Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 29 Jan 2020, 00:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Create Debian 9 (Stretch) minimal ISO similar to DebianDog
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 49 of 103 [1533 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, ..., 101, 102, 103 Next
Author Message
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3717

PostPosted: Sat 21 Oct 2017, 07:40    Post subject:  

I'm running Debian Stretch as I post this, and firefox-esr is under /usr/lib/firefox-esr/firefox-esr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12948
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 21 Oct 2017, 08:26    Post subject:  

Code:
apulse /opt/firefox/firefox

Good idea. I made this change and re-posted the packages above.

According to its developer, the apulse technique may not work much longer with firefox.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12948
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 21 Oct 2017, 08:44    Post subject:  

Unzipper v1.3 posted here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zagreb999

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 549
Location: Yugoslavija

PostPosted: Sat 21 Oct 2017, 09:16    Post subject: file-roller  

regards

file-roller is better, the best, fast, fastest...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12948
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 21 Oct 2017, 10:26    Post subject: Re: file-roller  

zagreb999 wrote:
file-roller is better, the best, fast, fastest...

Evidence please.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4261
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 21 Oct 2017, 14:43    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Code:
apulse /opt/firefox/firefox

Good idea. I made this change and re-posted the packages above.


Thanks, added new apulse and unzipper to repos and added to first post useful info links section a link to your post and mine about apulse <> firefox.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1883
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Sun 22 Oct 2017, 12:28    Post subject:  

By the way .....
Maybe Off-Topic .........but who really cares .

...........does anybody know where mcewanw is hiding ?

"The King is gone......but he`s not forgotten "
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t4Y1wDdMYH4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1719

PostPosted: Mon 23 Oct 2017, 11:35    Post subject:  

Hi Fred, Backi & all,

Have a question about a 'frugal' installed Stretch-Build64-XFCE I just put on a SDcard.

It's for that mini laptop, Fred, that you helped me with a few weeks ago when I couldn't get any of the ddogs to boot on it. Then you said to use this:

Code:

title Stretch-Build64-XFCE - live boot
  root (hd0,0)
  kernel /Stretch-Build64-XFCE/live/vmlinuz1 boot=live live-media-path=/Stretch-Build64-XFCE/live/
  initrd /Stretch-Build64-XFCE/live/initrd.img


...and from then all or whatever Ddogs I put on any SDcard and/or USB stick, as long as I stick to that outline, they all have booted & ran great.

My question now is this: I had been getting used to the porteus-entries for booting, but the above is a bit confusing for me. Is it possible for me to boot the above to where I am running fully in RAM and can unplug the SDcard? Want to be able to unplug that SDcard (or USB) and walk away from the mini-laptop & not worry yet the OS is still fully running in RAM (don't care about saving at all---see P.S. below).

As it stands now, with the above grub4dos entry, Thunar & the OS lock the SDcard, and prohibit me from removing it. I thought I could since I was running "live", but obviously I am misunderstanding these grub4dos boot entries again Embarassed . Apologies. And thanks for any help/tips.


P.S. There's no savefile or anything in the "changes" folder....all these dogs , when I put them on an SDcard and/or USB stick, I run Remaster-DebDog64 (which still works great, btw Wink ) and then replace the existing filsystem.squashfs with the new one created.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1883
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Mon 23 Oct 2017, 11:54    Post subject:  

What about "copy2ram" ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1719

PostPosted: Mon 23 Oct 2017, 12:07    Post subject:  

backi wrote:
What about "copy2ram" ?



Hey Neil.

"..There's more to the picture. Than meets the eye....."

You mean:

Code:

title Stretch-Build64-XFCE - live boot
  root (hd0,0)
  kernel /Stretch-Build64-XFCE/live/vmlinuz1 boot=copy2ram live-media-path=/Stretch-Build64-XFCE/live/
  initrd /Stretch-Build64-XFCE/live/initrd.img



"....They give you this, but you pay for that...."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1719

PostPosted: Mon 23 Oct 2017, 12:07    Post subject:  

backi wrote:
What about "copy2ram" ?



Hey Neil.

"..There's more to the picture. Than meets the eye....."

You mean:

Code:

title Stretch-Build64-XFCE - live boot
  root (hd0,0)
  kernel /Stretch-Build64-XFCE/live/vmlinuz1 boot=copy2ram live-media-path=/Stretch-Build64-XFCE/live/
  initrd /Stretch-Build64-XFCE/live/initrd.img



"....They give you this, but you pay for that...."



