Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Jun 2018, 00:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
EasyOS Pyro 0.9.3 (May 26), Beaver 0.9.2 (May 15), 2018
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 58 of 59 [883 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 56, 57, 58, 59 Next
Author Message
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5382
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jun 2018, 02:26    Post subject:  

Quote:
You might try viewing this one of Finnish organist
Kalevi Kiviniemi playing Widor's Toccata in Rouen Cathedral.

Or the composer himself - Utube. Biggest controversy in organworld! Dash for speed, Diane B, Dame Gillian for style, suppose the Yankie wiz kid's done it too...
But should you choose the Valkeri to walk down the isle?
Not wishing to blast into BK's masterpiece, but others are well over the topic already.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2366

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jun 2018, 09:14    Post subject:  

Copied the main (a working version of) /etc/X11/xorg.conf into the sh0 container.

Set sh0 container so all capability restrictions are set to false (full capabilities available inside the sh0 container).

Changed the sh0's ec-root code to not use urxvt - just straight command line execution of unshare.

Re-booting to command line (no X) and running ec-chroot sh0 has it enter to the sh0's /bin/sh command line.

Running xwin and X starts up OK ... showing the gui desktop + first run setup options. However both the keyboard and mouse are dead (even with the kernel sources sfs being loaded as part of the container). Any ideas as to how to get it running so the keyboard and mouse work? I tried various tweaks under /etc (udev rules etc.), so much so that I ended up duplicating the main systems /etc inside the container - still with no luck.

EDIT: Sorted it (I think). Need to create /run/udev inside the sh0 container and bind mount that. Then when reboot to command line (no X), ec-chroot sh0 ... to get to the containers root cli prompt, run xorgwizard and then xwin into a gui desktop where the mouse and keyboard work as expected Smile Posting this using seamonkey within that.

Currently I have it set such that the sh0 container root permissions are all as per standard root. Running X inside a unshare/capsh container however is a start towards limiting the capabilities of that 'root' and hence X server. Which is what I was looking to do from the offset (main root uses cli only, perhaps with some ncurses type controls to manage containers, run X inside a container for greater security, and perhaps run browser/web processes under reduced privileged userids.

Attached is with the PID unshared. Note in particular PID 0 when inside that container and how sdd1 and sdd2 aren't shown as mounted.
s.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   83.22 KB
 Viewed   370 Time(s)

s.jpg


Last edited by rufwoof on Tue 12 Jun 2018, 11:38; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rodney Byne

Joined: 31 Jan 2014
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jun 2018, 09:46    Post subject: All-browser Do Not Track conundrum  

rufwoof and all,

There is an issue that has puzzled me for a long time regarding
the Do Not Track feature on all browsers.

This may or may not be crucial in the bigger scheme of things,
but since Linux is now more concerned with security aspects
in the progress of Easy OS, I feel it deserves deeper scrutiny by skilled
forum people more involved in the fields of coding and development.

The web service company Panopticlick specialises in Do Not Track in
all web browsers, using an on-demand dedicated probe engine software.

If those interested wishing to try out this facility, there are two main versions
of each for both Firefox and Chrome/Chromium:
Panopticlick 2 URL : https://panopticlick.eff.org/

and Panopticlick 3 URL: https://panopticlick.eff.org/results?aat=1

An example of displayed items tested plus results are;
Is your browser blocking tracking ads? ⚠ partial protection

Is your browser blocking invisible trackers? ⚠ partial protection

Does your blocker stop trackers that are included in the so-called “acceptable ads” whitelist? ✗ no

Does your browser unblock 3rd parties that promise to honor Do Not Track? ✗ no

Does your browser protect from fingerprinting? ✗
your browser has a unique fingerprint

In the browser itself, even after those boxes in the privacy section
are ticked, the first two displayed results in the majority of cases tested
is a disappointing Partial Protection.
A rare good result, displays two green ticks.

To aid improvement, the web page recommends installing
the Privacy Badger Add-On to the Tools section.

Where I have seen a poor result, I tried installing Privacy Badger
and it made no difference whatever in a re-test.

Other Panopticlick pages explain in bewildering detail all
the pros and cons of other available browser Add-Ons,
plus I copy/pasted this gem to modify about:config

To turn on Tracking Protection in Firefox:

Type in about:config in the location bar and hit enter.
You'll see a warning about possibly voiding your warranty.
Hit “I'll be careful, I promise!” to continue.
Search for privacy.trackingprotection.enabled.
Double-click that to toggle the value to true.

I have also tried that tip, to no change in the test status.
Hence the conundrum, what else can be done to improve
Do Not Track for a successful probe test outcome
to improve overall security?

Ironically, I read somewhere that the more Add-Ons that are added,
the more browser scanning detail is revealed about your system to the
outside world - not a desirable thing for those paranoid about security.

