Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Feb 2020, 23:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
EasyOS version 2.2.11, February 21, 2020
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 147 of 156 [2326 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 145, 146, 147, 148, 149, ..., 154, 155, 156 Next
Author Message
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 837

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jan 2020, 20:07    Post subject:  

here is my output:

I am trying to get Easy OS to recognize and use the microphone on the Microsoft LX2000 usb webcam which has the product id: 045e:0761 Microsoft Corp which you see listed

[b]lsusb output[/b]

Bus 002 Device 002: ID 045e:0761 Microsoft Corp.
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 008 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 007 Device 002: ID 413c:2107 Dell Computer Corp.
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0781:55a5 SanDisk Corp.
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 002: ID 046d:c52f Logitech, Inc. Unifying Receiver
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
[b]
lspci output
[/b]
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82Q35 Express DRAM Controller (rev 02)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82Q35 Express PCI Express Root Port (rev 02)
00:03.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 82Q35 Express MEI Controller (rev 02)
00:03.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82Q35 Express PT IDER Controller (rev 02)
00:03.3 Serial controller: Intel Corporation 82Q35 Express Serial KT Controller (rev 02)
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82566DM-2 Gigabit Network Connection (rev 02)
00:1a.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1a.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 02)
00:1a.2 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #6 (rev 02)
00:1a.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 02)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 02)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 5 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev 92)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801IO (ICH9DO) LPC Interface Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801IR/IO/IH (ICH9R/DO/DH) 4 port SATA Controller [IDE mode] (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.5 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) 2 port SATA Controller [IDE mode] (rev 02)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF108 [GeForce GT 430] (rev a1)
01:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation GF108 High Definition Audio Controller (rev a1)
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 09)
04:00.0 IDE interface: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88SE6101/6102 single-port PATA133 interface (rev b2)
07:03.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): LSI Corporation FW322/323 [TrueFire] 1394a Controller (rev 70)

[b]aplay output[/b]
null
Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
jack
JACK Audio Connection Kit

This is an old Vista box circa 2007 which works fine otherwise.

pulse
PulseAudio Sound Server
default:CARD=Intel
HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
Default Audio Device
sysdefault:CARD=Intel
HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
Default Audio Device
front:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
Front speakers
surround21:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
2.1 Surround output to Front and Subwoofer speakers
surround40:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
dmix:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
Direct sample mixing device
dsnoop:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
Direct sample snooping device
hw:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
Direct hardware device without any conversions
plughw:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
HDA Intel, ALC268 Analog
Hardware device with all software conversions
usbstream:CARD=Intel
HDA Intel
USB Stream Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=1
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=2
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
HDMI Audio Output
dmix:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
Direct sample mixing device
dmix:CARD=NVidia,DEV=7
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
Direct sample mixing device
dmix:CARD=NVidia,DEV=8
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
Direct sample mixing device
dmix:CARD=NVidia,DEV=9
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
Direct sample mixing device
dsnoop:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
Direct sample snooping device
dsnoop:CARD=NVidia,DEV=7
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
Direct sample snooping device
dsnoop:CARD=NVidia,DEV=8
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
Direct sample snooping device
dsnoop:CARD=NVidia,DEV=9
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
Direct sample snooping device
hw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
Direct hardware device without any conversions
hw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=7
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
Direct hardware device without any conversions
hw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=8
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
Direct hardware device without any conversions
hw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=9
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
Direct hardware device without any conversions
plughw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
Hardware device with all software conversions
plughw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=7
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
Hardware device with all software conversions
plughw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=8
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
Hardware device with all software conversions
plughw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=9
HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
Hardware device with all software conversions
usbstream:CARD=NVidia
HDA NVidia
USB Stream Output
usbstream:CARD=VX2000
Microsoft® LifeCam VX-2000
USB Stream Output
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9237
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jan 2020, 20:32    Post subject:  

@ndujoe1
Would you mind running them exactly like this:

Code:
# aplay -l | grep '^card '   

# lspci -d ::0403


Because this is how they are currently run in my script, and I need to see exactly what output you get. Thanks for your patience!

