(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Sep 2020, 17:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
EasyOS version 2.3.2, June 22, 2020
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 14 of 172 [2578 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, ..., 170, 171, 172 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9400
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 27 Sep 2017, 07:11    Post subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
@Barry, I found a more serious problem. I just tried the same USB stick on my small asus netbook. Everything seem to boot fine until I clicked on the File icon and sdd2 could not be accessed because it doesn't exist. It does on my desktop. The lappy only has sda1 and sdb1 and sdb2 when the USB stick is plugged in. Because of this the previous saves were not loaded or changes saved at shutdown.

Sfsget and wifi all worked fine but it won't exist on a reboot. I think it needs to be a bit more portable between machines.

Cheers


Thanks, fixed.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9400
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 27 Sep 2017, 07:27    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:
Also I find Easy crashes when I try to move a Rox Filer window
using the window menu and selecting 'Move'


I have done that lots of times, no problem.

Just tried it now on the Mele PCG35 mini-PC (my new toy), works ok.

Does your PC have Intel graphics?

All of my computers have Intel video, so that's all I can test on.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9400
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 27 Sep 2017, 07:40    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
Hi Barry and all,

When first using Easy Linux 4.0, I did the full install image to a USB and have had (honestly) zero major problems with it. There's little things that need fixing, but nothing in my mind worth mentioning. The Container function runs great, and is dam# near impregnable in my tests. But, I decided to do a 'frugal' install of Easy 4.0, and everything went great though I ran into some weird problem with Seamonkey.

Basically, after doing an inital setup & creating the first save on shutdown (along with xz to gz conversion on reboot), the problem is Seamonkey will not launch outside of the Container at all at next boot or thereafter
. Here are the steps that led to this:

1) did the 'frugal'install, followed bootcode instructions.

2) Easy launches great, I begin setting up Seamonkey (outside the Container first) which seems to go well. I mean, it launches and closes and launches no problems.

3) I do nothing else to Easy except launch Easy Package manager to update it, then closed it. Then I add a file to /root/.jwm where I created a "jwmrc-personal" file, with only one entry that allows the jwm tray to show the minixcal clock in big, bold font. Here's the entry:

Code:

<ClockStyle>
 <Font>Ionic Charge-18:slant=italic:weight=demibold</Font>
</ClockStyle>


Saved this, went back to desktop, restarted Jwm, all was fine as the clock jumped up to my setting.

4) Then I restarted, created the savefile, and booted back in.

5) Upon booting back in, everything looks great except Seamonkey will not launch at all. Not from the Menu, not going into /usr/sharea/pplications & clicking its desktop file, and not even going directly to /usr/libs/seamonkey folder and/or /usr/bin/ folder and clicking the mozilla symlink that starts it. Nothing will launch Seamonkey.

6) Yet, if I now launch Seamonkey in "ec-chroot", it starts right up as it should, and I go about doing all the same settings as before when Seamonkey is 'outside' the Container.


Anyone seeing this too in a 'frugal' install? Any ideas, Barry??


Lastly, have another question about Easy, whether 'frugal' and/or full installed to usb-----after we download the easy-devx, is there no option to "load-on-the-fly" the devx? Is that not possible with how Easy is setup? I wanted to compile some stuff, but saw that I had to use Easy BootManager every time to load the devx at startup, then restart so the devx is loaded, do my compiling, then have to reset Easy BootManager once more & reboot just to get the Easy-devx unloaded.

What am i missing here? This is a bit cumbersome, haha Wink Is using SFS-Load-on-the-fly verbotten with Easy Linux??


Thanks for help and/or feedback about the above. In my eyes, this Container stuff is super, and increases the security of using a pup or pup-like OS exponentially. No other pup comes close to this..... [/code]


I have added all kinds of checking when the layers change, which is done in the initrd.q, before the layers get setup.

I don't think that shinobar's load-on-the-fly is capable of this kind of checking, or maybe not to the same extent.

So, yes, a reboot is required.

Once I have loaded devx sfs, I leave it loaded, it does no harm being one of the layers.

In theory, the "sh0" container (see Utility menu), or run "ec-chroot sh0" could have the devx sfs loaded, and do compiling in a container.

Go to "Filesystem -> Easy Container Management" and can select the devx sfs to load in sh0 container. That does not require a reboot!

That's in theory, I haven't actually tried compiling anything in the sh0 container.

It is at /mnt/wkg/containers/sh0, and the folder 'container' is the top of the layered f.s. -- so you could copy a source package here, when the container is running, then from inside the container terminal window, compile it.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9400
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 27 Sep 2017, 10:45    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
Also, another issue, trying to run the remaster from a 'frugal" Easy install---fails every time. After you set things up, configure boot-specs and all, you'll get this message every boot:[/i]

Code:
:   
cp: can't stat /q_ro/q.sfs/etc/DISTRO_SPECS:  No such file or directory
/init: .: line 235: can't open '/q_ro/q_sfs/etc/DISTRO_SPECS'


Looked and realized when you remaster from a running 'frugal' install that you've already setup, the remaster script takes the ".../etc/...." above and DOES NOT rename it to "..../er-etc/......which exists after remastering. Even if I rename it in the init script, which I did, boot still fails at near same point."


Thanks for that report. I found a few bugs in the easy-remaster script, fixed. I did a test remaster, created a new q.sfs, and it works.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1743

PostPosted: Wed 27 Sep 2017, 10:55    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
belham2 wrote:
Also, another issue, trying to run the remaster from a 'frugal" Easy install---fails every time. After you set things up, configure boot-specs and all, you'll get this message every boot:[/i]

Code:
:   
cp: can't stat /q_ro/q.sfs/etc/DISTRO_SPECS:  No such file or directory
/init: .: line 235: can't open '/q_ro/q_sfs/etc/DISTRO_SPECS'


Looked and realized when you remaster from a running 'frugal' install that you've already setup, the remaster script takes the ".../etc/...." above and DOES NOT rename it to "..../er-etc/......which exists after remastering. Even if I rename it in the init script, which I did, boot still fails at near same point."


Thanks for that report. I found a few bugs in the easy-remaster script, fixed. I did a test remaster, created a new q.sfs, and it works.



Hi Barry,

Thanks for all the fixes. I'll give the 'remaster" another try tonight and/or tomorrow.

Can i ask you a favor? Will you set up a test "frugal" install of Easy, then do the following:

1) Update PPM

2) and download/install latest Firefox

3) Open it up and play with it for a minute

(then the critical part)

4) open up "Easy Container Management" from Menu

5) create a Container for "Firefox"

6) watch it create the said container

7) but then try to find some way to launch it from the "ec-chroot friefox.dekstop" that Easy Container Management created.



I must be doing something terribly wrong Embarassed . I can't get anything to launch, created with Easy Container Management, in any of my 'frugal' installs of Easy 0.4. I had to "manually" copy everything (firefox-related) over from the non-container side into the 'Firefox" Container itself. Why? Well, even though Easy Container Management created the Firefox container, it is/was nowhere to be found in the Container itself. Crying or Very sad I even had to create my own symlink from the Container back to the non-Container desktop so Firefox would lauch from the Container (or at least that's what I hope is happening).


P.S. Substitutng Firefox, though, for Seamonkey in my 'frugal' installs (have 3 going on different USBs) has solved all the weirdness I was reporting from Seamonkey. I'm thankful for that as it was driving me crazy Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9400
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 28 Sep 2017, 05:12    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
BarryK wrote:
belham2 wrote:
Also, another issue, trying to run the remaster from a 'frugal" Easy install---fails every time. After you set things up, configure boot-specs and all, you'll get this message every boot:[/i]

Code:
:   
cp: can't stat /q_ro/q.sfs/etc/DISTRO_SPECS:  No such file or directory
/init: .: line 235: can't open '/q_ro/q_sfs/etc/DISTRO_SPECS'


Looked and realized when you remaster from a running 'frugal' install that you've already setup, the remaster script takes the ".../etc/...." above and DOES NOT rename it to "..../er-etc/......which exists after remastering. Even if I rename it in the init script, which I did, boot still fails at near same point."


Thanks for that report. I found a few bugs in the easy-remaster script, fixed. I did a test remaster, created a new q.sfs, and it works.



Hi Barry,

Thanks for all the fixes. I'll give the 'remaster" another try tonight and/or tomorrow.

Can i ask you a favor? Will you set up a test "frugal" install of Easy, then do the following:

1) Update PPM

2) and download/install latest Firefox

3) Open it up and play with it for a minute

(then the critical part)

4) open up "Easy Container Management" from Menu

5) create a Container for "Firefox"

6) watch it create the said container

7) but then try to find some way to launch it from the "ec-chroot friefox.dekstop" that Easy Container Management created.



I must be doing something terribly wrong Embarassed . I can't get anything to launch, created with Easy Container Management, in any of my 'frugal' installs of Easy 0.4. I had to "manually" copy everything (firefox-related) over from the non-container side into the 'Firefox" Container itself. Why? Well, even though Easy Container Management created the Firefox container, it is/was nowhere to be found in the Container itself. Crying or Very sad I even had to create my own symlink from the Container back to the non-Container desktop so Firefox would lauch from the Container (or at least that's what I hope is happening).


