Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 19 Sep 2019, 09:12
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
EasyOS Buster 2.1.3 released, September 15, 2019
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 114 of 122 [1820 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, ..., 120, 121, 122 Next
Author Message
lp-dolittle

Joined: 25 Apr 2016
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Thu 15 Aug 2019, 15:29    Post subject: easy-0.2 installation on external device  

@ Barry,

please look at the following contribution.

After I met several problems, I decided to delete a yesterday's contribution and to replace it with a new one. If I will not succeed in transmitting the screen-shots, I could send them to you via eMail.

sorry, and kind regards

lp-dolittle

Last edited by lp-dolittle on Fri 16 Aug 2019, 04:55; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lp-dolittle

Joined: 25 Apr 2016
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Fri 16 Aug 2019, 04:39    Post subject:  

@ Barry

please note: this is the revised version of a yesterday's contribution!

in view of your report on esmourguit's HD-issue and of the changed expansion-mode of the pristine 640MB <sdx2>, I continued experimenting with partitioning variants, after dumping the easy-2.0-amd64-img onto an external drive and firstly booting in zram0-mode.

Intending to avoid mbr-gpt conflicts, I created an sdb3 partition at the end of the drive, and then rebooted easy-2.0, to let it expand the 'all-purpose' partition (in my case sdb2). After again rebooting in zram0-mode, I finally compared the result with that of previous similar attempts with easy-1.0.92.

My checking tools were gparted, fdisk, gdisk, and fsck. I discovered a couple of 'inconsistencies' and warnings. All in all, the warnings do not seem to differ markedly, from those which I know from similar experiments with easy-1.0.92.

My attempts at illustrating these observations by screen-shots failed so far. After browsing for the png-attachments and opening them, they disappear when the 'add an attachment' button is hit.

I'm unable to judge the relevance of the warnings and error messages, but I could imagine that such problems might affect a HD's functionality. Easy-2.0 seems to work fine, despite all that, ... as far as I can see. (Yet, the transmission problem might require me to revise this supposition!?)

I will retry to transmit the screen-shots

kind regards

lp-dolittle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9017
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 17 Aug 2019, 10:05    Post subject:  

@lp-dolittle
Just a quick reply -- the easyos img does not have a gpt, so do not use gdisk to examine it, use fdisk.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/

Last edited by BarryK on Sat 17 Aug 2019, 10:13; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9017
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 17 Aug 2019, 10:07    Post subject:  

I have been posting to my blog, many fixes and improvements not reported to this forum.

The latest improvement:

http://bkhome.org/news/201908/easyos-booting-up-totally-in-ram.html

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9017
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 17 Aug 2019, 10:11    Post subject: Re: full use of all repositories
Subject description: Why limitation to max 5?
 

blgs wrote:
Photo 1 : All available repositories. I have selected 4 +1 (fixed). I performed a repositorie update and after pushing the OK buttor PPM restarts.
After the PPM has been restarted the next screen appears, see photo 2. Only two selected repositories appears and not 5.

Photo 3 is the software selection screen with only two active repositories.

You can select all 11 + 1 (fixed) but after restart of PPM only two (only pet-noarch-official and pet-buster-official) will be selected.

It is probably a bug. Anyway I do not understand it.


I have fixed the PPM, see blog post:

http://bkhome.org/news/201908/petget-update-databases-fixes.html

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9017
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 17 Aug 2019, 10:15    Post subject:  

@Keef,
Audacious and mhWaveEdit are fixed:

http://bkhome.org/news/201908/audacious-and-mhwaveedit-fixed-in-buster.html

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15483
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 17 Aug 2019, 17:31    Post subject:  

Quote:
The latest improvement:

http://bkhome.org/news/201908/easyos-booting-up-totally-in-ram.html


Very exciting news ... still innovating eh ... Wink
That is a good one. Look forward to the save option ...
The container feature is useful but I prefer DVD (ISO) booting and saving on SD or HD ... not the cloud (which seems incredibly open to breach)

Running in ram will be the way once a future Quantum Pup is produced but quantum storage for general usage is some way off ... ( Seem to have meandered off topic as usual ... Embarassed )

_________________
NEW Raspup for Raspberry Pi1-4 In BETA testing NOW
Slackware Current ScPup 32 and 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9017
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 17 Aug 2019, 22:30    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
I have been posting to my blog, many fixes and improvements not reported to this forum.

The latest improvement:

http://bkhome.org/news/201908/easyos-booting-up-totally-in-ram.html


Have done some more work on this, see appendum to the blog post.

It is now possible to mount the USB-stick partitions simply by replugging it.

