Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Nov 2017, 05:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Security/Privacy
Comodo AV for Linux
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 7 [93 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3150
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jul 2017, 06:03    Post subject:  

Hi, Gordie.

No worries, mate. We're all used to copy/pasting stuff!

Yes, that's the bit I was referring to; about the way that the file manager in Debian/Ubuntu is integrated into the file system. Since ROX is so different, I find it doesn't make a scrap of difference to the way Comodo runs.

That's where you're supposed to run the 'post_setup.sh' script, and (supposedly) build the 'redirfs.ko' kernel module. Only it doesn't work in Puppy; I already tried it, with the dev_x and kernel_sources packages loaded. It didn't do what it was supposed to do.

Comodo opens, d/loads the database, and runs the scans. For me, that's all I need.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9526
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jul 2017, 13:52    Post subject:  

building the 'redirfs.ko' kernel module seems to be a problem for everyone.

I looked in the official Comodo forum and there is a large number of topics on this same issue.

No one seems to know how to fix it.
A lot of ideas, but they do not work for everyone.
It has to be specific, for the specific kernel you have.

If you are very lucky, it will get made, but it seems few people are that lucky! Rolling Eyes Laughing

Still looking for an answer that will work.

However, I do not see the big need for this thing.
I think all it is going to do is let Comodo real time scan as you run the computer.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked

Last edited by bigpup on Thu 27 Jul 2017, 14:19; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9526
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jul 2017, 14:09    Post subject:  

Quote:
THE SCRIPT FILES IN COMODO, DO NOT WANT TO WOK CORRECTLY IN PUPPY!!!!
SO DO NOT USE THEM!!!

They need /etc/init.d/functions.

Puppy does not have the functions file.

This is what functions is:
https://bash.cyberciti.biz/guide//etc/init.d/functions

Let us see what happens Idea

Well, I tried making a functions script file, using what is stated on this web site, should be in it.
Now have /etc/init.d/functions

The Comodo script files now work with no complaining when run in a terminal.
However, they still seem to not do what they are suppose to do.

We are Puppy.
We do not need these stinking Comodo script files!! Laughing

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9526
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jul 2017, 14:15    Post subject:  

I did a Comodo virus scan of my computer.

It found one item on the scan.

Warning:
Comodo virus scan found Windows on this computer.
This is very dangerous and it should be quarantined or removed from computer! Shocked

So, I quarantined it Exclamation Laughing

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9526
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jul 2017, 15:14    Post subject:  

This topic in the Comodo forum seems to offer the best answer to the 'redirfs.ko' kernel module issue.
https://forums.comodo.com/comodo-antivirus-for-linux-cavl/filesystem-filter-driver-for-kernel-35318redirfs-and-avflt-t94441.0.html

I tried a fix posted in this topic and it worked.

However, after a reboot and starting Comodo.
Puppy was unstable, very unstable.!!!
capture11431.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   31.59 KB
 Viewed   189 Time(s)

capture11431.jpg


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3150
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jul 2017, 16:23    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
However, I do not see the big need for this thing.
I think all it is going to do is let Comodo real time scan as you run the computer.


I totally agree. I, too, don't really see the need for the 'redirfs.ko' module, simply because Puppy is so different from the mainstream distros in terms of file-manager operation.

Like I said, the GUI opens; I can download the updates; I can run a standalone scan as & when I want to. That's all I, personally, need it to do.

I can certainly do without an unstable Puppy.

@bigpup:- Remarkable perseverance, old son! Nice to see there is a way to achieve this for anyone who's determined enough to do so.

I think I'll pass..! It works for what I want it to do. BTW, I love that it flags up Windoze as 'very dangerous'!! Laughing Laughing Laughing


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9526
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jul 2017, 17:12    Post subject:  

I am done trying to fix 'redirfs.ko' kernel module issue.

I do not need any of this:
After fixing it.
Puppy got really, really unstable.

The Comodo scripts are just not going to work in Puppy and those are needed for normal everything working.
Auto having Comodo do things is the issue.

After starting Comodo with the menu entry in Utility.
Manual selection of what to do works with no problem.
I can manually select.
My fingers work OK!!

This is Puppy.
We do not need no stinking auto features!!!!

Well, unless you or someone else can figure it out Exclamation Laughing Idea Idea Idea Idea Idea Idea Idea Idea Idea

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 460
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri 28 Jul 2017, 04:56    Post subject:  

Hi All,
I got left behind a bit with this but I have still been following the thread.
Last night I decided to try again but this time with Precise 5.7.1 as I understood it might be a better candidate to get it working. The good news is that it works in Precise. I used the new sfs (I have checked it's the 25MB version) but it does not seem to work as described.

Mike Walsh wrote:
The SFS package has been modified to include the above Menu entry 'fix', re-packed, and re-uploaded.

Link as in post #1. There is now just a single Menu Entry, as everything should now run correctly from the GUI.


