Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 28 Jun 2017, 12:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
slacko-700 rc3
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 17 [254 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3121
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 21 May 2017, 07:48    Post subject: slacko-700 b3  

Google earth is run from the Google Chrome browser now, displays perfectly on this intel chip, all earlier Google Earth versions have problems with intel graphics (dark blocks all through the screen).

Nice Smile
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   81.09 KB
 Viewed   1356 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1164

PostPosted: Sun 21 May 2017, 11:44    Post subject:  

The JWM 2.3.x "clicking on the menu freezes the desktop" bug still happens for me occasionally in Slacko64 6.9.6.7 (where a Ctrl-Alt-Backspace is usually required to regain any response when clicking on things). It doesn't seem computer specific because I'm on a newer Core2Duo laptop at the moment, using the default theme that came with the iso. I might compile a 64-bit version of jwm-905 today too then. I've also had the problem happen with Tahr and Xenialpup and Slacko632 with JWM 2.3.x.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=109637
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 741

PostPosted: Sun 21 May 2017, 12:05    Post subject: anyone know about this?  

Hi all,

I went to use "SFS-Download-Manager-0.14" that's included in Slacko-700b3 (32-bit) to download one of the SFS-options, specifically the "qt4-4.8.7_slacko-7.0.sfs" that pops up as a choice to download.

So I hit download, and it downloaded to the expected /mnt/home directory, but then it popped up a failed-integrity-check message. Anyone know what's up with this? Is it safe to use, lol?? Or is it just that's it hopelessly outdated now as mostly everything requires some form of qt5?

Thanks for any replies.
sfs-manager-0.14.png
 Description   
 Filesize   37.97 KB
 Viewed   1261 Time(s)

sfs-manager-0.14.png

sfs-manager-downloaded-qt4-4.8.7_slacko-7.0.sfs.png
 Description   
 Filesize   144.96 KB
 Viewed   1254 Time(s)

sfs-manager-downloaded-qt4-4.8.7_slacko-7.0.sfs.png

qt4-4.8.7_slacko-7.0.sfs-failed-integrity-check.png
 Description   
 Filesize   9.09 KB
 Viewed   1259 Time(s)

qt4-4.8.7_slacko-7.0.sfs-failed-integrity-check.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3121
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 21 May 2017, 12:28    Post subject: slacko-700 b3  

It works in this newer build of Slacko64 6.9.9.1
I guess 01micko fixed it.

EDIT: OOPS, didn't read carefully, you're talking about the 32bit Slacko beta, I haven't tried that one lately.

EDIT2: I just did a woof-CE build (rationalise branch) of the 32bit beta 6.9.9.1 and it has the same error that you're seeing in 32bit b3.
SFSloadonthefly.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   48.81 KB
 Viewed   1244 Time(s)

SFSloadonthefly.jpg

qt487sfs.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   40.03 KB
 Viewed   1245 Time(s)

qt487sfs.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Sun 21 May 2017, 15:34; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
norgo


Joined: 13 Nov 2015
Posts: 105
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 21 May 2017, 14:53    Post subject: desktop freeze jwm  

Sailor Enceladus wrote:
The JWM 2.3.x "clicking on the menu freezes the desktop" bug still happens for me occasionally in Slacko64 6.9.6.7 (where a Ctrl-Alt-Backspace is usually required to regain any response when clicking on things). It doesn't seem computer specific because I'm on a newer Core2Duo laptop at the moment, using the default theme that came with the iso. I might compile a 64-bit version of jwm-905 today too then. I've also had the problem happen with Tahr and Xenialpup and Slacko632 with JWM 2.3.x.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=109637


I'm using currently Slacko-6.9.6.7 testing branch 2017-05-15 kernel 4.1.11 PAE and
can confirm the desktop freezing problem.
It happens very rarely but it happens.
Yesterday I had once again such a desktop freeze.
Had two applications opened and clicked at the window of the inactive application.
After that the only way was to restart the xserver using Ctrl-Alt-Backspace.

Up to now it happened on both of my computers,
both are using an intel graphics chip.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 8813
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 21 May 2017, 16:04    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
I'm not being drawn into a PAE debate again. I will however ship a delta that changes the kernel in 64 bit back to 3.16x.

The memory issue was in the 32bit version of Slacko.
The 64bit version is working correctly and seeing all memory.

This computer does have integrated graphics. It has a Intel i5 processor.
However, the integrated graphics is not being used.
A Geforce GTX 970 graphics card with 4GB of memory is providing graphics.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1164

PostPosted: Sun 21 May 2017, 18:00    Post subject:  

norgo wrote:
Sailor Enceladus wrote:
The JWM 2.3.x "clicking on the menu freezes the desktop" bug still happens for me occasionally in Slacko64 6.9.6.7 (where a Ctrl-Alt-Backspace is usually required to regain any response when clicking on things). It doesn't seem computer specific because I'm on a newer Core2Duo laptop at the moment, using the default theme that came with the iso. I might compile a 64-bit version of jwm-905 today too then. I've also had the problem happen with Tahr and Xenialpup and Slacko632 with JWM 2.3.x.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=109637


I'm using currently Slacko-6.9.6.7 testing branch 2017-05-15 kernel 4.1.11 PAE and
can confirm the desktop freezing problem.
It happens very rarely but it happens.
Yesterday I had once again such a desktop freeze.
Had two applications opened and clicked at the window of the inactive application.
After that the only way was to restart the xserver using Ctrl-Alt-Backspace.