P.S. Substitutng Firefox, though, for Seamonkey in my 'frugal' installs (have 3 going on different USBs) has solved all the weirdness I was reporting from Seamonkey. I'm thankful for that as it was driving me crazy Wink


Trying to reply from my phone... Not easy.

Test the remaster after i have uploaded Easy 0.5, in a few days.

I have relatives visiting, until Sunday, so can' t sit at my computer all day! So 0.5 might be delayed a little bit.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5524
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 28 Sep 2017, 17:35    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:

don570 wrote:
Also I find Easy crashes when I try to move a Rox Filer window
using the window menu and selecting 'Move'


I have done that lots of times, no problem.

Just tried it now on the Mele PCG35 mini-PC (my new toy), works ok.


My intel graphics is probably different than yours,
because Easy .4 is the first Easy distro that I could boot all the way
to a desktop.

It probably is a bug with Xorg.


video report:

Intel Corporation 82945G/GZ Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
oem: Intel(r) 82945G Chipset Family Graphics Chip Accelerated VGA BIOS
product: Intel(r) 82945G Chipset Family Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5547
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 29 Sep 2017, 02:51    Post subject:  

Quote:
Easy .4 is the first Easy distro that I could boot all the way
to a desktop.

It probably is a bug with Xorg.


Miracles sometimes happen. I found one of my many machines that would boot an Easy, ie 0.4, too. It is an old 754 ECS board with SiS chipset (fairly rare?) and an even older Hannspree monitor.
Frankly, I think BK is barking up the wrong tree. Too clever by half. Easy is anything but easy. Writing elaborate HowTo belies that fact. K.I.S.S. (nearly) always prevails. There is now one single exception. I tumbled on the latest Knoppix 8.1 released yesterday (cf. Distrowatch http://distrowatch.com/index.php?dataspan=1). It uses a composite .iso format that can be burnt to anything and/or wirtten directly to USB or SD using dd or ImageWriter, which, contrary to urban myth is available, gratis, for Linux (at least, it works in Mint). Knoppix is B-I-G, though, kitchen sink job, hours to burn, but works OOTB.The problem with free stuff and retirees like BK and YT, we are free to follow whatever turns us on(/off). When users encounter something as convoluted as Easy with pages of explanation, all the users I know run for the hills - and it doesn't do my reputation any favours, either, if I recommend.
Right now, BK's exceptional talents are urgently required to get Fatdog, Slacko and a couple of other offshoots perfected. On the other hand, one understands that he doesn't want to do that for whatever reasons, including his drive to move on. Perhaps a return to RPi projects might prove more productive? There's a whole bundle of mobiles out there waiting for a genius to pop a Puppy/w.h.y. onto them and explain how to crack them. And, just in case, I know my views as a mere user are not shared in all quarters, so spare the nay-saying, please.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9400
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 29 Sep 2017, 08:32    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:

one flaw (see image)
There is no home folder

Code:
cd /mnt/home


and Samba has been set up by default to use /mnt/home


Thanks. I have fixed Samba Simple Management to use /file for Quirky builds, and /mnt/wkg/home for Easy builds.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9400
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 29 Sep 2017, 08:43    Post subject: Re: Easy Linux 0.4 pre-alpha, released Aug 27, 2017  

ETP wrote:

1. Change of wallpaper does not survive a restart of X.


I know why that is happening, it should be fixed in upcoming 0.5.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1743

PostPosted: Fri 29 Sep 2017, 13:20    Post subject: Re: Easy Linux 0.4 pre-alpha, released Aug 27, 2017  

BarryK wrote:
ETP wrote:

1. Change of wallpaper does not survive a restart of X.


I know why that is happening, it should be fixed in upcoming 0.5.



Barry,

I give up. Ala' Clint Eastwood, I tried 'every which way but loose' at getting anything....I mean anything (not already included in Easy by you) to set up in a Container using a 'frugal' install. It just ain't possible, lol. No matter if you use PPM, and install it, or set up an sfs to load, you can set the Container up for it, Easy seems to do it easily, but nothing will run. I've tried Firefox (many different versions), I've tried Palemoon, I've tried Lxterminal, I've tried........the list is too long to put here. Either I'm dumb as a rock, or it just isn't possible in current versions of Easy when running 'frugal'. Now, in a full install to a USB, I can set up whatever my heart desires in a Container from anything I load and/or install. In frugal? As Scotty would say to the Captain: 'It ain't happening, mate, the warp drive is bloody-offline" Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9400
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 29 Sep 2017, 19:34    Post subject: Re: Easy Linux 0.4 pre-alpha, released Aug 27, 2017  