There is crumb of comfort though using a Tor-Browser,
if you URL tracemyip.org, you would be most likely living
outside your own country!
Best regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2366

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jun 2018, 14:13    Post subject: Easy Pyro 0.9.4 run X in sh0 container  

Re dd created my MMC/SD and my notes for the fresh version to set it up to run X in the sh0 container ...

Code:
mkdir /mnt/sdd2/containers/sh0/run
mkdir /mnt/sdd2/containers/sh0/run/udev

/mnt/sdd1/syslinux.cfg
change
   default normal
to
   default nox
   
Edit the /mnt/sdd2/containers/sh0/configuration file and set all of the EC_CAP..
values to false, so it looks like ...

=========================================

#Information for setting up and running the container
#the "sh[0-9]" names are special, does not run an app, just opens a terminal in the container.

# Connect to Xorg by abstract socket or pipe.
# Former not work if Xorg started with '-nolisten local'.
# Piped socket will still work if '-nolisten tcp'
EC_XORG_SOCKET='abstract'

#For security, unshare these namespaces:
EC_NS_UNSHARE_MOUNT='false'
EC_NS_UNSHARE_UTS='false'
EC_NS_UNSHARE_IPC='false'
EC_NS_UNSHARE_NETWORK='false'
EC_NS_UNSHARE_PID='true'

#Clear environment variables, except some such as TERM and DISPLAY:
EC_UNSHARE_ENV_VARS='false'

#Drop these Linux capabilities:
EC_CAP_system='false'
EC_CAP_file='false'
EC_CAP_network='false'
EC_CAP_module='false'
EC_CAP_resource='false'
EC_CAP_mount='false'

#a good use for the "sh[0-9]" container is to compile source packages.
#for that download the appropriate "devx-*.sfs" file to match the current
#version of Easy. for example, put it into repository/easy-0.1.6
#then create an entry here, like this, with name of the devx sfs file:
#glob wildcard accepted, in fact, recommended for automatic version updating:
#EASY_LAYER_RO1='devx*.sfs'

=========================================   
Copy
    /usr/local/easy_containers/ec-chroot
to
    /mnt/sdd2/.session/usr/local/easy_containers/ec-chroot
i.e. top rw layer, and edit it ...
change
   urxvt -title ${EXE} -bg '#FFC0FF' -e unshare
to
   unshare
   
Also in that same /mnt/sdd2/.session/usr/local/easy_containers/ec-chroot file
add in a mount bind for /run/dev, so the relevant code block looks like ...
   
if [ "$EC_NS_UNSHARE_MOUNT" == "false" ];then
 if [ "$EC_NS_UNSHARE_PID" == "false" ];then
  busybox mount -o bind /proc ${CONTAINER}/proc
  busybox mount -o bind /sys ${CONTAINER}/sys #180506
 fi
 busybox mount -o bind /dev ${CONTAINER}/dev
 busybox mount -o bind /tmp ${CONTAINER}/tmp
 busybox mount -o bind /dev/pts ${CONTAINER}/dev/pts
 busybox mount -o bind /dev/shm ${CONTAINER}/dev/shm
 busybox mount -o bind /run/udev ${CONTAINER}/run/udev
fi

Now when reboot by default it boots to command line.
Run
    ec-chroot sh0
which loads/runs the sh0 container
Run
    xorgwizard
then
    xwin

Some functionality will not presently work as-is, such as creating/running containers, the default rox icon on the desktop ...etc. It's a work-in-progress.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2366

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jun 2018, 14:54    Post subject:  

@Barry

Now that sdd2 is encrypted, looks to me like rover cannot create files ... returns 'Required key not available' messages if you su - rover and then echo >lst

Fine if sdd2 isn't encrypted (no password entered when first run). For instance I now have X running in a container (sh0) and within that Firefox Quantum is running under user rover (with Oscar libs copied in, sound working OK as well).
s.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   59.44 KB
 Viewed   300 Time(s)

s.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2366

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jun 2018, 18:06    Post subject: sshfs  

sshfs working well.

SD/MMC booted, X run by root in sh0 container (firefox quantum set to run under userid rover). sshfs mounted our family (OpenBSD) server and rox shows the files/folders fine, music files play (very) well.

Handy - as the 2GB SD only has 380MB remaining free space.
s.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   54.56 KB
 Viewed   287 Time(s)

s.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mmzcaxe

Joined: 12 May 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jun 2018, 21:23    Post subject: Re: EasyOS Pyro 0.9.3 (May 26), Beaver 0.9.2 (May 15), 2018
Subject description: "Somewhat different" from other pups and Quirky
 

[quote="BarryK"]Easy Pyro (64-bit) 0.9.3
Released May 26, 2018

my notebook is thinkpad x201, Wireless network adapter is Intel(R) Centrino(R) Advanced-N 6200 AGN

i cant scan any wireless, what shoud i do ?

