Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 22 Aug 2017, 20:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Which Flash Drive Best?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
laanan

PostPosted: Thu 30 Mar 2017, 13:25    Post subject:  Which Flash Drive Best?  

Hello!

I am new to Puppy, and I want to say that I am really liking the OS. I am currently running Slacko off a 2gb USB stick, and I still can't believe the difference in experience on this laptop as compared to Windows. I am using an Ausus laptop that was my wife's, and which has been a total piece of crap since we bought it (should have just returned it). Under Win 8.1 and 10 it runs as if it is about to die, and even just booting up is sketchy. I have run ever scan known to man on it, with no problems found. I decided it must be a lemon or whatever and bought my wife a new laptop. On a whim, I tried the Puppy live cd and was wowed. The thing is screaming fast.

So, anyhow, I finally got the damn click pad working, and I am still figuring out printing and psync (not synching, but I'll keep on trying), and. Ow I am thinking of using Puppy as my full time OS. I am wondering how most people are using Puppy. Are you all running it in RAM off USB sticks, or installing to
HDD? Or..?

For the USB stick, I am thinking of getting one with 64gb capacity. Just wondering if some are better than others. I see Sandisk 3.0 compatable ones for less than $20 bucks on Amazon....Anyhow, opinions please! 😀
rcrsn51

PostPosted: Thu 30 Mar 2017, 13:29    Post subject: