Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Mar 2017, 12:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Some files load into file system from SFS file, some don't
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [22 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 270
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Tue 21 Mar 2017, 15:13    Post subject:  Some files load into file system from SFS file, some don't  

Does anyone know why don't some files and directories load into the file system from an sfs?

Even if the file or directory doesn't exist, some files will not load into the file system.

I have a my.conf file that will not be loaded from the .sfs into the /etc/mysql directory. But another file in the folder in the .sfs will be loaded and unloaded. I hope for some insight! Thanks.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 1611
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 09:11    Post subject: post subject  

Not sure if this applies. The base SFS and the SaveFile/Folder have the highest priority. Files in any other SFS which conflict will be ignored. Know that's true if an SFS includes python when a different version of python is in the base or SaveFile/Folder.


mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 270
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 09:19    Post subject:  

That does apply! I see that what you describe is what is happening.
I can't find out where the copy of the my.conf is that is appearing and will not allow the sfs version to load. I experimented with unloading the sfs and removing the entire folder /etc/mysql...thinking the sfs version would load...no go. That I can't seem to get a grip on!

I am experimenting with fresh frugal installs of Tahr 6.0.5 and 6.0.6

your info is another step forward..thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 1915
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 10:06    Post subject:  

As you are using Tahr, the adrv and ydrv (which are sfs files) is supported. These sfs's have preference to the base sfs. So all you need to do, is to rename that sfs file that does not load correctly to the adrv or ydrv, eg adrv_tahr_6.0.5.sfs and place it in the same directory as your base sfs. It will be loaded automatically at bootup and just after the savefile (but before the base sfs).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 270
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 11:45    Post subject:  

OK!! That info is HUGE.
Excellent to know. I have built 1 SFS that loads a working Hiawatha v10.5 sever with MySQL PHP5 and phpmyadmin. And a 2nd SFS with ZoneMinder 1.30.2 which loaded next, will give a fully functional ZoneMinder CCTV camera system and Network Video Recorder.

I will test out loading the Hiawatha-mysql.sfs as adrv_Hiawatha-mysql.sfs at boot time.

perhaps as a PET with an installation script would work better for installing the web server / zoneminder components?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 270
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 12:35    Post subject:  

I tested and that will do it...some bugs but overall it worked. The install is some what cumbersome so I will attempt to specify a different my.conf location for the sfs version.
I found a /etc/mysql directory in the puppy_tahr_6.0.6.sfs and 6.0.5

The question now is WHY is there a /etc/mysql directory with a my.conf in the puppy_tahr_6.0.6.sfs to begin with????
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 270
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 13:17    Post subject:  

the solution was to move the location of the my.conf file in the SFS to /etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
drunkjedi


Joined: 24 May 2015
Posts: 646

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 13:20    Post subject:  

This wouldn't be a problem if Puppy loads extra .sfs files above base sfs layer, like fatdog.
See ftp://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/faqs/filesystem.html

What are the advantages of loading extra .sfs files below base sfs?

And if we want to load sfs above base sfs, do we only need to change sfs load script to act like fatdog's?
Or some magic of initrd is needed too?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 1915
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 13:23    Post subject:  

BTW - your adrv and ydrv must carry the name of your distribution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 1915
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 13:30    Post subject:  

drunkjedi wrote:
This wouldn't be a problem if Puppy loads extra .sfs files above base sfs layer, like fatdog.
See ftp://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/faqs/filesystem.html

What are the advantages of loading extra .sfs files below base sfs?

And if we want to load sfs above base sfs, do we only need to change sfs load script to act like fatdog's?
Or some magic of initrd is needed too?

Well, if you don't want an installed program to overwrite (take preference) to a file in the base sfs it should be loading below base sfs. In fact, this should probably be the preferred method for general applications. Think you will have to make changes to initrd to make it behave like fatdog.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drunkjedi


Joined: 24 May 2015
Posts: 646

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 13:45    Post subject:  

I can't think of any case where I would want base files to take preference over extra sfs I made.
As extra sfs is made with intention of changing/extending/improving base.
If a file in extra sfs is overwriting/causing trouble to base system in undesired way, we could easily unload extra sfs and make changes to it.

I think loading extra sfs over base should be the way the system behaves.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 1915
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 14:00    Post subject:  

And if you system crashes when unloading the SFS without having a chance to fix things?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drunkjedi


Joined: 24 May 2015
Posts: 646

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 14:27    Post subject:  

But that would be a problem with an faulty adrv I make too.
Anything I load over base sfs has potential to break puppy.
But it's the only way to upgrade without touching base sfs.
With using adrv I lose freedom of loading and unloading sfs when I need it.
And as adrv is loaded automatically, I have to boot in different, change adrv, then reboot.
Or use a Boot option to not load adrv, I don't remember if such exist ATM, will have to refresh my memory of boot options.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 1915
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 16:32    Post subject:  

Why? You can load and unload sfs's easily with an adrv running. I only use the adrv for general configuration settings. I do use a ydrv too which I use to load a few sfs's automatically at bootup. All other extra sfs's can easily be loaded by adding a script to /etc/rc.d/local for example or you can load during a session on the fly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 270
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 16:52    Post subject:  

I designed the sfs files for the LHMP and ZM servers to be loaded on the fly. With the thought of enhancing the base system with modifications. It would be cumbersome for users to install using the adrv_ and or ydrv_.
When both sfs files are removed the system is returned to it's default state.
What does a PET do when it loads?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [22 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0817s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0039s) ][ GZIP on ]