Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Nov 2017, 00:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
No sound Tahrpup64 6.0.5 new computer
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Author Message
RickGT351

Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 200
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jul 2017, 10:32    Post subject:  No sound Tahrpup64 6.0.5 new computer
Subject description: works ok on windows [Solved - kinda]
 

I am using headphones. Have tried various settings in the multiple soundcard wizard. Volume currently says 65295%
Here's the specs of the new computer:
Computer
********


Summary
-------

-Computer-
Processor : 4x Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4690K CPU @ 3.50GHz
Memory : 8109MB (315MB used)
Machine Type : Physical machine
Operating System : Puppy Linux
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Thu Jun 22 12:11:42 2017
-Display-
Resolution : 0x0 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.4, 256 bits)
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Audio Devices-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
Audio Adapter : PC-Speaker - pcsp
-Input Devices-
Power Button
Power Button
E-Signal USB Gaming Mouse
E-Signal USB Gaming Mouse
Microsoft Comfort Curve Keyboard 2000
Microsoft Comfort Curve Keyboard 2000
PC Speaker
-Printers (CUPS)-
Brother_DCP-J125
CUPS-PDF : <i>Default</i>
-SCSI Disks-
ATA INTEL SSDSC2BW24
ATA ST1000DM003-1ER1
WD Ext HDD 1021
Brother DCP-J125
SRT USB

Operating System
----------------

-Version-
Kernel : Linux 3.14.54 (x86_64)
Version : #1 SMP PREEMPT Tue Dec 1 17:54:26 GMT 2015
C Library : GNU C Library version 2.19 (stable)
Distribution : Puppy Linux
-Current Session-
Computer Name : jimbob
User Name : root (root)
Home Directory : /root
Desktop Environment : Unknown
-Misc-
Uptime : 23 minutes
Load Average : 0.02, 0.08, 0.06

Kernel Modules
--------------

-Loaded Modules-
iptable_filter : iptables filter table
ip_tables : IPv4 packet filter
cfg80211 : wireless configuration support
rfkill : RF switch support
ftdi_sio : USB FTDI Serial Converters Driver
usblp : USB Printer Device Class driver
psmouse : PS/2 mouse driver
snd_pcsp : PC-Speaker driver
snd_hda_codec_hdmi : HDMI HD-audio codec
nouveau : nVidia Riva/TNT/GeForce/Quadro/Tesla
ttm : TTM memory manager subsystem (for DRM device)
drm_kms_helper : DRM KMS helper
drm : DRM shared core routines
hwmon : hardware monitoring sysfs/class support
i2c_algo_bit : I2C-Bus bit-banging algorithm
snd_hda_codec_realtek : Realtek HD-audio codec
snd_hda_codec_generic : Generic HD-audio codec parser
snd_hda_intel : Intel HDA driver
snd_hda_codec : HDA codec core
snd_pcm_oss : PCM OSS emulation for ALSA.
snd_mixer_oss : Mixer OSS emulation for ALSA.
snd_pcm : Midlevel PCM code for ALSA.
snd_seq_dummy : ALSA sequencer MIDI-through client
snd_seq_oss : OSS-compatible sequencer module
snd_seq_midi : Advanced Linux Sound Architecture sequencer MIDI synth.
snd_seq_midi_event : MIDI byte &lt;-&gt; sequencer event coder
snd_rawmidi : Midlevel RawMidi code for ALSA.
snd_seq : Advanced Linux Sound Architecture sequencer.
snd_seq_device : ALSA sequencer device management
snd_timer : ALSA timer interface
snd : Advanced Linux Sound Architecture driver for soundcards.
e1000e : Intel(R) PRO/1000 Network Driver
ptp : PTP clocks support
pps_core : LinuxPPS support (RFC 2783) - ver. 5.3.6
mxm_wmi : MXM WMI Driver
wmi : ACPI-WMI Mapping Driver
fan : ACPI Fan Driver
video : ACPI Video Driver
acpi_pad : ACPI Processor Aggregator Driver

Boots
-----

-Boots-

Languages
---------

-Available Languages-
en_US : English locale for the USA
en_US.utf8 : English locale for the USA