I don't get a"single menu entry". I seem to have the same menu as in the first sfs. I tried installing the menu pet andthis did add a single menu item. However, as update and scan both work from the menu installed by the sfs I uninstalled the pet.
I have both updated and scanned a usb drive which is what I wanted to be able to do.

Regards,

Ken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3150
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Fri 28 Jul 2017, 06:02    Post subject:  

Hi, keniv.

I've found the same thing as you; it 'mis-behaves' in Precise. It's the 'cmdagent' again.

If you check out the little video I made to demonstrate my 'workaround' on the previous page, this works in 571. I did it originally in Slacko 570; it displays the same problem. But the workaround will get it running; I just think it's simply a neater solution than having to dig into the file system to start cmdagent. The sym-link is connected directly to it, and is right there, ready to use.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 460
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri 28 Jul 2017, 07:34    Post subject:  

Thanks Mike,
I'll do that and report back. Can I ask if it updates daily?

Ken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3150
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Fri 28 Jul 2017, 11:37    Post subject:  

Hi, keniv.

keniv wrote:
Can I ask if it updates daily?


AFAIK, yes. You only receive incremental updates on a daily basis, so it shouldn't take very long. Takes longer to install the damn things than it does to download 'em!


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Gordie

Joined: 23 Aug 2016
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Fri 28 Jul 2017, 12:53    Post subject: I Quit  

I used removepkg to uninstall COMODO. Then I had to pick through the hard drive to remove all configs, icons, etc just to be sure I got it all.
-----
Screw's up everything in KDE.

Traded Application Menu icon properties with other widgets from the tray so can't use the application menu until cleared by reboot. A logout and login won't clear it.

Root or Users can't trash, delete or rename files or directories.

Don't run well. Difficult to impossible to run in Slackware.

Refused to update sig database so had to update sigs by hand and it looks like they are on dialup cause it is S L O W! After updating - when trying to scan it goes and uses dialup to re-download the sigs S L O W L Y again.

NOT WORTH THE EFFORT for me

bigpup was right. My system became unstable after updating the driver
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 460
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri 28 Jul 2017, 13:47    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:
Hi, keniv.

keniv wrote:
Can I ask if it updates daily?


AFAIK, yes. You only receive incremental updates on a daily basis, so it shouldn't take very long. Takes longer to install the damn things than it does to download 'em!

I am now confused as whether it is updating or not. When I updated for the first time last night I did it from the menu. Window 1 appeared. When I pressed "start" it appeared to connect to the update site. In processes cavupdater ran the cpu up to 78%. At the end of this I was told the product was up to date. However, since then if I try to update I first get window1 then after a short time I get window 2. If it only updates once a day this might still be OK as I did this after midnight last night. It does scan properly from the menu though this is obviously not much good if it's not updating. If I use Mikes method to start and update I get window 3.(note that this says never updated yet I believe it has) If I click antivirus I get window 4. If I go to window 5 and click cmdagent then scan I get window 6 but and processes shows cavupdater starting, getting to about 9% then stopping. I'm now baffled. Sorry about all the images.

Regards,

Ken
win 6.png
 Description   
 Filesize   16.17 KB
 Viewed   87 Time(s)

win 6.png

win 5.png
 Description   
 Filesize   21.13 KB
 Viewed   85 Time(s)

win 5.png

win4.png
 Description   
 Filesize   15.17 KB
 Viewed   82 Time(s)

win4.png

win 3.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  win 3.png 
Filesize  55.54 KB 
Downloaded  33 Time(s) 
win2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   42.03 KB
 Viewed   85 Time(s)

win2.png

win1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   42.55 KB
 Viewed   87 Time(s)

win1.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3150
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 08:56    Post subject:  

Hiya, Ken.

Ah, you're getting things confused here, mate.....and it's easy to do. Took me a wee while to figure it out.

There's two separate updaters within the program. One updates the antivirus signature database. The other is the updater for the actual program itself.

Your pictures 'window5' & 'window6' are the program updater. I check this one maybe once a week.

You update the signature database from the 'Antivirus' tab. Make sure you click on the 'cmdagent' executable before you click on 'Update Virus Database'.

Let us know what happens, please.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 1427
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 09:57    Post subject:  

This is working well in RU Xerus64. Haven't tried via command line, however.

I run the following boot script to get the gui:

/opt/COMODO/cmdagent
/opt/COMODO/cav

Of course, COMODO is in my opt directory.

There may be an issue where the cmdagent continues to run in the background after shutting down Comodo. Still looking at this but if true, I would probably make a killall icon to kill it after shutting down.

Anyway, it's nice to have an anti-virus working in Quirky 64. More at risk, I think than a Puppy LiveCD.

Thanks

Slavvo67
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 7 [93 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Security/Privacy
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0763s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0117s) ][ GZIP on ]