Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 19 Nov 2019, 03:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
EasyOS Pyro 1.2.8, Buster 2.1.8 November 6, 2019
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 124 of 133 [1992 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 122, 123, 124, 125, 126, ..., 131, 132, 133 Next
Author Message
Rodney Byne

Joined: 31 Jan 2014
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Wed 02 Oct 2019, 22:11    Post subject: OK cooking with gas  

To philh,

Yes you're right, the new streams play well in mpv but not at all in VLC
for some unknown reason.
Its logs are a bit beyond me though.
Perhaps Barry might be able to shed light on the VLC problem.

Of course in the playlist text, the url station identifier ends have to be
moved to a line above so each stream can be decoded.

Oh and the 8 channels work ok in pupTelly as well.
Thanks, R.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
frenchiveruti

Joined: 15 Feb 2017
Posts: 116

PostPosted: Thu 03 Oct 2019, 11:43    Post subject: Battery meter is bugged
Subject description: it doesn't discharge accordingly
 

Hello, another bug.
My battery indicator displays 98% of battery, discharging, and then it's stuck there. Even though the battery is already at 50% if I open the information panel.
I attached a picture of the issue.
Thanks, let me know if there's some debug info I can provide.
Captura(1).jpg
Description  Screen shot of the issue, check the 98% on the tray and 2000mAh on the purple thing.
jpg

 Download 
Filename  Captura(1).jpg 
Filesize  119.74 KB 
Downloaded  40 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rodney Byne

Joined: 31 Jan 2014
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Fri 04 Oct 2019, 10:36    Post subject: TV streams  

To philh,
Further to your 8 new tv streams
one by one carefully tested in VLC.

Have found that NHK World Japan is the only channel
stream that works in a constant stable manner,
comparing it to Bloomberg as my benchmark in VLC.
All the other seven channels are instantly rejected
by VLC.

Using MPV in pupTelly, noted there is variable stability and
picture quality success with the remaining 7 channels.
Random mis-syncing and dropouts occur.

Would very much like to know, from where
these streams were sourced.
The internet seems to be par for the course
for quality; wysiwyg
Regards, R.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Philh

Joined: 17 May 2006
Posts: 151
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri 04 Oct 2019, 10:57    Post subject:  

I just used google to search for tv streams
I found a list of iptv channels here

https://m3uplaylist.download/free-iptv-m3u-playlists

and google docs list of streams mentioned here

https://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/2586189
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1528
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Fri 04 Oct 2019, 20:46    Post subject: Re: TV streams
Subject description: and now I think were off-topic
 

Rodney Byne wrote:
Would very much like to know, from where
these streams were sourced.
The internet seems to be par for the course
for quality; wysiwyg
Regards, R.


Rodney,

The Streaming Service itself can only request and pay for the bandwidth between them and the service provider. It's nothing to do with the streaming service themselves what happens after.

It's all related to available bandwidth between the service providers to the relative International Hub in their own country that the provider uses, PLUS bandwidth available (and paid for) between the two countries being connected between, PLUS bandwidth between your international hub that particular country is connected to and your ISP, and on to you. And all of these pipes are shared by many services and users, with varying priorities assigned to individual packets, and so all can have delays and dropped and repeated packets at any instance, all of which effect your resultant viewing.

You can of course, let the service know via their contact page that there is a problem. Including, at or between specific times (including the code for your country zone) and program names, and from which country your viewing from. Even then they can only advise their ISP of the problem and hope things are improved.

In the case of NHK, they have from their own hub network throughout Japan, PLUS their own international pipes to quite a number of countries. As they are a subscription service in Japan and so get quite a bit of money to pay for the services, both in country and overseas for their expats and other interested people to see their programs. Someone, who will remain nameless, told me a year or so ago it costs about Y25,000 a year for their service and you have no choice to pay it if you want television in Japan, and the internet charges are in top of that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9069
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 04 Oct 2019, 23:44    Post subject:  

Just popping into the forum briefly to post this announcement. Will come back later, maybe this evening, to read earlier posts.

Here it is version 2.1.5. Announcment:

http://bkhome.org/news/201910/easyos-version-215-released.html

NOTICE:
Alfons reported that https sites do not work with Chromium. That is, SSL is broken.