Filesystems
-----------

-Mounted File Systems-
rootfs / 1.04 % (3.8 GiB of 3.9 GiB)
/dev/sde1 /initrd/mnt/dev_save 19.13 % (11.8 GiB of 14.6 GiB)
tmpfs /initrd/pup_rw 1.04 % (3.8 GiB of 3.9 GiB)
tmpfs /initrd/mnt/tmpfs 99.47 % (1.0 MiB of 190.6 MiB)
/dev/loop0 /initrd/pup_ro2 100.00 % (0.0 B of 190.0 MiB)
tmpfs /initrd/mnt/tmpfs4 96.50 % (1008.0 KiB of 28.1 MiB)
/dev/loop4 /initrd/pup_z 100.00 % (0.0 B of 27.1 MiB)
unionfs / 1.04 % (3.8 GiB of 3.9 GiB)
devtmpfs /dev 0.00 % (3.9 GiB of 3.9 GiB)
shmfs /dev/shm 0.00 % (1.9 GiB of 1.9 GiB)
/dev/loop1 /initrd/pup_ro4 100.00 % (0.0 B of 56.5 MiB)
/dev/sdc2 /mnt/sdc2 99.70 % (917.1 MiB of 299.8 GiB)

Display
-------

-Display-
Resolution : 0x0 pixels
Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
Version : 1.15.1
-Monitors-
-Extensions-
BIG-REQUESTS
Composite
DAMAGE
DOUBLE-BUFFER
DPMS
DRI2
DRI3
GLX
Generic Event Extension
MIT-SCREEN-SAVER
MIT-SHM
Present
RANDR
RECORD
RENDER
SECURITY
SGI-GLX
SHAPE
SYNC
X-Resource
XC-MISC
XFIXES
XFree86-DGA
XFree86-VidModeExtension
XINERAMA
XInputExtension
XKEYBOARD
XTEST
XVideo
-OpenGL-
Vendor : VMware, Inc.
Renderer : Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.4, 256 bits)
Version : 2.1 Mesa 10.1.3
Direct Rendering : Y_es

Last edited by RickGT351 on Wed 16 Aug 2017, 23:17; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3154
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jul 2017, 12:24    Post subject:  

Hi, Rick.

I run Tahr64 myself (amongst many others). It's an excellent Puppy.

Have you checked in Retrovol (rt/clk tray volume icon, ->'Full window') to see what level your PCM setting is at? This is what controls overall sound output through ALSA, and is often set at '0' in new installs.

You can also find it in the ALSA Mixer, by typing

Code:
alsamixer


...in the terminal. Hope that helps.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2164

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jul 2017, 12:45    Post subject:  

Menu, Setup, Alsa Sound Wizard

Use the 2nd icon down (speaker) to generate a 2 barks sound. Use the other icons to try different things until you hear the 2 barks when the 2nd icon is clicked.


(clickable thumbnail)

Don't forget to jump when you do get barked at loudly Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9533
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jul 2017, 12:48    Post subject:  

Retrovol (rt/clk tray volume icon, ->'Full window')
Also, there is a adjuster for the headphones.
Turn them off/on
Adjust volume.

multiple soundcard wizard
You may still need to go back to it and make sure you actually have the correct device selected to provide audio.

Some of the devices, that could be listed, are not what provides audio to the audio plugs on the computer.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1291

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jul 2017, 14:14    Post subject: Re: No sound Tahrpup64 6.0.5 new computer
Subject description: works ok on windows
 

RickGT351 wrote:
Volume currently says 65295%

There has been a few people who mentioned having this problem before. I think one was scientist, who managed to solve it. Using the search and plugging in "65295" gave me 17 results, maybe there is more posts too with a different 65*** number.

edit: Ah, the one by scientist was 62295, possibly a typo though http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107315
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RickGT351

Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 200
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 03 Aug 2017, 03:29    Post subject:  

I changed the Multiple Sound Card wizard to change the sound card setting. Now I can play music with DeaDBeeF but have no sound with youtube or anything else
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9533
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 03 Aug 2017, 07:31    Post subject:  

Are you using a very new version of Firefox browser?
_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RickGT351

Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 200
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 06 Aug 2017, 01:28    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Are you using a very new version of Firefox browser?


54.0.1 . I started firefox manually with the console and here's what I got
Code:
root# ./firefox

(firefox:20300): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_object_unref: assertion 'object->ref_count > 0' failed

(firefox:20300): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_object_unref: assertion 'object->ref_count > 0' failed
Sandbox: Thread 20437 unexpectedly exited.

