Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 15 Nov 2019, 06:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Create Debian 9 (Stretch) minimal ISO similar to DebianDog
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 34 of 103 [1533 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, ..., 101, 102, 103 Next
Author Message
festus


Joined: 14 Jan 2015
Posts: 221

PostPosted: Fri 01 Sep 2017, 13:28    Post subject: suspend_hibernate using laptop  

Hey, all

I feel like this is a dumb question, so here goes anyway:

I'm running the openbox_lx spin of deb 9 stretch and I can not get the laptop to suspend when closing the laptop lid, like it does in all my pups.

Is there something that needs to be installed or activated to be able to suspend?

Thanks to all,

festus Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jd7654

Joined: 06 Apr 2015
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Fri 01 Sep 2017, 18:35    Post subject: Re: suspend_hibernate using laptop  

festus wrote:
I'm running the openbox_lx spin of deb 9 stretch and I can not get the laptop to suspend when closing the laptop lid, like it does in all my pups.

Is there something that needs to be installed or activated to be able to suspend?


Mine works on the base build: close lid suspend.

...but on my laptop I did have to do a workaround. Don't know if this even applies to you, so I'm not saying this will fix your situation. What laptop do you have?

Ran into this before in other Linux: The Linux/kernel version detects my hardware incorrectly and falsely believes my laptop is docked when it is not. So I had to adjust the config to tell it to suspend while docked.

In /etc/systemd/logind.conf had to uncomment and change ignore to suspend for middle line item below:

Code:
...
#HandleLidSwitch=suspend
HandleLidSwitchDocked=suspend
#PowerKeyIgnoreInhibited=no
...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zagreb999

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 518
Location: Yugoslavija

PostPosted: Sat 02 Sep 2017, 02:04    Post subject:  

regards

new iso 32bit is made on lenovo- 244mb.

wifi can not work.
------------
quickremaster can not work.
of 10 kb of customization

it produce 1oo mb more(plus)
in quick remaster and can not
work.
--------------------
is it possible to create
squashfs with xorg and desktop,
without kernel?

thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4157
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 02 Sep 2017, 07:12    Post subject:  

zagreb999 wrote:
is it possible to create
squashfs with xorg and desktop,
without kernel?


Yes, just before creating 01-filesystem.squashfs (when script is paused) you can go into the chroot again and uninstall the kernel

Open new terminal in directory stretch, and do:

Code:
mount --bind /proc chroot/proc
mount --bind /dev chroot/dev
mount --bind /sys chroot/sys
mount -t devpts devpts chroot/dev/pts


Chroot in chroot
Code:
chroot chroot

Uninstall kernel (32 bit):
Code:
apt-get purge linux-image-4.9.0-3-686-pae
# and do some more if you want

When that's done type:
Code:
exit


Unmount proc dev sys dev/pts (very important !):

Code:
umount chroot/proc
umount chroot/dev/pts
umount chroot/dev
umount chroot/sys


And continue the script with creating 01-filesystem.squashfs and ISO

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
festus


Joined: 14 Jan 2015
Posts: 221

PostPosted: Sat 02 Sep 2017, 07:25    Post subject: Re: suspend_hibernate using laptop  

jd7654 wrote:
Mine works on the base build: close lid suspend.

...but on my laptop I did have to do a workaround. Don't know if this even applies to you, so I'm not saying this will fix your situation. What laptop do you have?

Ran into this before in other Linux: The Linux/kernel version detects my hardware incorrectly and falsely believes my laptop is docked when it is not. So I had to adjust the config to tell it to suspend while docked.

In /etc/systemd/logind.conf had to uncomment and change ignore to suspend for middle line item below:

Code:
...
#HandleLidSwitch=suspend
HandleLidSwitchDocked=suspend
#PowerKeyIgnoreInhibited=no
...

Edit: I uncommented the top line too, although don't know if it matters, then rebooted and it now suspends when lid is closed.

HandleLidSwitch=suspend
HandleLidSwitchDocked=suspend

Thank you, jd7654
------------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks for the reply/info, jd7654.

Here is the specs on my laptop:
Code:
# inxi -bw
Machine:   Device: portable System: Dell product: Inspiron N5050 serial: xxxxxxx
           Mobo: Dell model: 01HXXJ v: A05 serial: .xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
           BIOS: Dell v: A05 date: 08/03/2012
Battery    BAT0: charge: 39.4 Wh 97.5% condition: 40.4/44.0 Wh (92%)
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i3-2350M (-HT-MCP-) speed/max: 799/2300 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller
           Display Server: X.org 1.14.3 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           tty size: 80x24 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller
           driver: r8169
           Card-2: Broadcom BCM4313 802.11b/g/n Wireless LAN Controller
           driver: bcma-pci-bridge
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (31.8% used)
Weather:   Conditions: 57 F (14 C) - Clear Time: September 2, 7:17 AM EDT
Info:      Processes: 194 Uptime: 10 min Memory: 277.2/3950.3MB
           


Thanks,
festus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jd7654

Joined: 06 Apr 2015
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Sat 02 Sep 2017, 10:55    Post subject: Re: suspend_hibernate using laptop  

festus wrote:
Edit: I uncommented the top line too, although don't know if it matters, then rebooted and it now suspends when lid is closed.