I can't see why, so have removed 2.1.5. I have no idea what has changed since 2.1.3 that could have caused this. Will work on it, hopefully the next release isn't too far away.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9069
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Oct 2019, 05:52    Post subject: Re: Tested, error message child failed with code 1
Subject description: for EasyOS 2.1.3 buster container
 

frenchiveruti wrote:
BarryK wrote:

Try this in a terminal (this is what the /usr/sbin/ec-chroot-buster script has in it):

Code:
# ec-chroot buster easy


...you will be able to see any error messages.

Hi!
Here's the error:
Code:
# ec-chroot buster easy
gtk-update-icon-cache: Cache file created successfully.
gtk-update-icon-cache: Cache file created successfully.
Generating /root/.icewm/menu...
Generating /root/.jwmrc...
Generating /root/.jwmrc3...
Executing: DISPLAY=:0  pflask  --keepenv --mount=tmp:/tmp --no-netns  --caps=all --no-userns --chroot=/mnt/sda7/EasyOS/containers/buster/container --  /.control/ec-run buster easy

[✘] Child failed with code '1'
Unmounting: /mnt/sda7/EasyOS/containers/buster/container
Unmounting: /mnt/sda7/EasyOS/containers/buster/.ro0
Container buster stopped


Ah, I see that you have modified the security settings, that is what has broken it. I am running Easy Pyro 1.2.3 right now, so it has the "pyro" icon on desktop. If I run this:

Code:
# ec-chroot pyro easy
gtk-update-icon-cache: Cache file created successfully.
gtk-update-icon-cache: Cache file created successfully.
Generating /root/.icewm/menu...
Generating /root/.jwmrc...
Generating /root/.jwmrc3...
Executing: DISPLAY=:1  pflask --mount=bind:/mnt/sda2/home/shared:/mnt/wkg/home/shared --keepenv --mount=bind:/tmp/.X11-unix/X1:/tmp/.X11-unix/X1 --no-ipcns --no-netns --mount=bind:/dev/snd:/dev/snd --mount=bind:/dev/mixer:/dev/mixer --caps=all,-sys_admin,-sys_boot,-sys_chroot,-sys_ptrace,-sys_time,-sys_tty_config,-chown,-kill,-dac_override,-dac_read_search,-fowner,-setfcap,-setpcap,-net_admin,-mknod,-sys_module,-sys_nice,-sys_resource --no-userns --chroot=/mnt/sda2/containers/pyro/container --  /.control/ec-run pyro easy


You can restore the default security settings. Go to menu Filesystem -> Easy Container Management, in the "Manage" frame choose "buster" in the dropdown list, and the security settings will be reset to the defaults -- there is also a "Reset" button for this. Then click "Update and exit" button.

Not sure if I tested this, but it should work.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9069
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Oct 2019, 05:55    Post subject: Re: OK cooking with gas  

Rodney Byne wrote:
To philh,

Yes you're right, the new streams play well in mpv but not at all in VLC
for some unknown reason.
Its logs are a bit beyond me though.
Perhaps Barry might be able to shed light on the VLC problem.

Of course in the playlist text, the url station identifier ends have to be
moved to a line above so each stream can be decoded.

Oh and the 8 channels work ok in pupTelly as well.
Thanks, R.


I have given up on VLC, had so much trouble with audio and video not playing correctly. It used to be so good, but that was years ago.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9069
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Oct 2019, 06:00    Post subject: Re: Battery meter is bugged
Subject description: it doesn't discharge accordingly
 

frenchiveruti wrote:
Hello, another bug.
My battery indicator displays 98% of battery, discharging, and then it's stuck there. Even though the battery is already at 50% if I open the information panel.
I attached a picture of the issue.
Thanks, let me know if there's some debug info I can provide.


The battery status tray applet was created by 01micko, many years ago. I haven't looked at it for a long time, I guess because it works OK on my two laptops.

I wonder if the Puppy Linux guys are using something later? A later evolution of 01micko's applet, or something else?

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
williams2

Joined: 14 Dec 2018
Posts: 190

PostPosted: Sun 06 Oct 2019, 13:45    Post subject:  

frenchiveruti, you could type in a text terminal console:
Code:
acpi -abi

If this shows the same information as the tray applet
then the applet is working properly,
it is the acpi drivers causing the problem.