[UPDATE-----OK, trying this now:

Code:

title Stretch-Build64-XFCE  -  Copy to RAM
 root (hd0,0)
 kernel /Stretch-Build64-XFCE/live/vmlinuz1 noauto from=/ copy2ram
 initrd /Stretch-Build64-XFCE/live/initrd1.xz


..hoping rock & roll will never die.....

Last edited by belham2 on Mon 23 Oct 2017, 12:21; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1883
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Mon 23 Oct 2017, 12:19    Post subject:  

Hi belham .....still using your crappy Web-Browser ??

Quote:
you mean:

Code:

title Stretch-Build64-XFCE - live boot
root (hd0,0)
kernel /Stretch-Build64-XFCE/live/vmlinuz1 boot=copy2ram live-media-path=/Stretch-Build64-XFCE/live/
initrd /Stretch-Build64-XFCE/live/initrd.img




Maybe .....not sure ........

Hey Fred you`re "The Man" .......save your children.......what`s your idea on this?

Last edited by backi on Mon 23 Oct 2017, 12:33; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1719

PostPosted: Mon 23 Oct 2017, 12:29    Post subject:  

backi wrote:
Hi belham .....still using your crappy Web-Browser ??
Yeah, the Bling browsers got some goofy crap going on with them..... Confused



Ok, tried this:
Code:

title Stretch-Build64-XFCE  -  Copy to RAM
 root (hd0,0)
 kernel /Stretch-Build64-XFCE/live/vmlinuz1 noauto from=/ copy2ram
 initrd /Stretch-Build64-XFCE/live/initrd1.xz




But I am back to that problem I had before when Fred was helping me.....it just fails as it is booting, with the message:

Code:

^searching for stretch-x86_64.sgn file (we know it is there)
^from= cheatcode is incorrect, press enter to search through all devices


....then the booting process just rolls over & dies Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4261
Location: holland

PostPosted: Mon 23 Oct 2017, 12:41    Post subject:  

Hey guys, you're mixing things that can't be mixed, copy2ram is exclusively for porteus-boot, for live-boot it's the "toram=..." parameter.

OK, I'll try to save you again Smile

Belham, make your menu.lst entry this (if "01-filesystem.squashfs" is the name and is your only .squashfs in "live"):
Code:
title Stretch-Build64-XFCE - live boot
  root (hd0,0)
  kernel /Stretch-Build64-XFCE/live/vmlinuz1 boot=live live-media-path=/Stretch-Build64-XFCE/live/ union=aufs toram=01-filesystem.squashfs
  initrd /Stretch-Build64-XFCE/live/initrd.img


I tested similar to this with SD card sdb1 and sdb1 isn't even mounted after boot and 01-filesystem.squashfs is in RAM (could disconnect SD card without problems), df- -h output:
Code:
root@live:~# df -h
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
udev            997M     0  997M   0% /dev
tmpfs           202M  800K  201M   1% /run
/dev/shm        212M  207M  4.9M  98% /lib/live/mount/medium
/dev/loop0      207M  207M     0 100% /lib/live/mount/rootfs/01-filesystem.squashfs
....
....

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1719

PostPosted: Mon 23 Oct 2017, 12:46    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
Hey guys, you're mixing things that can't be mixed, copy2ram is exclusively for porteus-boot, for live-boot it's the "toram=..." parameter.

OK, I'll try to save you again Smile

Belham, make your menu.lst entry this (if "01-filesystem.squashfs" is the name and is your only .squashfs in "live"):
Code:
title Stretch-Build64-XFCE - live boot
  root (hd0,0)
  kernel /Stretch-Build64-XFCE/live/vmlinuz1 boot=live live-media-path=/Stretch-Build64-XFCE/live/ union=aufs toram=01-filesystem.squashfs
  initrd /Stretch-Build64-XFCE/live/initrd.img


I tested similar to this with SD card sdb1 and sdb1 isn't even mounted after boot and 01-filesystem.squashfs is in RAM (could disconnect SD card without problems), df- -h output:
Code:
root@live:~# df -h
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
udev            997M     0  997M   0% /dev
tmpfs           202M  800K  201M   1% /run
/dev/shm        212M  207M  4.9M  98% /lib/live/mount/medium
/dev/loop0      207M  207M     0 100% /lib/live/mount/rootfs/01-filesystem.squashfs
....
....



Well, gawwwwddanggit,

That critter backi leading me astray again.

Something's going to have to be done 'bout that E.U. critter.

.........copy2ram my butt...... Laughing


P.S. Thank you, Fred, it works, just tried what you wrote.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 49 of 103 [1533 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, ..., 101, 102, 103 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0731s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0197s) ][ GZIP on ]