Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 21 Oct 2017, 06:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Can't use my HP Laserjet Pro 200. How to update hplip?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 4 [50 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11632
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 06 Apr 2017, 10:15    Post subject:  

I just checked this. The file turns from a gz file to a regular text file.

If that's not happening, you don't have a good download.

[Edit] Take the copy of hp-laserjet_200_colormfp_m276-ps.ppd.gz that you are downloading and attach it to your next post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LeithR

Joined: 24 Jan 2011
Posts: 226
Location: Kemnay, Aberdeenshire/Scotland

PostPosted: Thu 06 Apr 2017, 14:57    Post subject:  

You have suggested something that is beyond my ability.

How do I attach a copy of the file to a post please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11632
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 06 Apr 2017, 15:10    Post subject:  

At the bottom of the screen where you make a post, there are some buttons to select a file and attach it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LeithR

Joined: 24 Jan 2011
Posts: 226
Location: Kemnay, Aberdeenshire/Scotland

PostPosted: Thu 06 Apr 2017, 15:20    Post subject:  

Many thanks,
Here's my download.
hp-laserjet_200_colormfp_m276-ps.ppd.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  hp-laserjet_200_colormfp_m276-ps.ppd.gz 
Filesize  19.72 KB 
Downloaded  21 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11632
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 06 Apr 2017, 15:25    Post subject:  

I don't know what you are doing with this file. But when I click on it, it turns into a text file with a .ppd extension. This is correct.

But if you can't get that to work, just copy the .gz file into /usr/share/cups/model. Run the CUPS setup wizard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LeithR

Joined: 24 Jan 2011
Posts: 226
Location: Kemnay, Aberdeenshire/Scotland

PostPosted: Fri 07 Apr 2017, 03:49    Post subject:  

OK, I'll do that this morning when I go round to the shed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LeithR

Joined: 24 Jan 2011
Posts: 226
Location: Kemnay, Aberdeenshire/Scotland

PostPosted: Fri 07 Apr 2017, 06:36    Post subject:  

I think we are moving forward albeit slowly. I found the pinter in the list, not at the top of the list but just on it. I've selected it and set it up in cups. Tried a test print on usb connection without success.

I'm not going to be in the shed until Monday now. Ill pick up any of your messages over the weekend and act on them on Monday.

I appreciate your time and effort. Thanks for that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11632
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 07 Apr 2017, 07:30    Post subject:  

Using the same steps as I gave you, I ran some simulations and it worked. But that's not the same as having the physical printer.

I'm surprised that your model did not appear at the TOP of the list. That should happen if you have the correct matching PPD file.

Instead of printing a test page, print something from a word processor.

This printer would probably work if you were using a big-boy Linux with full HPLIP built-in.

I don't know where else to go with this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LeithR

Joined: 24 Jan 2011
Posts: 226
Location: Kemnay, Aberdeenshire/Scotland

PostPosted: Fri 07 Apr 2017, 08:04    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
I don't know where else to go with this.


Now thats something I never thought I'd hear you say after the many pages of your helpful comments I've read over the years!

I'll run further tests on Monday, thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LeithR

Joined: 24 Jan 2011
Posts: 226
Location: Kemnay, Aberdeenshire/Scotland

PostPosted: Mon 10 Apr 2017, 05:21    Post subject:  

Here's what I set up in CUPS. Its not working from a a LibreOffice document.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11632
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 10 Apr 2017, 05:32    Post subject:  

1. Open /etc/cups/cupsd.conf

2. Change "Loglevel info" to "Loglevel debug"

3. Run the command: /etc/init.d/cups restart

4. Print something.

5. Open /var/log/cups/error_log.

6. Start at the bottom, work up looking for error messages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LeithR

Joined: 24 Jan 2011
Posts: 226
Location: Kemnay, Aberdeenshire/Scotland

PostPosted: Mon 10 Apr 2017, 07:48    Post subject:  

Came up with this error
E [10/Apr/2017:12:20:51 +0100] [Job 39] Job stopped due to filter errors; please consult the error_log file for details.
These are the msgs afte the one above:
D [10/Apr/2017:12:20:51 +0100] PID 10326 (/usr/lib/cups/backend/usb) exited with no errors.
D [10/Apr/2017:12:20:51 +0100] [Job 39] Wrote 1 pages...
D [10/Apr/2017:12:20:51 +0100] [Job 39] PID 10334 (pstops) exited with no errors.
D [10/Apr/2017:12:20:51 +0100] [Job 39] PID 10333 (pdftops) exited with no errors.
D [10/Apr/2017:12:20:51 +0100] PID 10324 (/usr/lib/cups/filter/pdftops) exited with no errors.
D [10/Apr/2017:12:20:51 +0100] Discarding unused job-state-changed event...
E [10/Apr/2017:12:20:51 +0100] [Job 39] Job stopped due to filter errors; please consult the error_log file for details.
D [10/Apr/2017:12:20:51 +0100] cupsdMarkDirty(----J-)
D [10/Apr/2017:12:20:51 +0100] cupsdSetBusyState: newbusy="Printing jobs and dirty files", busy="Dirty files"
D [10/Apr/2017:12:20:51 +0100] cupsdSetBusyState: newbusy="Printing jobs and dirty files", busy="Printing jobs and dirty files"
D [10/Apr/2017:12:20:51 +0100] Discarding unused printer-state-changed event...
D [10/Apr/2017:12:20:51 +0100] [Job 39] The following messages were recorded from 12:20:50 to 12:20:50
D [10/Apr/2017:12:20:51 +0100] [Job 39] Printer found with device ID: MFG:Hewlett-Packard;CMD:PJL,PML,PCLXL,URP,PCL,PDF,POSTSCRIPT;MDL:HP LaserJet 200 colorMFP M276nw;CLS:PRINTER;DES:Hewlett-Packard LaserJet 200 colorMFP M276nw;MEM:MEM=230MB;COMMENT:RES=600x8;LEDMDIS:USB#ff#04#01;CID:HPLJPDLV1; Device URI: usb://HP/LaserJet%20200%20colorMFP%20M276nw?serial=CNF8GBXJW6&interface=1
D [10/Apr/2017:12:20:51 +0100] [Job 39] End of messages
D [10/Apr/2017:12:20:51 +0100] [Job 39] printer-state=3(idle)
D [10/Apr/2017:12:20:51 +0100] [Job 39] printer-state-message="Sending data to printer."
D [10/Apr/2017:12:20:51 +0100] [Job 39] printer-state-reasons=none
D [10/Apr/2017:12:20:52 +0100] [Job 39] Unloading...
I [10/Apr/2017:12:21:21 +0100] Saving job.cache...
D [10/Apr/2017:12:21:21 +0100] cupsdSetBusyState: newbusy="Not busy", busy="Printing jobs and dirty files"
D [10/Apr/2017:12:21:21 +0100] Report: clients=1
D [10/Apr/2017:12:21:21 +0100] Report: jobs=11
D [10/Apr/2017:12:21:21 +0100] Report: jobs-active=1
D [10/Apr/2017:12:21:21 +0100] Report: printers=4
D [10/Apr/2017:12:21:21 +0100] Report: printers-implicit=0
D [10/Apr/2017:12:21:21 +0100] Report: stringpool-string-count=28438
D [10/Apr/2017:12:21:21 +0100] Report: stringpool-alloc-bytes=14992
D [10/Apr/2017:12:21:21 +0100] Report: stringpool-total-bytes=539992


Here's what it says on CUPS after trying to print
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11632
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 10 Apr 2017, 08:01    Post subject:  

You need to go farther up and find the actual filter error.

Also, open a terminal and type the command: /usr/lib/cups/filter/hpps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LeithR

Joined: 24 Jan 2011
Posts: 226
Location: Kemnay, Aberdeenshire/Scotland

PostPosted: Mon 10 Apr 2017, 09:44    Post subject:  

I've been up and down the error log and can't find anything that indicates a filter error other than what I have already mentioned. s there anything specific that I should be looking for?

When I ran the command: /usr/lib/cups/filter/hpps it returned the msge
"env: can't execute 'python' No such file or directory"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11632
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 10 Apr 2017, 09:48    Post subject:  

Quote:
"env: can't execute 'python' No such file or directory"

See Step 2 from the list of instructions above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 [50 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0447s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0048s) ][ GZIP on ]