Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 17 Nov 2017, 21:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
slacko-700 rc3
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 19 of 26 [376 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, ..., 24, 25, 26 Next
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9500
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 05 Jul 2017, 14:50    Post subject:  

Update for my wifi issue.

Cuts off and on slow speed.

First, thank you 01micko for looking at possible causes in Slacko 6.9.9.9!!!
Also, others for suggestions!!

I will call this issue not a Slacko 6.9.9.9 specific problem.

This is wifi and a lot of things can affect wifi.

What has helped and made it usable:
Updated firmware/driver for the RTL8821AE 802.11ac PCIe Wireless Network Adapter.
Update to dhcpd
Using a newer Linux kernel.
Moving my wifi router to a different location.
Changing the transmit channel on the wifi router to a set channel, not auto.(I think this fixed the cuts off and on)
Applying wifi router firmware update.
Not using the internet for a few minutes after bootup, to let every possible function get fully loaded.
It seems to get better the longer I use it.

Other factors that could possibly be contributing to this.
My service is cable internet. It changes as people get on and off my section of the cable. Normal for cable internet. Band width gets split between the users that are connected.
Running Slacko from a frugal install on a USB portable hard drive.
Puppy thinks it is a ata hard drive, so the save is directly accessed and read and written to all the time. Pupmode=12.
I know you can get it to run in pupmode=13, but I am testing like a new user, that is only going to use what got initially setup by Puppy.
Using Grub4dos boot loader and it put pmedia=atahd in the menu entry.

Just some info for you 01micko, so you know your efforts were not lost!!!!!!!

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked

Last edited by bigpup on Tue 11 Jul 2017, 18:28; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3263
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 05 Jul 2017, 22:05    Post subject:  

I built a new Slacko64-6.9.9.9 which I'm using with my imac:

# inxi -b
System: Host: puppypc24422 Kernel: 4.4.76 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.2 Distro: Slacko64 Puppy 6.9.9.9
Machine: Device: desktop System: Apple product: iMac8 1 v: 1.0 serial: W8811GXLZE2
Mobo: Apple model: Mac-F226BEC8 v: PVT serial: 1
BIOS: Apple v: IM81.88Z.00C1.B00.0802091538 date: 02/09/08
CPU: Dual core Intel Core2 Duo E8135 (-MCP-) speed/max: 1600/2400 MHz
Graphics: Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] RV610/M74 [Mobility Radeon HD 2400 XT]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 driver: radeon tty size: 124x33 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Broadcom Limited BCM4321 802.11a/b/g/n driver: b43-pci-bridge
Card-2: Marvell 88E8058 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: sky2
Drives: HDD Total Size: 250.1GB (3.0% used)
Info: Processes: 163 Uptime: 3:10 Memory: 261.2/3934.8MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.8
#
video-info-glx 1.5.3 Wed 5 Jul 2017 on Slacko64 Puppy 6.9.9.9 Linux 4.4.76 x86_64
0.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RV610/M74 [Mobility Radeon HD 2400 XT]

X Server: Xorg Driver: radeon
X.Org version: 1.18.3
dimensions: 1680x1050 pixels (444x277 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: X.Org
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on AMD RV610 (DRM 2.43.0, LLVM 3.8.0)
OpenGL core profile version string: 3.3 (Core Profile) Mesa 11.2.2

Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8135 @ 2.40GHz
Core 0: @800 1: @800 MHz

This isn't built with the newest woof-CE but a slightly older version (which works fine) the newest version builds okay
but on first boot it doesn't get to the desktop,running xorgwizard doesn't help.

This is booting from the live DVD with a savefile on the hard drive.

Thanks.

EDIT: I downloaded guvcview-1.7.1-x86_64-2.txz from the Fatdog 710 packages and installed it, it needed portaudio from PPM added but now works fine with the built-in iSight camera in this imac.