Up to now it happened on both of my computers,
both are using an intel graphics chip.

Thanks norgo. Both of mine are intel graphics too! I wonder if there is a connection. Smile

01micko wrote:
I will however ship a delta that changes the kernel in 64 bit back to 3.16x.

For what it's worth, the 4.4.67 kernel shows the battery icon level for me in color, but 3.16.43 always just shows it as gray/dead.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=949542#949542
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 723
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Tue 23 May 2017, 22:23    Post subject: Slacko64-6.9.6.7  

On startup... if you press F2, you get the screen of boot options but... the cursor doesn't show up to do anything with them! Hitting escape-key gets you back to the first boot screen.

The update program feature that was in 6.9.6.4 (getting them direct from Slackware) was much easier and nicer to use instead of having to update the PPM then search for and install the updates... 'Mind you, just my opinion!

Overall, it's a very nice program and things seem to work as they should... 'so far'... Testing continues.

>>>---Indian------>

PS: Thanks for the new Google Earth builds... the 64-bit works although slow, slow, starting up and doing any tilt-features etc., on this old Intel graphics card.

The Google Earth 32-bit will not run even with the 32-bit libs installed.

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Maurizio4Puppy

Joined: 24 Oct 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed 24 May 2017, 03:56    Post subject: Slacko64. Intel HD Graphics need "i915.modeset=0" in grub  

Hi all,

Running a new installation made with "F2FS installer - Flash Drives" on a Mac mini (mid 2011) with Intel HD Graphics 3000 or on a Samsung ATIV Book 2 with Intel HD Graphics 4000, I receiving these errors in /var/log/messages:

On Mac:

May 23 20:41:19 puppypc25607 user.info kernel: [drm] stuck on render ring
May 23 20:41:19 puppypc25607 user.info kernel: [drm] GPU HANG: ecode 6:0:0xbb8ff7f8, in Xorg [5807], reason: Ring hung, action: reset
May 23 20:41:19 puppypc25607 user.info kernel: [drm] GPU hangs can indicate a bug anywhere in the entire gfx stack, including userspace.
May 23 20:41:19 puppypc25607 user.info kernel: [drm] Please file a _new_ bug report on bugs.freedesktop.org against DRI -> DRM/Intel
May 23 20:41:19 puppypc25607 user.info kernel: [drm] drm/i915 developers can then reassign to the right component if it's not a kernel issue.
May 23 20:41:19 puppypc25607 user.info kernel: [drm] The gpu crash dump is required to analyze gpu hangs, so please always attach it.
May 23 20:41:19 puppypc25607 user.info kernel: [drm] GPU crash dump saved to /sys/class/drm/card0/error
May 23 20:41:19 puppypc25607 user.notice kernel: drm/i915: Resetting chip after gpu hang
May 23 20:41:51 puppypc25607 user.info kernel: [drm] stuck on render ring
May 23 20:41:51 puppypc25607 user.info kernel: [drm] GPU HANG: ecode 6:0:0xbb8ff7f8, in Xorg [5807], reason: Ring hung, action: reset
May 23 20:41:51 puppypc25607 user.notice kernel: drm/i915: Resetting chip after gpu hang
May 23 20:41:57 puppypc25607 user.info kernel: [drm] stuck on render ring
May 23 20:41:57 puppypc25607 user.info kernel: [drm] GPU HANG: ecode 6:0:0xbb8ff7f8, in Xorg [5807], reason: Ring hung, action: reset
May 23 20:41:57 puppypc25607 user.err kernel: [drm:i915_set_reset_status [i915]] *ERROR* gpu hanging too fast, banning!
May 23 20:41:57 puppypc25607 user.notice kernel: drm/i915: Resetting chip after gpu hang

On Sansung laptop:

