Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 21 Nov 2019, 10:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
EasyOS Pyro 1.2.8, Buster 2.1.8 November 6, 2019
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 127 of 133 [1994 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 125, 126, 127, 128, 129, 130, 131, 132, 133 Next
Author Message
frenchiveruti

Joined: 15 Feb 2017
Posts: 116

PostPosted: Mon 14 Oct 2019, 09:54    Post subject: Re: Tested, error message child failed with code 1
Subject description: for EasyOS 2.1.3 buster container
 

BarryK wrote:
frenchiveruti wrote:

Hi!
Here's the error:
Code:
# ec-chroot buster easy
gtk-update-icon-cache: Cache file created successfully.
gtk-update-icon-cache: Cache file created successfully.
Generating /root/.icewm/menu...
Generating /root/.jwmrc...
Generating /root/.jwmrc3...
Executing: DISPLAY=:0  pflask  --keepenv --mount=tmp:/tmp --no-netns  --caps=all --no-userns --chroot=/mnt/sda7/EasyOS/containers/buster/container --  /.control/ec-run buster easy

[✘] Child failed with code '1'
Unmounting: /mnt/sda7/EasyOS/containers/buster/container
Unmounting: /mnt/sda7/EasyOS/containers/buster/.ro0
Container buster stopped


Ah, I see that you have modified the security settings, that is what has broken it. I am running Easy Pyro 1.2.3 right now, so it has the "pyro" icon on desktop. If I run this:

Code:
# ec-chroot pyro easy
gtk-update-icon-cache: Cache file created successfully.
gtk-update-icon-cache: Cache file created successfully.
Generating /root/.icewm/menu...
Generating /root/.jwmrc...
Generating /root/.jwmrc3...
Executing: DISPLAY=:1  pflask --mount=bind:/mnt/sda2/home/shared:/mnt/wkg/home/shared --keepenv --mount=bind:/tmp/.X11-unix/X1:/tmp/.X11-unix/X1 --no-ipcns --no-netns --mount=bind:/dev/snd:/dev/snd --mount=bind:/dev/mixer:/dev/mixer --caps=all,-sys_admin,-sys_boot,-sys_chroot,-sys_ptrace,-sys_time,-sys_tty_config,-chown,-kill,-dac_override,-dac_read_search,-fowner,-setfcap,-setpcap,-net_admin,-mknod,-sys_module,-sys_nice,-sys_resource --no-userns --chroot=/mnt/sda2/containers/pyro/container --  /.control/ec-run pyro easy


You can restore the default security settings. Go to menu Filesystem -> Easy Container Management, in the "Manage" frame choose "buster" in the dropdown list, and the security settings will be reset to the defaults -- there is also a "Reset" button for this. Then click "Update and exit" button.

Not sure if I tested this, but it should work.


Hello, same error after resetting the settings.
Code:

gtk-update-icon-cache: Cache file created successfully.
gtk-update-icon-cache: Cache file created successfully.
Generating /root/.icewm/menu...
Generating /root/.jwmrc...
Generating /root/.jwmrc3...
Executing: DISPLAY=:0  pflask  --keepenv --mount=tmp:/tmp --no-netns  --caps=all --no-userns --chroot=/mnt/sda7/EasyOS/containers/buster/container --  /.control/ec-run buster easy
[✘] Child failed with code '1'
Unmounting: /mnt/sda7/EasyOS/containers/buster/container
Unmounting: /mnt/sda7/EasyOS/containers/buster/.ro0
Container buster stopped
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9069
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 14 Oct 2019, 20:45    Post subject: Re: Tested, error message child failed with code 1
Subject description: for EasyOS 2.1.3 buster container
 

frenchiveruti wrote:
BarryK wrote:
frenchiveruti wrote:

Hi!
Here's the error:
Code:
# ec-chroot buster easy
gtk-update-icon-cache: Cache file created successfully.
gtk-update-icon-cache: Cache file created successfully.
Generating /root/.icewm/menu...
Generating /root/.jwmrc...
Generating /root/.jwmrc3...
Executing: DISPLAY=:0  pflask  --keepenv --mount=tmp:/tmp --no-netns  --caps=all --no-userns --chroot=/mnt/sda7/EasyOS/containers/buster/container --  /.control/ec-run buster easy

