Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 29 Jan 2020, 02:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
EasyOS Buster 2.2.5, January 22, 2020
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 135 of 151 [2253 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 133, 134, 135, 136, 137, ..., 149, 150, 151 Next
Author Message
ras

Joined: 30 Oct 2019
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu 05 Dec 2019, 23:05    Post subject: sfs easy
Subject description: installing a sfs with sfsget
 

Hi Barry
Got it working as an individual container on the main desktop finally. When I looked inside my sfs at /usr/sbin/ec-chroot-<name of app>. I found
Code:
empty -f ec-chroot palemoon  ec-chroot palemoon

not sure how that snuck in there as I had never edited the file before, but I had run dir2sfs on the build directory with some dubious settings prior. I also noticed the absence of a link to the executable in /usr/bin, and added it for good measure. Not sure which did the trick, and am not even sure that a link in /usr/bin is necessary. ( I peeked into your firefox.sfs for guidance).

Just a small observation:
I guess it is obvious to most users of sfsget, that once you down load a sfs, and then click on a sfs in the window, the sfsget package installer morphs into the install mode and offers you the button to install.
In the case of a sfs manually placed into /mnt/wkg/sfs/easyos/debian/buster, a broken sfs can be seen in the window, but a click on it can give no response. Seems that once the sfs is constructed better, the morphing of the gui and appearance of the install button happens. In the paragraph Install Mode, an instruction to click on your sfs in the window and some information as to what is supposed to happen next would be useful, as I was not aware sfsget was supposed to morph and not sure how to proceed.

Thanks for your help

_________________
RAS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
blgs

Joined: 07 Dec 2018
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sat 07 Dec 2019, 05:42    Post subject: kernel headers  

Please include also the appropriate kernel-headers as a pet or sfs file in Easy os.
Currently only kernel-headers version 4.19.06 is available (as a pet)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9182
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 07 Dec 2019, 22:35    Post subject: Re: kernel headers  

blgs wrote:
Please include also the appropriate kernel-headers as a pet or sfs file in Easy os.
Currently only kernel-headers version 4.19.06 is available (as a pet)


It is correct to have the 4.19.x kernel headers in the devx, as that is the kernel version that Debian 10 Buster was compiled for.

So, Easy Buster should really only be built with a 4.19.x kernel, as I think BusterPup and other Puppy Busters are doing.

But I want later kernels, for their new features. This does create a potential problem, as if use a matching headers pet, it may conflict with glibc, as scsijon has found.

Usually, the 4.19.x headers are fine when compiling in Easy with a later kernel.

Anyway, I plan to release next Easy with 5.4.2 kernel, and will include the headers pet in the repo.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9182
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 07 Dec 2019, 22:38    Post subject: Re: sfs easy
Subject description: installing a sfs with sfsget
 

ras wrote:
Just a small observation:
I guess it is obvious to most users of sfsget, that once you down load a sfs, and then click on a sfs in the window, the sfsget package installer morphs into the install mode and offers you the button to install.
In the case of a sfs manually placed into /mnt/wkg/sfs/easyos/debian/buster, a broken sfs can be seen in the window, but a click on it can give no response. Seems that once the sfs is constructed better, the morphing of the gui and appearance of the install button happens. In the paragraph Install Mode, an instruction to click on your sfs in the window and some information as to what is supposed to happen next would be useful, as I was not aware sfsget was supposed to morph and not sure how to proceed.


Yes, I know, there is a need to make this more logical. But, might target this for release-after-next.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9182
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 08 Dec 2019, 06:08    Post subject:  

Bit of a quandary what to do about the 5.4.x kernel. I want the "lockdown" feaure, but audio is broken on my Apollo Lake CPU laptop, but does work on my Intel i5 CPU PC.

I don't know how many people are going to be affected.

Want to move ahead, get out the next releases. So maybe will do two builds, with 5.4.2 kernel and with an older kernel. People can try the build with 5.4.2 kernel, if no sound, they can use the other one.

Not very satisfactory though.