If the acpi information seems to be correct
then the applet is the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1528
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Mon 07 Oct 2019, 00:42    Post subject:  

Note for BarryK (and maybe others), in case it helps:

Apparently the latest chromium browser (oct 2019) has had a virus currently called 'parasite' created and released for it.

Unfortunately the only way of getting rid of it is to delete the chromium core files as well as the associated ones, as it has inserted itself multiple times and places both in chromium and associated package areas. It reapears and reinstalls itself again when the browser is restarted and the infected component is started. It does effect the ssl areas, which is why i'm bringing it to your attention. It might just be your problem.

A number of web pages give a fix, but basically they all lead to the same end of totally removing everything used by or involving chromium, and then start installing from scratch a clean packageset, keeping nothing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1830
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Mon 07 Oct 2019, 03:49    Post subject:  

scsijon wrote:
Note for BarryK (and maybe others), in case it helps:

Apparently the latest chromium browser (oct 2019) has had a virus currently called 'parasite' created and released for it.


Can you supply the link about this virus please? I googled but can't find it anywhere.

wiak

_________________
Tiny Linux Blog: http://www.tinylinux.info/
Check Firmware: www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1022797
tinycore/slitaz: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=990130#990130
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1528
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Mon 07 Oct 2019, 04:41    Post subject:  

wiak wrote:
scsijon wrote:
Note for BarryK (and maybe others), in case it helps:

Apparently the latest chromium browser (oct 2019) has had a virus currently called 'parasite' created and released for it.


Can you supply the link about this virus please? I googled but can't find it anywhere.

wiak


Try something other than google then, I got 23 responses from duckduckgo and others from other search engines, since chrome/chromium is a google product .....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1830
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Mon 07 Oct 2019, 09:36    Post subject:  

thanks for your useful tip
_________________
Tiny Linux Blog: http://www.tinylinux.info/
Check Firmware: www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1022797
tinycore/slitaz: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=990130#990130
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3624

PostPosted: Mon 07 Oct 2019, 10:16    Post subject:  

scsijon wrote:
Unfortunately the only way of getting rid of it is to delete the chromium core files as well as the associated ones, as it has inserted itself multiple times and places both in chromium and associated package areas. It reappears and reinstalls itself again when the browser is restarted and the infected component is started. It does effect the ssl areas, which is why i'm bringing it to your attention. It might just be your problem.

A number of web pages give a fix, but basically they all lead to the same end of totally removing everything used by or involving chromium, and then start installing from scratch a clean packageset, keeping nothing.

Thanks for the heads-up scsijon.

I boot from usb, where the MBR, bootloader, vmlinuz and initrd are all on that usb. Main sfs and changes sfs are stored on hdd (so its still quick to boot) where the init process validates the checksums of those files as part of bootup comparing with pre-recorded checksums stored on the usb. After initial startup, before those sfs's are loaded/after validation of the hdd based sfs's, the usb is unplugged (so physically isolated out of in-session harms way) - its all running in ram by then. The sfs's are then loaded and up comes X/desktop. Use it, shutdown when done (mostly without saving) and the next reboot is clean again, the exact same as before. Store data separately, outside of the OS. To make changes, boot, reconfigure the system as desired, save (without going anywhere else beforehand, so the 'clean' boot remains clean).

Run that way and such virus are just a single session inconvenience. Eradicated in the time it takes to reboot. Very much like removing everything and doing a full re-install, but where that install is already pre-configured to how you like things set up.

For online banking type activities just make sure you cold reboot first, go straight to your banks web site, nowhere else before or after, hard shutdown afterwards. Also keep good disconnected backup copies of your data (and main/changes sfs) files. Keep browser bookmarks in a file stored where you keep data (as the next reboot has a brand new browser again, with none of the bookmarks, cookies ... or viruses). If you do use a particular browser configuration or want a set of fixed browser bookmarks, then boot, make those changes, save ... and they'll then be part of the 'clean' boot.

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 124 of 133 [1992 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 122, 123, 124, 125, 126, ..., 131, 132, 133 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0919s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0291s) ][ GZIP on ]