Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Jul 2017, 04:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Security
How to achieve puppy's starting with no wifi or ethernet
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 805

PostPosted: Fri 17 Mar 2017, 06:05    Post subject:  How to achieve puppy's starting with no wifi or ethernet  

Hi all,

Lobster (getting me all riled up again about security---lol, thanks!!) and installing his latest GROWL2 Puppy Security fun script, I started to wonder about what him & 8Geee were talking about here:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=109926


Is it possible (and why isn't this mandatory???) that when a pup starts up, regardless if it has a good, saved configuration of the last Internet connection used......why can't pups start-up with all Net connections disabled?? (I can easily achieve this in Fatdog64, whether a wireless and/or ethernet connection was last used & is still connected upon next startup, those connections don't 'auto startup' and thus wait for me to connect them---but in Puppy OSes, I find it hard if not nearly impossible to stop this "autoconnecting").

Even further, why couldn't it be the case that not only do all Net connections start disabled, but immediately upon startup the Connect Wizard box popups (with SNS, Network Wizard and Frisbee) giving us, the users, the chance to control whether we want to connect or not.

Pups starting up, they just assume and connects automatically if it can find one. Surely I can not be the only one who sometimes starts up his puppies and has no intent of using the Internet. Am I??

Is there a sane way to achieve this in the various puppies I run (tahrs, quirkys, slackos, dpups, & Lucid)?

It just seems idiotic (and careless) to have an OS constantly grab a Net connection without us--the user!--- being able to easily control whether we want it connected or not at startup. In big Linux distros, it is easy to set Net connections to start disabled. Why is this not the case in Puppies??


P.S. Worst part about this, is in 8Geee's & Lobster's comments in the above link, I am one of those people that sits with a small eth0 switch box on my desktop, so I can 'physically' unplug the eth0 cable for whichever pup I am using when I don't want to deal with an Interent connection. Sometimes I just want to do some stuff on my Puppy without worrying about being connected, like spreadsheets, watching videos, writing things, etc.

And can we make this case???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15235
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 17 Mar 2017, 06:33    Post subject:  

Very Happy
We can only make the case if we wear tin foil hats as a fashion item.
Very Happy

Being online is the average default and Puppy users have some weird ways of connecting. For most of Puppys life, Barry only had a modem connection. He had to visit his daughter every few weeks to upload via broadband Shocked People in some part of South America still using modems - ay caramba!

If using Ethernet you could add a physical switch.
If running in frugal mode. Turn off the internet and close down. When you boot this setting will be remembered.

A more realistic solution might be a program that sets a time online and disconnects and reconnects randomly. Puli Puppy did something like this? I think it would drive me mad (or madder) . . . Shocked

_________________
YinYana AI Buddhism
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1387
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri 17 Mar 2017, 08:42    Post subject:  

I read that new Intel CPUs have a hidden built-in 3G connection: is it true?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15235
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 18 Mar 2017, 06:10    Post subject:  

watchdog wrote:
I read that new Intel CPUs have a hidden built-in 3G connection: is it true?


Hardly hidden Cool
https://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2012/09/intel-researchers-put-wifi-inside-the-processor-that-is/

The question is will it be possible to reliably turn it off from BIOS - probably not . . .

_________________
YinYana AI Buddhism
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Security
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0435s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]