May 23 21:41:44 puppypc25607 user.info kernel: [drm] stuck on render ring
May 23 21:41:44 puppypc25607 user.info kernel: [drm] GPU HANG: ecode 7:0:0xbb8ff7f8, in Xorg [5188], reason: Ring hung, action: reset
May 23 21:41:44 puppypc25607 user.info kernel: [drm] GPU hangs can indicate a bug anywhere in the entire gfx stack, including userspace.
May 23 21:41:44 puppypc25607 user.info kernel: [drm] Please file a _new_ bug report on bugs.freedesktop.org against DRI -> DRM/Intel
May 23 21:41:44 puppypc25607 user.info kernel: [drm] drm/i915 developers can then reassign to the right component if it's not a kernel issue.
May 23 21:41:44 puppypc25607 user.info kernel: [drm] The gpu crash dump is required to analyze gpu hangs, so please always attach it.
May 23 21:41:44 puppypc25607 user.info kernel: [drm] GPU crash dump saved to /sys/class/drm/card0/error
May 23 21:41:44 puppypc25607 user.notice kernel: drm/i915: Resetting chip after gpu hang
May 23 21:41:50 puppypc25607 user.info kernel: [drm] stuck on render ring
May 23 21:41:50 puppypc25607 user.info kernel: [drm] GPU HANG: ecode 7:0:0xbb8ff7f8, in Xorg [5188], reason: Ring hung, action: reset
May 23 21:41:50 puppypc25607 user.err kernel: [drm:i915_set_reset_status [i915]] *ERROR* gpu hanging too fast, banning!
May 23 21:41:50 puppypc25607 user.notice kernel: drm/i915: Resetting chip after gpu hang


Adding "i915.modeset=0" argument in grub, solves the problem.
--
Regards,
Maurizio
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
norgo


Joined: 13 Nov 2015
Posts: 105
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 25 May 2017, 17:57    Post subject:  

Intel HD4600

May 25 08:55:59 puppypc3523 user.info kernel: [drm] stuck on render ring
May 25 08:55:59 puppypc3523 user.info kernel: [drm] GPU HANG: ecode 7:0:0xbbaff7f8, in Xorg [6669], reason: Ring hung, action: reset
May 25 08:55:59 puppypc3523 user.info kernel: [drm] GPU hangs can indicate a bug anywhere in the entire gfx stack, including userspace.
May 25 08:55:59 puppypc3523 user.info kernel: [drm] Please file a _new_ bug report on bugs.freedesktop.org against DRI -> DRM/Intel
May 25 08:55:59 puppypc3523 user.info kernel: [drm] drm/i915 developers can then reassign to the right component if it's not a kernel issue.
May 25 08:55:59 puppypc3523 user.info kernel: [drm] The gpu crash dump is required to analyze gpu hangs, so please always attach it.
May 25 08:55:59 puppypc3523 user.info kernel: [drm] GPU crash dump saved to /sys/class/drm/card0/error
May 25 08:55:59 puppypc3523 user.notice kernel: drm/i915: Resetting chip after gpu hang

maybe change of "AccelMethod" from "sna" to "uxa" could help ?

update:

tried to force a GPU hang using "AccelMethod" "uxa"
result: no GPU hang up to now ( I gave my best Smile )

How to force a GPU hang
open a video player like SMplayer and play a video in high resolution
open a second application e.g. Abiword, grab a window corner and resize this window very fast multiple times
mostly GPU hang is the result

@Sailor Enceladus
Sailor I need a test object Smile

please create a text file 20-intel.conf with following content

Quote:
Section "Device"
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "intel"
Option "AccelMethod" "uxa"
EndSection


copy this file to etc/X11/xorg.conf.d

restart X-server
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 8813
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 27 May 2017, 04:23    Post subject:  

Slacko64

Nvidia Geforce gtx 970

At boot up when it gets to starting X.
Get errors and X does not start.
Type xwin
It seems to go to next step where nouveau driver takes over, but stops with start x errors.
Type xwin
Boots to working desktop.

Installed Nvidia driver.
Now boots to desktop.
No errors.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1360
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 28 May 2017, 06:26    Post subject:  

norgo wrote:
copy this file to etc/X11/xorg.conf.d
I have intel integrated graphics i915.
I got rid of my gpu hangs by using a similar file as "/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-intel.conf"

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 723
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Wed 31 May 2017, 14:18    Post subject: Slacko64-6.9.6.7  

Slacko64 6.9.6.7
Default Image Viewer:

When you click on a Picture (in your Pictures folder) the default image viewer works as it should and... when you select the 'slideshow' feature it works as it should selecting different pictures... however, when you go to 'full screen' it doesn't display all pictures full-screen size (as previous viewers did). If the original picture is only 2x3-inches, that's the size picture you get on full-screen.

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6436
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 31 May 2017, 14:25    Post subject:  

Default Image Viewer:
moving (drag) the image with the mouse errors if not releasing the mouse-button after the mouse-cursor is idle (not moving).

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 8813
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 01 Jun 2017, 14:52    Post subject:  

Slacko 64bit version

Did not check the Slacko 32bit version, but I assume results would be the same.

Checked the offered help in all programs.
These programs had a help offered, but selecting help options offered no help documents.
Got error or nothing visible to see.

LibreOffice (all programs)
MtPaint
System Profiler and Benchmark
Xarchive
Pfind
Notecase
Document Viewer
Homebank
Sylpheed

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 17 [254 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2132s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0208s) ][ GZIP on ]