Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Nov 2017, 09:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Security/Privacy
Comodo AV for Linux
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 7 [93 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9517
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jul 2017, 19:32    Post subject:  

What version of Comodo?

What does it say for the date the virus database (signatures) were last updated?
capture24134.png
 Description   
 Filesize   48.34 KB
 Viewed   271 Time(s)

capture24134.png


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9517
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jul 2017, 20:53    Post subject:  

entered already.
_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gordie

Joined: 23 Aug 2016
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jul 2017, 21:39    Post subject:  

Thanks but it looks like a Slackware problem. Not a fun program.
I was under the impression that it would be the same for me as for others but it turns out that the OS makes all the difference
Have a sore head from banging it on the wall. It appears that in order to run /opt/COMODO/cav Slackware64 needs a 32-bit library from PAM, something that is foreign to Slackware64 on both counts. I am able to use my browser to get new sigs and then update my database by hand and can use COMODO to scan so all is not lost but this is disappointing to me. Later this evening I am tempted to copy the library (libpam.so.0) from Puppy and use it to get cav working as it should.

Thanks for all your help. I'll let you know how things go
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3139
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sun 23 Jul 2017, 09:20    Post subject:  

Hi, Gordie.

Yes, libpam is one of two libs required for the GUI to work properly. At least, that's what I found.

I don't know if you're running 32- or 64-bit, but to save you the trouble, here's both 32- and 64-bit versions of both libpam.so (with symlink) and libaudit.so (with sym-link).

Just unpack 'em and place the ones you need into /lib (not /usr/lib). That should do the trick. Whether these are the newest versions I have no idea, but Comodo works with 'em.

Keep us posted, please.


Mike. Wink
Libs.tar.bz2
Description  Missing libs for Comodo 'AV for Linux' GUI
bz2

 Download 
Filename  Libs.tar.bz2 
Filesize  99.08 KB 
Downloaded  37 Time(s) 

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Gordie

Joined: 23 Aug 2016
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Mon 24 Jul 2017, 01:02    Post subject:  

Thank you Mike Walsh. Those libs were the ticket to making cav run.
Had to run
Code:
/opt/COMODO/post_setup.sh

again for something like the 3rd time. Hope this time the changes stick. Then had to play for a long time to make the following command work.
Code:
"/etc/init.d/cmdavd restart"

is exactly what the popdown msg says. Beat head on wall more and more. FINALLY find out that the command that actually works is
Code:
"/etc/init.d/cmdavd" restart


Now every time I try to update I have to run cmdagent only to find that trying to update shuts cmdagent down again and things just grind to a halt.

At least I am further along the process of running COMODO than I have ever been before.

Thank you Mike for the libs. They are a Godsend
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3139
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Mon 24 Jul 2017, 05:18    Post subject:  

Morning, Gordie.

Gordie wrote:
I am able to use my browser to get new sigs and then update my database by hand and can use COMODO to scan so all is not lost but this is disappointing to me.


Now, then; if you can do that, it might be possible to write a script to automate that process instead.....if the built-in one is refusing to behave itself.

Can you expand on how you do that, please?

Cheers.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3139
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Mon 24 Jul 2017, 05:57    Post subject:  

Y'know, this is weird.

Most of the time, I can't get the virus database to update at all. But, just occasionally, it'll behave itself, and update as it's supposed to.

A lot of the time, I'll be honest, I'm trying random combinations of restarts, etc. I haven't yet quite figured out which combination is doing the trick!

I'll keep plugging away at this. We will get this working the way it's supposed to.....especially since Comodo is the only one that I have any real faith in.

(*Back to the grindstone..!*)

-----------------------------------------

Edit:- BTW, I had a go at running post_setup.sh over the weekend, with both the dev_x & kernel sources packages loaded.....and it didn't make a scrap of difference. The 'redirfs.ko' module still wasn't being created...so I don't know what's going on there.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9517
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 24 Jul 2017, 11:59    Post subject:  

Quote:
is exactly what the popdown msg says. Beat head on wall more and more. FINALLY find out that the command that actually works is
Code:
"/etc/init.d/cmdavd" restart


Now every time I try to update I have to run cmdagent only to find that trying to update shuts cmdagent down again and things just grind to a halt.


Do not do "/etc/init.d/cmdavd" restart

Just do this:
Start Comodo
In Rox navigate to /opt/COMODO
left click on the cmdagent file
Go back to Comodo
Click on Update virus database

That works for me.

The "/etc/init.d/cmdavd" restart is running a script file that controls cmdagent.

THE SCRIPT FILES IN COMODO, DO NOT WANT TO WOK CORRECTLY IN PUPPY!!!!
SO DO NOT USE THEM!!!

JJust directly click on the exec file in rox.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9517
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 24 Jul 2017, 12:13    Post subject:  

THE SCRIPT FILES IN COMODO, DO NOT WANT TO WOK CORRECTLY IN PUPPY!!!!
SO DO NOT USE THEM!!!

They need /etc/init.d/functions.

Puppy does not have the functions file.

This is what functions is:
https://bash.cyberciti.biz/guide//etc/init.d/functions

Not sure if we want this in Puppy or it needs to be a symbolic link to something in Puppy.?