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 837

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jan 2020, 20:40    Post subject:  

no problem, thanks to you for your knowledge and all of your work improving things, thinking outside of the box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 837

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jan 2020, 20:47    Post subject:  

here is the output per your instructions:

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC268 Analog [ALC268 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 02)
01:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation GF108 High Definition Audio Controller (rev a1)

Note that the Microsoft Lifecam VX2000 not in the second output.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
williams2

Joined: 14 Dec 2018
Posts: 274

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jan 2020, 20:59    Post subject:  

Code:
# aplay -l | grep '^card '
card 0: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
card 1: Generic_1 [HD-Audio Generic], device 0: ALC269VC Analog [ALC269VC Analog]
# lspci -d ::0403
00:01.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Wrestler HDMI Audio
00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH Azalia Controller (rev 01)
#

Running BionicPup64.

I think you can create software cards in /etc/asound.conf
which can change the card numbers.
I don't know whether that could change the order of the "hardware" cards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3710
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jan 2020, 21:05    Post subject: EasyOS Pyro 1.3, Buster 2.2,3 December 27, 2019  

I have easy 2.2.3 installed on my HP desktop, I did that a couple of days
ago, there were 2 bluetooth icons in the panel.
I added an amd radeon card some time ago (years), original was intel graphics.
Today I chose the "exit to command line" menu option and then ran xorgwizard,
chose the proper resolution,and the radeon driver, exited and did "xwin jwm" to
get back to the desktop.

I never notice any change until this current session a few hours later but
there is only 1 bluetooth icon showing in the panel now.

Computer
Processor 2x Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E4500 @ 2.20GHz
Memory 4039MB (276MB used)
Machine Type Physical machine
Operating System

OpenGL
Vendor X.Org
Renderer AMD OLAND (DRM 2.50.0, 5.4.10, LLVM 7.0.1)
Version 4.5 (Compatibility Profile) Mesa 18.3.6
Direct Rendering Y_es


Edit:

I disabled the amd card in the bios, unplugged the hdmi cable, connected the
vga cable to the built in graphics port and rebooted, 2 bluetooth icons showing.
I exited to the prompt and ran xorgwizard, it displayed a message saying
"you have 2 graphics cards,which one do you want to use",chose intel and it
tested ok, did "xwin jwm" back to the desktop, only 1 bluetooth icon again.

OpenGL
Vendor Intel Open Source Technology Center
Renderer Mesa DRI Intel(R) G33
Version 2.1 Mesa 18.3.6
Direct Rendering Y_es

Edit:

Next time I booted I had to run xorgwizard again to get intel so I shut down and removed the amd card from the computer.
Plugged the drive into another computer and did a new install.
Back in the older HP and have setup bluetooth again,screenshot shows it's back to 2 bluetooth icons in the panel again!

Egad, I also dual boot the latest Mint and PClinuxOS on this HP and bluetooth works okay on those.
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   94.22 KB
 Viewed   402 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

panel.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   4.15 KB
 Viewed   484 Time(s)

panel.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Tue 14 Jan 2020, 06:48; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 729
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jan 2020, 22:59    Post subject: Re: EasyOS Pyro 1.3, Buster 2.2,3 December 27, 2019  

Billtoo wrote:

I never notice any change until this current session a few hours later but
there is only 1 bluetooth icon showing in the panel now.



My 2.2.3 installation on my Dell Laptop with i3-5200U had 2 bluetooth icons, then yesterday it had 1 for a while, then after a reboot it had 2 again. Crying or Very sad

On the next release I will do a new easydd install rather than manual upgrade, to not carry over any issues which may effect functionality.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3455
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jan 2020, 03:58    Post subject:  

williams2 wrote:
I think you can create software cards in /etc/asound.conf
which can change the card numbers.
I don't know whether that could change the order of the "hardware" cards.
You can. But you can't do it with /etc/asound.conf. You need to do it with /etc/modprobe.conf because the order is set at module-load time (i.e, at boot time).

Here is mine:
Code:
# lspci -d ::0403
04:00.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Device 15de
04:00.6 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device 15e3
# aplay -l | grep '^card '
card 0: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 0: ALC255 Analog [ALC255 Analog]
card 1: HDMI [HD-Audio Generic], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]

Without anything, I will get HDMI as the 'card 0' and the analog soundcard as 'card 1', which is no good because I don't have a TV connected to my HDMI port.
To swap it, this is what I use in /etc/modprobe.conf.d/swap-card.conf:
Code:
options snd-hda-intel id=HDMI index=1

_________________
Fatdog64 forum links: Latest version | Contributed packages | ISO builder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9237
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jan 2020, 06:51    Post subject:  

ndujoe1 wrote:
here is the output per your instructions:

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC268 Analog [ALC268 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 02)
01:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation GF108 High Definition Audio Controller (rev a1)

Note that the Microsoft Lifecam VX2000 not in the second output.