[✘] Child failed with code '1'
Unmounting: /mnt/sda7/EasyOS/containers/buster/container
Unmounting: /mnt/sda7/EasyOS/containers/buster/.ro0
Container buster stopped


Ah, I see that you have modified the security settings, that is what has broken it. I am running Easy Pyro 1.2.3 right now, so it has the "pyro" icon on desktop. If I run this:

Code:
# ec-chroot pyro easy
gtk-update-icon-cache: Cache file created successfully.
gtk-update-icon-cache: Cache file created successfully.
Generating /root/.icewm/menu...
Generating /root/.jwmrc...
Generating /root/.jwmrc3...
Executing: DISPLAY=:1  pflask --mount=bind:/mnt/sda2/home/shared:/mnt/wkg/home/shared --keepenv --mount=bind:/tmp/.X11-unix/X1:/tmp/.X11-unix/X1 --no-ipcns --no-netns --mount=bind:/dev/snd:/dev/snd --mount=bind:/dev/mixer:/dev/mixer --caps=all,-sys_admin,-sys_boot,-sys_chroot,-sys_ptrace,-sys_time,-sys_tty_config,-chown,-kill,-dac_override,-dac_read_search,-fowner,-setfcap,-setpcap,-net_admin,-mknod,-sys_module,-sys_nice,-sys_resource --no-userns --chroot=/mnt/sda2/containers/pyro/container --  /.control/ec-run pyro easy


You can restore the default security settings. Go to menu Filesystem -> Easy Container Management, in the "Manage" frame choose "buster" in the dropdown list, and the security settings will be reset to the defaults -- there is also a "Reset" button for this. Then click "Update and exit" button.

Not sure if I tested this, but it should work.


Hello, same error after resetting the settings.
Code:

gtk-update-icon-cache: Cache file created successfully.
gtk-update-icon-cache: Cache file created successfully.
Generating /root/.icewm/menu...
Generating /root/.jwmrc...
Generating /root/.jwmrc3...
Executing: DISPLAY=:0  pflask  --keepenv --mount=tmp:/tmp --no-netns  --caps=all --no-userns --chroot=/mnt/sda7/EasyOS/containers/buster/container --  /.control/ec-run buster easy
[✘] Child failed with code '1'
Unmounting: /mnt/sda7/EasyOS/containers/buster/container
Unmounting: /mnt/sda7/EasyOS/containers/buster/.ro0
Container buster stopped


This " --caps=all" tells me that security settings have not been reset. can you post /mnt/wkg/containers/buster/configuration, that has the security settings.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tom22251


Joined: 08 Oct 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue 15 Oct 2019, 08:22    Post subject: wireless network-managers & running EASY in memory only  

To Barry & all,
regarding wireless network-managers.

My best experience hands down is with PeasyWifi (PWF).

After trying out all of the others in the last 2 years
sns, frisbee, super-sns, nm-tui, etc. this is the fastest and most consistent little program.
It always works, even if I remove all the other managers.

So why it is not included in EASY OS ?
Besides it's created by rcrsn51, old community member,
a so called inhouse effort.
Unfortunately I just discovered it only early this year.
On my DELL 4x Intel core i5 CPU desktop machine,
I have frugally installed all the different versions
of EASY, and PWF works the best on each.
And it looks good too.
So congratulations and thank you rcrsn51, and Barry
hopefully you consider including PWF too.
By the way EASY 2.1.6 is working very well.


And for those interested in running EASY in memory only:

let's say our USB drive is sda1 with ext3,
and is labeld LINUX. We copy easy.sfs,
initrd and vmlinuz toa folder named EASY-216.

If we edit BOOT_SPECS like this:

BOOT_LABEL='LINUX'
BOOT_DIR='EASY-216/'
WKG_LABEL='EASYOSZRAM'
WKG_DIR=''
INIT_LANG='en_US.UTF-8'

it will always run in memory and we can unplug the usb.

We can even save our changes by creating a simple
save script "save":

cd /mnt/sdc2/EASY216/
cp -a /mnt/wkg/.session/* SAVE
sync
exit

At each start up we copy our saved changes by
an other script "updt":

cd /mnt/sdc2/EASY216/
cp -a SAVE/* /
sync
restartwm
exit

I know it's very crude, but it works.