Last edited by mmzcaxe on Tue 12 Jun 2018, 21:30; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mmzcaxe

Joined: 12 May 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jun 2018, 21:23    Post subject: Re: EasyOS Pyro 0.9.3 (May 26), Beaver 0.9.2 (May 15), 2018
Subject description: "Somewhat different" from other pups and Quirky
 

[quote="mmzcaxe"]
BarryK wrote:
Easy Pyro (64-bit) 0.9.3
Released May 26, 2018

my notebook is thinkpad x201, Wireless network adapter is Intel(R) Centrino(R) Advanced-N 6200 AGN

i cant scan any wireless, what shoud i do ?
2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   60.78 KB
 Viewed   267 Time(s)

2.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mmzcaxe

Joined: 12 May 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jun 2018, 21:24    Post subject: Re: EasyOS Pyro 0.9.3 (May 26), Beaver 0.9.2 (May 15), 2018
Subject description: "Somewhat different" from other pups and Quirky
 

[quote="mmzcaxe"]
mmzcaxe wrote:
BarryK wrote:
Easy Pyro (64-bit) 0.9.3
Released May 26, 2018

my notebook is thinkpad x201, Wireless network adapter is Intel(R) Centrino(R) Advanced-N 6200 AGN

i cant scan any wireless, what shoud i do ?
0.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   52.19 KB
 Viewed   264 Time(s)

0.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mmzcaxe

Joined: 12 May 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jun 2018, 21:33    Post subject: Re: EasyOS Pyro 0.9.3 (May 26), Beaver 0.9.2 (May 15), 2018
Subject description: "Somewhat different" from other pups and Quirky
 

[quote="mmzcaxe"]
BarryK wrote:
Easy Pyro (64-bit) 0.9.3
Released May 26, 2018

my notebook is thinkpad x201, Wireless network adapter is Intel(R) Centrino(R) Advanced-N 6200 AGN

i cant scan any wireless, what shoud i do ?
3.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   35.46 KB
 Viewed   265 Time(s)

3.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3461
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jun 2018, 22:32    Post subject:  

I downloaded an alpha version of Nightly, it has updated once already so could be it updates nightly.

The version of Nightly in the installed pet is out of date but auto update doesn't work, would be more convenient if it did I think.
Nightly.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   50.17 KB
 Viewed   248 Time(s)

Nightly.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1520

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jun 2018, 03:56    Post subject:  

Billtoo wrote:
I downloaded an alpha version of Nightly, it has updated once already so could be it updates nightly.

The version of Nightly in the installed pet is out of date but auto update doesn't work, would be more convenient if it did I think.



Hi Billtoo,

Is this the link you downloaded the "latest" nightly from?

https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/62.0a1/releasenotes/

How do we "verify" this download? I cannot find the page that lists the sha256 or sha512 for "nightly" builds (I can find the SHAs for regular versions of Firefox, but....????



Thanks!


[Updated link: now looking for how to "verify" the Nightly downloads?? ]

Last edited by belham2 on Wed 13 Jun 2018, 04:14; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 458
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jun 2018, 04:05    Post subject: Intel(R) Centrino(R) Advanced-N 6200 AGN  

@mmzcaxe
Code:
dmesg
in console and look for something with 'wifi' in the output.
or do
Code:
dmesg | grep wifi
to get less output.
You should find something about iwlwifi-6000 for your gc. Look what versions your init/kernel is looking for and go google it on the internet. You must find it in the repo's of debian or ubuntu for sure.
Just drop it then in /lib/firmware/ and restart.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3461
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jun 2018, 12:55    Post subject:  

I downloaded spacefm-1.0.6.tar.gz from
https://github.com/IgnorantGuru/spacefm/releases and compiled it with
./configure --prefix=/usr --sysconfdir=/etc --localstatedir=/var
--libdir=/usr/lib64 --disable-video-thumbnails

make -j6
new2dir make install

Then installed the pet.

It created a couple of entries in the Utility section of the menu.

It's another multi-pane file manager (up to 4), has drag and drop from one pane
to the other,launches video files with the default video player, etc.

I'm not posting a pet anywhere but the above worked for me okay.
menu.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   94.93 KB
 Viewed   154 Time(s)

menu.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1172

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jun 2018, 21:21    Post subject:  

Yooooooooo ! I am back, but slowly. Twisted Evil
EasyOS shows a black screen for me, I have an integrated radeon hdxxxx card and easy doesn't reckognize it.
I guess this is because some libLLVM is missing : same problem with older easy versions, missing llvm.
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 58 of 59 [883 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 56, 57, 58, 59 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1085s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0148s) ][ GZIP on ]