(/initrd/mnt/dev_save/firefox/firefox:20397): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_object_unref: assertion 'object->ref_count > 0' failed

(/initrd/mnt/dev_save/firefox/firefox:20397): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_object_unref: assertion 'object->ref_count > 0' failed
1502011835245   addons.update-checker   WARN   Update manifest for firefox@getpocket.com did not contain an updates property
1502011835250   addons.update-checker   WARN   Update manifest for followonsearch@mozilla.com did not contain an updates property
1502011835287   addons.update-checker   WARN   Update manifest for aushelper@mozilla.org did not contain an updates property
1502011835306   addons.update-checker   WARN   Update manifest for webcompat@mozilla.org did not contain an updates property
1502011835310   addons.update-checker   WARN   Update manifest for {972ce4c6-7e08-4474-a285-3208198ce6fd} did not contain an updates property
1502011835418   addons.update-checker   WARN   Update manifest for e10srollout@mozilla.org did not contain an updates property
[GFX1-]: ClientLayerManager::BeginTransaction with IPC channel down. GPU process may have died.
[GFX1-]: ClientLayerManager::BeginTransaction with IPC channel down. GPU process may have died. 
[apulse] [error] do_connect_pcm: failed to open ALSA device. Apulse does no resampling or format conversion, leaving that task to ALSA plugins. Ensure that selected device is capable of playing a particular sample format at a particular rate. They have to be supported by either hardware directly, or by "plug" and "dmix" ALSA plugins which will perform required conversions on CPU.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9533
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 06 Aug 2017, 10:15    Post subject:  

Sound in newest Firefox versions.

The newest versions of Firefox need PulseAudio, but you do not need to install PulseAudio in Puppy.

There is a pet package that you download and install.
It will put the needed PulseAudio files in Puppy, so Firefox is happy.

Pet package is here:
Fix audio in Firefox 52 without having to install PulseAudio.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=947398#947398

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RickGT351

Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 200
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 07 Aug 2017, 18:42    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Sound in newest Firefox versions.

The newest versions of Firefox need PulseAudio, but you do not need to install PulseAudio in Puppy.

There is a pet package that you download and install.
It will put the needed PulseAudio files in Puppy, so Firefox is happy.

Pet package is here:
Fix audio in Firefox 52 without having to install PulseAudio.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=947398#947398


Thanks bigpup. Have installed the pet. Still have no sound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9533
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 07 Aug 2017, 19:24    Post subject:  

Sorry, my mistake.
I gave you the post for the 32bit pet.

Here is the 64bit one:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=948558#948558

UN-install the 32bit pet before installing the 64bit one.!!

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 694
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Mon 07 Aug 2017, 22:03    Post subject: PulseAudio  

bigpup (in part) wrote:
The newest versions of Firefox need PulseAudio

OH!
I'd seen the word PulseAudio before, but knew essentially nothing about it.
So after glancing through this thread, I did a quick search, and saw
https://unix.stackexchange.com/questions/249342/why-do-you-need-pulseaudio
On that page, someone said "..If you want to be able to play audio from two sources at once, ever, for any reason, you need multiplexing."
As a simple user, it had never occurred to me to play audio from more than one source.
For years, I used Lucid Puppy. Lately I use Tahr. And browse with Iron.

OK, so I know a teeny bit more than before.

Thanks.

_________________
Dell E6410: Xenial, Slim Slacko 6, LuPu Super 2, Tahr
Dell D610: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
Intel D865GBF: Tiny Windows 7, Puppy Linux 5.2
Acer Aspire One: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RickGT351

Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 200
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 16 Aug 2017, 22:14    Post subject:  

Thanks guys.
I now have a browser where I can hear what 's happening in videos. It's Pale Moon and its the one that ships with tahrpup64. I have given Firefox the heave-ho.
A bit sad really about browsers. Chrome interferes with printer settings and Firefox has no sound. I suppose I could try Opera
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9533
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 17 Aug 2017, 10:21    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Sorry, my mistake.
I gave you the post for the 32bit pet.

Here is the 64bit one:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=948558#948558

UN-install the 32bit pet before installing the 64bit one.!!

Did you ever try the correct PulseAudio pet to fix Firefox?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RickGT351

Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 200
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 17 Aug 2017, 19:05    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
bigpup wrote:
Sorry, my mistake.
I gave you the post for the 32bit pet.

Here is the 64bit one:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=948558#948558

UN-install the 32bit pet before installing the 64bit one.!!

Did you ever try the correct PulseAudio pet to fix Firefox?


Yes I did. Still no sound. That's when I decided to give Firefox the boot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0589s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]