Regards,
Tom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3697
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Wed 16 Oct 2019, 05:34    Post subject:  

Bonjour,
tom22251 wrote:
My best experience hands down is with PeasyWifi (PWF).

After trying out all of the others in the last 2 years
sns, frisbee, super-sns, nm-tui, etc. this is the fastest and most consistent little program.
It always works, even if I remove all the other managers.

So why it is not included in EASY OS ?

I have also seen the same thing more than once. That's why I chose PeasyWifi for ToOpPy. This little application, unlike the others, has never failed me! I am surprised that it has not at least been added to the Easy OS available applications...

Cordialement.

_________________

A second life for your PCs...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9069
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 16 Oct 2019, 06:32    Post subject: Re: Tested, error message child failed with code 1
Subject description: for EasyOS 2.1.3 buster container
 

BarryK wrote:
frenchiveruti wrote:
BarryK wrote:
frenchiveruti wrote:

Hi!
Here's the error:
Code:
# ec-chroot buster easy
gtk-update-icon-cache: Cache file created successfully.
gtk-update-icon-cache: Cache file created successfully.
Generating /root/.icewm/menu...
Generating /root/.jwmrc...
Generating /root/.jwmrc3...
Executing: DISPLAY=:0  pflask  --keepenv --mount=tmp:/tmp --no-netns  --caps=all --no-userns --chroot=/mnt/sda7/EasyOS/containers/buster/container --  /.control/ec-run buster easy

[✘] Child failed with code '1'
Unmounting: /mnt/sda7/EasyOS/containers/buster/container
Unmounting: /mnt/sda7/EasyOS/containers/buster/.ro0
Container buster stopped


Ah, I see that you have modified the security settings, that is what has broken it. I am running Easy Pyro 1.2.3 right now, so it has the "pyro" icon on desktop. If I run this:

Code:
# ec-chroot pyro easy
gtk-update-icon-cache: Cache file created successfully.
gtk-update-icon-cache: Cache file created successfully.
Generating /root/.icewm/menu...
Generating /root/.jwmrc...
Generating /root/.jwmrc3...
Executing: DISPLAY=:1  pflask --mount=bind:/mnt/sda2/home/shared:/mnt/wkg/home/shared --keepenv --mount=bind:/tmp/.X11-unix/X1:/tmp/.X11-unix/X1 --no-ipcns --no-netns --mount=bind:/dev/snd:/dev/snd --mount=bind:/dev/mixer:/dev/mixer --caps=all,-sys_admin,-sys_boot,-sys_chroot,-sys_ptrace,-sys_time,-sys_tty_config,-chown,-kill,-dac_override,-dac_read_search,-fowner,-setfcap,-setpcap,-net_admin,-mknod,-sys_module,-sys_nice,-sys_resource --no-userns --chroot=/mnt/sda2/containers/pyro/container --  /.control/ec-run pyro easy


You can restore the default security settings. Go to menu Filesystem -> Easy Container Management, in the "Manage" frame choose "buster" in the dropdown list, and the security settings will be reset to the defaults -- there is also a "Reset" button for this. Then click "Update and exit" button.

Not sure if I tested this, but it should work.


Hello, same error after resetting the settings.
Code:

gtk-update-icon-cache: Cache file created successfully.
gtk-update-icon-cache: Cache file created successfully.
Generating /root/.icewm/menu...
Generating /root/.jwmrc...
Generating /root/.jwmrc3...
Executing: DISPLAY=:0  pflask  --keepenv --mount=tmp:/tmp --no-netns  --caps=all --no-userns --chroot=/mnt/sda7/EasyOS/containers/buster/container --  /.control/ec-run buster easy
[✘] Child failed with code '1'
Unmounting: /mnt/sda7/EasyOS/containers/buster/container
Unmounting: /mnt/sda7/EasyOS/containers/buster/.ro0
Container buster stopped


This " --caps=all" tells me that security settings have not been reset. can you post /mnt/wkg/containers/buster/configuration, that has the security settings.


I have discovered bugs in Easy Container Management, it is not writing the 'configuration' file correctly.

Will fix it asap.