So, files can be saved, but an actual save-session is for future consideration. It is easy enough to reboot as a normal bootup, if it is desired to save the session.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5485
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 18 Aug 2019, 03:34    Post subject:  

Something missing in this discussion? The CD-RW is elegant simplicity. ALL the information is immediately available for booting. It is secure if 'closed' during writing. Being an -RW, it can be overwritten with any new releases or even someone else's distro! It doesn't need any of those funny start-up programmes on FD, which many machines don't possess and for which external FDD are rarer than hen's proverbials. On the other hand, external DVD - USB drives are still readily available for those who insist on accepting hobbled HW from our ever-profit seeking industry, determined to offer less-for-more. Progress has to be measured by ALL the variables - including consumer advantage. Let's not encourage the greedy b*****s.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lp-dolittle

Joined: 25 Apr 2016
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Sun 18 Aug 2019, 04:03    Post subject: easyOS totally in RAM
Subject description: additional option
 

@ Barry

@ Argolance

Fantastic!! Thank you for further developing the 'totally in RAM idea'!

As for the planned new boot options, I could imagine an additional option that might be highly appreciated by security-aware users.

If EasyOS, at start-up, apart from offering to load the 'last saved session' totally into RAM, could do the same with any stored 'snapshot', everyone had the option to create her/his own preferred specific 'RAM version' which would have a lot in common with a remastered CD-iso.

As far as I can see, this would be the option which Argolance was looking for, some days ago.

kind regards

lp-dolittle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9017
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 18 Aug 2019, 07:32    Post subject: Re: easyOS totally in RAM
Subject description: additional option
 

lp-dolittle wrote:
@ Barry

@ Argolance

Fantastic!! Thank you for further developing the 'totally in RAM idea'!

As for the planned new boot options, I could imagine an additional option that might be highly appreciated by security-aware users.

If EasyOS, at start-up, apart from offering to load the 'last saved session' totally into RAM, could do the same with any stored 'snapshot', everyone had the option to create her/his own preferred specific 'RAM version' which would have a lot in common with a remastered CD-iso.

As far as I can see, this would be the option which Argolance was looking for, some days ago.

kind regards

lp-dolittle


Yes, there are various future possibilities. I intend to release Easy Buster 2.1 as-is at this stage of development, and get feedback on how it could be improved.

One really great thing, on modern UEFI-firmware PCs, the reFind boot manager remembers the last boot menu selection. So, if you want to bootup everytime with "totally running in RAM" option, you won't have to quickly change the menu selection in that 5-second pause, it will be automatically the default.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3667
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Sun 18 Aug 2019, 07:40    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
I intend to release Easy Buster 2.1 as-is at this stage of development, and get feedback on how it could be improved.

Well done! We look forward to this with great interest. Very Happy

_________________

A second life for your PCs...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9017
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 19 Aug 2019, 06:36    Post subject:  

Running-totally-in-RAM snapshots:

http://bkhome.org/news/201908/run-totally-in-ram-isolated-from-pc.html

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
TiredPup


Joined: 16 Jun 2019
Posts: 21
Location: United States

PostPosted: Mon 19 Aug 2019, 11:55    Post subject:  

Barry posted:

Quote:

blgs wrote:
Photo 1 : All available repositories. I have selected 4 +1 (fixed). I performed a repositorie update and after pushing the OK buttor PPM restarts.
After the PPM has been restarted the next screen appears, see photo 2. Only two selected repositories appears and not 5.

Photo 3 is the software selection screen with only two active repositories.

You can select all 11 + 1 (fixed) but after restart of PPM only two (only pet-noarch-official and pet-buster-official) will be selected.

It is probably a bug. Anyway I do not understand it.


I have fixed the PPM, see blog post:

http://bkhome.org/news/201908/petget-update-databases-fixes.html


I downloaded Easy OS 2.0 from Ibiblio today and installed to usb drive using EasyDD. I used the flash drive to boot my desktop PC. I have had the same experience with petget package manager today that blgs experienced. You mentioned a fix for it and I read your blog post. Is there something that I missed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
blgs

Joined: 07 Dec 2018
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon 19 Aug 2019, 12:11    Post subject:  

TiredPup wrote:
Barry posted:

Quote:

blgs wrote:
Photo 1 : All available repositories. I have selected 4 +1 (fixed). I performed a repositorie update and after pushing the OK buttor PPM restarts.
After the PPM has been restarted the next screen appears, see photo 2. Only two selected repositories appears and not 5.

Photo 3 is the software selection screen with only two active repositories.

You can select all 11 + 1 (fixed) but after restart of PPM only two (only pet-noarch-official and pet-buster-official) will be selected.

It is probably a bug. Anyway I do not understand it.


I have fixed the PPM, see blog post:

http://bkhome.org/news/201908/petget-update-databases-fixes.html


I downloaded Easy OS 2.0 from Ibiblio today and installed to usb drive using EasyDD. I used the flash drive to boot my desktop PC. I have had the same experience with petget package manager today that blgs experienced. You mentioned a fix for it and I read your blog post. Is there something that I missed?


Very soon easyos 2.1 will be released. The pedget issue and other issues are solved then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 114 of 122 [1820 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, ..., 120, 121, 122 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2190s ][ Queries: 12 (0.1592s) ][ GZIP on ]