HandleLidSwitch=suspend
HandleLidSwitchDocked=suspend


Great! Glad to know that worked for you too. I guess this problem is more common than I thought.
It shouldn't need the top line uncommented, but no harm. Only what is changed from default needs uncommented, like the docked line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12768
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 02 Sep 2017, 13:11    Post subject:  

zagreb999 wrote:
new iso 32bit is made on lenovo- 244mb...wifi can not work.

Details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1387

PostPosted: Sat 02 Sep 2017, 17:40    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
zagreb999 wrote:
new iso 32bit is made on lenovo- 244mb...wifi can not work.

Details.


On my most recent attempt, I had to install dhcpcd5_6.10.1-1_amd64.deb in order to get my ethernet to work. I was using the 64 bit jwm configuration and had stripped some things out of it and added Chrome.

When I ran peasywifi from terminal, I got this.

Quote:
root@live:~# peasywifi
dhcpcd: no process found
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12768
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 02 Sep 2017, 18:07    Post subject:  

That message is not a problem. PWF uses udhcpc, so its first action is to kill off any instances of dhcpcd, which will interfere.

PWF also manages Ethernet - see the Ethernet tab. You shouldn't need to install dhcpcd.

The startup script in /etc/init.d should auto-connect your Ethernet at bootup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1387

PostPosted: Sat 02 Sep 2017, 18:31    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
That message is not a problem. PWF uses udhcpc, so its first action is to kill off any instances of dhcpcd, which will interfere.

PWF also manages Ethernet - see the Ethernet tab. You shouldn't need to install dhcpcd.

The startup script in /etc/init.d should auto-connect your Ethernet at bootup.


I tried the Ethernet tab and restarted it and clicked reconnect several times and it didn't work. Udhcpc wasn't installed. I tried installing it, using the Ethernet tab, rebooting etc and that didn't fix it. I installed dhcpcd and rebooted and that did fix it.

Is there something you'd like me to check to find the root cause? Maybe look in the original ISO for the script in /etc/init.d?

My notes, such as they are.

Quote:
root@live:~# peasywifi
dhcpcd: no process found

Installed udhcpd. Said it is disabled and to go to /etc/default/udhcpd to enable it. So, enabled it. Peasewifi from terminal. No change. Reboot and try. Still no change.

Purge udhcpd and (/etc/default/udhcpd was removed.

root@live:~# apt-get purge udhcpd*
***
Purging configuration files for udhcpd (1:1.22.0-19+b3) ...

Install dhcpcd5_6.10.1-1_amd64.deb. Peasywifi from terminal. No change. Reboot. FIXED.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12768
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 02 Sep 2017, 19:15    Post subject:  

Udhcpc comes from busybox, but Stretch-Live has not enabled it OOTB. The PWF Debian package handles this by creating a symlink.

Since PWF does NOT use dhcpcd, I don't understand how installing it fixes anything, unless you have changed something else.

Modifying the udhcpc config files will just compound the problem.

So it's impossible for me to comment further.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1387

PostPosted: Sat 02 Sep 2017, 19:18    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Udhcpc comes from busybox, but Stretch-Live has not enabled it OOTB. The PWF Debian package handles this by creating a symlink.

Since PWF does NOT use dhcpcd, I don't understand how installing it fixes anything, unless you have changed something else.

So it's impossible for me to comment further.


Apparently when I installed dhcpcd, it placed a script in /etc/init.d which is starting the ethernet.

What is the symlink that is supposed to be created called and where is it?

I am willing to step back and try to fix it without dhcpcd, if you are interested in figuring out how it failed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12768
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 02 Sep 2017, 19:32    Post subject:  

Fred built the final PWF packages. You would need to open it up and look in places like the post-install script.

If this was Puppy, your standard procedure would be a temporary clean install that would run the base configuration before your modifications.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1387

PostPosted: Sat 02 Sep 2017, 21:38    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Fred built the final PWF packages. You would need to open it up and look in places like the post-install script.

If this was Puppy, your standard procedure would be a temporary clean install that would run the base configuration before your modifications.


I set up the original iso created from the mk-live script. As before, no ethernet.

The postinst file creates the symlink between udhcpc and busybox rcrsn51 referred to and I confirmed it is there.

No more time tonight to look at it.

Fred, could you take a look at this when you get a chance?

I attached the build file on the off chance it might make a difference.
babychrome-build_setup.txt.zip
Description  remove .zip
zip

 Download 
Filename  babychrome-build_setup.txt.zip 
Filesize  1.11 KB 
Downloaded  39 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4157
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sun 03 Sep 2017, 03:59    Post subject:  

Hi Dan,

Can be that your network interface is other than eth0, perhaps eth1
If so, you need to change to that in peasywifi.
Nothing strange I see in the build conf that could be the cause of your problem.

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 34 of 103 [1533 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, ..., 101, 102, 103 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0834s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0262s) ][ GZIP on ]