EDIT:
OK, fixed. see attachment. Remove the false ".gz" and replace /usr/local/easy_containers/easy-containers
easy-containers.gz
Description  Remove false .gz
gz

 Download 
Filename  easy-containers.gz 
Filesize  24.55 KB 
Downloaded  20 Time(s) 

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 3494
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) - 3 PC's: DELL SX280 750 MB Pentium4, Acer emachines 2 GB AMD64. DELL XPS15

PostPosted: Wed 16 Oct 2019, 08:35    Post subject: Re: wireless network-managers & running EASY in memory only  

Hi Tom

tom22251 wrote:
To Barry & all,
regarding wireless network-managers.

My best experience hands down is with PeasyWifi (PWF).

After trying out all of the others in the last 2 years
sns, frisbee, super-sns, nm-tui, etc. this is the fastest and most consistent little program.



It is in my eyes very important to admit that the conditions and usages of each Operatin System are very different: Each person would better have an individual system, why not? Some distro promise somewhat so...

I did never have some problem with the simple connection wizard!

Same thing with rox

or Seamonkey

etc...

But I did have unsolutionnable problem with Peasy connection stuff in a derivate having only this stuff preinstalled. It did not recognize my LAN (it is really rare) and it was not possible to connect with LAN or WIFI. and as there was no other connection's tool in that derivate no chance to amend the situation...

Creators of derivate are often proud to eliminate goodies from Puppy; erase rox, seamonkey, simple connection wizard, mTpaint etc.

But they don't better Puppy: They only show that they are not willing to learn how to work effective with those tools...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12778
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 16 Oct 2019, 08:47    Post subject: Re: wireless network-managers & running EASY in memory only  

oui wrote:
But I did have unsolutionnable problem with Peasy connection stuff in a derivate having only this stuff preinstalled. It did not recognize my LAN (it is really rare) and it was not possible to connect with LAN or WIFI. and as there was no other connection's tool in that derivate no chance to amend the situation...

It's more likely that the problem was due to a lack of drivers in this derivative, not with the connection manager.

Did you check by running "dmesg"?

Did you report the problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tom22251


Joined: 08 Oct 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu 17 Oct 2019, 03:27    Post subject: PeasyWifi in EasyOS  

Hi Oui,
you are right:

"conditions and usages of each Operating System
are very different...
"

but I was writing strictly about my experience with
PeasyWifi in EasyOS, both Pyro and Buster.
And as the name suggests, it was designed specifically
for wireless connections, although it works well with
ethernet too. And as the author himself: rcrsn51,
said, the distro you are using likely is missing
some drivers.

Try EASY-1.2.5 or 2.1.6, both are exellent.

Bye
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lp-dolittle

Joined: 25 Apr 2016
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Thu 17 Oct 2019, 10:14    Post subject: running EasyOS in RAM
Subject description: proposed by tom22251
 

@ tom22251

Hi tom22251,

thank you for paying attention to the running totally in RAM option in EasyOS!
Alas, I so far did not manage to successfully apply your method, maybe because I do not fully understand your instructions.

After copying easy.sfs, initrid and vmlinuz to a folder 'EASY_216' in an external drive (IDE HD) with only one ext3 partition (labelled LINUX), I edited and changed the BOOT_SPECS in the copied initrid, according to your instructions, but the drive fails to boot.

As for a save option, you mention a sdc2 partition. Where should this partition be? On a second external drive?

And finally, what about the UEFI-capability of your 'so-called' sda1-drive?
In Barry's EasyOS, some vital directories always need to be present in a fat partition or to be integrated in an iso-file

I would be very thankful for some additional explanation

kind regards

lp-dolittle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1531
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Mon 21 Oct 2019, 04:53    Post subject: nma vs nmtui and 1.2.7.  

Barry,

The only thing I don't like about the new applet is that it doesn't show the rx/tx figures so you don't know what your load is like at any time.

Could you add some note on what would need changing to use the nmtui until this can be incorperated (please) as others like me that use satellite need to watch these figures carefully.

1.2.7 is downloading at the moment, after testing I shall use your notes and build a few apps I use, but where do you want them noted as completed? Downloads will as usual be via my website under
> puppy > easy >
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9069
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 21 Oct 2019, 06:36    Post subject: Re: nma vs nmtui and 1.2.7.  

scsijon wrote:
Barry,

The only thing I don't like about the new applet is that it doesn't show the rx/tx figures so you don't know what your load is like at any time.

