossus II


LOL. Is that old man Kauler in the background? Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
J_D_

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 106
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Sun 12 Mar 2017, 22:21    Post subject:  

slavvo67 wrote:
Quote:
Installing a Puppy update on a Colossus II


LOL. Is that old man Kauler in the background? Laughing



And, does it have a floppy ?? Laughing Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 2784
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Mon 13 Mar 2017, 07:31    Post subject:  

Depends whether it is turned on or not!! Rolling Eyes
_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
J_D_

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 106
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Tue 14 Mar 2017, 22:11    Post subject:  

Burn_IT wrote:
Depends whether it is turned on or not!! Rolling Eyes



They have standing tall for that. Laughing Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wildman69


Joined: 26 Mar 2017
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Fri 07 Apr 2017, 11:48    Post subject: Primary and Portable
Subject description: My Machines
 

My Primary Desktop

PC Manufacturer: Compaq-Presario
Product Name: GN578AA-ABA SR5233WM

Motherboard Vendor: ASUSTeK Computer INC.
Product Name: Lancaster8

BIOS Vendor: American Megatrends Inc.
Version: 5.19
Release Date: 03/04/2008

Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 2.80GHz
Max Speed: 2800 MHz
Current Speed of Core 0:2800 MHz, 1:2800 MHz
Total RAM: 3028 MB
Total Swap: 3067 MB

Linux Kernel: 4.9.13 (i686)
Kernel Version: #1 SMP PREEMPT Thu Mar 9 09:27:40 GMT 2017
PAE Enabled: No

Distro: xenialpup 7.0.6
Window Manager: JWM v2.3.5
Desktop Start: xwin jwm

My Portable Netbook

PC Manufacturer: Acer
Product Name: Aspire one

Motherboard Vendor: Acer
Product Name: Aspire one

BIOS Vendor: Acer
Version: V1.03
Release Date: 04/13/2009

Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU N270 @ 1.60GHz
Max Speed: 1600 MHz
Current Speed of Core 0:1600 MHz, 1:1600 MHz
Total RAM: 2012 MB
Total Swap: 0 MB

Linux Kernel: 3.14.56 (i686)
Kernel Version: #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Dec 21 14:52:08 GMT 2015
PAE Enabled: No

Distro: tahrpup 6.0.5
Window Manager: JWM vgit-976
Desktop Start: xwin jwm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
J_D_

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 106
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Tue 11 Apr 2017, 23:39    Post subject:  

Wildman, you are cutting edge with that 2008 and 9 tech equipment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2560
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Tue 18 Apr 2017, 16:03    Post subject:  

Hi, J_D_.

Two more candidates for the veteran's rally here..!

**********************************

A Compaq Presario desktop PC from 2004/5, model SR1619UK.

Athlon64 X2 3800+ dual-core, 3 GB DDR1 RAM (originally 1 GB), WD 500GB Caviar 'Blue' HDD......running 10 Pups in total.

**********************************

And an even older Dell Inspiron lappie; an original 1100, from 2002.

Pentium 4 @ 2.6 GHz (non-HT), 1.5 GB DDR1 RAM (originally 128MB!), 64 GB PATA/IDE KingSpec solid-state drive.....quad-booting with four Pups.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
J_D_

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 106
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Tue 18 Apr 2017, 16:38    Post subject:  

Cool. HP?Compaq made some good stuff back then. I wish I could get my HP nc6000 to boot up. I think its from 2003. Its a low mile laptop that I really like. Last winter it just stopped booting I can hear something make noise and it just shuts down. Someone suggested CMOS battery but I think it should at least power up when plugged in to the wall.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2560
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Tue 18 Apr 2017, 18:13    Post subject:  

Hi, J_D_.

Take a gander at this:-

http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Notebook-Boot-and-Lockup/Compaq-nc6000-won-t-boot/td-p/192057

Could be a possible reason why your NC6000 won't boot. Seemed to have been a fairly common, well-authenticated problem.....the first reply offers something of a drastic solution, though!