Note:
post_setup.sh

This script seems to run, but not sure if it is working correctly.
It does not seem to need /etc/init.d/functions.
I can only run it in a terminal, but it looks like it needs to run in a window, where there will be buttons to click yes or no.

All the other scripts refuse to run, stopping with a message they cannot find /etc/init.d/functions.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4295
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Mon 24 Jul 2017, 16:37    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Just do this:
Start Comodo
In Rox navigate to /opt/COMODO
left click on the cmdagent file
Go back to Comodo
Click on Update virus database


This looked like it was going to work for me, EXCEPT...

when it began downloading the update...
The progress remained at ZERO.
I gave up on it = Closed all windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3139
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Mon 24 Jul 2017, 19:26    Post subject:  

Hi, bigpup.

Thanks for doing that little bit of research for us. I'm on that many different forums these days, I can't always find as much time to investigate stuff like this as I'd like.

It explains why my personal Menu Entry .pet I put together for starting Comodo wasn't allowing the database to update. The /root/my-applications/bin entry I'd made for CAV looked like this:-

Code:
#!/bin/sh
#
# Start COMODO Anti-virus for Linux : Mike Walsh 2017
#
/opt/COMODO/cmdagent
/opt/COMODO/cav


As you can see, I was starting the 'cmdagent' before CAV itself. I've swapped the last two lines around, and added a sleep statement (to give it time to get started; it takes a few seconds to 'settle down', seemingly):-

Code:
#!/bin/sh
#
# Start COMODO Anti-virus for Linux : Mike Walsh 2017
#
/opt/COMODO/cav
sleep 10
/opt/COMODO/cmdagent


.....re-made the .pet, and just tried it, and.....yup; it works nicely now. I can start Comodo, go to 'Update Database', and the updater initializes and begins downloading straight away.

So for anybody who wants it, here's a MenuEntry pet for Comodo's AV for Linux, which will start the GUI properly, and permit the database to update as it should.


Mike. Wink
Comodo_AV-MenuEntry.pet
Description  Comodo Menu Entry
pet

 Download 
Filename  Comodo_AV-MenuEntry.pet 
Filesize  616 Bytes 
Downloaded  35 Time(s) 

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------


Last edited by Mike Walsh on Mon 24 Jul 2017, 20:32; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3139
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Mon 24 Jul 2017, 20:03    Post subject:  

The SFS package has been modified to include the above Menu entry 'fix', re-packed, and re-uploaded.

Link as in post #1. There is now just a single Menu Entry, as everything should now run correctly from the GUI.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------


Last edited by Mike Walsh on Mon 24 Jul 2017, 20:34; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4295
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Mon 24 Jul 2017, 20:06    Post subject:  

The pet works for me, so I've save the changes.
It says I need to reboot.
I wonder if I also need to save the session changes at reboot?
I'll do that.
Rebooted, and it still works; reports it as up-to-date.

What happens if I were to now use the new SFS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3139
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Mon 24 Jul 2017, 20:27    Post subject:  

Hi, Sylvander.

I've just been checking through everything this last few minutes, and so far, all appears to work now as it should. I added the 'sleep' statement into the /root/my-applications/bin 'CAV' file because I noticed that the GUI was taking a few seconds to settle down after initialization.

You can safely ignore the statement in the left-side panel that says 'Filesystem filter driver is not loaded!' As bigpup says, certain of the binaries in the /opt/COMODO directory don't appear to work as they should. It's my belief that the reason for this is quite simple.

This was originally a .deb package, before extraction, re-working for Puppy, and re-packing. I think that it's been specifically written, and set-up for the way the file manager in Debian/Ubuntu is integrated into the file-system.

Since Puppy's ROX works so very differently to the 'standard' file-managers in those mainstream distros, and, moreover, most operations in Puppy tend to be far more 'manual' and 'hands-on', I think, going along with bigpup's summary, that we can safely ignore said binaries. For Pup, they're not really applicable.

In my view, so long as the GUI starts, the database will download, and the scans work as they're supposed to (bearing in mind that most of us will be using this in 'standalone' mode, i.e., as and when we consider it necessary, rather than setting up regularly scheduled scans), I feel this is now a viable package as it stands. I also think that the 'Critical Areas' scan profile will probably be the one that gets the most use.

As always, however, YMMV.....


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Gordie

Joined: 23 Aug 2016
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Mon 24 Jul 2017, 21:42    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
bigpup wrote:
Just do this:
Start Comodo
In Rox navigate to /opt/COMODO
left click on the cmdagent file
Go back to Comodo
Click on Update virus database


This looked like it was going to work for me, EXCEPT...

when it began downloading the update...
The progress remained at ZERO.
I gave up on it = Closed all windows.


This is what is happening with me on my Slackware64 14.2 system. Not sure I want to fight with COMODO on Puppy until I get it working on Slackware.

Mike Walsh - You little trick works and now am locked on a 0% download indicator.
Code:
/opt/COMODO/cav
sleep 10
/opt/COMODO/cmdagent
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 7 [93 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Security/Privacy
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0648s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0070s) ][ GZIP on ]