ETP wrote:
10. ListDD-2.0 was installed and used for a system check that revealed the following missing libs:
Code:
 Easy OS-0.4
Wed 30 Aug 10:52:05 BST 2017

Scanned Dirs: /bin /sbin /usr/bin /usr/sbin /usr/local/bin /usr/libexec /usr/games /lib /usr/lib /usr/local/lib

Scanned Binary Files: 5473

If detected, missing dependencies are listed here:

/usr/lib/bluetooth/obexd
   libebook-1.2.so.16 => not found

/usr/lib/hiawatha/libmbedtls.so.2.4.2
   libmbedx509.so.0 => not found
   libmbedcrypto.so.0 => not found

/usr/lib/hiawatha/libmbedx509.so.2.4.2
   libmbedcrypto.so.0 => not found



Thanks, fixed

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1202
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 30 Sep 2017, 16:50    Post subject: Re: Easy Linux 0.4 pre-alpha, released Aug 27, 2017  

Hi Barry,

To return to the topic of getflash you wrote in another thread:

Quote:
Posted: Sat 15 Jul 2017, 05:48 Post subject:
Sailor Enceladus wrote:
@jss83: This is the one I'm using. It has Geoffrey's fix in it. edit: Actually, the one jplt_bis posted works for me too.


Thanks for that, I will put it into Quirky.

Note, 'pet.specs' can be improved a bit:

getflash-1.7-1|getflash|1.7-1||Internet|56K||getflash-1.7-1.pet|+gtkdialog,+xdialog|download adobe flash player||||


The script references Xdialog rather than xdialog which may just be a typo. You may also want to check /usr/bin/
to confirm that you have the binary named as Xdialog.

_________________
Regards ETP

Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9400
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 30 Sep 2017, 19:05    Post subject: Re: Easy Linux 0.4 pre-alpha, released Aug 27, 2017  

ETP wrote:
Hi Barry,

To return to the topic of getflash you wrote in another thread:

Quote:
Posted: Sat 15 Jul 2017, 05:48 Post subject:
Sailor Enceladus wrote:
@jss83: This is the one I'm using. It has Geoffrey's fix in it. edit: Actually, the one jplt_bis posted works for me too.


Thanks for that, I will put it into Quirky.

Note, 'pet.specs' can be improved a bit:

getflash-1.7-1|getflash|1.7-1||Internet|56K||getflash-1.7-1.pet|+gtkdialog,+xdialog|download adobe flash player||||


The script references Xdialog rather than xdialog which may just be a typo. You may also want to check /usr/bin/
to confirm that you have the binary named as Xdialog.


getflash is fixed, and Easy does have Xdialog.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9400
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 30 Sep 2017, 19:29    Post subject:  

pupmate wrote:
Eventually managed to get Easy 0.4 to run frugally on my MrChromebox.tech modified hp chromebox using external drive (essentially now a dual boot chromebox/pc but with messy bootup ctl-L esc 2), by following Barry's instructions to edit BOOT_SPECS file.

Tried to install RCRSN51's hplip_print_fd600_3.14.4.pet to get my ENVY4500 all-in-one to work, but when tried test print using edit prog it helpfully told me it couldn't find a file /usr/lib/cups/filter/hpcups.
After a lot of searching and reading, found file in hidden .session directory, but as .session/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/cups/filter/hpcups.
Copied cups directory out to /usr/lib directory so file now .session/usr/lib/cups/filter/hpcups and BINGO! printing now works after restart.
Now tried to get scanning to work with RCRSN51's hplip_scan_fd600_3.14.4.pet. Similarly to the above, had to make peasyscan directory in .session/usr/local/ and then config directory within this, then config.cfg file within .session/usr/local/peasyscan/config/ and BINGO! scanning works after restart.

Just my 2 pennyworth of contribution for anyone interested.

Terry


Where is this PET? I can't find it.

The PET is probably installing to /usr/lib64/cups/filter/hpcups, which ends up in /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/cups/filter/hpcups when installed.

It is probably designed to work in Slacko. If you look at the Ubuntu pkgs, for example 'cups-filters':

https://packages.ubuntu.com/xenial/amd64/cups-filters/filelist

The filters are in /usr/lib/cups

The hplip PET should have a post-install script that detects the correct path and moves the files.

Alternatively, you could put a symlink:

# ln -s ../cups /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/cups

EDIT
Or, you could install the Ubuntu HP printing DEBs. In the PPM, search for "printer-driver-hpcups" and also "hplip".

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 172 [2578 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, ..., 170, 171, 172 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.3413s ][ Queries: 12 (0.1696s) ][ GZIP on ]