Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 22 Sep 2017, 18:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Get an ethernet network connection any place in your home
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9264
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 28 Jul 2017, 22:09    Post subject:  Get an ethernet network connection any place in your home
Subject description: Use the electrical wiring in your home
 

I saw this on TV show about technology and decided to give it a try.

It is called Power Line Networking.

What it is:
A device that lets you use the wiring in your home to act as Ethernet cabling.
Able to connect a computer, in any room, to your network router, located any place in the home.

It uses 2 adapters.

Plug one adapter into a power wall plug and connect it to your router, using a Ethernet cable.

Go to where your computer is.
Plug another adapter into a power wall plug and connect it to the computer using a Ethernet cable.

1st. adapter provides the Internet connection, feeding it to the electrical wiring in the home.

2nd. adapter picks up the network signal from the home electrical wiring and feeds it to the computer.

The two adapters are linked together in a network.

So, why do this?

It Blows Away Wifi. Exclamation Exclamation Exclamation Exclamation
My Internet connection speed is 2 or 3 times faster than Wifi was able to give me.

All of the wiring is already in each room of the home.

You can use up to 16 adapters.
all working together in one big network.

The adapter still has an electric outlet on it, so you do not loose an outlet.

I am very happy with this!!!

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 1163
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 02:01    Post subject:  

Just curious... what happens if you were to turn on an AM Radio (meaning the 500-1600 khz band) in the house? is it the same when this "network" is D/C?

Regards
8Geee

_________________
Linux user #498913
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4288
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 05:22    Post subject:  

I've been using [Devolo] Powerline Adapters for years now, with never a hitch or a complaint.
I use it for connecting:
...[in the past] to my router+modem [and now] my hub, then out onto the web...
a. My Sony Smart TV.
And/or...
b. Raspberry Pi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
infromthepound

Joined: 12 Jun 2009
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 06:33    Post subject:  

I have been using it for some time (Ever since the mice ate my wired network).
I have 4 different brands of power adapters and all work happily together, I use them on computers, printers, TV's etc.
The only problem I have found is that every few months it locks up and I have to unplug for a few moments to reset.
JB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2096

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 09:50    Post subject:  

I use one to feed between floors i.e. upstairs from the router downstairs. Generally great, except for when there's a power cut it might need resetting and syncing the two can have me running up and downstairs a few times to press the sync buttons as it never seems to sync first time. On a 100Mbs feed, not sure what the throughput is on the upstairs segment as I don't use that myself (my main system is hard wired near the router).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9264
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 11:02    Post subject:  

Quote:
I have 4 different brands of power adapters and all work happily together, I use them on computers, printers, TV's etc.
The only problem I have found is that every few months it locks up and I have to unplug for a few moments to reset.


I was wondering how different brands of adapters would work together.
Must be one computer device, that everyone has agreed to support, one specific way of doing things. Shocked Surprised Shocked Surprised Laughing Laughing

The ones I got are newest design.
They seem to have a lot of auto features.
After no network activity (for a certain time period) they power down and go to sleep.
Suppose to have auto reset.

Just tested it.
The adapter was asleep. (Only indicator light, was power on. Indicates wall plug has power).
Turned computer on.
Adapter auto powered up. (got indicator light)
Network connection powered up. (got indicator light)
Everything working normal.
So sleep feature works.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9264
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 11:08    Post subject:  

I read you can use these to actually put your wifi router/transmitter in a different location in the home.
It does not have to be connected to the place the internet service comes into home.
Plug one adapter to internet service source.
Put other adapter any place in home.
Hook wifi router to it.
That is the new location of your wifi router/transmitter.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4288
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 14:07    Post subject:  

rufwoof wrote:
...syncing the two can have me running up and downstairs a few times to press the sync buttons as it never seems to sync first time.

I sync them close by each other [unit-2 in the nearest power socket to unit-1], and once syncing is complete move the 2nd adapter to its final location.

Mine always syncs 1st time. Very Happy

rufwoof wrote:
...my main system is hard wired near the router

Same here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9264
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 14:59    Post subject:  

That is no fun. Rolling Eyes Laughing

Running up and down stairs is a way to get a little exercise!!

Sylvander,
Good info to know!
Thanks!!

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2096

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 15:05    Post subject:  

My internet feed is to a cable modem/hub box, coaxial cable input so I can't really move it (at least not easily). From that one of the four ethernet cables is plugged into the powerline box ... which is pretty old now (and was relatively cheap at the time). Another of the ethernet ports is plugged into a netgen router that was a left over from the prior installation prior to the cable hub with the wireless on that turned off, so that the downstairs direct connected feeds from that are all on a different non-wireless segment, whilst upstairs is fed by the other power line plug or via wireless from the main cable modem hub. I guess really I should move the netgear to upstairs and switch from using the cable modems wireless to that providing wireless, but IIRC the cable modem wireless is more recent (better/faster i.e. has 2.4GHz and 5GHz dual and the 5GHz wireless speed can get up to something like 75Mbs whereas the old netgear wireless speeds are way below that IIRC).

I think with mine that once sync'd if the power goes off the syncing resets, so, at least I think is the case, I can't just sync the two side by side and then unplug one and move it without having to resync again. Quite possibly however its me not having RTFM properly. I've only had to sync them perhaps 3 times in total including after the first initial purchase setup, in the same number of years or more i.e. have just tended to work well/reliably.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4288
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 17:28    Post subject:  

I can unplug my 2nd Powerline Adapter, then...
When I want to use it, I just plug it back in and it works; no need to re-sync. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2297
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jul 2017, 22:03    Post subject:  

I use 500 MBPS power line adaptors, one at the far end of the house feeds another wireless access point, one connected to my TV box for streaming movies and pay TV and a spare, haven't had a problem with them, their on 24/7.
_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0610s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0034s) ][ GZIP on ]