Could you add some note on what would need changing to use the nmtui until this can be incorperated (please) as others like me that use satellite need to watch these figures carefully.

1.2.7 is downloading at the moment, after testing I shall use your notes and build a few apps I use, but where do you want them noted as completed? Downloads will as usual be via my website under
> puppy > easy >


Well, I could patch the source again, of network-manager-applet (executable is 'nm-applet'), to display log of tx/rx when mouse-over.

You might be interested to know that the tx/rx logs are in /var/local/sns (even though using NetworkManager, not SNS).

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9069
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 21 Oct 2019, 06:45    Post subject:  

Easy Pyro 1.2.7 and Buster 2.1.7 are out:

https://bkhome.org/news/201910/easy-pyro-127-and-buster-217-released.html

I haven't looked at PeasyWifi yet, will do that soon.

Regarding wifi with the NetworkManager and nm-applet, which are defaults in latest Easy, I am running Pyro 1.2.6 and now 1.2.7 on my laptop, and wifi connection is flawless.

I will run Buster 2.1.7 on the laptop, to compare, see if there are issues. A difference is that the packages in Pyro are compiled by me, those in Buster are official Debian DEBs -- so if it turns out that there are wifi issues, I can resort to compiling packages.

@frenchiveruti
I think that the new releases have fixed the problem you reported.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5498
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 21 Oct 2019, 11:49    Post subject:  

Pyro127 & Buster217 running OK. SM exceedingly slow in Buster (don't mean the initial setup as per on-screen advisory). On both, to get Qsync for Web timeset advisable to have working wifi if no wired RJ connection before completing the setup routine and restarting X. Perhaps that option could precede display of Setup panel? Good to see Perth now shows as default location - could it be set thus in other places?
The default sound setting is still too low to hear the woofwoof unless hifi already connected and switched on - this is really irritating when using the USB stick to check, diagnose and repair HWs, which is my main use for both.
Since Pyro still best option and most reliable for my use would still appreciate an .iso to be available - one was offered a few iterations back - you'd be amazed how much ancient kit I still encounter and requested to fix!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rodney Byne

Joined: 31 Jan 2014
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Mon 21 Oct 2019, 16:00    Post subject: Fixes for SFS Get & Easy containers  

To Barry,

please clarify what you mean by this extract;

"In Easy Container Management, changing security settings
to defaults was not working quite right.
In SFSget, if download a SFS and choose to install in one of the
pre-existing containers (ex: www, console, buster),
the install did not work -- fixed"

I wasn't aware that you could install more than one program app
at a time into one container, unless I totally misunderstand.

You write "ex", do you mean eg?
Or do you mean that www, console & buster have previously
been discreetly removed from each individual container
and that leaves the container empty
awaiting a different downloaded SFS?

I had previously read from forum that users' own SFSs
could not be installed - only your prescribed and downloaded
apps from your own repository are permitted.
Does that diktat still stand, as there doesn't seem to be
simple practical explanations as to how one can
install and run their own SFSs in an empty container?

BTW, that complicated Security Options applet to me
is incomprehensible.

Bemused doesn't cover it for this simpleton Barry.
Thanks, regards, Rodney.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 671
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Mon 21 Oct 2019, 19:18    Post subject:  

Updated USB install of Easy 1.2.5 to 1.2.7. All went well. It was also the first install of easy I have on this USB drive where version control has occurred. The rollback is set to 3 and this was the 4th iteration, so the original 1.2 has been deleted. This easy version running very smoothly.

Thanks for the continued work on the easy pyro branch.

One very minor quirk I am seeing is the network icon in the tray is intermittently changing and flashing from the 'globe to screen' icon to display as a 'stepped columns' icon for very short durations. As wifi works well and I have no wifi issues I have only used whatever the default network management application is. I have not played with network management. Just reporting for information.


Another issue occurred whilst attempting to get a screeny image, this led to me to identify another issue. Separate post to follow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 127 of 133 [1994 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 125, 126, 127, 128, 129, 130, 131, 132, 133 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.3322s ][ Queries: 12 (0.1902s) ][ GZIP on ]