EDIT2: I did a slacko-6.9.9.9 build with the latest rationalise branch of woof-CE and it's working well (screenshot2)
screenshot2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   39.13 KB
 Viewed   1224 Time(s)

screenshot2.jpg

screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   80.35 KB
 Viewed   1401 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mister_electronico


Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Posts: 955
Location: Asturias_ España

PostPosted: Sat 08 Jul 2017, 13:33    Post subject: low resolution Radeon 3000  

The maximum resolution that I get with my card :

Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RS780L [Radeon 3000] is 800 X 600 .

Any idea to get more resolution?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3263
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 08 Jul 2017, 14:02    Post subject: Re: low resolution Radeon 3000  

mister_electronico wrote:
The maximum resolution that I get with my card :

Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RS780L [Radeon 3000] is 800 X 600 .

Any idea to get more resolution?

Thanks


Hi

You can exit to the prompt and run xorgwizard, it produces a menu with
4 options.

1.Set video driver.. (specify radeon)
2.Set screen resolution.. (specify your desired screen resolution)
3.Set color bith depth.. (16 or 24)

Then highlight Done and press enter.
Now xwin to get back to the desktop.

It works for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mister_electronico


Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Posts: 955
Location: Asturias_ España

PostPosted: Sat 08 Jul 2017, 16:49    Post subject: Many thanks.  

Many thanks Billtoo, everything now works perfectly, and the graphics card function to 1920x1080.

Thanks... see you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3263
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jul 2017, 07:27    Post subject:  

New 6.9.9.9 build booting from DVD with a savefile on the usb SSD (has no
hard drive)

# inxi -b
System: Host: puppypc11730 Kernel: 4.9.36-pae i686 (32 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.2 Distro: Slacko Puppy 6.9.9.9
Machine: Device: desktop System: ACER product: Aspire M5620 v: R01-A4 serial: PTS860X0348050CF642700
Mobo: ACER model: G33T-AM v: 1.0 serial: 00000000 BIOS: American Megatrends v: R01-A4 date: 12/19/2007
CPU: Quad core Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 (-MCP-) speed/max: 1603/2403 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 driver: nvidia tty size: 137x34 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card: Intel 82566DC-2 Gigabit Network Connection driver: e1000e
Drives: HDD Total Size: 126.3GB (3.5% used)
Info: Processes: 189 Uptime: 14 min Memory: 393.9/8096.6MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.8
#

Using a 32" TV as a monitor via hdmi cable.
It's working well,
Thanks.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   83.44 KB
 Viewed   1055 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1278

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jul 2017, 20:37    Post subject:  

Is it just me, or does pEqualizer (in Menu -> Multimedia) not do anything in Slacko 6.9.9.9? I tried moving the knobs up and down, selecting different profiles, even putting them all to 0, and my sound/music output still sounds exactly the same. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9500
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jul 2017, 18:23    Post subject:  

I feel this is still something to try and troubleshoot.

My WIFI issues.

Can read my post for info on what I have done.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=959864#959864

After all the things I have tried, I have only one remaining issue.
Slow connection speeds.
Not that slow, but slower than I get when using other Puppy versions.

I am comparing speed using Xenialpup64 7.0.8.5 K4.9.15 and Slacko64 6.9.9.9 K4.9.30.
Same computer and hardware.
Same network setup settings, using Network Wizard.

In Slacko64 6.9.9.9
Internet speeds are 10% to 15% slower in download speed and 70% slower in upload speed.

The only thing I can think, may be causing this, is something in the Linux kernel, that deals with WIFI.
Some kernel setting not correct. Idea

So far, I have not found anything that is not the same as in Xenialpup64's kernel.

Any ideas??????

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11719
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jul 2017, 18:41    Post subject:  

Do you get the same results when using your USB WiFi adapter? What driver does it use?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9500
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jul 2017, 18:59    Post subject:  

Yes, about the same speeds.
USB wifi adapter Netgear WNA1100 using a ath9k_htc driver.

Just seems to act like some setting just not correct or the best.