Blog post:

https://bkhome.org/news/201912/audio-fix-for-54x-kernel.html

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9182
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2019, 09:28    Post subject:  

Easy Pyro 1.2.9 and 1.2.9.1 released:

https://bkhome.org/news/201912/easy-pyro-versions-129-and-1291-released.html

Easy Buster 2.1.9 and 2.1.9.1 released:

https://bkhome.org/news/201912/easy-buster-219-and-2191-released.html

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1956
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2019, 15:06    Post subject:  

Testing EasyOS 2.1.9.1 on SanDisk Ultra USB3.0, with wired ethernet connection.

1. Xerrs.log repeatedly appends:
/usr/local/pup_event/netchg: script entered
[Appears to be a debug leftover.]

2. Although xerrs.log contains:
Playing Sparc Audio '/usr/share/audio/2barks.au' : Mu-Law, Rate 8000 Hz, Mono
and no error messages, when I run 2barks it shows an error:
# /usr/share/audio/2barks.au
bash: /usr/share/audio/2barks.au: cannot execute binary file: Exec format error

From PupSysInfo:
Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller [8086:284b] (rev 02)
• Kernel Driver: snd_hda_intel
• Memory Used: 32.00 KB
• Path: /lib/modules/5.4.2/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-intel.ko
• Description: Intel HDA driver
and:
!!Sound Servers on this system
!!----------------------------
No sound servers found.
!!Soundcards recognised by ALSA
!!-----------------------------
0 [Intel ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
HDA Intel at 0xdffdc000 irq 29

3. In PupControl panel, I selected Hardware > Sound Setup > Single card, which logged:
sh: alsawizard: command not found

HTH


My PC:
PC Manufacturer: Dell Inc.
Product Name: Dell DXP061

Motherboard Vendor: Dell Inc.
Product Name: 0WG855

BIOS Vendor: Dell Inc.
Version: 2.1.2
Release Date: 12/01/2006

Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6600 @ 2.40GHz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1565
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2019, 22:42    Post subject:  

Downloading Pyro 1.2.9.1 now to try,

However the reason for the message is that I came across 'proot' the other day https://proot-me.github.io/, ?interesting, get a copy of the current and compile it yourself, that's what everone seems to be doing, the prebuilt are years out of date. Also if you scroll down to the Rootfs tag on the page, it has a link to containers.org's multi bases images, I wonder if they would work with your EasyOS System using a proot container of course to switch with?

EDIT: and I wonder if there is the possability of having Permanent and separate Temporary Containers. Permanent exist in their own savefile and don't loose parts until deliberately deleted, Temporary are 'cleaned out' when closed.

Last edited by scsijon on Tue 10 Dec 2019, 01:30; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rwishlaw

Joined: 02 Apr 2009
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2019, 23:05    Post subject:  

rwishlaw wrote:
BarryK wrote:
Ha ha, two weeks is long enough, new versions Pyro 1.2.8 and Buster 2.1.8:

https://bkhome.org/news/201911/easy-pyro-128-and-buster-218-released.html

The same changes in both of these releases, see release notes.

The next release? I'm hanging out for the 5.4 kernel, to make use of the new "lockdown" security feature. Will probably aim for the next releases of Pyro and Buster when the 5.4.1 kernel is available.


Radeon 580 Video card.

USB Buster 2.1.8 O.K.

USB and ISO Pyro 1.2.8 will not start X.

Same kernel? vmlinuz are different sizes on Buster and Pyro.

This problem is way above my pay scale.


USB install Pyro (EasyOS 1.2.9.1) has eliminated the above problem. I am assuming that the ISO will work as well.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9182
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 10 Dec 2019, 01:31    Post subject:  

I found why sound was not working on my laptop with 5.4 kernel:

https://bkhome.org/news/201912/sound-fix-for-54-kernel-on-apollo-lake.html

If you are running 2.1.9.1 or 1.2.9.1, with 5.4.2 or 5.4.1 kernels, and sound doesn't work, and it is Intel audio, then run "lspci -nnk" to see what kernel module has claimed control of the audio.

In my case, it was 'snd_soc_skl', and I went to /lib/modules/5.4.2/kernel/sound/soc/intel/skylake, and renamed snd-soc-skl.ko to HIDEsnd-soc-skl.koHIDE -- renamed the other one also, but don't think that is really the cause.

Note, blacklisting snd_soc_skl doesn't work. Don't know why.

Then ran "depmod" and rebooted, and sound works. Let me know if that fix works for you.

Note, I am planning to upload major releases, Buster 2.2 and Pyro 1.3, either by xmas or the new year, for announcement on distrowatch. It will use the 5.4.3, or later kernel.

Between now and then, plan to write some more docs, and of course fix any bugs discovered, and there are some things that need improving.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9182
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 10 Dec 2019, 01:46    Post subject:  

scsijon wrote:
Downloading Pyro 1.2.9.1 now to try,

However the reason for the message is that I came across 'proot' the other day https://proot-me.github.io/, ?interesting, get a copy of the current and compile it yourself, that's what everone seems to be doing, the prebuilt are years out of date. Also if you scroll down to the Rootfs tag on the page, it has a link to containers.org's multi bases images, I wonder if they would work with your EasyOS System using a proot container of course to switch with?


EasyOS uses 'pflask' which is a very sophisticated and elegantly-implemented secure chroot system:

https://bkhome.org/news/201809/pflask-chroot-on-steroids.html

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vabene

Joined: 12 Oct 2019
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue 10 Dec 2019, 05:59    Post subject: touchscreen
Subject description: does not work automatically
 

Hi Barry,
til the kernel 4.xx my big touchscreen - lenovo yoga home - works perfect. Since the kernel-version 5,xx it does not start automatically. the touchscreen-program does not work for me, because it hangs after the first point.
but all necessary modules are there and i found a solution: when i type in the console
- "modprobe hid-multitouch.ko" and
- "insmod /lib/modules/5.4.1/kernel/drivers/hid/hid-multitouch.ko"
(or "modprobe hid-multitouch.ko & insmod /lib/modules/5.4.1/kernel/drivers/hid/hid-multitouch.ko" )
my touchscreen (and the calibrate-touchscreen-program) works again perfect - but not automatically. I have to do the modprobe and the insmod at each booting. is there an chance to get back the auto-calibration for touchscreens?
I wrote this from the new easy pyro 1.2.9.1
vabene
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
blgs

Joined: 07 Dec 2018
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Tue 10 Dec 2019, 14:11    Post subject: boot message error during "Copy session to RAM"  

An error boot message occurs during "Copy session to RAM & disable drives"

See attachment for screen picture.
image0.jpeg
Description 
jpeg

 Download 
Filename  image0.jpeg 
Filesize  106.46 KB 
Downloaded  34 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9182
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 10 Dec 2019, 19:34    Post subject: Re: touchscreen
Subject description: does not work automatically
 

vabene wrote:
Hi Barry,
til the kernel 4.xx my big touchscreen - lenovo yoga home - works perfect. Since the kernel-version 5,xx it does not start automatically. the touchscreen-program does not work for me, because it hangs after the first point.
but all necessary modules are there and i found a solution: when i type in the console
- "modprobe hid-multitouch.ko" and
- "insmod /lib/modules/5.4.1/kernel/drivers/hid/hid-multitouch.ko"
(or "modprobe hid-multitouch.ko & insmod /lib/modules/5.4.1/kernel/drivers/hid/hid-multitouch.ko" )
my touchscreen (and the calibrate-touchscreen-program) works again perfect - but not automatically. I have to do the modprobe and the insmod at each booting. is there an chance to get back the auto-calibration for touchscreens?
I wrote this from the new easy pyro 1.2.9.1
vabene


You shouldn't have to run both of those, "modprobe hid-multitouch" will do it (without the ".ko")

I don't know about getting it back automatically. You could put it into /etc/rc.d/rc.local, so it will be retained when you upgrade to later versions.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9182
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 10 Dec 2019, 19:40    Post subject: Re: boot message error during "Copy session to RAM"  

blgs wrote:
An error boot message occurs during "Copy session to RAM & disable drives"

See attachment for screen picture.


Ah yes, that is a non-fatal, just information message. I have appended "2>/dev/null" on that line, to suppress the error message.

Thanks for the report.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 135 of 151 [2253 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 133, 134, 135, 136, 137, ..., 149, 150, 151 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0638s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0041s) ][ GZIP on ]