The very final post (on page 2) contains some rather more sensible advice/suggestions, which may help to get yours working again; apparently it's a purely mechanical problem.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
J_D_

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 106
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Tue 18 Apr 2017, 18:33    Post subject:  

Thanks. I will try some things and report back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
6502coder


Joined: 23 Mar 2009
Posts: 350
Location: Western United States

PostPosted: Tue 18 Apr 2017, 18:47    Post subject:  

I can't believe my 1999 Compaq laptop running 412 Retro is still "winning" this thread. You guys are making me feel really old. Come on, where are all those Puppy 3.x enthusiasts out there? Surely one of you is running on even older hardware!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
J_D_

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 106
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Tue 18 Apr 2017, 21:28    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:
Hi, J_D_.

Take a gander at this:-

http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Notebook-Boot-and-Lockup/Compaq-nc6000-won-t-boot/td-p/192057

Could be a possible reason why your NC6000 won't boot. Seemed to have been a fairly common, well-authenticated problem.....the first reply offers something of a drastic solution, though!

The very final post (on page 2) contains some rather more sensible advice/suggestions, which may help to get yours working again; apparently it's a purely mechanical problem.


Mike. Wink



Thats great. Not sure how you found tthat but THANKS !!!! I put a big spring clamp above the F12 and it booted up to the memory test. CMOS battery is dead. Main battery flat. . I went into set up and turned on wireless and changed some default settings and booted XP. Then rebooted to my Tahrpup flashdrive and installed it. Here I am posting from it. Laughing Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
J_D_

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 106
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Tue 18 Apr 2017, 21:31    Post subject:  

6502coder wrote:
I can't believe my 1999 Compaq laptop running 412 Retro is still "winning" this thread. You guys are making me feel really old. Come on, where are all those Puppy 3.x enthusiasts out there? Surely one of you is running on even older hardware!


Yes you are winning. Amazing you have Pup running on 1999 hardware. Its great that these old computers keep going.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2560
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 19 Apr 2017, 06:44    Post subject:  

Hi, J_D_.

Mm! Glad to hear it worked for you. Very Happy

Pentium M, eh? AFAIK, these came in both pin and solder-ball packages. I'm guessing, from the description of the problem in that thread, that HP opted for the microPGA-ball Pentium-Ms, and that the solder 'balls' have started to part company from the traces on the motherboard 'socket' area.

I believe this started happening in some cases with this type of construction because there was a lot of fuss about lead content in solder some years ago. As a result of this, many manufacturers started switching to solder with a far lower lead content (or even totally lead-free).....but the trouble was, it didn't 'stick' so well.

Consequently, over a period of usage, and the repeated heating up/cooling-down cycles, the solder balls became 'thermally-challenged' (for want of a better description), and would begin to part company from the traces.

There's supposed to be a method whereby you can 'reflow' the solder (using a judicious application of heat in the right place,while maintaining pressure on the CPU), and re-establish the connections fully again. It sounds like by putting pressure in the area of the F12 switch, you're merely pushing the solder balls back into contact ; hence, why it starts to work again. Very Happy

I'll have a dig around and see if I can turn up some info on the process for you. If you're anything like me, you'll resort to all kinds of tricks to keep your older hardware going; in my case, I don't mind, since anything over 10 years old or so is generally far better built than modern stuff..!

EDIT:-

Have a gander through this Duckduckgo search results page; in particular, the first article under the pictures at the top; 'How to reflow a laptop motherboard in a household oven'.

https://duckduckgo.com/?q=How+to+reflow+solder+balls+on+computer+CPUs%3F&t=hb&ia=videos

I've been doing some research, and it appears this is a commonly used (and often successful) trick to obtain a permanent 'fix' for the BGA solder-ball issue.

You can also find no end of YouTube vids on the process; just Google' reflow + BGA + solder balls'. It'll turn plenty up.

Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
J_D_

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 106
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Wed 19 Apr 2017, 10:05    Post subject:  

Mike, I used the HP for several hours last night. Around midnight it shut down and would not start up. Later today when I am more awake I will dive in and look at the processor. Yes, Pentium M. I hope I can do something without stripping it down to the bare mother board. I dont have all my fingers and have problems with the tiny cable clamps and connections on the ribbon cables. Thanks again. I will report back later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [45 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1216s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0070s) ][ GZIP on ]