I tried comparing the linux kernel wifi settings, but that gets a little deep for me and I am not totally sure I am look at the correct stuff.
https://wireless.wiki.kernel.org/

I could go back to trying the 4.9.15 kernel in Slacko64 6.9.9.9, but this is test of what is offered with a normal Slacko64 6.9.9.9 iso.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9500
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jul 2017, 19:22    Post subject:  

Slacko64 6.9.9.9

I tried to use Getnvidia64 program to make and load The needed Nvidia driver package for my hardware.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=72405

One problem.

It wanted to see a directory OpenCL in /etc.
This OpenCL directory was missing.
I created one and Getnvidia program worked with no problem.
Now using the Nvidia driver it made.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3263
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 15 Jul 2017, 17:36    Post subject:  

I did a new 6.9.9.9 install to a 32gb flash drive.

# inxi -b
System: Host: puppypc23088 Kernel: 4.9.38-pae i686 (32 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.2 Distro: Slacko Puppy 6.9.9.9
Machine: Device: desktop System: HP product: 260-p029 serial: CNV6240BWP
Mobo: HP model: 81B4 v: 01 serial: PFPSK0BWJ301LW UEFI [Legacy]: AMI v: F.04 date: 05/10/2016
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i3-6100T (-HT-MCP-) speed/max: 1100/3101 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel HD Graphics 530
Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 driver: intel tty size: 142x26 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Card-2: Realtek RTL8723BE PCIe Wireless Network Adapter driver: rtl8723be
Drives: HDD Total Size: 1032.2GB (0.6% used)
Info: Processes: 191 Uptime: 1:24 Memory: 319.2/3898.0MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.8
#

Works okay so far.
Thanks
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   93.66 KB
 Viewed   527 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3263
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 16 Jul 2017, 18:59    Post subject:  

New install to Acer laptop:

# inxi -b
System: Host: puppypc4126 Kernel: 4.4.77-pae i686 (32 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.2
Distro: Slacko Puppy 6.9.9.9
Machine: Device: laptop System: Acer product: Aspire V5-571P v: V2.17 serial: NXM49AA03531512EC36600
Mobo: Acer model: Aspire V5-571P v: V2.17 serial: NBM491100831501E946600
UEFI [Legacy]: Phoenix v: V2.17 date: 02/27/2013
Battery BAT0: charge: 20.3 Wh 100.0% condition: 20.3/25.0 Wh (81%)
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i3-3227U (-HT-MCP-) speed/max: 800/1901 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller
Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 driver: intel tty size: 106x29 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Card-2: Broadcom Limited BCM43228 802.11a/b/g/n driver: bcma-pci-bridge
Drives: HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (6.3% used)
Info: Processes: 176 Uptime: 2:19 Memory: 274.5/5865.7MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.8
#

The touchscreen is working, no problems so far.
Thanks.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   134.49 KB
 Viewed   410 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Sun 16 Jul 2017, 21:18    Post subject: Don't think only to some devs working Linux  

Sorry to underline again what is the main default of Puppy Linux nowadays.
95% of people use wireless at home but oudoor too.
Tablets, smartphones and laptops are the daily equipment used by families.
Don't think only to some devs working Linux with an huge computer linked in the cellar to electrical plug.
All Puppies should be able to run wireless antennas, with the driver included in te ISO
Just an opinion.
Please choose a kernel that can do it !
tomtom.png
 Description   However, don't use Puppy when driving, only once arrived
 Filesize   61.74 KB
 Viewed   381 Time(s)

tomtom.png


_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
rameshiyer

Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 251
Location: Calicut, Kerala, India

PostPosted: Sun 16 Jul 2017, 23:24    Post subject: slack-700
Subject description: Update failure
 

Unable to update When I trying to update from Update Manger - latest from Slackware due to lack of space /temp?. ( Sorry, but there is no enough free space to down load to . Attempted download directory L/tmp. Partition is full. Delete etc.)

My partition is around 25GB. Full Installation of Slack . How to solve it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 19 of 26 [376 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, ..., 24, 25, 26 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1559s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0174s) ][ GZIP on ]