Ah yes, NVIDIA. Is it a PCI card? I am wondering about the NVIDIA audio, how does that work? -- I mean, is there 3.5mm audio socket on the NVIDIA card, or is the audio intended to go to speakers on the monitor?
...I don't know anything about NVIDIA audio, hence these basic questions!

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9237
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jan 2020, 06:53    Post subject: Re: EasyOS Pyro 1.3, Buster 2.2,3 December 27, 2019  

Terry H wrote:
Billtoo wrote:

I never notice any change until this current session a few hours later but
there is only 1 bluetooth icon showing in the panel now.



My 2.2.3 installation on my Dell Laptop with i3-5200U had 2 bluetooth icons, then yesterday it had 1 for a while, then after a reboot it had 2 again. Crying or Very sad

On the next release I will do a new easydd install rather than manual upgrade, to not carry over any issues which may effect functionality.


Don't worry about it, I know why those two icons got launched, and it is fixed.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9237
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jan 2020, 06:57    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
williams2 wrote:
I think you can create software cards in /etc/asound.conf
which can change the card numbers.
I don't know whether that could change the order of the "hardware" cards.
You can. But you can't do it with /etc/asound.conf. You need to do it with /etc/modprobe.conf because the order is set at module-load time (i.e, at boot time).

Here is mine:
Code:
# lspci -d ::0403
04:00.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Device 15de
04:00.6 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device 15e3
# aplay -l | grep '^card '
card 0: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 0: ALC255 Analog [ALC255 Analog]
card 1: HDMI [HD-Audio Generic], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]

Without anything, I will get HDMI as the 'card 0' and the analog soundcard as 'card 1', which is no good because I don't have a TV connected to my HDMI port.
To swap it, this is what I use in /etc/modprobe.conf.d/swap-card.conf:
Code:
options snd-hda-intel id=HDMI index=1


Thanks, that fix is very useful to know. Perhaps that fix could be put in permanently, in woofQ.

_________________
https://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 837

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jan 2020, 07:57    Post subject:  

NVDIA sound

yes is it a PCI card, but I don't use the HDMI sound.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5492
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jan 2020, 13:59    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
I don't know anything about NVIDIA audio, hence these basic questions!


I have a nvidia gtx1030 card in PCIe bus and I run fatdog64 802
I have it connected to HDMI monitor but it has no audio speaker.

alsamixer output shows nvidia HDMI output as well as intel sound chip hw:0,
but if I choose nvidia sound output there is no sound but I haven't
properly checked with a TV.
So of course I choose the intel chip.


(But I've never checked it for HDMI sound using my TV, only my computer line-out and headphones)
Raspberry pi supports HDMI sound but it's an entirely different architecture.
So I play raspberry pi card sound on my TV.



By the way I also have nvidia video driver working with fatdog64 at same time for acceleration.

________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lvds


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 320
Location: Near the window

PostPosted: Wed 15 Jan 2020, 07:15    Post subject: XFCE desktop replacement  

Hi everyone,

Does anyone have a how-to document to replace the standard desktop with another one ? I'm trying to install XFCE and remove all the un-needed stuff but i'm quite lost in here. I hope to build a good looking build but I also want to get rid with the stuff not used anymore.

By the way is there a thread somewhere for EasyOS Buster derivatives builds like there are for puppy ?

Kind regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Auronius


Joined: 04 May 2018
Posts: 34
Location: Latvia

PostPosted: Wed 15 Jan 2020, 12:44    Post subject:  

Here is EasyOS website: https://easyos.org/
If you want Puppy with XFCE, why not to try this one first: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117201
It is Debian Buster compatible, just like EasyOS 2.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 147 of 156 [2326 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 145, 146, 147, 148, 149, ..., 154, 155, 156 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1333s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0312s) ][ GZIP on ]